paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
capture Wednesday, May 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth
Boomstik
Marker Setup: A-5
Nitro
R/T trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbilizer
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I haven't been been playing long compared to others nevertheless I was suprised at the gross in-accuracy of the guns when i started. Being a gun enthusiast I quickly sought out the most accurate barrels I could find. My Stealth despite some reviews proved excellent for the money. The boomstik alittle better. But the Hammerhead is ALOT better. And alot more expensive. Like everyone says it is very well made and machined to perfection. Inside and out it is beautiful, the hefty price tag ($210.00, with 12" of barrel and 5 fins) is reflected in the delicate craftsmanship of the product.
Shooting 110' a bit of a dissapointment at first with groups ranging all over the place within roughly 15" circle. But after fine tuning the velocity things quickly settled down
to a 10" circle at the same range with most well within that boundary. That is with a red dot sight mounted, Marbs in the hopper, no wind, 70 deg, and nitro, no ball brakes, 500 rounds shot, gun stationary. And blazing away at full r/t 15 balls/sec for a few sec.
Further testing and brake in will undoubtedly improve on this accuracy.
I dont believe all the hype surrounding products this one included (6" groups at long range with low-end markers). But all products have exaggerated claims it is degree of deviance from reality that matters most and Hammerhead has the least Hype/score
ratio than all others I've seen, owned and used.
Conclusion: If accuracy matters (and it does) buy it,if you can. Other than $1500.00 - $1800.00 Angels I havn't seen it beat. Use good paint, and it is a poor boys ticket to high end performance on a low-end marker. Best barrel I've seen yet but ofcouse not the Eldorado of barrels some claim, atleast not for me right now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisher32 Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
progressive
J&J
Cp
Tipp. Flatline
Marker Setup: E99 avant,Cp barrel,halo b,Nitro tank,spyder xtra bolt, lapco feed neck
04 Vertical Autocoker, Dye sticky grip, Pump conversion kit, 50 round mini hopper
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Not that much distance
Review: this barrel is awsome. Only the people that cannot afford this barrel and the people that always get hit by a person that owns this barrel are the ones that do not like it. The price is kind of high, but that is the price of quality. i was kind of nervous when my friend bought this for his autocoker, but know, i always ask him to let me borrow it. I am buyying my own and i a looking forward to it. And one other thing, like the price of the barrel is high, so is the price of the paintballs you have to buy. No cheap quality paint for this barrel.
Conclusion: buy it ,its worth it. If you see one on the field. ask the owner nicely to let you shot it a couple of times and you will want to get one too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 14th, 2005 at 4:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CarlosLN Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite like this one. Dye Ultralight is what i usually use.
Marker Setup: Dragon Intimidator, superfly bolt, shocktech hammer kit, was switch, was board, carbon fiber techna trigger, shocktech drop forward, paintball pins custom trigger guard, Dye Throttle 71
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil or Marbs it wouldn't matter this thing shoots just about anything well.
Strengths: Rock solid accuracy. Lighter than a dye ultralight.
Weaknesses: bore size must match perfectly to get the full benefit
Review: Great barrel it's extremely accurate. Remember if you have a fast firing gun like a timmy you want a bit of a looser bore size. The .688 is pretty good for most paint but you'd be better off using a .690 for practice/field paint like pmi premium. If your going to get 2 bore sizes get a .688 and .690 if your shooting something fast like a timmy. If your shooting a cocker .686 and .688 are great for you. Make sure you screw this barrel tight or you'll get a wierd spin effect at the end of the shot.
Conclusion: This barrel if you have the right bore size on it shoots like a freaking dream and is really accurate i'm talking fine tuned cocker accurate. If you have a cocker already it becomes even more accurate with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grandmaster D Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many, many different barrels, all smoothbore, except for the orignal series Armson (which was NOT as good by a LONG shot)
Marker Setup: I've used the Hammerhead on a few cockers, automag, Viking, a few differrent Angels, an Ego, and a Bushy
Recommended
Paintballs:
any fresh, not overly brittle VERY round and seamless paintball
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight (its light, though the stainless backs have some heft)
Weaknesses: If you break paint, you have my sympathies

back (fin) removal sometimes difficult
Review: I have several of these barrels, of different lengths, as well as the Battlestixx. In a nutshell, these barrels are dead on accurate as long as your paint is VERY, VERY round. Now, I am not educated in physics, so I won't go there, but when using very badly dimpled paint, there is a clearly discernible corkscrewing effect seen. IF the rifling does not impart any spin on the ball (as some have claimed) how would this be possible?

Assuming you have really nice paint, and it isn't SUPER fragile stuff, this barrel is at least as accurate as any I have ever used, and much more accurate than most.

If you end up with broken paint in the barrel, you'd better hope you are in a position to really clean the barrel. A fuzzy swab won't cut it. If it isn't clean, you will not hit anything. Regardless of whatever hype you may hear or read, this barrel is about as likely to self clean as my gas tank in my car is to self-fill.

It should be noted that in sustained rapid fire situations (laning, etc) the condensation that can build up on the barrel seems to often have the same effect as broken paint, seriously adversely affecting accuracy.

The problem with the backs coming off (being left on the marker when you remove the barrel) is a serious hassle, especially on my Viking, where the SCM and the volumizer leave no space for a firm hand grip, and in fact, the fit is SO tight that I can't slide a strap wrench in.

The reverse porting does seem to help make shooting harder to hear for those on the receiving end of your paintballs.
Conclusion: Assuming the intended user is Not going to use this barrel in a tournament, I'd give it an "8" (losing points because the backs, and lack of ability to use cheap paint, but getting big points for accuracy)

If the user is planning to play tournaments, I'd say there are other choices worth looking at that are MUCH easier to clean in the middle of a fast paced tournament game. For those users, I'd give the barrel a 4, as it IS accurate with the right paint.

So, I'll average the score and give the Hammerhead a...
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnislav Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP barrel kit - better than HH
Freak kit - better than HH
Empire kit - better than HH
Marker Setup: DM3, LED Matrix, 2k2 Autococker mech, STO autococker e-blade, E-mag, Rainmaker, Warsensor Wg-47 (didn't test with HH because non cocker threaded), Ion (cocker breech), SP-8
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Spectrum, XO Bronze, Hellfire
Strengths: I didn't find any strengths.
Weaknesses: Broke a lot of balls. Not as efficient as the other barrel kits. Inaccurate.
Review: I bought into the hype. I purchased the full kit with all the fins. My first barrel had tool marks and color was faded in spots. I sent it back to get an exchange. Tested it out and one of the fins wouldn't screw into the barrel. Had to send that back to get another exchange. Hammerhead sent me a free hat and ball sizers for my troubles. Cool. Finally I tested it out in the backyard using the matrix and the emag and autococker and immediately I saw that my shots were not as consistent in terms of accuracy as my freak kit or my CP kit. Big disappointment considering that this was the most expensive kit compared to the others. This was using the various paint mentioned above. Chalking it up to bad luck but still holding out hope that the hype wasn't empty I brought it to an indoor field to play. Once again using my Matrix, after chrono'ing with my CP, I switched to the HH and my FPS dropped ~20 FPS so this is where I get the theory that this kit is less efficient on air since I had to turn up the reg to get the same velocity. It shot ok but I noticed it had more flyers than my CP during the 2 games that I used it. Also it broke a lot of paint. I kept having to clean out my barrel and this was with XO bronze. Disappointed to say the least. I gave up on this after the second game with it and went back to my CP kit. Yes I am going to dump this kit. Considering the cost I am now jaded against all hypes of miracle barrels.
Conclusion: No recommended based on its cost relative to the performance. It did not perform better than any of my other kits. In fact it performed considerably worst. Broke balls and was less efficient and expensive and inaccurate.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 11:58 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sneaks Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Boomstick-I love the BStick, but it doesn't hold place next to the Hammerhead
DYE SS series-Great barrel, but same as above
JJ C-barrel-its ok
Marker Setup: 02 wgp vert autococker ,palmer regs. sidewinder red...,free flow ram, lightning bolt and crossfire nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any paint will do, although barrel is awesome with .686--seems like that caliber was designed for the hammerhead.
Strengths: Acuracy&Acuracy@ its Quiet. This barrel is easily the Godfater of Barrels
Weaknesses: Marines were the first to use it..Go Army CavScouts!!!!!
Review: When I first started playing I used mainly dye boomsticks and the ss series barrels..I was pretty happy with the boomstick b/c of its accuracy and how consistant it was. When I was in the army I heard marines actually do some training exercises with paintball guns...Also knowing they had a specially designed barrel-that wasn't on the market due to Gov....So the Hammerhead hit the market and a lot of hype was sproiled into the air about it. So I had to try it...It's the only barrel I play with now...BY FAR THE MOST ACCURATE BARREL I HAVE EVER SEEN& ITS QUIET...THE BOOMSTICK SIMPLY HAS BEEN RETIRED TO SECOND PERFORMANCE WISE!!!!!Even when raining it steps up to par...Within 35ft. I kept a 2inch-2 1/2 radius with 10 shots...The gun was stationary during this trial...Than I slapped the old boomstick and it kept about a 7 1/2 to 9 inch radius with 10 shots...I couldn't believe it!
Conclusion: Go out and get it....If u can try using .686 on your paint.....It's def. worth the money and all other barrels need to drop thier prices b/c they have been outdone...The Hammerhead is the Godfather of Barrels...Join the mob and get to shootin..This barrel deserves a 11 on product rating, but I will have to settle for 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninja32682 Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well technically speaking every other barrel. Except this one is rifled.
Marker Setup: Shocker sft with vision, an apache attack loader, and a 68 ci 4500 psi HPA tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
No suggestions yet (see below for details.)
Strengths: No noticeable drop off

Defiantly quieter in front.
Lightweight.
I think it looks cool.

Weaknesses: Expensive.
makes the ball spiral in a FIXED path


Review: Ok, first off the details (because I am a nerd for science.)

1. I bought the pro series 14-inch barrel and the .688 “fin” (the fins are ball size adapters and no they are not rifled only the inner barrel up to the reverse porting is rifled.)
2. I was shooting sport chalet brand paint”balls” (the quotation for balls is because they are as about as spherical as our planet [FYI for you non nerds, the earth is more egg shaped than sphere shaped so the above statement about the roundness of the “balls” was intended to state that they are not very “round”])
3. I used 3 red and 3 orange paintballs, I shot 3 from my hammerhead first and then 3 from my all-American.
4. I am not sure of the velocity seeing as I do not have a chronograph. (if you want to do the math the pressure in the gun was at ~ 180 psi and the dwell was at 35 chirps from the bottom in a stock board.)
5. I was shooting at a target that was 4 inches across at a distance of ~ 40 feet.

Okay now the outcome.

With the first shot with the hammerhead I missed the target by 6 inches to the right it spiraled almost as if attached to the target and in a perfectly spherical orbit of it.
With the second shot (all of my shots where well aimed and at least 5 seconds apart) the same happened and it missed by about the same distance but this time down instead of to the right.

The third shot was the least accurate being about 10 inches off the target and to the lower left.

Now for the all American stock 14-inch barrel.

The first shot drifted low and missed by a foot strait down (it was at this point that I realized that I was probably shooting slow.)

I angled up slightly and fired again, this time hitting 2 inches below the target.

I angled higher and missed slightly to the right but only and inch off.

Ok given this and the fact that this was 3 test shots fairly close up with bad paint I say that I see potential for the barrel, especially with better paint and further away. The reason I believe this barrel is worth it after only 3 shots is because I understand physics and if the same paint drops like a brick with one barrel and spirals strait at the target with another, one can safely make an educated hypothesis that if you shoot further the trend will continue and that at the VERY LEAST the hammerhead makes sure that your first shot with BAD PAINT will land closer than if you had to shoot once and then adjust your angle to better hit your target.

I personally feel that when I use better paint and shoot further I will be dead on… But before I say more I will just tell anyone reading this that I have further testing to do and will expand this review as soon as I get better paint and a bigger area to shoot in.
Conclusion: As of yet I do not have a “final recommendation” I will have to give it a 5 for now because I see potential.

And I promise that as soon as I can make a better judgment I will further this review and give a final recommendation on this barrel.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media