paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan

JT X-Wind Mask Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT X-Wind Mask Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT X-Wind Mask Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This high speed fan is uniquely designed to extract hot humid air from inside the goggle, exchange it with cool fresh air and de-fog the Elite, Spectra or Flex 7 goggles.
Product Availability 
The JT X-Wind Mask Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
blonz Tuesday, November 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 RT with flatlinebarell
Strengths: compact, prevents foging
Weaknesses: expensive, noisy, not that easy to install
Review: It prevents fogging but buy thermal lenses instead of it. It was a little bit difficult to install and visor touches the button permanently so it happenes the fan started when a branch touched my visor. I don't like the noise it makes and you won't hear anyone moving towards you. This product is intend for people who have a single lens mask and are fed up with the fogging but you're better of when you buy thermal lenses which are available for most single lens masks.
Conclusion: don't buy it buy a thermal lenses instead of it
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holyshiznit17 Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
No other fan, that's kind of why I bought the fan.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix(of course), 14" Progressive barrel, 32 degree venturi bolt, 47 ci 3000 psi Crossfire air tank, Gold Proteus mask with X-Wind fan, and normal hopper
Strengths: It's compact and it has two fan motions.
Weaknesses: I hate the cheesey plastic fan and how hard it is to install.
Review: The fan works but I wish that it could just work a little better. The fan is cheesey and a lot of the wind doesn't get to you, but it beats taking off the mask because its fogging up so bad. But you risk getting your eye shot out. So I say for only 22 bucks this fan is worth it, even with thermal lenses. The battery isn't a pain to take out as most people have said, but I don't know whats the best mode for it. Is it better to have have it suck the air or blow it away?
Conclusion: For only $22 you should buy the fan. It's not loud at all and cools you pretty well. I havn't used it in battle yet but it has been hot here and it cooled me off. Its not as bad as the reviews. It should be at least an average of 8-9 on the review....but I have no clue why it's not.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shutter_guy Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter (blue)
ESP Frame
JT one-piece barrel
12 volt Revvy w/x board
68/3000 aci hpa
CP flame drop
JT nForcer w/x-wind
PJ 4+3 harness w/Java tubes
Strengths: -stops fogging
-not too loud (but it is audible)
Weaknesses: -hard to install
-instead of fogging, sweat collects at the bottom of your eyes
Review: I bought this a few months ago to stop my glasses from fogging. After struggling to install it (It's easier to install if you use an exacto knife to make the holes bigger), It worked great. With my luck, though, the first time I went out with it, I took two shots to the switch. Luckily, it didn't break. I'm not sure though, if the battery lasts for the 30 hours advertised.
Conclusion: If you have fogging problems or glasses, I would recommend this fan.
It gets a 9 because it's a pain in the butt to install.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FalloutMan Sunday, June 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really besides natural breeze
Marker Setup: AGD Emag
Aluminum Slug
14" freak(aa front)
shochtech on off and crop
PMI 68/45 tank
wdp lok soks
Level 10

12volt rev(however i have a halo which caught on fire, which im gunna get fixed then get an egg for it)
Strengths: sometimes i can sorta feel the fan
got it for free
Weaknesses: fan is too weak
pain to install
Review: i got this for free otherwise i wouldnt have bought it

it is very loud to yourself which is annoying and for all the noise it makes it doesnt do much for fanning (never feel the wind from it basically)

the only concievable use i would think of for this is for people with masks that fog but for the price you might as well get a thermal lense (which would be more effective)
Conclusion: i recommend not getting this unless you cant get a thermal lense for your mask and the fan fits
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_guy Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter with J&J ceramic barrel/venturi bolt
JT nvader goggles with x-wind fan
Strengths: Reduces fog from goggles really well. This only costs $25.00. It is worth your money.
Weaknesses: the annoying buzzing sound it makes and it is extremely difficult to install. Mine has not run out of batteries yet but i am going to hate putting this back on when it does.
Conclusion: Since I have bought this and thermal goggles i never have to worry about being blind in the field and missing a shot. I am extremely happy I bought this even though it makes an annoying buzzing sound but i got used to that after a while. I am giving this a 9.5 but since you cant pick that i will just give it a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vortex fan and homemade computer fans used to clear fog in gogle systems
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+, Spectra Termal w/X-wind, Aftermarket bolt, thumb screws, foam barrel grip, 20oz butt plate, dye red dot sight, and barrel extension.
Strengths: -Cools face
-Clears fog
-Looks cool
-Last long
-Easy to turn off/on
Weaknesses: -a little difficult to install: mabe this is like this so the product stays in place
-fairly loud: it has a motor so it has to produce some noise, not bad
-difficult to replace the battery
Conclusion: I cut a hole about the size of a nickel in the gogle system where the fan sets so it could move more air. If you have dry eyes, this may not be the thing to do for you because it may dry out your left eye. Play around, GOOD PRODUCT, I got mine for $25. WORTH THE MONEY
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintNB Friday, March 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: C98 Response Trigger, Flatline, Rocket Cock, PMI Drop Forward,Double Trigger, PowerFeed, 14" Boomstick and a Revvy 12 JT Mask with the X wind
Strengths: I had a REAL bad problem with my mask Fogging up but after getting the X-wind there were NO problems. I will clear your mask up in a matter of seconds. I did not find the fan that hard to install and you don't have to take the fan off to get at the batteries, all you have to do is unscrew the back and take the batteries out that way. it is also very strong...there is no paintball out there that is going to break this.
Weaknesses: It was a little expensive for me to get in canada for some reason. IT also could be a little easier to install ( it wasn't hard just a little time consuming).
Conclusion: if you have a problem with your mask fogging up, you have to get this!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing yet
Marker Setup: Tippman ProCarbine with 12" Taso Stainless steel barrel.
Strengths: This fan does get the job done, but it seems to take a while, before the mask is cleared well. It's small and easy to maintain and not too expensive.
Weaknesses: If a paintball hits this thing, it will probably explode. There is also only a fan on the left side of the unit, which makes it harder to clear the right side of your mask. It only fits on certain JT masks, hopefully someone will make one that is more compatible with other masks.
Conclusion: If you are desperate for something to clear your mask, this is your best bet for now.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: stock Model 98, new J+J ceramic on the way.
Strengths: It helps players like me who wear eyeglasses. It is the only paintball mask fan that I know of. You can modify it to give it more power (see below).
Weaknesses: For one thing, the little fan with just 1.5 volts of power only provides minimal fog removal. If you are sweating, the fog usually collects faster than the fan clears it. The other major problem is how difficult it is to install. Without exageration, it has taken me over 1 hour to install this thing at times, and it must be removed and reinstalled every time you take out the lense to clean it. Although they say it can take a direct hit, I got hit dead center on it and one of the support pegs broke off. Another one of the pegs broke off when I was removing the fan from the mask. The cost is also too high. When I bought it, it was 60$, but you can get it much cheaper now, but sill...
Conclusion: It is a shame that JT couldn't have put a little more thought into designing this the only fan available, however I was able to modify the fan. The fan comes with a two way switch, so I got he idea of hooking one side of the switch to a 9 volt battery. This involved changing the way the wires were run a bit and connecting a 9 volt battery adapter. I then mounted the battery on top with a little electrical tape (fits there pretty good). You can now switch the fan one way for slow speed (1.5 volt) and the other way for fast speed (9 volt). I was afraid the fan couldn't handle the extra power, but it hasn't burned out. The 9 volt. is really LOUD, but it is so powerful you only need to run it 5-10 seconds at most to completly remove any fog on lense or eyeglasses.

I will give it a 5 just because it's the only fan you can buy that's made to fit a pb mask (sort of). If you get it, you should modify it to give it more power. It only took me about an hour and a couple of dollars to do this. You just need minimal soldering skills.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tony Friday, October 5th, 2001
Strengths: Great fan, works hard at getting air in or taking humidity out (depending how you put the batteries).
Weaknesses: the little metal pieces that hold the battery in place snapped, spent about an hour trying to solder them back on. They are a problem to get on and take off the mask in the beginning, you have to enlarge all the holes with an exacto knife.
Conclusion: They are great at what they were designed to do, although in the heaviest of humid conditions they dont work quite as fast. In my opinion, this is definately something worth purchasing if you play a lot in hot humid conditions,0 like Florida, California, Borneo, the Amazon etc.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media