paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan

JT X-Wind Mask Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT X-Wind Mask Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT X-Wind Mask Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This high speed fan is uniquely designed to extract hot humid air from inside the goggle, exchange it with cool fresh air and de-fog the Elite, Spectra or Flex 7 goggles.
Product Availability 
The JT X-Wind Mask Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, September 28th, 2001
Strengths: Works as advertised. Give it about 10 seconds max and you can see clearly again.
Weaknesses: Pain in the arse to get on an nForcer. I had to take the lens out to get it seated all the way. Real pain in the arse to get the lens back in too...
Conclusion: Pricey. I think JT is discontinuing the fan for their vortex (same thing). If you have fog problems with a thermal lens then this is your solution.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, September 20th, 2001
Strengths: Enough has been said about the good. (Or maybe not, it's a great add-on the to JT masks!)
Weaknesses: Enough has been said about the bad which is basically that it can be a little noisy and maybe it would help a little to be able to get to the battery without having to remove the fan. But I have a few tid bits to add about the noise issue. Check below:
Conclusion: I bought one of these X-Wind fans probably about 4 years ago. It still works to this day and it has never made much noise other than a very soft humm. The noise isn't enough to complain about; in fact, I also forget it's on sometimes. But lately, I've seen a few posts about the fan being noisy and I wondered exactly what different people considered noisy. Well, I'm currently trying to buy enough equipment to start a small field rental project. It will probably be for groups of friends rather than like regular rental fields, so I'm going the extra step to keep everyone comfortable. So anyway, I saw a good deal on these fans so I decided to buy 10 of them and they came today. I think I now know what people are talking about with regards to the noise.

The fans come with batteries preinstalled so I tested each one. It's amazing as to how they didn't change the design much in 4 years, I guess you don't need to change a good thing. Anyway I turned on the first one that I opened and much to my surprise there was a considerable amount of noise. Much more than my older one. So this is my point for those who complain about the noise. The fan is assembled with two small plastic doors that just snap in on the bottom. One lets you get to the battery, and the other to the fan motor. Some fans come with these doors fastened with more of a snug fit than others. I believe most of the noise comes from the motor actually vibrating the loosely fitted doors. If I squeeze the housing around the door, especially the one on the motor side, the noise decreases. So if you can find something like a small strip of foam to fit between the doors and the housing...I think it will cut down some on the noise.

I'm going to do this on the fans that make the noise, which ended up being 6 of the 10 if you're interested. The other 4 were as quiet as my older one. I guess I got lucky getting it way back then. So in conclusion, I think think these fans are great and worth $50 or more and at $24.99, they're a steal.

By the way, one of the 4 fans is very quiet, I mean it's EXTREMELY quiet! Guess who will be using that one? : )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 27th, 2001
Strengths: I can't say enough good about it. I'll keep it brief - If you ever fogged or have to wear glasses, this is just that good.
Weaknesses: I'll say Installation, but only for one reason. It was a real bugger to get seated in my mask. I know this was due to the JT Nforcer being rather ridgid. A team member who bought a new JT Flex 7 installed his without a hitch. Much more flexible material, but a much better mask too. Other than the mild humming sound, the fan is superb.
Conclusion: I used the little fan at the field Sunday in super humid conditions and had no fogging whatsoever. It was hot, my mask was not. I wear glasses and have always been burdened by the fog. Even with a thermal lens installed I would have trouble seeing on super hot days. ( If you play up front and agressive you know what I mean. ) Sure it costs a little bit of cha ching, but how much good is your upgraded gun if you can't see what you're doing? You can't be effective and help your team from the sidelines. This has to be the best money I have spent to date.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dakota5k Monday, August 6th, 2001
Strengths: I love this thing. I haven't had one fogging problem in the 8 months I've had it, and I've only changed the battery (AAA) ONCE! I run this thing normally atleast during half the games I play, and thing never seems to run out of energy, I LOVE IT! PROPS TO JT USA! AGAIN!
Weaknesses: I'd be lying if I said there were something bad about it. Well, one complaint, only that I can only give it a rating of 10, nothing higher, so sad....so sad...
Conclusion: One of the great things I found, is that once you pop this fan on your mask, you can still throw a forhead protector (not necessary) or a visor on. I get odd looks from some of the newbies at fields, they think I've gone crazy, just because I've even upgraded my mask to it's full extent. Oh well, they can have fun trying to see through fog, while I see clear as a sunny day, on my way to bunker them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 23rd, 2001
Strengths: This is a awsome product. It takes that 'blurry stuff' off your mask. I do not mean fog, all Spectras should come with Termal lenzes anyway. I am so glad I got one now I dont have to worry about fogging up or anything...
Weaknesses: The Price...Avg is 50.00
And They do make sound. but not as bad as people say it is.
Conclusion: This product is great, but the price. I got mine off ebay for 30.00. So whats that tell ya?!

I would suggest to get your fan off ebay...most people sell them brand new.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 2nd, 2001
Strengths: It gets rid of the fog and is very small or just small enough so it fits on your mask perfectly. It goes on most mask. It cools you down and can reverse directions of the air.
Weaknesses: Very hard to install and too much money, well for some people because I got mine on E-Bay for 30.00 bucks with shipping, but still 30.00 bucks for a piece of plastic and a plastic fan with barely any wires but that doesn.t mean buy it.
Conclusion: Buy it even though the price sucks on this thing. It is a little hard to get on the mask but is a Must have.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, June 18th, 2001
Strengths: Did exactly what it claimed. When I play I sweat all day. Without the fan I was fogging up every game. I played in 90 degree heat with the fan and NEVER (not even between games) had to wipe the inside of the mask.

The design is very good. The design of the mask (Spectra) fits perfect with the fan. The on/off switch sticks through the visor just enough to use with ease without having to worry about it getting damaged.

This fan is not as loud as I expected. I forget I have it on while I am playing.
Weaknesses: Price. It's very small and should not cost the $49.99 I paid.

Installation is not the easiest, but once it's in place it is not going anywhere.
Conclusion: As listed above, this eliminates all fog. The design fits perfect with the Spectra and there is no difference in the mask feel/look. The unit is very light and quite, not even noticable.

If you have a Spectra and have a problem with the mask fogging up on you, this is a must have.

Would have given a 10, but not for $49.99.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

natgun Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: if you install the battery backwards, the fan sucks air instead of blowing it, effectively eliminates fog on thermal lenses, cools your face.
Weaknesses: just a tad noisy, pain in the ass to install, i had to make slits in the mask holes to fit the nobs in.
Conclusion: the x-wind fan is an absolute must for paintball, i dont care what type of goggles you own, at some point or another, they WILL fog up. the x-wind eliminates that fog. the fan also cools your face off. there is only 1 real problem i have with it, that is it sucks to install. i had to make slits in my mask just to get the large knobs to fit in the holes in my goggles. TIP: before you install, cut out all of the plastic beneath your fan in the goggles, about a nickel sized hole, this allows the fan to move alot more air, and work that much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: The JT X-Wind Fan and a thermal lens effectively
eliminate mask fogging. Fogging of glasses worn
under the mask is reduced, though not necessarily
eliminated. The output from the fan blows towards
one's forehead, supplying a nice, cooling breeze.

The instructions were descriptive enough for me to
perform the fan installation. Installation time
was approximately twenty minutes, and required one
tool--an X-acto knife to open the hole in my mask's
visor for the X-Wind Fan's switch to pass through.
I also made use of small dabs of shampoo on the
fan's attachment pins to make it easier to properly
seat the fan in position.
Weaknesses: From several of the reviews I had read, both here
and elsewhere, I was under the impression that
glasses fogging would be eliminated. That
impression was incorrect. Fogging of glasses will
be reduced by this fan, but not necessarily
eliminated. My glasses happen to be fairly large,
and I suspect that the fogged regions that did not
clear are due to not enough room in the mask for
adequate airflow around the glasses. People who
wear smaller frame glasses may experience complete
defogging. Some minor modifications to the mask
itself may aid in defogging one's glasses. Use
of anti-fog spray one's glasses in conjunction with
this fan may also yield a total solution.

The pins that attach the fan to the mask are fairly
large compared to the holes into which they must
fit. I suppose this is to prevent the fan from
accidentally being dislodged by a paintball hit;
if so, this fan is not going anywhere. :)

People with big fingers may find installation
difficult due to the location of the pins with
respect to the mask's lens. I used a plastic
felt-tip pen top to aid me in fully seating the
fan in position.

The sound from the fan can be annoying at times,
so I've been using it intermittantly rather than
continuously. In situations where there is little
activity around you, the noise of the fan is quite
noticeable. When you're running around, yelling to
your teammates, ducking for cover, and firing a
paintgun, the sound of the fan is not nearly as
significant.

Conclusion: I am reaonably impressed with the operation of
this fan. It does effectively eliminate mask
fogging when combined with a thermal lens, but
fogging may not be completely eliminated if one
wears large frame glasses while playing. A
combination of anti-fog spray and this fan might
completely eliminate fogging of glasses; my
experimentation continues...

I do like the breeze the fan produces against my
forehead when it's operating; sometimes I turn
the fan on for just this purpose.

A price
of $25.00 plus shipping would have been excellent,
given the performance I've obtained thus far.

Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 8th, 2001
Strengths: I get hot real easy so I fog real easy. The fan stoped all the fog. Very happy with this product.
Weaknesses: The price is a little high, come on JT just because you have a monopoly on mask fans doesn't mean you should charge Microsoft prices.
Conclusion: I really reccommed this product to people who really get hot and sweaty. Because you can't kill your enemy if you can't see your enemy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media