paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan

JT X-Wind Mask Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT X-Wind Mask Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT X-Wind Mask Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This high speed fan is uniquely designed to extract hot humid air from inside the goggle, exchange it with cool fresh air and de-fog the Elite, Spectra or Flex 7 goggles.
Product Availability 
The JT X-Wind Mask Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Flanker Monday, April 23rd, 2001
Strengths: Great idea, I have it on Flex 7 IZE, which never fogs up, but my glasses fog big-time. Seems to help but I still have to use a no-fog solution my glasses. Fits well on the mask and under the visor. Easier to put in and take out compared to a JT lens, Thank God :). Love the Flex 7 IZE mask

Weaknesses: The price, I paid $50 bucks. Price should be a lot less!!! Come on, how much can 4 injection molded parts, a switch, 4 inches of wire and a tiny fan cost???? The battery is a pain to get to. I had a bad connection from the start, jammed a piece of paper towel under the battery to push it into the contacts, it's fixed the problem so far. I also placed some Plumber's putty around the edge of the fan body and mask to try and improve the efficiency of the fan.
Conclusion: If your glasses fog, it'll help reduce but not eliminate the problem. I'd still get it (buy it again) knowing what I know now. I'd give it a 6, that's a minus 2 for preformance and a minus 2 for cost.

For those who have it, what the best way to have the fan running, blowing air in or pulling air out???

Thanks - Flanker
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 21st, 2001
Strengths: It does the job that it is supposed to do.
Weaknesses: It didn't seem to have the airflow that I thought it should have, so I wired it up to work with a 9v battery. The little thing REALLY worked then, but GOD, how loud?! I'll give it a shot on the 9v power supply for a while, but the noise is almost unbearable. To be honest, it does what it supposed to do right out of the box with a plain old AAA battery. So what does it matter if it doesn't blow air around like an "arctic wind". It's for clearing your goggles...not air conditioning!
:)
Conclusion: It's light, compact, durable...honestly, a pretty good buy when you consider it does the job it says it's going to do straight out of the box. If you want to try the 9v supply, it'll move more air, but be prepared to hear the buzzing in your head even AFTER you turn it off. I would highly recommend this product to anyone...no customization needed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 15th, 2001
Strengths: Small size, battery life is great, keeps inside of your mask and glasses from fogging, comes in 3 colors (black, green,clear)
Weaknesses: Costs to much I paid $65, come on thats robbery, I think $30 would be reasonable I could see if its high tech, but its plastic and you could buy the fan at radio shack for like $2. It is also a little noisey but a little oil on the motor fixes that easily.
Conclusion: If you have problems w/ fogging or wear glasses this is a good investment, plus it kinda keeps the inside of your mask a little cooler on those hot days. I just don't think its worth $65 I would shop around the net to try and find it cheaper.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 20th, 2001
Strengths: it does move enough air to keep a single lens mask clear. using it in moderate tempatures with low humidity, it was enough to keep glasses from fogging. it isalso small and reasnobly efficient with good battery life.
Weaknesses: the fan is unable to move sufficient air to reliably keep glasses clear of fog. I found that if i was sweating, i was going to be fogging my glasses even with the fan.
Conclusion: with a price tag in the 40+ range, if you wear glasses, a far better solution is to use radio shack cpu fans. I do not recommend this for people with glasses, as it just does not have the air volume. for those wanting a little extra air movement for thier mask, this will work fine. Considering the price, I can't give it a high rating, because this item just is not enough to help the people who would benefit most from it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AngryMelon Wednesday, January 24th, 2001
Strengths: Fit's under the visor of my Flex-7 Ize. Dramatically helps my lens from accumulating moisture when playing in our moist Oregon weather.
Weaknesses: Seems a little spendy. A tad bit noisy. Pain in the ass to install. I wish they made the battery door accessible without having to remove the damn fan from the mask each time.
Conclusion: I think the Crosswind is a great product, that definitely serves it's purpose. For anyone who needs the extra fog removal, this is virtually the only option you have left.

Thank you drive through...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 7th, 2001
Strengths: It gets rid of the fog and it gets rid of the moisture that builds up in your goggles.IT is small lightweight and durible.
Weaknesses: Well it is a little pricy.I found it hard to install.You would have to take an exato knife or any small nife and make the plastic holes on the top of your goggles bigger.The air flow may seem a little week but it still does the trick.Its not made to cool you down just get rid of moister and fog.Although I run the fan with thermal lenses,But i can tell you that it does stop the moisture.
Conclusion: This product is good and i recomend that you buy it if you have the money because it is a little pricy.People may say its stupid to buy it just to get rid of the moisture,but if you cant see thru your lenses than you cant shoot.You cant shoot what you cant see.This fan gives youthe advantage over the other players.With this you will get the firs shot b/c youll see them befor they see you.Buy this product if you have the money it really works.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 25th, 2000
Strengths: Works well to keep lenses fog free. Its a tad bit on the expensive side (somewhere around $40-$60) but it can be a real lifesaver. Flow is reversible by flipping the battery around.
Weaknesses: It can be tough to install on the mask. I found a little bit of gun oil or water will help this. I'm also considering getting in there with an exacto and making the holes a tiny bit larger to make it easier to install. It does tend to get switched on easily (getting tossed around, bumping into stuff in the field, etc). It does almost -nothing- for condensation during night games. Though-- I don't think it was intended for that. I guess night games are just destined to be played with fogged lenses.. Doh!
Conclusion: Definately a worthwhile accessory if you're having problems with fogging. It does a decent job clearing out the lenses. Really ought to be used in conjunction with thermal lenses. They're available in clear now, too. :) I don't give it a 10 only because it can be a pain in the butt to install.. (Like most other JT stuff. Does ANYONE have a nice system for changing goggle lenses??)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 24th, 2000
Strengths: It's small and fits under the visor easily, it can withstand hits. Reversing the battery reverses the fans flow, from exhaust (blowing) to intake (sucking). It does help reduce fogging, would be very good for people with glasses, but should be used with a thermal lens as well.
Weaknesses: The little sucker is hard to put on the first few times, and the battery plate/plates can be difficult to put back on at times as well. Switch gets hit and turns fan on when you don't want it, running the battery down. It is kinda noisey inside the mask when you turn it on, like a low buzzing. Retail price is way too high, make sure you get it for less that $40.00 at least.
Conclusion: I would reccomend anyone who purchases it, take an Exacto knife and remove some of the goggle plastic just below the fan blades so you get maximum ventilation from it. You just have to remove the perforated plastic for an area aproximately the size of a quarter under the fan blades, which helps the air flow considerabally.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fraticelli2001 Monday, October 23rd, 2000
Strengths: This attachment does what it's supposed to do, it keeps your lenses clear of breath fog (on all but the most hellish of days). It's not meant to provide air-conditioning, like some of these reviewers would desire.
Weaknesses: Kinda hard to attach into the top of the Spectra mask (first two plugs). Also on really hot, humid days, will not clear out the air in your mask as fast as one would like.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this, because whatever gives you the edge over the "enemy" is well worth it. Actually theres a lot of useless junk out there, but this little thing really works. Once your out on the field, sweating up a storm you dont even notice it's there, keeping your lenses free of the dreaded "fog".
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, September 21st, 2000
Strengths: Fits well on Flex 7 mask. Good design. Lightweight.
Weaknesses: Airflow is like, way to weak. I bought the fan because my glasses would fog on hot, humid days. The fan will clear the mask, but it takes way long. In the mean time, you have to look through the fog. I modified my unit to run on a 9V battery and added a variable speed control. Now this baby really rocks!
Conclusion: For the money spent, I would expect a lot more airflow. Man, you can hardly feel the air when the unit is on! Great idea, but it still needs some work.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media