paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel / SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel / SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel

SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount SITE Inc.

Buy SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 119
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $109

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Stiffi barrels are available in 12, 14, and 16 inch lengths, with bore sizes ranging from .687 to .695 in .002 increments. Featuring a stepped bore .002 at 5 inches, and a precision engineered MicroJeweled bore for exceptional accurary, and weighing only 52 grams (1.7 oz), Stiffi barrels ounce-for-ounce are stronger than steel. Featuring zero-thermal expansion, meaning they do not expand or contract with temperature changes the way metal does, Stiffi gives you consistent performance and straight shooting all the time.
Product Availability 
The SITE Inc. Stiffi Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
swifterhunt908 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American
Freak Barrel
Stiffi Barrel
J&J Barrel
DYE's
Marker Setup: 1)WGP STO
Stiffi Barrel/Stock Barrel
Custom Products Regulator
12 volt Viewloader
Recommended
Paintballs:
I reccomend using Blaze or Tournament Paint. The barrel itself is very thin which makes for accuracy.
Strengths: Very fast and accurate and as light as a feather
Weaknesses: Not any I've found but its all personal preference
Review: I love this barrel. I have worked with many barrels and this is one of the most accurate ones. The best thing about it is the accuracy but next is the weight. I looked at it and said that is a piece of plastic. The guy said, "Pick it up and hold it." So I go to grab it thinking he was playing with me and that the barrel was heavy. It is light as a feather and it does not break. It took more beating than my other barrels in one month and showed no signs of wearing.
Conclusion: I suggest that if you have an autococker or find this barrel for another gun than buy it. It may be high in price or not but it will be worth it in the end. Amazing barrel!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

UD83 Monday, February 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J
Flatline (A5)
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
Halo B
4568 HPA
Deadon Drop Forward
AKA 2ltr reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends what size barrel you bought
Strengths: Light
Weaknesses: Rubber squeegee
Narrow margin of error
Review: So this may run contrary to what you've been reading, and part of that is my fault, but in my view, if I pay 100 bucks for a barrel, it should be at least a little tolerant of the paint I put in it.
I spent days on here, pbnation, icd-owners, and watching youtube videos of different barrels before deciding on the stiffi 14" in .689. I was pretty amped up when it arrived so I threw it on the marker, a moderately upgraded ICD Promaster, and started trying to put paint through it. I only had about 1000 psi left in the tank, so when I started spraying paint all over the place I thought I needed to rebalance my regs.
Once that was done, I aired up and shot some more and was still slinging paint all over the place. Think of setting an ammo can on fire and that's what it looked like coming out of the barrel. So I cleaned my eyes, relubed everything, replaced my batteries, put my dwell up, put the 15bps limit on the marker (doubt i was shooting 15 anyway but still) and tried again. No difference and I ran out of air.
So I went to work Saturday and cleaned everything up, (firemen have alot of downtime to do this kind of thing at work). Sunday I went to the field pretty sure I was all set, the field was using marballizer (.685-.688) which looked pretty good. Unfortunately, I was getting dominated by every teenager with a rental gun (98c) and couldn't hit anything. At one point I was so frustrated I took my buddy's 98C and compared it to my marker. At about 25 yards he outshot me for consistency. At 15 yards he drew a smiley face on a building on the concept field. I drew a postmodern artist's rendition of a pickaxe murder of a clown family.
I played the rest of the day, putting about 2500 rounds of paint through the air in various forms from mist to shell to errant paintballs that actually hit a couple people. I shot 500xball bronze (.688-.689), 500 white bag (a mix) and around 1500 marbs.
I came home, cleaned everything up and then shot some more messing with the regs to no avail. I got down to about 200 fps and was still breakin paint. I can't tell the difference between a chop and a barrel break. I bought 2 boxes of wally world paint, and had white box and marballizer left over from the field. I was so mad at my MARKER that it never occured to me that it might be the barrel because of all the reviews on here. So I put the stock barrel back on and shot at 280fps and lo and behold, no breaks in the first hopper and I could keep it on a big oak at least from about 25 yards or so. Alternated back and forth for awhile and figured it out, it was the stiffi barrel. After doing some reading, I found that sometimes a loose fiber is in the barrel but this wasn't the case. Turns out .689 is a pretty tight tolerance for a paintball in Feb.
Update: Turns out if your barrel isn't performing, you can send it back and they'll give you another one for 70 bucks. So if you're going to buy this barrel, don't bother with a single, just get a kit. If I did this 'deal' it would be 109 bucks for the barrel, 8 bucks for shipping and handling x 3, and then 70 for a new barrel. In other words, one barrel will have cost me a little better than 200 bucks... so either get the largest bore possible (which defeats the purpose), buy the kit (almost as expensive) or save your money.
Conclusion: The stiffi may still be a great barrel. And I chose the .689 so I can't knock stiffi for that. But that being said, I shot white box, which is about 5 different types of leftover paint at the field (which ranged from .685 to .691 so I'll give the barrel a pass here), Marballizer (Which should have shot well since it's .685-.688), wally world recon that rolled through the barrel when I was check bore sizes, xball bronze which is a .688-.689 paint and wally world somethingelse ( I don't know the name because it's in the back of my truck as I write this and I don't feel like walking outside to beat a dead horse.)
I'm not saying "Don't buy the barrel" I'm saying at the very least "don't buy one smaller than about .693) I'm giving it a 6 because at 109 bucks for it to have not even shot the paint that it was designed to shoot (.689) makes me put it in that 'specialty product' category. Meaning it's useless to me since marb, xball, and white box are my three choices at the field, 2 of those are supposed to work, and not one of them is shootable in this barrel. Before anyone gets started on the, "shuld hav goten .693 noOb" stuff, remember that your paint and barrel match are the whole point in an upgraded barrel, otherwise, you're spending 100 bucks to quiet your marker down about 2db with no other benefit.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 17th, 2009 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LURCH Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: A-5
Shochtech drop and foregrip
E-grip
St!ffi barrel
32* remote
Strengths: Accuracy, EXTREMELY LIGHT, looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: Didn't notice any quietnice, mine was a large bore (.695)
Review: I got this barrel for Christmas and was so excited to try it but couldn't until a week later. The waiting was horrible. I was using paintballs that were to small but it still shot wonderfully. Ya know how the J&J Ceramics are supposed to be really light? THEY ARE HEAVY COMPARED TO THIS!!! It is so light, it's totally weird with it on the end of your gun.
Conclusion: This is a terriffic barrel. I've seen it for less than $90 new, so look around. It is definately worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gholam13 Tuesday, November 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Freak, Dye Ultralite, J&J, Planet Eclipse Shaft 2 and 3, CP 2 piece
Marker Setup: 07 Ego, 09 Ego and Geo
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Gap and Draxxus mainly
Strengths: Lightness..... that is pretty much all I can say is a strength of this barrel.
Weaknesses: Extremely fragile
Review: I purchased this barrel about 6 to 7 month ago and as I'm many people that have carbon fiber barrels was very hesitant to use it in "normal" tournament level use. I babied it for most of the time I owned it and used my Ultralite the majority of the time for fear of breaking it, wouldn't let teammates use it etc. Not to get off topic, but I have had this Ultralight barrel for 3 years and it is amazingly accurate even after accidentally falling and landing on my marker while play which dug the Ultralite 4 inches into the ground.

So about 3 months ago I started feeling that I was being silly, I mean the marketing from Site acts like this is harder then metal barrels and the warranty covers against manufacturing defects. So I began using it on a normal basis and about 2 months later I was doing drills with my team (not even playing just doing snap shooting drills) and the tip of the barrel cracked while shooting. My team was amazed to see the barrel break during normal shooting. After closer examination it appeared that the barrel had straight down 2 side by side rows of the porting. My team and other people of the field all had the same opinion, this would be a no brainier for Site since it was a blatant manufacturing defect. So I contacted Site and shipped my barrel back to them. I called them with a week and a half to see if they had received my barrel and shipped out a replacement. I was told that they were too busy to address it and I should call back in a week. Well long story short after a number of delays and excuses I was told that they would not replace it because it was not a defect as far as they could see.

I literally laughed at the person on the phone from Site and asked if he saw the barrel. I was then offered a replacement for $71 dollars. I explained that I would rather use that money to purchase a Sly or Invert barrel since I had completely lost faith in Stiffis.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend that you look at the alternatives and not purchase from this manufacture. They do not stand by there product and they are many alternatives. I personally have owned many barrels and personal find that the Dye Ultralite is similar in sound signature and accuracy without the draw back of being overly fragile. Its not worthy slimming down a few grams if the barrel will crack or shatter within months. I play tournaments and I don't want to be so worried about my barrel that I play hard.

Judge for your self, I took pictures of the barrel before shipping and posted them to flickr with the tag "Site stiffi barrel"
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

miketarin Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye boom stick and stock bob long
Marker Setup: 02 timi with halo
Recommended
Paintballs:
they come in diff. bore size's so any paint will work.I use Blaze mostly
Strengths: The hands down lightest most accurate barrel in the sport.
Weaknesses: None....I would pay even more than what they asked for it!
Review: This barrel is the easy to clean and has the bore size right next to the treads. This is the lightest and most accurate barrel I have ever heard of or used.I cant wait till I get the entire set I have 3 of the 8 sizes now .This is the next level!
Conclusion: This is the only barrel in the world you will ever need.It is perfection at its finest
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

SWMarauder Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
no similar products besides the stock 8 inch from my 98
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
St!ff! 16 inch barrel
CAR Stock
Dark Horizon Titanium Limited Hammer
Lazer Sight (walmart special)
Remote Line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo works well so far still testing
Strengths: -Lightweight, very light weight
-Very good length
-Quiet
-SelfCleaning
Weaknesses: PRICE, too many numbers without a decimal
Review: If you are confortable with parting with around a hundred dollars, by all means go ahead. Its quiet, the only sound you hear is the noise of the gun and its really not that loud, I heard A st!ff! on a diffent gun and it was quieter. Without a remote line your tank tends to seem to weigh more. Ive been trying to make my gun weight the least possible (its starts off as one of the heaviest gun you can buy due to its metal body.) This barrel helps that commitment much easier. So the weight is very low, accuracy is pretty high (not the best...but hey what barrel is?)
Overall a superb barrel.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have the money, but if are penny pinching I reccomend saving up for a few years, or buying something like ceramic or aluminum... carbon fiber lil pricy right now.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zulu_Warrior Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
j&j ceramic
Marker Setup: A-5
brass eagle red dot sight
16"stiffi
14oz. co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs work well
Strengths: Light
accurate
stronger than steel
Quiet as hell
Weaknesses: I haven't discovered any except for the price
( you have to use rubber squeegees)
Review: from the day i got this barrel i knew it would be great. but when i got to my local field it just blew me away. I couldn't believe it the accuracy was exceptional, I was able to hit people on the others side of the field ( keep in mind that i was using CO2 and the field was a small indoor area). 80% of my shots flew in a near perfectly straight line. also this barrel is lighter than my stock 8.5" aluminum barrel. this barrel is extremely durable as it's carbon fiber. Also i was amazed at how quiet this barrel was. it was so quiet i could hear the "click" of the bolt hitting the receiver.( and this is pretty hard to hear). The only thing is that with this barrel you have to use rubber squeegees which shouldn't be a problem from most of us.
Conclusion: So to conclude i would highly recommend this barrel if you can handle the price tag
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lostazncause Thursday, July 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye UL, kaner, AA, eclipse shaft, hammerhead, many stock barrels
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
cp reg
egg2 (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever works for you
Strengths: Weight, accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Ive been doing barrel tests for many barrels out on the market for some time now, just trying to find which designs seem to work better. Truth is, the stiffy performed admirably BUT not enough to justify the price difference from other barrels. The only difference between this barrel and the other 2 piece heavily ported stepped bore barrels was that this one didnt have as much drop at long range. Notice i said 2-piece. Now I know this is a one piece barrel, but It actually does have a step so for all intents and purposes it fires exactly like a 2-piece.

Accuracy is the product of quite a few things people neglect:
consistency: a good consistent regulator
Accuracy of shooter: If you cant shoot you wont hit anything. Most players believe theyre decent shots, but until you can hit a paintball tossed into the air, you havent truly mastered aiming. Years in the military will teach you to hold a gun up for hours without moving.
good paint: Find the best you can get. THIS IS KEY!!!!

the stiffi was accurate but performed quite similary to cheaper barrels on the market. If you truly feel the weight difference is worth the money then go for it. Truth, it shoots very similarly to a UL if not slightly (just slightly) better
Conclusion: If you really think you want to spend that much for this barrel then go for it.
performance? good
price:performance ratio? eh....
The choice is yours
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Phil78 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Whisper
Boomstick
All american
Marker Setup: A-5
dead on drop forward
commando stock
response trigger
double trigger
reflex sight
Electronic Rhino hoper
Recommended
Paintballs:
like it matters
Strengths: Accurate
looks
incredibly light
Weaknesses: Price
Weak tip
Review: I have been upgrading my gun since i got it and this barrel is one of my biggest improvements if you own an a-5 you know what im talking about. I love its unique profile and how accurate it is. It has a good sound and is really really light. Its kinda expensive but is worth it. The quality is A+ I use it in both Speed Ball and wood ball. The biggest downfall is its strength for carbon fiber it could be better. I love it and it works great with a fast gun since it still fires well with ball breakage.

Conclusion: It is awesome only barrel better is the switch. If you are looking for a sniper combined with a machine gun barrel you have found it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jmonkey Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
j&j edge,stock wgp,all american,boomstick
Marker Setup: 2k3 sevf a/c,clear matte,cf 68/4500,halob,stiffi 16 inch .687 bore,worrblade all delrin bolt,kapp delrin detent,dye cfiber grip panels,dye clear matte cocking rod beavertail long drop and airport.
Recommended
Paintballs:
depends on bore size of ordered barrel,i run draxxus and evil.
Strengths: weight
accuraccy
one piece stepped bore
Weaknesses: using only a rubber squeegie
Review: today was this barrels trial run and im amazed,its lighter than my macro line !!lol.people beyond the chrony couldnt even hear it firing.using week old field blaze i managed to put ball on ball from 75 to 150 feet without a single winger.i highly reccommend this barrel to anyone who isnt in the market for a kit.as for price its competitive with other barrels of the same quality.you get what you pay for .after how the stiffi performed today i will be adding two more two my set .
Conclusion: it has all the elements that make a great paintball barrel,light,quiet,good looks,accurate,durable.also a stepped bore one piece.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media