paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper / Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper / Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper

Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
BE Pocket Hopper is a 50 count hopper. Comes with some Brass Eagles low end markers, and is also available for purchase.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
WarHamster Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200, Halo TSA, Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: Ariakon SIM-4, bottomline, remote system
Strengths: -Very small
-Detracts less from realism (for milsim markers)
-Conserves Paint
Weaknesses: -Small capacity
-Cant' be filled more then 2/3 without jamming
-IT'S BRASS EAGLE!!!
Review: I was at action village today (yes I live close enough that I can actually physically visit the store) and I found these. I figured a 50 round hopper for $3.75 was a pretty good deal, so I picked up three today. I've currently spray painted two of them black, and I've left the last one clear for the time being.

After playing around with them on my SIM-4 here's my comments of em...

-Since they hold about 35 rounds they do a pretty good job of simulating an amunition clip as far as how frequently you have to reload and such (more of a concern for mil-sim players).
-You'll be using less paint since you can only fire off about 30 rounds (if filled all the way, the hopper doesn't feed, so it effectively has a 30~40 round capacity), and then only around 3~5 round bursts. This will save you a lot of money and probably do a good job of sharpening your game since you have to make your shots count (just like pump).
-With a clip kit & remote I figure this is about as close as you can come to a real weapon with .68 paintball markers (unless you want to feed three balls at a time into the feedneck manually (yes I HAVE done this before)).
Conclusion: It you're a pump player, hardcore for realism mil-simmer, or just looking to sharpen your game, these are great for you. Cheap, effective, and pretty much a spiffy hopper all around.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

af895 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Pocket Hopper
Marker Setup: Classic-Valved Tac-One Automag
12" double-ported PPS Brass barrel, matched with sight bead, brass finish
vertical male stabilizer (a PPS high-pressure regulator)
Strengths: TINY, low profile, lightweight, inexpensive, forces you to be conservative and make shots count.
Weaknesses: Doesn't protect contents from hits, occasionally needs jiggling - can break if shot.
Review: EDIT, 29 July 2007
Don't buy this product. The Winchester Pocket hopper does the same job, better, without the problems of the Brass Eagle, namely its tendency to self-destruct when shot with a paintball.

...

Background
I bought the Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper (BEPH!) a while ago and used it on a mil-sim electro, the SP-8. I played with it a bit on the SP-8 but didn't use it a heck of a lot - not enough for a fair review.

I've since sold the SP-8 in favor of a Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer and today, December 27th, 2006, I played an entire day (8+ hours, 19 full games) with the Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper.

I'm sold. With a marker like the Blazer which is quiet, super accurate and lightweight, I found myself sneaking around in tunnels and alleys, waiting and watching and taking very careful aim. Single shots were all it took to tag people out. With the BEPH, I rarely found myself out of paint because I conserved more.

Apples and Oranges
Perhaps if you have an Ego or Ion, you're going to "feel a need" to rip. Those are tournament guns after-all and you probably DO rip during a speedball game. This is the wrong hopper for you. Get something bigger with a force feed. Use TONS of paint - your sponsors are paying for it after-all.

Then again, the LA-Hitmen are shooting BEPH equipped PUMPS during speedball games. Check them out on YouTube... it's a sight to see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2frQ3w5E6c

For the rest of us...

If you play stock class, pump or you have a super accurate marker and you want to conserve paint, either to save money or just for the challenge, this hopper is an excellent choice.

Look for opportunities to take a single shot to eliminate someone. Hold off on shooting or sneak just a bit closer instead of wailing on the trigger and spraying. Do more snap shooting drills and make every shot count. This hopper will either school you or you'll fall off the horse and go back to an electro hopper. Your game will benefit from sticking with it though.

...a downside
My only word of caution: I took ONE hopper hit (friendly fire while I was storming the OpFor castle) and the contents of the hopper - or at least one ball - liquified. I had to remove the hopper and wash it, along with the feedneck.

Fortunately, I had already yelled "freeze" at everyone and was so close there wasn't a need to shoot. Be warned though: this hopper won't protect your paint from turning to pudding if you get hit in the hopper! I'm toying with putting metal or rubber on the outside to minimize this - not a difficult mod.

EDIT - 7 Jan. 2007
Played two days ago and was shot from the side in the hopper - it broke! Hole right through one side. You'd be wise to armor the Pocket-Hopper somehow - perhaps with neoprene or metal - to avoid this happening. I bought another one and plan on doing just that with it.

EDIT - 18 April 2007
I found an alternative to the BEPH that works very well: the Winchester 48-round hopper.

The Winchester doesn't come with a lid but you can take a pod-lid like a Dye locklid or other pod that has a "skirt" for the lid and glue it on top of the Winchester. I rate it the best 50-round class hopper available. It WILL take a hopper hit without damage to either hopper or contents.

I tried to review it here but, for some reason, I can't get PBreview.com to validate it as an actual product. Wierd.
Conclusion: 29 July 2007 EDIT: buy a Winchester Pocket Hopper instead as they don't break when shot.

...

Play with a 50-round hopper for a day. Learn how to compensate for the lack of on gun paint. Instead of shooting 15bps to suppress while running up field, shoot 5bps and make those shots count. I did. We won. Repeatedly.

If you learn to adapt your style of play to having less than 50-rounds on-marker, you'll save large sums of money on paint. I went from using 1,500+ rounds a day to about 500 and I think I could still be more conservative.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 11:37 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jontom Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
old flat style hoppers and they have nothing over this one. this is simply the best small capacity hopper out there.
Marker Setup: Automag w/ 20 oz remote tank 11" custom barrel
VL Triad w/ 14" smart parts progressive barrel
Spyder Victor II
Tippman 98 w/ 9 oz tank 21" barrel.....anyone want a 21" barrel btw lol, dang gas hog
Strengths: small,more "realistic" shot capacity,unobtrusive,perfect for sniping and simulation
Weaknesses: clear color. easily fixed with some black or camo spraypainting.
Review: this is simply the best hopper for "realistic" tactical games and for snipers. people are getting way too into large capacity hoppers and wasting paint. MAKE YOUR PAINT COUNT!!!!!! why would a "sniper" use a 200+ count hopper? the only reason i can come up with is... they must be a lousy shot! one shot one kill. as for "realistic tactical" games, you have to be aware of how many rounds you can carry and how many you have spent. what better way than with a low count hopper? anybody can hit someone with enough paint flying out of their barrel. try doing it with as few rounds spent as possible. i have heard some people say you can't use this hopper with a semi-auto. you can if you vent the hopper with a few well placed holes drilled into it to vent gas. i use it with my Automag, Triad, and Tippman and shoot about 8-10 bps with it.
Conclusion: the only recommendations i can make for it is spray paint it either camo or flat black, depending on your game areas, and to drill some holes in it to vent gas when used with a semi-auto
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 15th, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

oledude Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 200
Marker Setup: Phantom, 45 grip, bottomline, 12" Dye Ultralite barrel, VL Pocket hopper
Strengths: Holds 50 paintballs, very small profile, perfect for non-stock pumpers
Weaknesses: None really, can jam if filled too full.
Review: When i saw this I knew it was perfect for pumpgun use. It is a very small hopper target, holds about the right amount of balls for a game, and doesn't look like those old school low capacity square hoppers. It also keeps the gun light and compact. I am very pleased with it and i paid only $4.95 at Galyans Spoting Goods store. I haven't seen it available anywhere else, probably because most people with semi's are looking for large capacity loaders. But I'm sure it can be ordered from anywhere.
Conclusion: Given the specific application for non-stock pumpers, it is an excellent product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

LittleNicky252 Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200, Quantum
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant, 14in PMI Razzor Barrel, Egg 2, and 20oz co2
Strengths: Small, weight, and you can put it in your pocket and carry it around
Weaknesses: Not Strong, 50 balls it holds, adn breaks easily
Review: Well, when I got a BE pump action I had this little thing. I could shoot fine and it loaded fine, but when I got back I found out that it had broken on the top. The cheap thing broke 5 balls when I was shot. Well, all I would say is that don't buy this piece of junk it is crap. It actually has crap written on it(BE!!!!!!!)
Conclusion: DANGER!!!!!!! - Do not buy this!!!!!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 8th, 2005 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

snipe u now!!! Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
regular 200 round hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT and the 14" progressive.
Also, a Tippmann model 98 (no custom) with a flatline.
I use a 4+1, remote, and a 20 and 9 oz. co2 for both guns.
Strengths: Low profile, hold 50 rounds, good sniper hopper.
Weaknesses: Cheap lid that broke off. the white color sticks out. ( spray paint fixed that problem)
Review: Your probably wondering why I would want to use this small 50 round hopper. I use my model 98 for sharpshooting. If you snipe a lot , this is the perfedt hopper for you.

When you snipe you don't need to worry about how fast the hopper is feeding, or how fast you BPS is. You also don't need a big ol' fat hopper sticking out and becoming a target and giving away your position.

You can melt right in to the ground with this hopper. I love my midget hopper. You might want to spray the hopper green though.
Conclusion: If you snipe, or play stock class this is the hopper for you. and a very good price only about $5 or cheaper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

gsxrmike Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution w/ ZBoard
12V Revy x/ X board
Mach 404
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivore Black/Green
Clear Evolution with Z Board
WGP Peanut Marker
KISS Paintballgun Stand
Strengths: TINY!
Weaknesses: No motor
Review: If you want a fun combination, put this on your gun that has an Anti-Chop eye. This loader is so small no one sees it. It is a GREAT novelty item to add some change to your game. Wanna work on your movement and your angles? Put this loader on, you will concentrate on your shots!

This loader is great for games with friends where you want to conserve paint, or if you want to add a level of skill to your game. It's easy to take out 2 or 3 people shooting 900 paintballs a game, try doing it with only 50!

Also, it makes your marker extremely lightweight, and since this loader is the size of a tennis ball, you dont have to worry about hopper hits popping over the top of a bunker.

Conclusion: This loader is worth every nickel. I use it usually once or twice an outing on my Karnivore to make me focus on movement, angels and choosing my shots. Also, if you use this loader for the entire day, you'll still have 3/4 of a case of paint when you go home. I love the feeling I get when the game starts and I'm like "Oh sh*t, I have 50 rounds, better make 'em count!"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PeTeY_Nelson Thursday, August 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Avalon commando 1 w/ 9oz CO2 bottle, and 200 count hopper
Strengths: -small
-fits almost anywhere
-good for practice
Weaknesses: -plastic is very weak, may damage balls inside..
Review: Easy to use.. I got this so I could use it in the backyard while I fine tune my guns... Fits on most guns, best you use for target practice, not reccomended for game play... and the best part is I only payed $1.oo. :) so i'm happy because now because it makes fooling around easier.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want to shoot your gun without hving a heavy hopper on top, but also so you don't have to manually drop balls in the gun..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impulse JR Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 hoppers, motorized hoppers can't compare.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, 12V Revolution, 14" Progressive, 48ci/3000psi Pure Energy Tank
Strengths: -Small
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -Jams Easily
Review: This hopper came with my Blade 02 that I got for backyard matches. For the pump marker, it works GREAT! It feeds the paint 1 at a time pretty well, and keeps you in check for not wasting your paint.

I tried this hopper on my Model 98, thinking it would be perfect for woodsball. I tried to shoot, and I got nothing. So I fired 2 shots somewhat quickly. CHOP CHOP. This hopper WILL NOT feed paint fast enough for a semi automatic marker. If you rattle the hopper after every shot, you will get the paint, but otherwise, stick to a 200 round hopper, to prevent chops.

This hopper is very small, and is great for non-stock class pump guns. I don't recommend it for Semi-Autos though. For like 5 bucks, eh, go ahead and buy it for laughs.
Conclusion: Fun hopper for messing around with pumps, and not wanting to waste paint. Doesn't work well on semi autos though, and jams easily. Small and cheap, 5/10.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Pattons3rd Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200rd
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Response stock
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Spyder Shutter stock
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Zap ZXS 200/Winchester Laredo 80 Pump
Strengths: Size
weight
Weaknesses: Size if play semis
Review: Nice little hopper. Perfect for the pump players. Perfect for my pump because it gets 45-50 shots per 12 gram and the hopper holds 45-50 paint balls. Keeps people's shooting down, does not waste paint. Good all around. Spray paint it dark colors or cover it with camo duck tape. I did that to my 200 shot hopper.
Conclusion: If you're a pump player, get it. if you're a semi, depends on your style of play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media