paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
sergentslaughte Wednesday, January 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7
Raptor
Marker Setup: Angel IR3 with Pure Energy ASA, Dye Boomstick, and Dye Throttle
Strengths: They are comfortable
They protect my eyes from going blind
Weaknesses: They are not flex's
Review: I love these things, they are the exact same things as flex's but are cheaper and I like these better, flex's have soft ears that are too small, I almost ruptured and ear drum because of that. These have full face protection, and cover the entire side of my head. They are upgradeable with most flex parts if I remember correctley too.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend these to people if you can find them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

za_hulk Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a mask is a mask is a mask. sometimes
Marker Setup: automag rt pro ule q-loader ......
Strengths: Never fogs
durable
Weaknesses: Hard to replace lenz
Review: its a nice mask to start out with. My philosphy is to always spend the most you can on a mask because the better you see the better you shoot. this maks is like i said a good maks to start off with and if you want to go firther into paintball its a good mask to keep going. it has never foged on me for the 3 years i have had it the only bad thing is i lost my screws that held the mask together. just one day they weren't there. i just replaced then with zip-ties.
Conclusion: Its a nice mask not the best but nice im giving it a 9 as a mid ranged mask. you can get better but cost more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nUtZ. Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Switch
V-Force Profiler
Dye I3
Marker Setup: System X NME
Pulse Loader
Smart Parts tank (Max-flo thing)
Rhino Cover
Strengths: Durable
Comfortable - apart from 1 bit
Price
Customisationability (lol, i no thats not a word)
Weaknesses: Lense Change
Ear Piece/protectors
Review: Ok, ended up getting the Spectra because i put a nice big scratch in my proto's lenses and was going to a walk on the next day, then they wouldn't let me borrow a pair of goggles, so i bought a part of these from campaign (£45, rip off), though you can get these at around £30, maybe less in the states.

Anywho, onto the review:

Pros
First off the price, for about £30 this is a brill mask for new and pro players a like, even coming with thermal lenses, a definite selling point as not many others do, also, on hte subject of lenses, there are LOADS, brilliant for letting you stand out from the crowd and you can also buy different colour face masks.

Additionally, this mask will last a long time and does not sacrifice much comfort for the durability, it is also nice and light

ok now for the Cons
a Little nag i have are those foam by the ears, probably the only thing uncomfortable about the mask, this beening by the end of game, those things are digging onto the side of ur head and you can't wait to get them off.

Finally, THE LENSES CHANGE,ahhh, most fiddly change i have done so far, this unfortunately is the thing that made me get the profiler, an extreme let down for such a good mask, and it is a vital part of the mask as the lense needs to be properly looked after, so washed preferably after everyday of play.
Conclusion: Although this is a good, solid mask, i would go for a proto for the new players (AKA "The Newbie" =P) (can get them now for about £10!!) or spend that little extract and buy the profiler.

would have got a 9 if it wasn't for the lense change
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fenix_Wylde Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler (though not in the same price range)
Marker Setup: GT 2000
14" Twister, 16" Tiller, 16" Nightstick
VL 200 Mag
Sterling STP (backup)
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
No pain (when hit in the face)
Weaknesses: Hassle to change lens
No throat protection
Review: I've had my Spectra for about 10 years (I didnt play on a regular basis until about 3 months ago). I bought it along with my Sterling in 1996 and it's been sitting in the basement for the last 7 years. It is resonably comfortable if you wear glasses and its very durable. My lens has been mistreated but still doesn't fog.

Only drawbacks are that replacement straps almost costs as much as the mask itself (in Sweden) and that the lens is somewhat difficult to change.
Conclusion: For the price, it's a very good mask with no super-annoying drawbacks. I am however changing to a V-Force Profiler that is a much better mask ( but also much more expensive than the Spectra)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

underated Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott mask, invison, flex ize
Marker Setup: RAT Impluse
Freak
WAS board (comming soon)
CP lightning drop
68 4500 crossfire
Strengths: Face coverage
comfy
nice vision
Weaknesses: The mask fogged up after many uses
Eats paint
Review: When i first got this mask it worked pretty well, but after awhile i started getting smudges on it that would not go away, I could still see well enough though. At my last tourny I got somewhere on the mask, and paint got in between the lens's. Two of the black bolts on the bottom corners of the mask fell out, lost those. When i got shot in the mouth portion the paint flew through and somehowcut my lip, got that nasty taste in my mouth. The maske held its own even with the smudges. The smudges got in between the lens's and it would fog in between the lens and there was nothing i could do about that, except buy new lens.
Conclusion: Buy this product if u are into wood ball, get something that produces bounces if u are in tournys. It was an alright mask up until the maks started getting fog and paint issues
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JTalicska Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bought this mask when I started playing, have had it ever sense.
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralite
Strengths: Great field of view.
Color
Look
Size
Visor
Protects head very well
Doesn't Fog
Weaknesses: It is a very wide mask.
The chin protector couldn't protect Jay Lenos chin.
Review: Overall this is a very good mask. Great field of view and look. My friend tells me that can be hard to breath in, and if you were 300 lbs you would probaly say the same thing. I love this mask and would never use a diffrent kind. However it is rather wide from the front and the chin protector barley covers my chin.
Conclusion: A+ mask.
Only reason I dont give it a 10 is becasue of how wide it looks from the front.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hexum Sunday, August 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
well, i used the rental googles at a paintball place my first time out, they fogged if you thought about breathing on them
Marker Setup: Blue Spyder Xtra
JT Spectra mask
Blue Ricochet AK
J&J Ceramic 14 inch
Psycho Ballistics Prostlye drop
some ugly expansion chamber
home trigger job
20 oz c02
Strengths: well, lets see it keeps my eyes safe, but most do.
On to the important stuff.
this has got to be the easiest system to take apart. this is one of those things that i appreciate very much, considering my head always finds a way to be visable. you can take it all apart in about 30 seconds. Another good thing that is underappreciated by many people is the visor, if any balls hit this they will always bounce, if you take it off... they will hit your forehead and break and leave a welt which isnt good on your head. O and the strap has some sticky stuff which keeps the strap where you put it
Weaknesses: well, they are tough to take apart the first time but htat is it
Conclusion: this is the best goggle system for the money $38 online, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr_mich Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7, PMI X-ray
Marker Setup: 2001 RF Autococker
Eclipse Blade Frame
Lapco Bigshot (looking to sell)
12 volt revolution
X-board
Dye Stickies
WGP Chrome Sledgehammer
WGP Chrome STO 3-way
KAPP Chrome Clippard Ram
Strengths: Well, it doesn't fog. Then again I'm a small guy and don't breathe much, and it seems like I'm the only guy that really breathes through his nose while playing. It's very comfortable, the foam is very high-quality and seems to absorb the sweat with no problem at all. The mask stays fogless even in hot, humid weather.
Weaknesses: Lenses. It's recommended that you take out your lenses and clean them after every day of play, otherwise the remaining paint will begin to deteriorate the lenses, thus making the mask un-safe. Well this would really help if they weren't a b**ch to get out. Most people I know spend over 30 minutes just taking out and putting in the eight plugs that connect the lenses to the goggle section of the unit. Man, it's a pain.

They have stiff bottoms, unlike the rubber Flex-7's that have rubber ones. This means more breaks and less bounces.
Conclusion: Well for the $40 I paid for it, I don't like it. It's a good mask while playing. After the day is over, don't expect to be able to finish up the rest of your homework for monday or clean the rest of your gear though. You'll spend forever trying to get the lenses back in after you take them out and clean them. Want to ignore them? Well I hope you don't plan on keeping your eyes in their sockets then. I give this such a low score because of the whole lense thing.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Calogero_08 Thursday, September 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagel masks ... Cheap
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Digital LED
Strengths: Good Comfort
Price isnt to bad
durability
LOOKS GREAT
Weaknesses: Very little if not NONE
Review: Well this is really the first mask that i had actually got that i really like. Its extreamly comfortable and u can take it apart with ease .. (if you ever decide to fix or get new parts on it) This mask has great durablilty and will last a longg time. The only thing that might start to break is the foam .. but thats just like any other mask. The visor on this mask comes off and can be put back on in no time at all ( i prefer without the visor .. looks alot better) also if you get the black lens flys on this it looks AWSOME in all black. You can alo buy a flex bottem for it :)
Conclusion: I would really recomend this mask to a begginer or someone with experiance. Its a great mask .. GO OUT AND BUY IT!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slingshot Tuesday, October 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees Head Case( a good mask too but I decided to go with JT because I know they always work.
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Basic
Ricochet AK Hopper
12 ounce Co2
Stock Barrel(soon to be a DYE Xcel)
Strengths: Wow! This mask is awesome. It's low profile, never fogs up, and looks cool. It works just as good as the other JT masks but is a lot less. I got mine for $37.95 so i don't know why they put $80 at the top.
Weaknesses: Nothing about this mask is bad. The visor came with one side lower than the other but thats because the people shipped it with the C02 tank on top of the visor.
Conclusion: This mask is awesome. I haven't had any problems with it so far so anyone who has problems with it should get an exchange because they must have got a defect.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media