paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25
        Next Page
Extreme Sport Tuesday, May 8th, 2001
Strengths: Its comfortable
I think it looks cool
its got good viewable range
comes with visor and forhead protector
There cool
Weaknesses: I lost the little screw thingy or the bottom right side, wont do much that its gone its not bad that i lost but its not perfect now, but ppl then like put on the white zip ties, and then its looks not to cool.
But looks arent everything, BUT! they are something
Some of the Field Helmets (constant use) the bands get stretched and pads ware off
mind you thats like how many people waring that stuff
if your buying for your self you set
Conclusion: Wicked Goggs
suggest em, but its not that ive tried to many other helmets on
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 29th, 2001
Strengths: JT Spectra, a long time leader and well known company in the sport of paintball created this mask, so it has a reputable, well-established company behind it. Firstly, this mask is extremely comfortable, and may just be the most comfortable mask you will ever wear thanks to the thick foam padding on the lenses. With a 260 degree peripheral field of view, you are able to see almost everything coming your way. If you buy the thermal version of this, you get a double pane thermal lens that is practically fog proof, and will only fog up in the most extreme conditions. (I.E. freezing cold, boiling hot, weather.) The protective, hard plastic mask exterior makes this mask virtually impenetrable from flying paintballs, and protects your entire face, and cheeks most adequately.
Weaknesses: However, the hard plastic exterior is also where this mask fails. Unlike the Diablo Skul mask, and the higher JT models such as the Flex-7 and Flex-7 Ize, this mask is entirely made of hard plastic, making paintballs susceptible to breaking on the mask. With the Skul, and both of the Flex-7's made of flexible rubber, this allows the paintballs to "bounce" off, allowing the player to avoind being "hit" out. Another problem with the mask, is that in the front portion of the mask, is may leave the player's chin area exposed a little more than they want. Other than that, this mask is fine.
Conclusion: In conclusion, JT has been in the paintball market for years, and have established themselves as a leader in the sport with quality made products. The JT Spectra (Thermal) mask is a great investment for the beginner, intermediate, or advanced player. At $95.00 canadian, it is a tad bit expensive, but when it comes to eye protection, one should spare no expense in buying the most adequate and proper equiptment. So, if you're in the market for a new mask, or are thinking of upgrading the one that you already have, I highly recomment the JT spectra Thermal. You won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 23rd, 2001
Strengths: It is very fairly priced. It has a very wide range of protection. The green color camaflouges (sorry bout the spelling) you very well. It has a very hard surface, so it doesn't hurt to get hit in the mask at all. I have gotten hit in the mask before and not even know it. It is very comfortable to wear, the foam around the lense is great. It has never fogged up on me, and i play in some crappy conditions.
Weaknesses: Ummmm...The stiffness of the mask won't really allow any balls to bounce off...Kinda hard to clean, but not too bad.
Conclusion: I got the mask for about $40.00, which is one of the best investments i have made in paintball. I would recommend this mask to anyone, newbie or pro. It is an all around great mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 21st, 2001
Strengths: The good qualities of this mask;Comfort, longevity, protection, peripheral vision, hearing, looks, and profile.

Here is an explanation of each of the above points;

Comfort is self explanatory. By longevity I mean that EVERY part on the mask is replaceable, so you should really not need another system for quite a while. I just replaced the strap on mine (I bought it right after JT first released the Spectra) because it had stretched over the years, and it's as good as new. The Protection level is very good with this mask, the front lower face shield is hard plastic, the ear and side face shields are a soft flexible foam. It will sting if hit in the foam but you won't get hurt. Peripheral vison is good, as you have about a 270 degree field of view. Hearing is excellent as the ear shields are rather unobtrusive soft foam. They don't echo or block sound as bad as hard plastic. The looks of this mask are excellent in my opinion. The only better looking mask is the IZE from JT. The mask is a very low profile, covering only what it needs to without being big and bulky like the X-fire or other cheaper masks.
Weaknesses: The bad things about this mask; may not be the best choice for glasses wearers and the lower shield could be more breathable.
Conclusion: This is an excellent mask. You may notice I don't mention price in my review, and this is because the goggle system is the SINGLE MOST IMPORTANT piece of equipment a paintball player has. The goggle system is the LAST place to scrimp and save money on. That said, I would have complained if the mask was overpriced compared to the competition, but it isn't.

I would heartily recommend one of the JT spectra system line to anyone looking for a good mask.

The only caveat I have is that if you wear glasses, try before you buy for fit, as it really depends on your frame and lenses as to whether it will work comfortably for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 17th, 2001
Strengths: this mask rocks. i bought mine used but even though its been worn quite a lot its still awsome. i love the good range of vision. just a plain out sweet mask.
Weaknesses: kind of expensive brand new but what isnt' expensive these days?
Conclusion: with a thermal lense the mask never fogs up. even without the thermal it almost never fogs up. its also really comfortable. i would recomend this mask to anyone. i give it a 9 just because 10 is perfect and nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 16th, 2001
Strengths: This mask is good because it has a 260 degree view. It has thermals. You can get it in olive. It only costs about $40. It doesn't fog. It has a visor that keeps rain out of the lenses, sun out of your eyes, and paintballs bounce off of it every time. It never gets to hot. Clear lenses. Comes with a red or green storing bag. My dad and me both use it and they have different bag colors so we don't mix them up. Easy to clean.
Weaknesses: People try to steal it because it is so cool.
Conclusion: This mask is just as good as any other $50 and up mask. It has everything you need in a mask except a fan. Who wants a fan? Besides it was only $40, a fan alone is about $40. I like it and so will you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 11th, 2001
Strengths: feels good and has large lenses that open up your vision
NEVER FOGS
Weaknesses: not very flexy and doesnt cover lower jaw,
Conclusion: Buy a flex 7 ize- pay a little extra and look good. Tiger eye brown-crazy! look like a pro!
but if you dont got the 85 bucks for the flex go for it with the spectra its decent and doesnt fog at all
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 4th, 2001
Strengths: Awesome mask all around. With the thermal lens it never fogs(I've seen them sold on-line with a single lense, but most come with a thermal. The mask comes with a visor which I like. It keeps rain off lense, sun out of your eyes, and looks cool. The mask is made of good material so it doesn't hurt at all when you get hit. I also like the wide lense so you don't have to have your head facing directly at your target.
Weaknesses: The first day I played I lost the ear pad thingies in the woods. The same thing happened to ny brother and my friend. This can simply be fixed by using some glue or strong two sided tape. My mask is now uncomfortable on my ears when i don't where my ski mask under it. Another problem is that the lense is hard as hell to get out to clean. Never take the lense out unless there is paint on it. The last problem is the lense is kind of far away from your face. Sometimes you may get a glare from the sun'n reflection, but nothing too bad. All of these are just minor problems compared to other masks.
Conclusion: Overall an awesome mask. If you don't want to buy a $100 dollar mask this is the way to go. It comes in parts so you can upgrade it as needed with a Flex-7 piece, forhead protector, fan, skinz, and camo covers. The lense rarely fogs which is the main reason why you should buy an expensive mask. The mask is comfortable and stays on your head well. Once you try this mask once you'll fall in love with it. I'm only giving it a 9 because the ear piece padding fell off.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 30th, 2001
Strengths: This is definitely the best mask I have ever used. Spectra thermal never fogs and is easy to clean the lense when u get shot there and this mask is also pretty comfortable.
Weaknesses: Nothing I can think of
Conclusion: For the price of $45 this mask is excellent. If you buy it you will be happy with it because it stays on well, cleans good, doesnt fog up, and is pretty comfortable. So dont be dumb and go buy the flex ize or proteus which both cost from $75-$100 because you will just be spending more money for just as good as a mask as the spectra thermal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 29th, 2001
Strengths: This absolutely is the only mask I will ever play with.. Im not usually a person that makes a statement like that, but if you need more than this mask offers, then something is wrong... Thermal goggles, hard shell, JT quality, it rocks. Buy this one, and you can use it for the next 30 years.
Weaknesses: sometimes the inner stuffing gets ripped out... keep it away from your dog
Conclusion: The vision area rocks, doesnt fog at all, its comfortable, stays on well, definently worth the cost, and is better than any mask I have ever tried... dont save $10 and go get a POS Scott mask... this thing rocks. Definently recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media