paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25
                            
t_smith40 Thursday, January 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Can't compair a rental to this one :)
Marker Setup: F4-TP Illustrator (Stock), 16 oz CO2, VL 200 Hopper
Strengths: Feild of view is great with very little obscured.
Olive colour (Perfect for backwood games)
Visor helps with sun
Thermal lenses are hard to fog :)
Weaknesses: The visor warps during shipping and it takes a bit to get it straight
The little pad by the ear was missing and the other one wants to come off.
Conclusion: I really enjoy using this mask over others. I would recommend this product to anyone over others of equal prices.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ingramo70 Thursday, January 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
no other products as good as this one i can tell you that.
Marker Setup: spyder one with an expansion chamber and a stock barrel
Strengths: well where do i start, its very very comfortable, its thermal, so it keeps the fog at bay, it comes in cool colors.
Weaknesses: not a whole lot of bad in this product except it kinda dont cover the jaw area enough, like it should.
Conclusion: well its a very great mask for beginners, novice, pro. i would suggest it to anybody who wants a good mask!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerFanatic Tuesday, January 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE 280, Vents, Zleader, Dye Invision
Marker Setup: 2k autococker WGP hinge, worr games mini 3-way, CP one piece. PTP warp feed
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I remember this mask fondly.
Pros:
This mask was very comfortable, the foam around the goggles was indredible. It gripped well but was light as air and had the JT logo all around the inside of it. It offered some chin protection and good ear protection. The super soft JT visor bounced alot of balls saving me plenty of times from being eliminated. The vision was also good. The goggle edges could be seen around the nose and on the forehead but not on the cheeks or to the sides. The JT thermal very rarely fogged, only on low temperature days with high humidity. The strap had silicon gel on the inside from great grip, this mask never slipped out of place no matter the slides or dives.

Cons:
Didn't take bounces in the lower face, hard plastic as opposed to its cousin the Flex-7. The ear foam eventually fell out and sometimes left me with the mask slapping my head when hit in the sides. A portion of my jaw was left exposed by the upward angle of the mask towards the ear piece. The goggle foam eventually wore out and started to flake, leaving black speckles all over me, but served well for four hard years before it started that. There was no forehead protection beyond the visor, it was possible to take a ball under that into the exposed forehead.
Conclusion: An all around good mask, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a mask that performs very well and reliably for a long period of time.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 3rd, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Feels great on the face.....GREAT VISION!!!!, and well enough to wear all day long (A MUST). Picked up because of shortage of Funds for the Spectra Flex 7. The Flex 7's flex mouth gaurd bolts right up to this mask. Its the same exact mask, minus the FLex bottom gaurd...but its only 20 bucks.
Weaknesses: Nothing was bad...untill this week end. It was Extrealy Moist, early(round 8 ISH), juss sprinkled. My Mask Fogged like a Mutha, It wasent good at all. Not juss mine.....all 4 of my friends have Spectra's, even a few FLex 7's. After a few rounds it cleared, Didn't fog all daylong.
Conclusion: Vision is great.....great Feel, not too bad on the pockets(ALways GOOD), Almost never Fogs....untill this weekend (read above). I still wouldn't get any other mask, I want a Flex 7 mouth guard, that would make this mask exactly the same as the Flex 7 mask.....and the guard is only 20 bucks!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Varihot Friday, February 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Profiler (The BEST!)
Marker Setup: A5 R/T, Double Trigger, DOP Bullet Drop Forward, Pure Energy 68/4500, DOP Front Grip, Flatline, Lapco 12" Big Shot
Strengths: Comfort WITHOUT GLASSES
Weaknesses: TERRIBLE w/glasses. Limited view. VERY HARD to remove lens. Screws loosen.
Review: The ONLY good thing is their comfort without glasses. The bad points are legion. It is LOUSY WITH GLASSES. Crushes them to your face. Bends frames. No side slots for the temples. The lens is a ten minutes torture to remove. I dare you to try to remove it if you are considering this mask. Tell the salesman to show you how to remove it. The lens is too small giving a limited view. Lens inside is very prone to smearing. Your view is through a fog. Very hot to wear. The electric fan helped but not much. The screws holding the ear protectors on kept coming loose. You would have to use Locktite to secure them or you WILL lose a screw or two.
Conclusion: Do NOT buy! The lens is a torture and you do need to remove it to get the inside lens clean. Does NOT work with glasses. Screws fall out. Very limited view. Buy the VForce Morph or Profiler and get a huge, clear, view even to the sides and a lens that comes out in a minute. PLUS plenty of room for glasses. Better airflow therefore cooler too. Smaller profile.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 21st, 2000
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It works great. I didn't pay anywhere near the MSRP, I paid about $60 for the thermal version. I always have problems with fogging so I got the Thermal which I highly recommend.
Weaknesses: It doesn't look as cool as the Spectra Flex and doesn't have as great a field of view as the X Fire but the X Fire doesn't come in thermal as far as I know. Other than that, there is no down side.
Conclusion: For the price and with the thermal lense, this mask is unmatched. It doesn't look as cool as the Spectra Flex and doesn't have as great a field of view as the X Fire but the X Fire doesn't come in thermal as far as I know.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballguy877 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler
Enforcer
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy
apache loader
16" all american
superfly bolt
Strengths: Looks i guess
Weaknesses: It fogs
Review: Im going to be honest with you. For me this thing sucks. But i wear glasses so its gonna suck. If you have glasses the only way to go is the profiler or getting contacts or getting lasik. If you don't have glasses and you want a middle of the road goggle system get this.
Conclusion: I wouldn't get it if I could choose.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 18th, 2001
 
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The JT Spectra Proshield is a high quality mask, with comfortable soft foam and a useful visor. Durable, high impact standards at JT.
Weaknesses: The Spectra is a rather large mask. The mask's side profile looks quite good, but viewed from the front it has a very wide profile compared to many of the new , slim masks that are being produced. The Spectra is claimed to have exeptional range of vison, BUT, the lens itself is positioned too far away from the player's eyes, and the nosepiece is rather large , hindering vison and recducing the field of view considerably. The view is also suffers somwhat from small amounts of vertical distortion, and the reflection of the player's eyes are somtimes visible. The prosheild does not cover the upper neck area very well, making "up the mask" mouth shots possible. It is also heavy compared to other systems. The stap adustment slips, and untightens frequently. T-lock retention is difficult to re-install.
Conclusion: While the construction and materials of the mask are of high quality, the design, in my opinion, has numourous flaws: lens sits too far from eyes ( this could been done as a safety precaution) and creates a rippling distortion effect when looking up or down. And over all, the mask system is not very streamlined or trim, with a large front profile, making goggle hits more frequent ( and just does not look very "elegant") With so many new mask systems being released, the origional spectra seems very outdated, chunky, heavy, with mediocre visibility. (ITs also a BE product now! eeeeek!;)) In the past, it was "spectra or bust", but now there are other, better mask choices out there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media