paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Dover Sunday, August 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This was my very first mask / goggle
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, sixteen (16) markers and counting:
DYE DM4 (dust black)
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
4 WGP Autocockers (2 E-Cockers)
3 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Strengths: Durable, comfortable, excellent vision, customizable, established company
Weaknesses: None really, designed for max vision and comfort with max protection
Review: This was my very first goggle / mask, I bought a black JT Spectra for $50 US from Skanline paintball in California.

It was the very first piece of paintball equipment I purchased because instead of using a rental mask which was sweaty and scratched up

I later upgraded to a Flex-7 in 1997, with the floppy lower mask

I also found a rare JT Flex-7 IZE in tiger eye brown on PbNation

You can totally customize your frame, straps, add a fan

Spectra frame designed to fit over glasses and provide 260 degree vision
Conclusion: Great starter mask, relatively common on PbNation, buy it ! ! !

(It only gets a 9 because of the hard lower mask)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 24th, 2008 at 9:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ittalianstalion Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rentals
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro, longbow barrel. egg 2, response trigger,ion max'd, Viewloader Vlocity, red and black freak barrel virtue board. sling blade trigger tech t L6 bolt
Strengths: Lens
Comfort
never fogs!
Weaknesses: Lens removal
not the greatest looking
Review: Ive been using this mask for as long as i have been Paint balling and i love it. one of the foam ear pieces fell out and its still very comfortable i hardly notice a difference. the lens i garuntee will never fog up. these are one of the greatest thermal lens ever! the only thing i could say would maybe be a weakness is i don't think that there the best looking. And another weakness could be they echo a little when you talking witch is kinda irratating after a while. and there not the easiest breathe. but even so i love them
definitely a must get if your on the market for masks
Conclusion: Nice Comfortable never foggs. what else do you need for a mask thats most likely gonna cost under 40 bucks, definitely buy. i give it nine because they don't look the nicest
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 11th, 2006 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KurtIsMyUncle Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy rental goggles...
Marker Setup: Irrelevant
Strengths: Comfortable, cheap, thermal lens doesn't fog
Weaknesses: Lens is impossible to change.
Pins fall out.
Review: I got the JT Spectra Thermal mask when ordering my paintball gear because it was a cheap mask, and my friend said he had one and liked it. Now I was super excited because the only masks I had used before were rentals and someone's crappy spare mask. With both of these I found that after only a few minutes I would not be able to see at all from the fogging. With my JT mask I found that I could not fog the lens even if I tried. The mask also sat comfortably on my face, I was not bothered by the foam. Also, the visor is a snap to remove and replace.
The same is not true however, of the lens. After my first and only time playing with it so far, I decided to remove the lens for cleaning as I had been shot once or twice in the mask. Big mistake. I spent a good half an hour struggling to get the lens out, discovering that it was not as simple as the instructions made it sound. The worst part, I have not been able to get the lens back in. This is a serious problem, I don't know if I will be able to get it back in.

Update: I did manage to get the lens back in with a screwdriver, but in the process put two serious scratches in the mask. Also, after playing a couple of time both of the pins on the lower sides of the mask that help to hold the two pieces together have fallen out. The mask still works fine though.

Update again: Since both of the pins fell out, the ear pieces frequently detach from the frame when it's not on your head, which gets really annoying.
Conclusion: The Spectra is a good mask, it offers full protection and comfort, and is relatively light. It's great for its price. However, if you're like me and are neurotic about keeping your gear in prime condition, I recommend otherwise. I am already considering the Vforce Morph goggles for ease of lens replacement. I still give the goggles an 8 because they're fine if you don't plan on removing the lens.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lil Tay Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
20/20 Echo
JT Headshield
Tippmann Mask
JT nVADOR
JT nFORCER
Strengths: NEVER fog
Soft foam
Protect Well
Good Field Of Vision
Weaknesses: Hard to change lens
Review: These are some of the best goggles I've ever used. Other goggles have fogged, been uncomfortable, or had hard, itchy foam. These goggles have none of that. I can see everything with them on and its crystal clear if you clean it with water after every time you play. They're also really light but extremeley hard to change the lens in them but you shouldn't have to if you clean them and don't put any chemicles on them. These goggles should last you a long time I recommend them.
Conclusion: Really good, cheap, good vision, definatley worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 12:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cccool Friday, July 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision- lighter and more breatheable but is kinda small
Marker Setup: 04 Spyder Imagine
Empire Reloader 2
14" All-american Barrel
Bullet Drop forward
50/3000 Worr Gas
silver low rise feedneck
macroline kit
trigger mod
Strengths: Cheaper
Value
Durablility
Weaknesses: Not that flexible
Hard to put visor back on
Review: This mask is defenlity the best mask out there for value. It is not to expensisve but you get a great mask that works well, the lens if quite strong, the mask itself can take a beating, and it doesn't look too bad ethier. The only problem is that it's hard plastic so almost all balls will break, and the visor is annoying to put back on.
Conclusion: This product is excellent for anyone who wants a qualitly mask for a good price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippperson Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle z leader paintball mask It dosnt even compare
Marker Setup: tippman model 98 looking for a new gun i cant decied which one to choose the
dye excel barrel spyder e-99 or the pirahna eforce gti
pmi hopper
20 oz co2 tank
Strengths: Comfotable
Small
Low profile
Olive color really blends in with woods
Weaknesses: Nothing that i have found yet
Review: my first mask was a brass eagle z leader. This was the worse mask the goggles were flat and the mask was rubber. Once my dad purchased me this mask with the thermal goggles i could see an immediate improvement in my game. It is so comfortable that it is almost imposible to feel it on your face. Some times i think i forget my mask but then i put my hand there and i am assured that it is there. The side foam pieces that go in from of your ears increase how comfortable the mask it which most cheaper masks dont have. The olive color blends in very well with the wood and the visor is really mask. The mask also has very good ventalation which allows me to ...of coarse....breath.
Conclusion: I think that this gun is perfect for anybody. It is expensive but i think the mask is one of the most important things you will buy. If you have a cheap mask and you are going to get another one you should definatly get this one since it is comforable, awesome looking, has a low profile. what else can i give it besides a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robert_pb Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
v force
pro flex
Marker Setup: 05 speed 45 frame
Custom Parts Direct Mount ASA
Halo B- smoke
68 3000 psi fiber tank w/ empire tank cover.
Strengths: Light
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Fogs
Review: I would say that it is a decent mask. The label is deceiving however, as it says it is fog resistant, but its not true. There are occasion times that i did not have to use anti-fog spray, but generally it can get pretty foggy, and i had to wipe the lens after every round. If the label said "it's fog resistant compared to the renter masks" than i would be satisfied. Other than the fog situation, it isn't a bad mask. It is pretty comfortable and light weight. It is also pretty durable as well.
Conclusion: Overall, it is a decent mask, but i would go for a higher end one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

JHG102238 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
cheap jt mask
Marker Setup: 2004 Spyder Imagine
Empire reloader hopper 2
72/3000 PMI Pure Energy
J&J ceramic barrel
evil valve and bolt
Dead on Drop forward
Dye sticky 3 grips
Strengths: Thermal
looks
confortable
bounce not break
durable
Weaknesses: Smears when you get hit with paint (normal i guess)
Review: BAD
This is a great mask...until you get hit in the lense i cannot get the smears off which i guess is normal when i just use water and a paper towel and no special cleaner. (i guess u can call this bad) only other problem i had was a screw wasnt in tight eniough but my shop had a replacement for a buck so just tighten up your screws before u use it. no bigee

GOOD
this mask has never fogged up on me and ive used it in freezing weather and 100+ weather withe 100% humidity. maybe its just me but i think it looks cool. this is the most comfortable mask ive tried on and ive tried quite a few of other peoples masks. it also keeps you pretty cool in hot weather. this mask is pretty flexible so you get quite a few bounces off this mask instead of breaks. this mask is pretty durable so far exept for the screw problem
Conclusion: I would buy this mask but shop around
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98c-pwns Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Some Brass Eaagle one, a PMI i think
Marker Setup: 98C w/ Flatline (also a bigshot)
GTA double trigger
Rocket Cock II
Custom Trigger Mods

Remote Coil
Redz FT 400 + 4 VL Pods
48/3000 Pure Energy Comp. Air
Polished Internals
Remote Coil
Strengths: Comfortable, breathable, light, no fog, looks, price
Weaknesses: Lense difficult to replace if needed
Review: This is one awesome mask. I have used it ever since i bought my gun a year ago. I love it. It doesnt fog on me, although people do sometimes complain about it fogging, they must be heavier breathers than me. I am a heavy breather myself, but still, not fog! ITs comfy, lightweight. What more can you ask for? I love this mask! I have taken quite a few headshots =) and still works liek a charm with no cracks. Everybody seems to like them. A great price for such a great mask!
Conclusion: This is an excellent mask. Whether your a beginner or Pro I think this would be a great choice for you! The looks are awesome and no fog!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NJGoomba Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Too many to mention
Strengths: Last long!
Good ventalation
Light
No fog
Diffrent lenses for your needs
Weaknesses: Nothing really. A bit of a pain to change the lens.
Review: That right ladies and gentlemen. I've had this mask for 7 years! It sill looks great. Nothing is wrong with it.
I am a ref and have been one for 4 years. This mask is uesed every weekend. and it has help up to everything.
If you play a lot and want a mask that will hold up to anything this is it.

There is a reason why you see a lot of more experianced refs and Pros wearing this mask.

Goomba
Conclusion: Overall this mas is great. This is why you see the EXPERIANCED REFS and PROS Wearing it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media