paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
SpyderPride Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java Guardian- blows
Marker Setup: TES-
32 Degrees on/off, st rail, black macro, Torpedo reg, various performance mods, painted grips, APM bolt, Egg2, JJ Ceram barrel
Strengths: Comfortable, protective, good range of vision, cheap
Weaknesses: Not flexy, so no bouncers. Not the best looking, but not bad.
Review: I bought this from a friend brand new for $25. The non-thermal lens fogged easily when paint was on it, so I bought a tinted thermal lens for $12 used.

Its a really comfortable mask, looks ok in black or olive. Doesnt flex like others to score bouncers, but protects better so these things cancel out. Replacement lenses are easy to find, but are fairly expensive and hard to install. Keep the lenses clean and you wont fog, especially if you get the thermal lens.

Take off the visor!!! Its ugly and not really needed.
Conclusion: Overall these are very good masks. Pick one up if your not concerned with looking like a pro and getting bouncers off your mask isnt a big deal.... Just try to not get hit!!! Can be found for a good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonbob Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force shield-On par with this mask, but has a better lenses, better change system, and worse colors (personal opinion)
JT X-fire thermal-Bigger, more restrictive, heavier, worse field of vision
Marker Setup: Proteam micromag with intelliframe, Level 10, CP drop foreward, CP on/off, Dye Stickies, Powerlyte Scepter barrel system, Ricochet AK, nitroduck x-stream 68ci/4500psi
Strengths: Light, low profile, good colors, good field of vision, no fogging on thermal version
Weaknesses: Lenses are really hard to change.
Review: This was my second mask and replaced my X-fire mask and I must say I really liked it. I never had any problems with it fogging (I got the thermal version) and if you play woods ball you really should go with the Olive drab color because it helps alot over the other flashy colors. For about 35 bucks you get a great non-fogging mask that is low profile and has low weight. You really can't complain unless you compare it to the new lens systems that are coming out for masks these days.

It's when you need to change the lenses that this mask really gives you problems. The first time I did it my fingers got so tired and I got so frustrated that I tried to pry the lens out with a metal tool (I know, stupid me) and ended up scratching the hell out of a brand new thermal lens. It was my own fault but the fact is you still have to take the lenses out after every game to clean it and it can be a real chore if you don't know how to do it properly. The other thing about the lens to watch out for is on the non-thermal version. My buddy got it and didn't have too many problems untill one day it rained and everyone who didn't have a thermal lens was SOL. Really you should always go for the thermal or no-fogging version when you buy any mask.

Other than that this is a great mask that gives you the same field of vision as the JT flex-7 masks still used by pros. Again, great for recreational use or tourney play. I also didn't mention that it's comfortable as well. With the light weight, small size, and nice foam padding around the eyes you'll forget you're wearing it sometimes.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who is in the market for a new mask. It's roughly the equivalent to a V-force shield mask with a different lens so for this price range it comes down to which style you like and what brand/colors you want. Keep in mind that for 35 bucks this is an excellent beginner price but make sure you don't go cheap and not get the thermal lens. I say again, GET THE THERMAL LENS. I promise it's worth the extra few bucks. I would give this a 10 but because of the lens changing it has to get a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

squanto Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
single lens JT mask: not as good as spectra
Marker Setup: 98 custom, cocker
Strengths: comfy, protect me
Weaknesses: Pain in the @$$ to take the lenses out
Review: Overall a good mask. I got them as my first mask and have not had any problems with them so far.
They don't fog too much, but fog more than vforce systems do. They are cheap though.
I'm on my 3rd set of lenses, and replacement lenses are inexpensive.
The lenses are hard to take out for cleaning and replacement, you will hurt your fingers, but other than that, a nice goggle system.
Conclusion: good goggle system, pretty cheap usually around $35-$40, no problems yet ;)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 16th, 2003 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alman/AJ/Alex Saturday, April 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-JT Alpha 2000- Ok.
-Winchester deal thing- don't get it.
-32 degrees Head case- Ok
-PMI X-ray- Hard with Ok visibility
The Spectra is better than all of the ones listed above.
Marker Setup: Who cares this is a mask review isn't it?
Strengths: -Great visibility

-Good looks

-Has nice protection.

-Removable visor

-With a termal lense it never fogs.

-Visor keeps sun out of your eyes.

-Looks very intimidating with goggle-flague.
Weaknesses: -Could have a bit more neck protection. If your afraing of getting hit in the neck get a nect protector.

-Pain in the butt to get goggle-flague on it.

-Inside liner foam is kinda cheap, no big deal.
Conclusion: Great mask. Well worth the $40 I paid for it. Combines good visibility (260 degrees) with little or no fogging.
Put some goggle flauge on it and it is perfect for speed ball or outdoor woods play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Soft stream/JT X-Fire
The Spectra is a giant step up from both mentioned.
The range of vision is umparallel and the quality is top-notch.
Strengths: It's a TRUE JT (before the heart-breaking buy out). That means it is a solid piece of equipment. I don't know if the quality of JT has been downgraded since the JT purchase but I don't think I'll find out. I plan on using this mask until it falls apart. This may be some time as it is holding up incredibly well. Like all JT equipment, it's a piece of heavy-duty hardware that takes hits and holds out. The foam is still comfy after a few years, the plastic is still durable, and the connection points are still solid. Good enough.
Weaknesses: I honestly cannot find anything wrong with my mask, I love it. However....on to the bad.
The looming Brass Eagle purchase power of good quality products. I've noticed JT is coming out with NEW designs that don't look JT'ish. The heavy destructive hand of Brass Eagle perhaps? I don't know but I will be looking elsewhere when the time comes to retire my Spectra.
Conclusion: The JT Spectra mask (pre buy out) is (in my opinion) one of the finest masks on the planet. I wish I had a back-up. Fair price, ease of replacement parts, extreme high quality makes it a mask for all skill levels and intelligent people the world over.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT N-Vader, Winchester Panoram (like a Scott), BE Extreme-Vision 280 mask.
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/stock, 12v Revy, TKO black cradle, 47ci Crossfire
Strengths: I live in the great north-west and I have a Spectra w/ thermal lens and it almost never fogs up. It has only fogged up once or twice and when it did, it was like 45 degrees, cloudy and raining. So it is really good in that area. It is relatively small but good coverage. It is not flabby on the bottom, so you can get shot in the face all you want and only get paint in your mouth. It looks cool. And it feels nice. It gives better face and neck protection than the Proteus and doesn't make you look like an alien like the Extreme-Vision 280. The visor is also a nice touch. I can't think of a mask that would better suit paintball.
Weaknesses: It can't get really close to the gun like the Flex-7. Hey, nothing's perfect. ;-)
Conclusion: It is a really nice mask that I can depend on. I am never afraid of taking one to the face with this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've just used "rental" non-thermal masks before this
Marker Setup: Viewloader Surge
Strengths: It is a very comfortable mask - I feel like I could wear it for hours on end without any irritation. It hardly ever fogs up, and when it does fog a little, it clears again very fast. Great peripheral vision!
Weaknesses: Nothing really, except maybe too little throat protection. Your throat is a bit exposed with this mask, but a throat-protector will deal with this.
Conclusion: For anyone who has been using rental masks, buy this! The difference is incredible, and your game will improve almost immediately, just because you can see what the hell is going on. I can't really compare it to other thermal masks (since I haven't used any others) but this mask seems to do the job perfectly!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, February 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle thing....
Marker Setup: 2001 ACI Griffin TP
32 Degrees 14" Terminator w/ Flatline Mod.
ACI H.V.C. Griffin Version
Gas-Thru-Grip
Bottomline
Daisy EP Sight
Black VL 200
Pure Energy 20oz. On/Off Co2 Tank
Strengths: Its very comfortable i could wear it all day if i had to...doesnt fog up that much...another great product from JT...
Weaknesses: It doesnt cover up alot...im afraid ill get nailed in the throat...I have the thermal version and it still fogs a little...i sweat a lot though
Conclusion: good product...cheap...i got mine for $29...i dont know if they still have them though...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott - I prefer JT.
V-Force Morph - It's ok.
PMI - If you want to degrade yourself, get one.
Brass Eagle - If you hate yourself, get one.
Marker Setup: Automag RT
DYE SS '12
Lapco SS '12 Autospirit
Nitroduck 68/4500 Tuffskin
Benchmark Crossfire Cradle & Adaptor
AGD Intelliframe w/ 2X Blade & Intellifeed
Viewloader Revolution 2000 12V
Strengths: 1. Very comfortable and fits me fine.
2. Rarely fogs unless I'm sweating like a pig with 100 %% humdity outside.
Weaknesses: 1. It will fog at times.

2. Not very durable, since mine is pretty much breaking apart. I'm talking about the rubber foam but the ear and the mask itself.

3. High profile, therefore, bulky.

4. Lens is hard to replace. Since my mask is pretty much torn apart anyway, I'm going to buy a new mask.


Conclusion: It's a nice mask. Especially for beginners and inters.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Airstream, JT Flex 7, JT IZE, Scott Badboy, Scot Badass, Scott Thermal
Marker Setup: Bob Long Custom Autococker with:
12" Cyclone barrel
Clippard Ram
Stock 3-way (honed and I have ordered the Bomb)
Palmers Rock
Diamond Lab Valve
VL2000 hopper with Shredder mod to 18V and Custom Products padle.
I have ordered Finnish hinge-frame.
Strengths: It is cheap, it just is.
It won't fog easily.
It fits to my head.
I think, you can use glesses under it.
It is pretty easy to disassemble (except lens).
You can communicate when wearing it.
Field of view is big enough.
Weaknesses: Well, it aint Flex-7, it ain't flexible.
Removing lense is something soooo annoying.
standard foam pieces in ear protectors is too hard.
Conclusion: Great goggle system. Good for from beginners to pro's.
Change the foamies, and you run grrrreat
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media