paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
A5baller Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Goggles,Xray
Marker Setup: A5 with RT,Tippman 14" sniper barrel,48 300psi
Strengths: NON FOG!!, very comfortable
Weaknesses: A couple screws came out and it feels a little cheap
Review: When i first bought these i was thinking about getting the JT Proflex. The only difference between them is the proflex has the flexy bottom. Other than that they are completely the same. It is very comfortable and hasnt fogged on me once. I took off the visor for "looks".
Conclusion: This mask is top quality i reccomend it to any one who wants a good mask but doesnt want to spend a lot of money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akathewolf Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Shield Mask - About even.
Marker Setup: B2k
with a lot of other stuff.
Strengths: Fogtemps
88ºF-22ºF (around there)
Sturdy
Comortable
Good View angles
Weaknesses: Has cutoffs
hard to replace lenses
(Read End of Review)
Review: This mask is awesome. Seriously, ive never encountered a problem with it. Just is a little hard to clear after getting sprayed or shot more than once in the lens. It's thermal, not just thermocured, so it's guaranteed not to fog in almost any weather. But unless you live in Siberia. I don't think the mask will ever fog up. Ive gone paintballing in the winter and gotten down to 20 degrees in which it about started to fog up. Any Vforce will fog up long before that. They fog at about 45! Unbelievable. Or at least the ones ive used. This mask is definately awesome.
DO NOT TOUCH THE INSIDE LENS WITH ANYTHING!
if you do, plan on spending money for a new thermal lens which may end up being more that the cost of the mask :(
the best thing to clean the inside of the mask (kind of grose but works the best)
Spit into a very clean and smooth cloth, dont use coarse or something dirty. that will ruin the thermal coating.
Use very light circular strokes and if it doesnt come off just live with it. It will eventually erode away.
This is if you dont have cleaner specificaly made for it.
Conclusion: Very good mask, durable, light, very fog proof.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mercenaries_pb Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Cheap JT Masks
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion(black)
Empire ReLoader II
Crossfire 47 ci. 3000 psi.
Strengths: Doesn't Fog Too Easily
Scratch Resistant
Weaknesses: Pinches your nose first couple of times you use it.
Review: When I first put these one, I thought it was pinching my nose more than it shoul, so I strtched it out a little bit, but it did nothing. So finally I put on a cap, and then put the mask over it and i was no longer pinchin my nose anymore. Other than that there is not much bad that you can say about this mask. The lens is sort of hard to get off, but what do you expect from a cheaper mask.
Conclusion: For the price this is a really nice mask that does it's job well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p0ke Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage X-ray Single Goggles
Marker Setup: VL Orion
12oz CO2
12" Smart Parts Progressive
Strengths: Thermal =)
Light
Comfortable
Weaknesses: None that come to mind.
Review: Of course, the MOST important peice of equipment you can own is your mask. You can play paintball with a $20 pump gun and a handful of paint you picked off the ground, but you absolutely can NOT play without goggles.

That being said, masks should be the nicest, most-cared-for peice of plastic you ever own.

THAT being said, you don't want to waste your time caring for something that's going to fog up on you in the heat of a game, leaves you feeling like your head has twice it's weight, or makes you feel uncomfortable because of flimsiness.

Luckily, the JT Spectra has none, I repeat - NONE, of those symptoms.

Not only are they light, the general comfort of the foam and padding make you seriously check to ensure you're still wearing it. Through 40 degree cold and 90 degree muggy, sweaty weather, these things refused to fog. The only way I've found to make them fog is it to look at the mask and exhale on the lens. Even then, it only fogs for 2 seconds, and that's breathing directly on it. (If you're doing this while playing a game, you're not wearing them correctly. I insist looking at your nearest teammate and copying them.) The plastic is hard enough to protect you from a direct hit, but soft enough to score off a couple bounces. Real easy to communicate through, as well. I had no problems hearing my buddy 20 yards off.

Cleaning them was easy enough once I got home. The sides, bottom, and visor all come off without too much effort (Yes, some effort is needed, I realize this. Would you want a mask that came apart when an acorn hit it?). Rinse them with water and let 'em dry. The goggles? Do the same, just don't use anything abrasive to clean them.

Key Points::

0/10 - Fogging (Good thing!)
9/10 - Comfort (Chin strap's always rub me the wrong way)
10/10 - Visibility
9/10 - Maintenance
Conclusion: Buy 'em. Not too pricey, but well-worth the 35 dollars I shelled out for it. God I don't know where you people live, but you pay too much.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 13th, 2006 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alejandro1234 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: zap zxs 444
pink revvy w/ elbow
20 onz tank
bolt
i wear jt pants and a killing for badlands t shirt and a beanie
Strengths: Light anti fog....i think
Weaknesses: Kinda big
Review: Its a very nice mask and thats why i still own it its was kind of big at first but i took of the visor and bought stuff for my head now i love it this mask may not be "agg" but it sure is good i got many bounces on my first day but then my luck ran out so yes any way on to my conclusion......
Conclusion: Go buy it now.......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vtrosie Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Skirmish rental googles (who knows what brand?)
VForce Armor Mask
Marker Setup: 2002 VF Autococker
WGP Swing Trigger
WGP Black Magic Venturi Bolt
Empire2 Loader
Freak Barrel System w/ 12 Freak front
Strengths: Field of Vision, Antifog, comfortable
Weaknesses: Fragile inner coating on lens, sort of difficult to change lenses
Review: After using Skirmish's rentals I purchased this goggle system over five years ago. A few lenses and many a games later, the goggles are still comfortable and work great. I have attempted to take great care of them and they have treated me well over the years. They provide great protection for the head and even the neck. The line-of-sight for the goggles is very good, I am sure there are better, but I have had no issues picking up people in my periphery with these. The insulated lens works great, but the inner coating is really fragile so you have to be careful when cleaning the lens. The one knock on the system is the changing of lenses. At first it takes a lot of figure and hand strength to remove and replace the lens. However, once you get the hang of it is isn't all that difficult.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this lens. And websites such as Action Village occassionally have $20 deals on these goggles which is a steal! Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dagger88 Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Alpha 2000
JT Elite Invader
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 with a GTA Inline Expansion Chamber, and a 14 inch Tippmann Werks Sniper Barrel
-Tippmann Pro-Carbine with a 14in JJ ceramic Barrel
-Piranha GTI - Stock
Strengths: -No Fogging
-Very comfortable
-Smaller profile
-260 degree vision
Weaknesses: Screws come loose sometimes.
Review: This is a very good mask, and I highly reccomend it to everyone, it does not fog at all.
The mask fits my face and still covers everything. The only problem is the screws might come loose, but just use some locktite or something. It is very well made mask, nice and sturdy. The last time I was playing, it was 40 degrees, and I was running and
worked up a really heavy sweat - no fogging at all.
Conclusion: If you are looking into getting a very well made mask, get this one
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PREY Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG

Spyder Compact
Strengths: - Does its job, protects you.
- Good vision
- Not constricting
- Very durable
Weaknesses: -Sometimes over heats, makes you very sweaty
- Breathability sometimes a concern
Review: I've gotten great use out of this mask. It hasn't failed me yet.

The mask fits great. Balls hitting it don't hurt at all and it keeps your head and face safe.

My only troubles are with breathing and overheating, especially on humid summer days. I think this is a problem with most masks, and it is hardly a bother.

The mask is quite durable too.
Conclusion: Affordable mask, great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madtomato Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce pro vantage
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Teardrop
Tippmann A5
12oz CO2
Strengths: Comfort
Functionality
Weaknesses: Complicated to disassemble and reassemble
Review: Haven't had any fogging at all (haven't used any kinda of special anti-fog cleaner either)

Mask is wide and comfortable. My friends with glasses have said it's fine (i dont wear glasses)

The rubber visor pegs are impossibly to reattack to the mask because they are so flimsy

Lens replacement sucks. (i just run my whole mask under a squirt bottle

Conclusion: Overall, a solid mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yellowion Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
another cheap JT
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ Yellow body and grips, QEV, and clamping neck feed
Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi tank
Empire Reloader B
Strengths: -Light weight
-strong
-good against fog
Weaknesses: -isnt as nice looking as Invision or Vforce profiler
Review: this is overall a perfect mask. Very light and Strong. What i liked most was how I can play all day and have minimal fog in the lense. My only problem was its looks. Although not ugly like those damn scott masks, it doesnt impress like the Invision(modern art masterpiece) or Vforce profiler.
Conclusion: i would recommend this for anyone. its green color is usefull when in the woods etc. Because of its kinda dull appearance i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media