paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Mikeyvsporty Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V force rental
Marker Setup: 2005 W.G.P Trilogy Competition Autococker Marker, VL 12-volt revolution w/ x-board, J&J 2-piece stainless steel 12"
Tippmann 98 custom, dead on paintball double trigger, smart parts progressive 14", and dead on paintball dro series dropforward.
Strengths: Works
Protects from high velocity paintballs
ear protection
removable visor
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Large holes, icky paint in mouth
lens sometimes fog up
the top part comes off
Review: This mask is a good mask, it does what its supposed to do, nothing amazing, but it is a good and reliable mask for the price, some times the mask breaks but it rarely does, it is a great mask for paintballers just getting into the sport, I would not reccoemend for pro use because of the quility but for rec players and noobs it's gr8!!
Conclusion: Overall the mask is good, and gets the job done. 9 out of 10 because of the top part of the mask breaking frequently
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aimedplanet Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I tried out almost every mask Badlands has to offer.
Marker Setup: 2004 Spyder Rodeo
14 Inch All American Barrel
Revvy with X-Board
12Oz CO2 with Smart Parts On/Off
Strengths: Comfortable
Great Protection
Lenses Don't Fog
Looks Pimp!
Many Upgrades Available
Weaknesses: Padding Behind The Ears ---> Will Elaborate Below
Review: I used to paintball 3 years ago, and quit. Now that I'm back in the game, my buddy told me to buy this mask. Said, mask wise, it'll be the best investment ever. He was right. Pros and Cons are below.

Pros

Comfort - This mask is super comfy. fits like a glove and doesn't move when you run or when you get lit up. Stay where you put em and don't move until you make em move. My only beef is with the padding behind the ears, was easily fixed and will be elaborated below.

Great Protection - These things offer some awesome protection. I actually don't mind getting gogged with this as you can't feel it. On the odd occassion you can get bounces off the visor.

Lenses Don't Fog - This doesn't need elaborating, this goggles are known for this.

Looks Pimp - I've heard people talking about how these look like something the military would wear. Forget that, they look pimp! The vents in the front for breathing look great, add the smooth lines from the mask to the ear piece, big eyes and the visor. UNBEATABLE!

Many Upgrades Available - There are many upgrades available for these. Fans, frames, lenses, ear pieces, visors, foam and straps. Could build a whole new mask!

Cons

Padding Behind The Ears - This was my only beef and here's why. I where an old baseball cap backwards when I play. The hard foam around the ears put so much pressure on my head that it would actually give me headaches. I fixed it by setting up the straps so they will still stay on my head, but I used a knife and cut down the padding until I could wear them without getting headaches. Simple.
Conclusion: My final conclusion is that if your in the market for a new mask, why get a Proteus or other high end JT masks when you can get this which is light, comfortable, looks good and will protect you in the midst of a firefight? Exactly. 9/10 For the foam.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RustySniper Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT flex 8 mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with Blackpoint Engineering rifle butt, high tension spring kit, 18" smartparts progressive barrel, Winson 4X15 scope, 16oz tank with smartparts valve.
Strengths: Durability,
Tensile strength,
low profile,
Green mask increases camo in bushball.
Weaknesses: Fogs up too easily,
screws came loose,
difficult lens removal
Review: The JT spectra mask is all-around a decent mask, and I've used the first one I got since the beginning of my career in Novice Bushball tournaments. I like it because of it's durability, easy-to-clean goggle system, ability to take a hit, and as a sniper, the camoflauge version of this mask is a godsend!! Get this and a Ghilly suit and you'll be practically invisible to the enemy.

However, with any product, this mask does have its problems, now I've read the other posts on here, and perhaps I just bought a defective mask, but mine fogs really easily, making it hard to see, and I've replaced the screws for the earpieces umpteen-million times, but they still find a way to shake loose and go missing, that and, the lens removal for this thing is enough to drive a grown man to a kicking and screaming resembling that of a three-year-old.
Conclusion: This mask is very dependable, and extremely useful in my gameplay, just so long as you have patience with it, you'll do great with it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wawa Wednesday, March 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage something
Marker Setup: Trilogy Competition Autococker
12volt revvy with X-board
Dye stickies ( real comfortable, trust me)
14 inch CP Classic barrel
Strengths: Very comfortable.
Weaknesses: Hard to put visor back on.
Foam around ears fall out very easily.
Review: The first time I used these goggles they were my friends. I found it was very comfortable and had no fogging. Pretty soon I was buying my first gun package and I had to have the spectra with it. The first round that I played with it the foam pieces on the ears fell off and got lost while playing. So It probably would have been a very easy fix with some super glue or something, but I couldn't find them. It might have been just my goggles that were bad because my friends are still fine. But I would still get these goggles because of how comfortable they are.
Conclusion: Very good goggle overall but make sure that you reinforce the foam on the ears with superglue before you play.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mota989 Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Axiom (the worst googles i have ever used in my entire life)
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion, freak barrel kit, halo B, 68 4500
and i have an impulse, tapeworm
( i haven't shot ion yet so still undecided which will be backup)
Strengths: Very Durible, NOFOGGING, comfortable
Weaknesses: The top screw started to come lose
Review: First of all absolutely no fogging.
They have gone through he!! with me and still are in awesome condition.
They take all that is thrown at them and more.
The lens are very nice there is tinted but they can get annoying.
The only other time I left the spectra was for a Jt Axiom googles and they were the worst idea that i have ever had. Don't ever buy those because they are just crap.
Conclusion: To conclude BUY THESE!!!! great buy they aren't even that expensive and they will last forever and they never fog.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

armed dark wolf Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder imagine 04, shocktech superfly bolt, lapco clamping feed neck, halo tsa led front man, c.a.m.d trigger handle
Strengths: Light durable well renouned popular
Weaknesses: Doesnt work to well for speed ball but i make it work :-$
Review: ive played with kids that have pro-filers and crap like that and me and my 45 dollar spectra took em down. also i bunkered my Friend with his profiler and i cracked his lens. in our first tournament i got shot going through a run thorough. the ball bounced off and i played on.
Conclusion: All together this is a good mask but just make sure to kick the guys a$$ next to u with the hundred dollar mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Invision, which is my first non-JT mask.
Marker Setup: Angel Force Fly
CIP Unimount
Halo B w/ rip & Z-code
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi (800 psi preset) HPA tank
Stock barrel
Strengths: NEVER fogged on me!!
Good peripheral vision.
Weaknesses: Straps wear out .
Foam ear pieces fall off.
Review: Everyone’s face is shaped differently, so I can't really say it will fit YOU comfortably. So I review as it fits MY face. Personally, I find myself tightening the straps constantly because the "adjustment rings" won't hold the straps tight enough to "hug " my face and stay on as tight as I like. That may be why my straps wore out (actually after a couple years use, so I don't intend to make this sound like a complaint). Other than that, the Spectra fits me comfortably and well. It stays in place well as long as it stays tight. The mask provides a great range of face protection without being cumbersome, bulky or heavy. The spectra; in my opinion, provides too much space between my face and the mask as there is between 1.5" - 2.0" in some places. I've never found it to be a problem, but a smaller profile is always a good thing in this game. With the exception of the visor and goggle, the Spectra is constructed of durable rigid plastic that will endure any rigor associated with paintball. The "ear plate" and jaw guard are partly held in place by screws that constantly come loose, that’s why God invented zip ties. The lens has NEVER fogged on me, regardless of weather (I live in Ca, mild climate w/ little humidity). That alone is one of the most important aspects of any mask / lens, NO FOG!! Peripheral vision is almost 100%, but not the best on the market. Lens clarity is alright, but again not the best on the market. Lens clarity changes with every scratch you put in it through use anyway.
Conclusion: The Spectra is a100% functionality, no frills mask. Being that these masks have gone down in price in the past couple years, they make a perfect recommendation to any newb or budget minded person. I've found a few things to improve in this mask, but no reason to be dissatisfied. I have 100% confidence in the functionality of the Spectra mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mariners02 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt enforcer others
Marker Setup: 03 cocker, revvi, 48 3000 crossfire, cp reg, aka tornadoe valve, flame drop, snakebight barrel
Strengths: Hasnt broken, soft padding, very good range of vision, doesent fog.
Weaknesses: Screws come loose, lense is almost impossible to get out.
Review: Its a great mask i got mine for 30 bucks it thermal and it has great periferale vision and it doesent fog but the screws that hold on the ear pads come loose. its very durable one of my friends (without my concent) took it out in his yard and shot at it from 20 feet away and its fine.
Conclusion: Overall a great mask if you have enough money for a chamelion or a dye get it otherwise get this.
i give it a nine because its very hard to get the lense out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bob_Long_4Life Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing.
Marker Setup: Piranha GTI E-Force
Stock barrel (SP Progressive coming soon)
20 oz co2
extreme rage hopper
Strengths: 260º view
Thermal lens doesn't fog
Removable Visor
Changeable lens and goggles
Weaknesses: Difficult to loosen and tighten
Review: Very good mask, you can see out of it!
lots of upgrades for it, as in Lenz Flyz', Zingers, different color goggles, different lenses, and more
tall and wide lens for easy viewing of all surroundings, including paintball flying through the air.
It says i need more words in this part of the review but thats all i have to say because its a great mask, so I'll list stuff
JT
PMI
Smart Parts
Shocker
Nerve
Impulse
Bushy!



Conclusion: If you have like 80$ (Canadian dollars) laying around, and you dont have a good mask, buy this mask.
Its very good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aloooooex Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
jt x fire thermal
Marker Setup: Dragun T1 revvy 47/ck crossfire nitro
Strengths: 260 visor easy to clean
Weaknesses: see reveiww
Review: It was a good buy for 35 bucks at actionvillage the only complaint i have is that the ear padding fell out in the first days use. I got shot in teh mask and it took awile to clean the paint out of teh little airholes. Umm it looks cool except its a little too wide
Conclusion: its ok i just hope non eof the other ppaddign falls out
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media