paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask

JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 158
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $96

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Has a flexible lower half and comes in a variety of colors.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
TheMesomorph Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, JT Proflex, Dye Invision(Pretty good, nice venting, goggles are cooler temp wise than JT goggles), V-Force Profiler(Best of the lot, but expensive)
Marker Setup: Currently my A-5 for rec play w/ Dye TI Boomstick 14inch, E-Grip, Blade Trigger, Hyperstar bolt, running on compressed air.
Also use a stock Smart Parts Ion.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths:
The bounce on these things, like just about any JT paintball mask, is what makes it so great. No other mask can compete with the JT Spectra and Flex series masks in this department.
Double Thermal Lens provide adequite fog protection for light use and for a decent amount of time I suppose. There are better for fog protection.
Clarity is nice for the first few games, of course all new masks are great at the start.
You can speak and listen with others clearly in this mask, it feels natural.
It doesn't have a large profile like the Proto Switch.
Price is a strength, it is worth more than what you pay, especially currently. You can find them for like 30 dollars easily.

Weaknesses:
Double Thermal Lens again heh.
The biggest problem with any JT mask using spectra lenses, ESPECIALLY the double layer ones, is that their lifespan is quite short. If the seal between the two lenses doesn't split before the lenses themselves are scratched up and useless consider yourself lucky. I suggest buying a new lens the second you buy the mask.
Today changing the lens isn't even worth it, it is quite the hassle.
The padding behind the ears is a little awkward, and uncomfortable, but it feels great after your first game when you get pissed and rip it out, that is if it hasn't fallen out already.
The padding around the goggles are like a sponge, the get so soaked and nasty with sweat and I sweat alot. But the anti-fog is still pretty good at first.
The visor, it loves the paint inside of a ball, remove that to highten your chance of a ball not breaking on your mask. The visor is relatively useless for anyone but a back player, but for rec use it probably helps. I never used it.
Conclusion: Well I really loved all of the spectra and flex series and I will recommend this product to other people, but don't expect it to hold up for very long. Though I am a pretty rough player it has been my first mask to ever give out on me and it truely pissed me off to no end when it did so my review may be a little biased.
For the regular player, or even pro player this is a great mask, I highly suggest buying a new lens when you buy this mask, but other than that be sure to keep up with it and keep it clean and all that good stuff, make it last.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LittleFishie Monday, August 21st, 2000
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: A lot is good about this mask. The flexibility of the entire mask makes it great, especially for balls that bounce. I was running, and my opponett nailed me in the side of the head, right in the lower flexible part. I thought I was out, and started wiping my hand on the side of the mask to make sure I could feel the paint. Well I couldn't so I called for a paint check, I was clean!! So, balls really do bounce off this bad boy. As in all thermal masks, the no fog is great, and this one works just fine. The visor reduces glare, so that helps in blending in with the rest of the woods (if you play woods). I've taken 3 shots in the stock lens, and it still is in good condition. I really feel I should replace the lens though, because I don't want it to give on a shot, and break through. Maybe I just worry too much...
Weaknesses: Uhh...I would say the MSRP Price. I found mine online for sale at about $55. If you can find it online for cheaper, then I would say get this mask. But the Spectra is a good alternative, if you can't afford it. The differnce is that the Spectra has a hard, plastic lower half of the mask, while the Flex-7 has a rubber (I think) bottom. One thing I noticed while playing my first game with this mask (it was a long one, and I sprinted a lot), was that the mask did fog a little. I tightened it (a little struggle with that...) and found the problem disapperaed. Maybe it's just because the games are shorter and not so hard, but it doesn't fog anymore.
Conclusion: I would reccommend this mask to everyone. If you can afford it, get it. This is a high quality mask, I think the only downside of it, is the price. That's why I'm gonna give it a 9. If you are starting out in paintball, your most important purcahse is your mask. It doesn't matter how nice your gun is, how long your barrel is, how cool you look. If you can't see where you are going/shooting, nothin else matters.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

erik vandenavon Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: game face e rex pro halo b 48/3000
backup: pmi blak maxx
Strengths: 260,
thermal,
bounces pb's off,
cheap
Weaknesses: sometimes it pb's go threw and hit you in the chin
Review: this is great. i spent 45 on it. i played in a big game for 8 hours. everyones masks were all fogged up but not mine. you can see perfect. you also have 260 so you can see if someone is trying to sneak up on you from the side and don't have to focus at 1 thing like the 20 dollar ones that come in a kit. it is very comfortable if you wear a hat. if you don't it is ok but is is better with a hat. you really don't feel like your wearing a mask with it on and thats what you want. it also bounces paintballs off but sometimes they come right threw.
Conclusion: i recomend this to anyone that has a cheap mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyebpoy Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invasion, proto fs, e-vents
Marker Setup: Dm4 with upgrades and halo b
Strengths: Bounce Of !
Looks
Comfortable
Weaknesses: The thermal lens get paint in it easily
Review: This is a great mask if you want to spend lots of money on replacing the lens or if you could figure out a way to keep paint from getting in it, beside that it is a great mask close to as good as vents, this is a good mask for anyone that doesn't mind spending a little money
Conclusion: This is a good mask but is expensive to keep up
please tell me if you think this review was helpful or not
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 5:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RussTheBus21 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A bunch of other masks, this is the first JT Flex mask ive used.
Marker Setup: 2k4 WGP Autococker
Eclipse Eblade
12" freak Barrel
12v Revy w/ Xboard
72/3000 HPA

..all in black....
Strengths: -Light weight and comfortable
-Flexing lower part of mask
-Field of vision
Weaknesses: I havent had any problems with it.
Review: I just bought this mask alittle over a week ago and just used it for my first time the other day. I was very impressed. I ws using a old beat up PMI mask. It was awful...it ws so bulky and uncomfortable. My Flex is a huge improvement. I hardly notice im wearing it since its so light and comfortable. The flexing lower part of the mask is also great. It protects well and actually will cause some mask hits to bounce. The field of vision is great, it doesnt obstruct your view of the field in anyway. Mine came with a thermal lense so fogging is not an issue. Overall i think its a great mask. It performs great and looks great too. If your in the market for a good msk pick one up. ( I got mine for about 40 bucks)
Conclusion: Great mask
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madps Tuesday, June 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Shield Mask and Ravens
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (Black)
All American barrel with a green freek front.
Hi-rise twister feedport (Green)
Smart Parts s-rail
Smart Parts dove tail
Halo LCD Backman
48cu 3000psi
Strengths: Comfortable
Good field of vision
Doesn't fog
Durable
Weaknesses: Difficult to change lens.
Thats it.
Review: I was a marshall for a year and started off wearing a Vforce shield mask, but then aquired the Flex 7 through my boss and never went back to the Vforce.
They are the most comfortable goggles i have ever worn, and would still be comfortable 7 oclock at night after a 10 hour shift at the paintball park.
Steaming up is an issue for me due to wearing glasses, but these goggles have never steamed up on me.
They are also relatively easy to disassemble for cleaning, except the lense which can be a pain.

Conclusion: This product is an allrounder which can be used in all situations with great competency.
If you want a good cheap goggle system, buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STORYTELLER Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, jt fx-10
Marker Setup: 1) Sp ION with empire rip drive loader, 14" freak barrell, shocker feed neck, 4500psi centerflag tank.

2) WGP Autococker trilogy comp, evo ll loader, carbon fiber stiffi bolt, 4500psi centerflag tank.
Strengths: Super light, mouth guard lets your voice to be heard compaird to other masks.
Weaknesses: Soft spots like ears(aouch) and mouth. hard to clean.
Review: When i first picked up the flex i was amazed. it was so light i couldnt belive it. i played a couple of games with it, it was very comfy and very light helped me look and move faster. it even let me have a comfy feel with my tank on my shoulder. i was suprised untill i got shot on the lens and the ear peice. dam did it hurt on the ear!

so i get home and try to clean the lens and found it to be a hard job since paint get in between the lens and te frame and runs out whenever it feels like or evrytime it gets pressed in.
Conclusion: For the price of the mask the weight and flexibility and design id give it a 10. but for the soft spots and the cleaning ill have to give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captain tippman Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pmi mask- hurts my head and wicked foggy, small lense
Strengths: Low fogging,good ventilation, periferal vision, comfort, bendy part allows bounce+ communication, thermal lens.
Weaknesses: Hard to replace lens, bendy part punches you in the face, larger profile, hard hearing
Review: This is a very good mask. Its low fogging and it has a wide lens that lets me see everything. The flexible part of it below the lens (cant remember the word) is bendable so u can look down without much difficulty, and the bendy part allows great ventilation and comunication to teammates. The ear is not open so u cant really hear to well so i would recomend to players with a lot of money to get the proflex, same thing but ear is cut sorta for better hearing. The chinstrap is helpful to some people because it helps keep the mask on especially with a backwords hat on, but i know many people who just cut it off. this mask is great, the price is right (mine was $45 at actionvillage), it has many strenghts that more expensive masks have for a lot less.

EDIT: The hearing isn't as great as other masks like the proteus od proflex. OWELL

NOTE: The lenses are REALLY HARD TO REPLACE!!!! OMG it kills your fingers, I have bandages on the tips of my thumbs and index fingers. I'm running low on band-aids, HELP!!
Conclusion: I recomend this to rec and scenario ballers because it has the wide veiw you so desperately need, plus the low fogging and comfort.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott goggles, vForce goggles
Marker Setup: Green 2002 B2K, 14" All American Smart Parts barrel, Palmer Rock regulator, Lapco reg adapter, 12v Revy w/ x-board, Air Gun Designs 3,000psi 68ci Flat Line air system
Strengths: Comfortable, highly fog resistant, good visiblility, lots of ventilation, replacement parts are widely available, price
Weaknesses: Lenses are difficult to change, wide and long profile
Review: I have used this mask for 3 years in a variety of environments. This mask is very comfortable and highly durable. I have played in everything from a desert environment to snow with these goggles and have never had a fogging problem. You will get a ton of water inside your goggles before they will fog up.
This mask is also very easy to clean because you can take it completely apart (except remove the lens only if you absolutly need to)
The visibility is great, something like 260 deg. Many masks don't even come close to that.
The lenses are quite difficult to change out but I think that being my only real complaint I think it's a good trade off for the quality, comfort, and durability of these goggles.
Conclusion: I recommend this mask to both recreational and tourney players. If you want a mask that is comfortable, will last you a long time, and you dont want to spend a ton of money on this is the mask for you. I give this mask a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark Maul Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt spectra
Marker Setup: Spyder e-99
14 in Costum Products barrel
15* Assult Block
Sweet Spot Trigger
Vl Revy w/ x-board inside loader
P.M.I 68ci 3000 psi Crossfire compressed air tank

Em1
Swan Creek N bolt
5''2 '' drop forward
Jr Freak Barrel
Evelution2 Loader
P.M.I 68ci 3000 psi Crossfire compressed air tank

System X Vengeance Base
Worr blade
RAT VALVE
BLACK MAGIC REGULATOR
DELRIN BOLT
14 INCH WGP KANER BARREL
Halo B Rip
P.M.I 68ci 3000 psi Crossfire compressed air tank
Strengths: The lowwer part of the mask is flexible.
Weaknesses: It leaves your neck wide open for a hit.
Review: It's a good mask looks great and its very comfertable, i use a Jt vortex on my mask 4 those hot days and u start 2 sweat like hell. its still a good mask u hardly fog the mask and i would recomend the Jt Spectra or if u hav some extra money go with the Jt Spectra Flex .
Conclusion: It is a comfertable mask so it does not hurt ur four head.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 2nd, 2005 at 11:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media