paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion

Raven Nexion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nexion

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nexion
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• LCD modes: ball counter, Count down timer, low battery indicator,
• 4 firing modes: semi auto, 3 round burst, 6 round burst, and full auto
• Aluminum receiver with custom mill works
• Vertical feed with adjustable feed port
• 12” competition barrel,
• Aluminum blade trigger
• Adjustable trigger pull
• Advance quick release pin
• Custom machined drop forward
• Expansion chamber with Fore grip
• Regulator and gauge
• Tournament velocity adjuster
• Anti-double feed
• Low pressure chamber
• Stainless steel hard line hose
• Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Raven Nexion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
JB2 Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various friends spyders
Marker Setup: Dye Boomstick Barrel, Viewloader with X, Compressed air
Strengths: Fast, auto, electronic, good trigger
Weaknesses: Breaks paint [a lot]
Review: I'm re-reviewing this gun. I finally got the thing back from kingman and it wasn't leaking. It is still very tempermental as far as what paints it want break, but with all my new addons last saturday with nel-splat paint this gun was out performing almost every gun on the field. People kept checking they couldn't believe how fast it was shooting in semi-mode.

FYI I did have problems when I first got this gun. It came leaking air and shooting very poorly. Although I may have been able to fix it myself I felt I should itleast get it new working.. So I had to mail it back to kingman twice. One of the guys was rude and one was nice on their tech support.. I'm pretty happy now if it continues to perform the way it did last saturday.

I would rate the gun higher, but because of past problems and only working well with very few paints - and not knowing how long it will hold up now I'm giving it a 5.
Conclusion: Pretty good gun. Requires electronic hopper. Not a bad choice but you could get a better gun for not much more money.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 21st, 2003 at 2:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jveta172 Wednesday, January 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL, PTXtreme, Smart Parts Ion, Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Kingman Raven Nexion: Extreme Rage Hopper, Trinity Feedneck, Universal ACS Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt
Barrel
Spring
Strengths: Mouse click electric trigger- 13 bps
LCD display
Accurate
Rechargable battery
Weaknesses: Unreliable
Low fps out of box
Review: Mostly a good gun. Minor problems such as low fps, and lcd display is NOT self intuitive.
I recommend that if you buy this gun you get a new spring, because the stock spring only does 240 fps. Overall it is a good gun, a little fragile though. If your looking for your first electric gun, this is what to go for.
Conclusion: Good gun with minor, fixable problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madman2119 Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash - Nexion is better (faster, more accurate, looks, better reg)
Spyder Xtra - Not comparable
Prostock Autococker - Autococker is a little bit faster and more accurate, but is more
quite a bit more expensive.
Marker Setup: Stock Raven Nexion - 20 oz C02 tank
- 12 volt revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
A lighter bolt and striker to reduce kick back and dye stickies are just my personal preference.
Strengths: Accurate - PMI Premiums and it was amazing
Looks - Awsome milling
Fast - Very light trigger pull
Weaknesses: Kick - Doesn't matter when you hit them with the 1st shot
Review: This gun has gotten a lot of bad reviews because of the price and I am here to say that you can get this gun for under $200 which is a steal of a deal on ebay.

Review-

The very first time I saw the gun it almost mad me druel it looked so good. At this point I had only used about 10 different kinds of spyders and PMI paintball guns and could wait to use the Cadillac of Kingman in a game. I aired it up and grabbed a hand full of paintballs (rps/pmi premiums) and took it outside to shoot. I was amazed. I could hit flag poles from 120 - 130ft away no problem. Horizontally it is like balls are on a wire, and of course vertically the lob after a certain distance. People who say that the gun doesn't have range are just big heaping steaming nutty brown pile of bull crap. A ball moving 300ftps will go just a far as any other ball of the same wait going 300ftps even if it is shot out of an Angle unless you are shooting into wind. The only reason why the say it doesn't have distance is because they need some way to justify spending an extra $800 on a gun that does nothing more than make them feel better about there small manhood.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun and is not as expensive as most people think.
/_/////////////////////////{}============
/////////////////////////(==
/////// ( } {}
//////__} {}
)))))]00 {}
000===!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mbogk Friday, September 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few spyders, a piranah, and have also messed around with a electro rebel
Marker Setup: BKO, choas chip, big daddy, nitro duck, egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
For teh nexion get a new barrel, the stock one is not accurate, get a nitro, an that is about it
Strengths: short trigger pull, air efficent
Weaknesses: Internal problems
Review: I used this gun for a weekend at the sponsors field cause he wanted me to test it, it was a nice gun, and i got a lot of people wanting to use it (of course i let them shoot it) they wanted to use it more, but no can do, they had nothing but praise for it. Its easily almost exactly like the Spyder AMG, but it think this gun has the look to it, i had a problem with the LCD, but it was just a loose wire, the burst, an full auto modes work flawlessly, an the semi is comparable to a BKO...
Conclusion: overall this is a good gun, its comparable to electro spyders, you could get a better gun for the value i believe
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrzyGuy Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL +, Spyder Imagine, Spyder Electra and Electra DX, Spyder AMG
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
20oz CO2
DYE Invision
12v Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electronic hopper is a must
I would get a better drop forward the only draw back to that is the solid air hose
a new barrel again only bad thing is the color scheme would be messed up
Strengths: The marker is wicked looking
It has a flat trigger that is easy to run
Weaknesses: dirty bolt jams fast
the vertical feed doesn't have an eye
Review: This is a wicked looking marker that is ready to go off the shelf for air or CO2
Yes it a little over priced but if it makes you happy and works for you then it shouldnt be a problem. I played my first tournament with it and it worked great for me i walked the trigger like nothin and had quite a few balls rippin. Only jammed up on me once because of the sand. Yes a lot of players have been saying that it is just a spyder with a make over which it is in a lot of ways but it is still a very nice gun.
Conclusion: This marker is a great gun i would suggest you go out and buy one right away!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdhmt Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
not many..... none realy
Marker Setup: (Don't laugh I know I have more money in my hopper and tank then the whole gun itself is even WORTH). Raven Nexion, 4500psi 45ci Nitro Duck Plasma Tank, Odyssey Halo, ACS Bolt, and 25-gram switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
um... BUY A NEW MARKER!!!

but if you are stuck with one like me....until Christmas

new barrel
new switch
ACS bolt??? i'll elaborate later
NEW DETENT........VERY BIG PROBLEM
Strengths: Looks
Trigger
Some what fast
drop forward
Weaknesses: JAMMING
CHOPPING
DOUBLE,TRIPLE,EVEN QUAD. FEEDING
kinda large
price
Review: I got this gun for Christmas in '04 it seems really really cool and worth every penny. It shot pretty good my 1st time playing with it but then when I played with it the 2nd time it began giving me trouble now I have had it for 6 months and am desperately trying to get rid of it no one at the place I play will buy it.... i even have the reputation of "the kid with the raven" because of all the trouble it gives me.

The good qualities:

Looks-Lets face it looks play a big role in paintball and this gun gets the job done. It looks really cool; whoever came up with the milling on this one had some good ideas.

Trigger-The trigger on the Nexion is VERY nice. One of my friends says it's almost like a sweet spot but even better. The spring in it is VERY tight so I just took it out (the switch applies enough resistance). But other than that I love this trigger and wish it would fit on all my guns… Ha.

Drop Forward-the drop on this gun is really good too it is nice and long and drops the tank about 2 inches down and 4 inches forward which with my 45ci tank puts it nicely cradled in my arm...um... anyway

Now on to the speed of the gun...

Speed-This gun could no doubtfully reach near 25 BPS BUT there is something hindering that.... the chopping and the jamming, O! Good lord the chopping and the jamming. All I can say is thank god that this gun can use the ACS bolt... with it I can get to about 10 BPS without it jamming and chopping as long as it doesn't double feed or go over that speed. BUT... Beware speeds of 10+BPS because it will begin to CHOP AND JAM AND DOUBLE, TRIPLE and QUAD FEED.... yes it seems impossible but I’ve shot 4 or probably more balls on a single trigger pull. WITHOUT the ACS bolt I could get maybe 2 or 3 shots (of any speed) before it jammed and chopped.

The BADS:

As stated before the gun will chop on MANY occasions but it usually chops because of the double feeding the shot before.

Also stated before the gun will jam thus causing you to stop your shooting and re-cock it, its almost like having a pump gun because you have to stop and re-cock every 3rd or 4th shot. That is not exaggerated it does literally jam on the 3rd or 4th shot. I have had it jam on the 1st shot! Yes the 1st shot before any balls have left it jams. How, don't ask me my gun has baffled every ref. and gunsmith I have taken it too. I have not sent it to Kingman but am doing so later today. IF THEY CAN FIX IT I WILL REVISE THIS REVIEW.

Now for the double feeding... The detents on this gun don't do a darn thing they don't stop double feeding and it does in fact double feed as stated before it not only double feeds but I‘ve shot 2, 3, 4, and probably more balls in a single trigger pull ALWAYS resulting in the next shot being chopped.

The price is a very big problem the gun shoots slower then my friends IMAGINE or could shoot faster if it didn't jam. It is extremely overpriced and not worth a single penny over 100 or 150 (even if it didn't jam). And sadly it was 300 dollars wasted because HOW CAN YOU SELL A GUN WITH A REPUTATION AS THE GUN THAT JAMS EVERY 3RD SHOT.

Ok I think that is about it if anything else happens then I will revise this review to fit the circumstances.
Conclusion: This gun has some good sides but where it really counts it just wont do. For every good side there is 2 or 3 bad sides hopefully Kingman will be able to fix my gun. If so then I will rewrite the review to fit the new way my gun performs I hope I didn't get a defective version but I cant imagine that I am the only one getting the immense problems even though the other reviews praise this gun, they all just "Tested" it and aren't forced to endure it every time they play
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 28th, 2005 at 10:29 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbplaya23 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: raven nexion
smart parts 14 in. barrel
halo b w/ rip and victory board
20 oz. C02 ( bout to switch to HPA)
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
new barrel
Strengths: Trigger
Feed neck
Weaknesses: See review
Review: well,

When i first got this product it was strait out of the box brand new, IT DIDNT WORK!!!
But, i called kingman and they sent me a replacement part,(the thing leaked out of the thing you hold with your non shooting hand). so i fixed that and it had no problems after that.
I would deff. recomend a good hopper, my gun works awsomely with my halo, that thing can rip, of course the ajustible trigger pull helps alot, i have mine as short as it can go.

other than the gun not working i have had no problems and i think my problem was an isolated one.

Conclusion: Lastly, it is a great marker for woodsball or speedball( i play a little bit of both ).
I would deff. recomend this marker to anybody.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KPPCExplorer Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Like a Kingman Pilot on steroids
Marker Setup: Kingman Raven Nexion, Viewloader Evolution II, Pure Energy N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper, ACS, Low Pressure
Strengths: VERY Stylish
Fast
Cheap
Easy Trigger to Walk
LCD Display
Durable
Weaknesses: FLYS Threw Gases
Chops Often
Review: Strengths:
Stylish: When I go to the arenas, I always get questions on this gun. Usually 2 or 3 people ask me each time what it is and how good it is. I show them on the feild :-D. I even have people with Timmys asking about it. I personally love the look of it also. I'm not a purple kinda guy, but this gun makes it work somehow.
Fast: This gun can get up to 13bps on auto, and it says it's capped at that on semi too. However, I'm pretty sure you can get it over that. I outshoot my Egg all the time which can load 18bps.
Cheap: Everyone says this gun is like $400, but you can get it for $170 on www.888paintball.com
Easy Trigger to Walk: Self exclamitory. It's a lot easier than the curved triggers, and the trigger pull is adjustable, so you can set it to your preferance.
LCD Display: The LCD display is easy to read and can even show you a timer and how many balls you have shot. Also allows you to go threw settings with ease. You can remove a chip to lock it in semi to make it tourney and feild legal.
Durable: I haven't had ONE problem with this gun so far. Nothing besides busted O rings when I used CO2, has had to be replaced.

Weaknesses:
Flys Threw Gas: This is a high pressure gun, and is set to work at around 700 and 900 psi out of the box. You can make several upgrades to make it low pressure, but that will cost some extra cash.
Chops Often: Has to do with the high pressure and fast ROF. I sugest you get a fast hopper or the ACS system, though I heard the ACS sucks sometimes. I have a Viewloader Evolution II hopper and it still chops. That hopper is supposed to get around 18bps, so that shows it outshoots 13bps. I would sugest a Egg with Z board, Halo B, or a Empire Reloader B, or you will get a chop every 2 or 3 games..
Conclusion: I love this gun. Everyone says the stock barrel sucks, but I find that it works really good. It is easy to hold, and easy to understand. It is easy to strip (requires no tools), and I have had no problems with it yet. Just make sure you use N2 instead of CO2, or your O rings will go out, but all guns are like that. This gun will run on CO2 though if you need it to. I give it a 9 instead of a 10 because of its high operation PSI. I am a woods player mostly and I find myself getting my tanks filled WAY more than I should have to be. I recomend that if you consider getting this gun to go for it. I love it, it was totally worth the money, even worth $400 IMO.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mutantkn1ght Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhhh 98 custom?
Marker Setup: 05 prostock cocker w/ E2 frame
blablablablablaaa (too lazy to put rest)
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS Bolt
Barrel (freak all american or any other freak barel) about $65
new hose take off the drop forward...i h8 dropforwards dont know why
Strengths: Shoots fast whenu want it to..
Looks pretty cool
Fairly accurate with freak.
LCD screen
Weaknesses: CHOPPING BALLS until EGG
Not very accurate it seems..
My battery got screwed?
Review: Ok...$280 bucks for this? 2 years ago, i bought a Raven Nexion thinking it was the shiz. After the 8th time i went with it, realized how wrong I was. If you have a hopper that feeds less than 12 bps, atleast in my experience you will chop like crazy. If you chop a ball, then you will have 0 accuracy unlike when there is no breakage where u can hit someone with every 20th ball :) (still crap). I'm being a little harsh here, the gun almost never breaks down, with my egg it has never chopped since, the freak buffs accuracy up tremendiously. When i bought it, the board was messed up so Raven fixed for free. Yet, I think the battery on the gun is messed up b/c it dies very fast. NITRO/HPA helps uuber amounts.
Conclusion: -shoots very fast
-breaks alot w/out fast hopper
-Nitro is must to me
-Overall I thought it was decent...
-Only 1 "super clean" was needed
-Once i started maintaining it better everything about became 10times better !@@@
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 10:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyephoenix Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Kingman Rocking Trigger
Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Dye Throttle 68cu
Dye Rhino bottle cover
VL evolution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electro Hopper
Strengths: Fast, accurate, reliable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel is inaccurate (go fig)
Review: The Raven Nexion is rare. As hell. I got mine from my parents after winning a tournament, and it is good. I like the look of it, with the double trigger guards and the slanted regulator. It has decent BPS rate w/o the rocking trigger. The barrel needs to be upgraded though. Horrible accuracy alone. This gun also isn't much of a power hog. I put a case through it w/o having to recharge the batteries. This is an excellent marker to get, if you can find it.
Conclusion: Suberb electro, and fast too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media