paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion

Raven Nexion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nexion

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nexion
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• LCD modes: ball counter, Count down timer, low battery indicator,
• 4 firing modes: semi auto, 3 round burst, 6 round burst, and full auto
• Aluminum receiver with custom mill works
• Vertical feed with adjustable feed port
• 12” competition barrel,
• Aluminum blade trigger
• Adjustable trigger pull
• Advance quick release pin
• Custom machined drop forward
• Expansion chamber with Fore grip
• Regulator and gauge
• Tournament velocity adjuster
• Anti-double feed
• Low pressure chamber
• Stainless steel hard line hose
• Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Raven Nexion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Searley Monday, February 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
It's kind of like the spyder Electra, although the differences are grand it carries the same feeling.
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion, 12v Rev, freak junior barrel, gladiator drop, bullet Asa with on/off, macro line hose, a 20 ounce co2 tank with on/off and a 12 ounce co2 tank with anti siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, accuracy is crap with out one,
a fast hopper the 12v Rev works but its pushing it, get something a little faster
Strengths: fast
sleek
accurate (with new barrel)
definitely sexy
Weaknesses: there is no hose its a pipe, which makes it slightly more costly to upgrade.
Review: its a beautiful gun, its got everything you need for a speed ball gun, I encourage plenty of people to buy it, its a little costly but its worth it in my opinion, its sweet. the gun its self isnt really high maintance and all those who think it's the same as a spyder are wrong, its similar yes, but this is a better designed and manufactured gun, its durable fast and consistant.
Conclusion: get it, get a new barrel, a fast hopper and she'll never let you down, run out on the Field and just giver.
she's a beaut.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Omegaboy13 Thursday, December 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most blowbacks.
Marker Setup: Black Magic.

Spyder Xtra With some extras as a back up
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt/regulator
Strengths: Accurate
Cool looking
ROF
LCD
Weaknesses: Chincy grips and the stock bolt sucks
Review: I'd like to think of this gun as a really nice Spyder. When my brother got it a few years back we had a great time with it. After he got bored upgrading it, and there was really nothing more he could do, he ended up buying an Angel. When we had this gun we loved it though, and it was a blast to use in any type of gameplay ( speedball, woodsball,. airball).
Conclusion: Works almost as well as any other Spyder, just with a bigger price tag.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 at 9:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raven_boi Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl plus and spyder shutter, defiently not as good as the nexion
Marker Setup: raven nexion with a 16 oz tank, revy, 18 inch all american (i know too long)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt
Strengths: fast, accurate,looks amazing, ez to clean
Weaknesses: heavy, notcied a few chops
Review: i have been using this gun now for a lil while and it is pretty fast and accurate the adjustable trigger pull is cool so it can fit any ones style it looks really really nice, one of the nicest spyder clones out there, i think it is a really reliable gun and ez to clean,
Conclusion: i would recommend getting this as either your first or second gun but not your third
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

speed_dawg16 Sunday, July 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyders pirahnas blow back electros
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion, 16 oz co2, 12 volt revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Strengths: -fast
-low maintenance
-accurate
Weaknesses: a bit pricey
Review: all these people are trying to bash this gun but it is actually a really good gun. i actually own one and the stock barrel is pretty good and i get around 1250 shots off of my 16 oz tank. i outshoot my revy all the time. i do agree that it is a bit overpriced but all paintball stuff is expensive. the stock barrel is good but its no freak and it could be a good upgrade to get.
Conclusion: I like this gun and i think you should get this gun if you like it and not dont just say no to it because all these ppl are bashing it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VagabondStarJXF Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo
Spyder Imagine
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: On my Nexion...
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
CIP Assault Block
Kingman ACS Bolt
Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit
Scenario Dreams T-Board
Dye Sticky Grips
Evil Detonator Reg
Toxic Drop
Evil Scion HPA tank
Maddmann Rocket Valve
Shocktech Springs kit
Dark Horizons Titanium Striker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
Strengths: It's as good as any Kingman eSpyder.
Weaknesses: It's has the same weaknesses as any Kingman eSpyder.
Review: I finally got round to getting one of these beautiful Raven Nexion markers. I'd wanted one for absolutely ages because I just liked the way it looked. The retail price is still high but I managed to get mine on sale around Christmas for less than $100 so price wasn't an issue. I'll do 2 reviews just to be absolutely fair...

Stock Review:
Internally it's the same as any other top cocking Kingman eSpyder so I wasn't really after it for more than just the looks. That being said I was pleasantly surprised with the functions of the stock board. It has a nice LCD that lets you know all the settings and stuff so that you know exactly what you're on. Unfortunately I do have a tendency to fire faster than the full auto function, not to mention that the full auto function has to be disabled here in the UK due to certain legalities, so any firing modes apart from semi-auto are quite useless to me. This is of no real matter because what counts is that it works nicely for what it is. The rate of fire for the full-auto function can be adjusted too, which is also nice. If I were allowed to use it in this country I'd keep the stock board in use. The bolt is a standard top cocking venturi bolt so I would expect the usual wear and tear on the upper chamber that's associated with the use of this bolt. To avoid this I upgraded it straight away to a delrin ACS bolt. My only gripe about the Nexion is that the workmanship on the VA was less accurate than I would've expected from Kingman's 'luxury' line. The holes inside the VA were misaligned from one another for apparently no reason. Other than that the VA's 10* angle is very comfortable, the milling for the body is beautifully crafted, the gas thru grip and bottomline setup look very nice and the stock barrel suits the overall look of the marker. It even has a cutlass style trigger guard (also seen on the first gen Spyder Pilot) that just works with the flow of the marker.

Upgrade Review:
See here for my current progress http://spyderea.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17731.
I decided that I wasn't going to leave this marker stock from the get go. I was going to use the stock VA but decided against it after I'd noticed that the holes were misaligned. I'm not sure if that would make any difference to the operation of the marker but it was bothering me so I changed it out for a CIP assault block I had in my spares box. As I'd mentioned above I'd replaced the stock bolt for a delrin ACS bolt to avoid unnecessary wear to the upper chamber. I'd also changed out the stock striker for a DH Titanium Striker to decrease kick and help with operating pressure. I changed out the stock board for a T-Board as I can only use semi-auto in the UK and I use my Freak barrel kit to help with operating pressure and accuracy. These are all upgrades I'd recommend on any Spyder if you aren't going to run stock. I'm running a Maddmann Rocket valve too. Upgrading it, like with any other Spyder, is a joy to do. The styling of the body is so nice that you 'want' to find parts that will flow with it. A major plus, as an avid upgrader, is that the trigger frame seems to be milled aluminum rather than die cast like the ESP frame or plastic like the Sprint frame. It's been bead blasted and anodized to match. This means that it can be re-anodized should the time come that you want to change your marker's color scheme, which is something the ESP frame fails on being that you'd have to powder coat or paint it to match. Another thing I didn't really need to change but changed anyway was the feedneck. I just thought it was too high but it still holds your hopper as tight as you need it to.
Conclusion: I like Spyders and the Raven Nexion is definitely one of my favorites. If, like myself, you're able to get one at a similar price to a normal Spyder then I highly recommend that you get one. Ravens aren't as common as Spyders. It's such a joy to upgrade with the added bonus of an anodizable trigger frame (No more mismatched trigger frame!) and a 10* VA that you could leave on there if you don't want to change it out. There are a few minor faults that aren't really a problem. The misaligned VA holes are just a minor niggle I had and the relatively high MSRP isn't a problem either if you can find it on sale like I did. Overall I give it an 8 as a stock marker. It was a pre ACS release but, being Kingman's Raven line, I would've expected more for the steep MSRP. If I were to be blunt I'd say that it's just a Spyder with a higher price tag and, like other Spyders, it's nothing special when it's stock.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 27th, 2007 at 6:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jason88 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy a5, uhh e99, imagine, other spyders
Marker Setup: 16" jt 2-piece barrel, shim kit, 12 volt revy, 20 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, hopper, and everything else is fine. You don't need new regulators and stuff really so don't listen to most people cuz they just try to pump in as many upgrades as possible. The only other thing im getting is a HPA tank, and some new grips.
Strengths: Nice trigger pull, cleans easy, nice feel, good rate of fire
Weaknesses: breaks some paint, i only keep it set at 9-10 bps
Review: I think this gun is more than good for its price. Its the first gun i got that is electro and i can't complain about anything, it is very affective at keeping people pinned long enough to come close to them. Really the only issue i had was i put a stock- shim in it to make it chop balls less. Which shortens the distance.
Conclusion: I would recommend that you purchase this gun if you are condsidering it. Don't be hesitant to pick it up if you want to buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

morbidmierdial Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GTI-Similar but no lcd/cant shoot as fast
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Halo B
14' Progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electro hopper
Strengths: Shoots fast
Looks good
Semi Fast teardown
Weaknesses: The grips
New Price
Screw on the bolt
Review: I bought a used one on ebay for a very good deal. It was $180 for the gun mask 20 oz, remote coil , 2 tubes, gun carrying case, extra parts/bolt. It was in good condition except this flathead screw to take the the bolt off is striped so i cant even get my bold out to clean it arr. Now onto the review. First off the gun looks cool, with the flat blue color it is. The shape and lines on the gun are sweet. The clamping feedneck is just one more thing you wont have to upgrade on the gun.The trigger is good easy to walk, and its adjustable to suit your fingers needs. This gun is a crowd pleaser you can say. You need a electro hop if your going to rip and not chop. This gun runs efficiantly on co2 which adds another plus. One thing bad about this marker is the grips. Yay cold hard metal i get to hold on to all day.
Conclusion: Buy it used, then its worth the money new nahh dont spend $300 on it,
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 13th, 2006 at 8:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lostpaintballer Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
alot...
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion (04)
2pc 14" Freak Barrel
Kingman Delrin ACS Bolt
Dye E-Spyder Sticky Grips
Halo B Hopper w/ Rip Drive
32 Degrees Spring Kit (medium spring)
Spyder ESP Rocking Trigger Frame (increased Bps)
45/4500 Pure Energy Fiber Wrapped HP Bottle
Macro Line kit
WGP Drop
Bob Long Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
HPA
Braded line or macro line
Strengths: Looks
Trigger
LCD
Vert. feed adapter
Weaknesses: 13bps cap
Need upgrades
Price (buy one on ebay)
Noobs who whine about it
Review: Overall, the nex isnt a bad gun, however, it requires A LOT of upgrades.

You dont have to upgrade the hell out of it like i did, but a new barrel and bolt are a must.

You also should be using a high end agitated feeder (a halo or empire are what i recommend) and N2 (nitro, for you who dont know the chemical formula for nitrogen).

Also, use good quality paint such as Draxxus or Diablo, not a bag of paint u buy at walmart for 15 bucks...

Other reviewers who give it bad reviews dont know ????. Some are just so incredibly stupid to not oil their gun enough and then whine about it jamming...i mean come on...wtf did u think would happen...

anyway...
Conclusion: This should not be the first gun u buy because u need to be familiar with paintball guns and how they function. You also have to have to be willing to put some hard cash into it. Once shes fully loaded, i can crank out about 16bps and shoot over 1000 balls with no breaks!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 15th, 2005 at 3:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kevkid Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot
32* Icon E
Marker Setup: Primary: Raven Nexion, evlution/z-board, sundragon spps 50 gram trigger switch, dye sticky 3, snapdragon trigger
Backup: tribal BBT 2.0 PMI razzor barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grip(hard to find) but stock is aluminum and uncofortable
new bolt to reduce recoil
new barrel but stock isnt to bad
Strengths: Stock reg and guage
adjustable feedneck
full trigger guard
LCD screen
milling is awsome

Weaknesses: The steel line
Grip hard to find replacements
Trigger wobbles from side-to-side
Review: once i saw this gun on the internet i knew that it was what i wanted because of the great looks and the almost endless list of features. when i go to the field im the only person that has one,(and that makes me feel special). i feel alot more confident with this gun.

the grip is very dificult to deal with, i am thinking about just trying to force a new grip on.

when you shot fast enough the reciol makes you lose aim

is good gun to get and up it till u can stand against the guys with DM5's and other guns over $1000
Conclusion: I love this gun and am planing to upgrade the crap outta it till Im completely and totally satisfyed not that the stock parts didnt give me a great start!
Even though it says that this gun costs $400 almost anywhere u can get them for aroud $280
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 at 12:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

derbypal17 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder aggressor rodeo and fenix
Smart parts ion
Brass eagle talon and marader
Tested a tippman A5 once too
Marker Setup: smart parts ion with evlution 2 viewloader thats it FOR NOW
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good electric hopper
Barrel
Strengths: Shoots pretty accurate for 13 bps
Weaknesses: The price killed me
Choppes on occasion
Review: I bought this gun thinking i was set for life with a 400 dollar nexion. Its not a bad gun at all but for 400 dollars the parts in it weren't that different from what was in the Fenix that i previously had. I was impressed on how they built the gun it felt indestructible with all aluminum. Otherwise for 400 dollars you could buy an exteremly better gun for that amount.
Conclusion: This is a good gun but its just a little too spendy for what your getting.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media