paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion

Raven Nexion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nexion

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nexion
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• LCD modes: ball counter, Count down timer, low battery indicator,
• 4 firing modes: semi auto, 3 round burst, 6 round burst, and full auto
• Aluminum receiver with custom mill works
• Vertical feed with adjustable feed port
• 12” competition barrel,
• Aluminum blade trigger
• Adjustable trigger pull
• Advance quick release pin
• Custom machined drop forward
• Expansion chamber with Fore grip
• Regulator and gauge
• Tournament velocity adjuster
• Anti-double feed
• Low pressure chamber
• Stainless steel hard line hose
• Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Raven Nexion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
SKIN DEEP Thursday, April 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shutter, timmy, spyder elcd
Marker Setup: raven primal w/ freak jr kit and q-loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, GRIPS
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Lcd
Upgradeability
Weaknesses: Grips
Barrel
Trigger guard(read review)
Review: This marker looks and feels sweet. out of the box the trigger had a bit of side to side wobble and a heck of a lot of front to back play. that was easily fixed. It was a little loud and sloppy with the stock barrel but a much needed barrel replacement solved both problems. The milling on this gun is cool as h*ll but the extended trigger guard is a blessing and a curse. though it looks good it is hard to find any grips that fit the frame with the functionality i was looking for. I ended up making my own out of lexan (it is like plexi-glass) and getting some blue window tint and putting on the under side. the stock grips were made of aluminum and were thin and uncomfortable. i would rather have my old piranha grips to the stock ones. you can also upgrade this gun with most of the spyder accessories(since it is made by kingman)
Conclusion: decent marker. great for beginners and it looks cool. nothing is perfect so that takes 1 point away and the grips and trigger wobble take another so ill give it a 7. I would recommend this gun to newbies or someone who wants to devote time and money and make it what they want
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dooooood6 Saturday, November 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt-Tac-5 (ok starter marker, better off with a 98c)
rental Spyders
Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Halo B
20oz co2
Freak Jr. Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper-Revy orbetter
Barrel- Stock barrel is hit or miss, the bore on mine was wayy to large and as a result the velocity was low.
Strengths: Reliable, shoots fast enough, built in regulator, looks nicer than most kingman markers
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, trigger has some side to side wobble, some people wont like the frame
Review: I bought this marker+20oz Co2 used off my friends cousin for $125. Was a very good deal. what more is there to say, its a spyder but made to be nicer than a spyder (aka. not chintzy). Milling done on body is nice, had to replace barrel becuase of massive overbore (could see 1-1.5mm around paintballs sitting in the barrel). Now that i have the new barrel i cant see myself wanting a new marker for quite a while. Its accurate, not as loud as most STBB's and has a decent ROF( which can be easily upgraded with a replacement board or gripframe).
Conclusion: Now thatryou can find many of these used they are avery good deal for the player that plays speedball or woodsball but want something above a walmart marker but is not ready to drop $500 into a tournament level marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omgthyki1edkeny Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha VTL
friends tippmanns, cocker, spyders etc
Marker Setup: raven, richocet ak, mask, 20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A LOT
Strengths: Twelve inch barrel
electric
Weaknesses: Weight
cost
bps
Review: This gun was not worth the money i spent on it a year ago i spent around 350$ for this gun and i woulda rather bought a cheap cocker for that price. to many internal problems, and just no worht the money. im now saving up for a cocker because this gun does not fit my needs. this gun is great if you dont go pb-ing often and is also good if u want to improve ur muscles its so heavy.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is to not get this gun cuz ud be happier with something else
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

caprce75 Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
raider paintball gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
noine
Strengths: One key strength is the full auto mode
Weaknesses: The key weakness is gotta be the the wieght but im not that sure though.
Review: This gun is very good i was shootting a hole aboult 1inche buy 1 inche and nearly all the paintballs whent right thruu i had no jams on semi,3 round burst,6 round burst and full auto but this gun is really good so all u guys who give bad reviews must suk nutss at useing this gun but exuse my language...
Conclusion: I say u should get it because of it accurccey
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DesTinedMarine Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra w/ rocking trigger is pretty decent but i think the nexon has better accuracy
tippmann a-5 tippmann is way louder and is slow
Marker Setup: raven nexion w/rocking trigger 21" CMI tru flight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel first of all, will make your paint fly farther, rocking trigger, so fast but sensitive. take out spring and streatch them out a bit to make gun a little stronger
Strengths: Pretty decent accuracy not too heavy not too light
Weaknesses: Breaks a little easily need longer barrel and doesnt shoot too far
Review: This gun is pretty good but i dont think it should be worth $400. It should be worth around 150 though then itll be a good gun for the price. also the trigger isnt much sensitive and have to pull a little harder to get shooting rolling. Just upgrade to the revolutionary rocking trigger which is so helpful. buy lots of extra o-rings, don't get ripped off by the shops where they charge 2 dolalrs for thaat little o-ring. also upgrade to a longer barrel. When you get the upgrades you will be amazed how many players with pro guns walk into the safe zone cussing.
Conclusion: I recommend for beginners or intermediate just get longer barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Saclown Monday, December 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used any other low-end markers comparable to this item. I have used 2004 Angels that are similar in weight, but far from alike when it comes to performance.
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion –
16” Smart Parts All American barrel (black) –
Halo B(blue) –
47/3000 compressed air/nitro tank (with tank cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Besides a new marker, an aftermarker barrel
Strengths: Field Stripping
Looks
Price
Drop Forward
Feedneck
LCD
Weaknesses: Weight
Performance
Sound (extremely loud)
Accuracy
BPS/CPS
Chopping
Review: In the Beginning – I bought this item off of eBay for $158.50 (not including shipping) and it came with the marker, stock barrel, 16” AA, and a clear Halo B. All items were in decent condition upon arrival except for the Halo shell, which I changed.
I was new to paintball when I bought this gun and was merely looking for a good deal. I didn’t have much money at all to spend on a gun so this one appealed to me.
I didn’t have high expectations for the marker, but thought it would be at least decent considering the $400 msrp. I relatively liked the milling and overall look and wondered to myself why the item was only selling for $158, but I bought it anyway. So, I forked over this comparably low rate without any experience with Spyders or low-end guns. Little did I know that I made a big mistake.

First time out – On my first paintball outing I whipped out the marker and screwed in my new N2 tank, which worked fine. For some reason when I pulled the trigger the bolt didn’t go all the way back. So, I took the gun apart and it was completely missing a few o-rings and leaking everywhere. Air was coming out of the barrel, fore-grip, and feed neck. So, I took the gun apart and after about two hours found the correct o-rings and taped up all the screws and insertion points on the fore-grip. I will not hold these malfunctions against the gun but consider them the incompetence of the previous owner.
After the arduous hours of work on the gun I finally got it working. It was shooting at an incredibly high pressure. Since there was no regulator, the pressure was the pressure of my tank, which was 1,100. This led the gun to be extremely loud, even with paint and a 16” barrel in it. I was getting some awkward looks from others there due to the excessive sound of the marker, which was unparalled by anyone. I took the marker to the chrono station and got some erratic numbers. My chrono speeds varied greatly from 250 to 285 to 260 to 272. The consistency was horrible, and as I later found, so was the rest of the gun.
The gun was quite heavy and annoying, not to mention embarrassing to lug around. My first game was on the speed-ball course and was depressing. I played back right and as a back shooter, needed accuracy. The gun was accurate within 1-4 feet, depending on how fast I shot. Even with the top of the line barrel and me forcefully holding the gun still trying to downplay the massive blowback, I could barely scare the opposition 30ft. away. The paint I used was void of any dents and of a good quality. As the distance increased in other games, I had to tilt my marker at insane 20 degree angles to come close.

My Second Time out -- Between my first and second paintball outings, I had played with and practiced with the trigger every available second. I got to the point where I could out-shoot the gun, which was a mere 13bps. When I took the field I began unloading on the opposition. After a string of about 20 balls or so, I began chopping, and chopping badly. Every couple shots I would either break a ball in the barrel or in the breach. This continued all day and was the most frustrating thing I could imagine. Little kids with rental guns had better performance than I did. I was forced to shoot semi at about 1bps to avoid chopping. However, I was using a very poor quality paint (Brass Eagle Wild Streak (50 cents per 200 balls)), so I will not hold this against the gun. Before I even began playing I had problems at the chrono. Maybe it was something I was doing wrong, or a malfunction of the gun, but for some reason I could not shoot a ball faster than 240. I cranked the velocity adjuster as far right as it could go, but I got terrible results. I got speeds that were 210, 240, 180, 200, 230, etc.

My preferences – After my first outing with the gun I took it apart, cleaned it, and lubed it. I adjusted the trigger until there was about a ¾ mm pull, allowing me to pull it faster than it could shoot. There was no way to adjust the stiffness of the spring that became very annoying after some time. I had to forcefully roll my fingers to get the trigger all the way down, but I could still out shoot the gun. The gun is very easily stripped, cleaned, and re-assembled. It only takes a few minutes after you are acquainted with the design. Finally an upside. The only other upside that I could see is the lcd screen and ease of adjustability of the item. You can adjust the firing mode from semi, to full, to 3 or 6 round bursts. You can adjust the limited rate of fire, although I don’t know why anybody would want it any slower. And there is a game timer and battery gauge.
Conclusion: Conclusion – This is a great marker for anybody who knows nothing about paintball or just wants a piece of scrap metal. It is nearly worthless; maybe that is why I had so much trouble selling it. I guess it would be tolerable if you rarely paintball and don’t care about the ability of your marker. Even the weakest of players would soon outgrow the limits of this gun. Even though every noob has one, I would recommend the ion for a beginner gun. I know, it is the skill of the player not the ability of the gun that makes a good paintballer, unless you have a NEXION!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

TB09 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL plus has some upgrades just have not quite figured out what they are.
reg. gravity hopper
12 oz CO2
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Halo TSA LCD Backman hopper
20 oz CO2
32 degrees coiled remote
4+1 pack with pods
Recommended
Upgrades:
deffinetly a new bolt if you can afford it.
fast hopper
maybe a barrel
maybe a regulator too
Strengths: powerful
good accuracy (might just be me)
looks frigging awesome
price
LCD
Weaknesses: loud
lots of blow back
jams a lot if Hopper isn't fast enough
Review: First things first... The web site says this gun usually retails for $400...NOT TRUE AT ALL! firstcallpaintball i got my gun at firstcallpaintball for $144.95. bit of a difference there. This gun is a great gun for that price and it looks great ,fires fast,(almost outruns my halo) and raven did a pretty good job on their first gun....The one problem is that this gun deffinetly needs a ACS bolt because if i max out this gun (they say it can only do 13bps but me and my friends have measured it at 18 bps )it usually jams and then you have to take it all apart ....so deffinetly a bolt but depending how much money you have and want to spend i could name a whole list for you... but all around a good beginning gun and its deffinetly worth your money because it can be upgraded to be a match for some of the more expesive models....
Conclusion: Well if your paying $400 for this gun then you seriously got robbed....but for my price this gun is great can match some of the more expesive guns and you can show off some looks on the paintball field if the girls are watching (deffinetly a plus) but the only problems with this gun are the bolt and other things... thats why i marked this gun down a little bit
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

internetrush Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP STO 04 - Way better
Spyder Extra - a little better
Marker Setup: +WGP 2004 VF
- Gladiator 04 reg
- Palmer Micro LPR
- Supafly bolt
- misc others
Centerflag 90/3000 Fiber
Richochet AK Loader
Empire Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: shoots fast
looks ok
Weaknesses: Loud
inaccurate
kick
Review: This marker was my first. I liked it at first and knew that it wasnt the best. But i got it for 200 dollars off so i wasnt going to complain.

Strengths -
* for begginners the full auto is nice
* for begginners it looks neat

Weaknesses -
* things sounds like a shotgun... not good when you go to a tourney where people are pulling out angels that you cant even hear... they shoot you as soon as you get a shot off and you dont even know where they are shooting from

* has about a 4-6 inch diameter shooting area at like 30 yards.... I got my cocker sto shoot within 1 inch at 30 yards....gives you a little bit of inferiority when someone can shoot through a hole 2 inches wide in a bunker while your gun isnt hitting his bunker at all

* has a large amount of kick. the spring ratio inside the gun is heavy and provides a FORCEFUL push for the ball. But my gun shot so hard one time that the little knob on the top of the gun attached to the bolt broke OFF!....whoa...that freaked me out.

Conclusion: As you can see the weaknesses outweigh the advantages... if your going to begin cheaply this isnt your gun b/c its expensive and also becuase you buy the spyder xtra and have 2x this guns quality if you put an electronic trigger on it, it would be the same price.

If your thinking about saving or spending right now... go shoot a friends cocker or angel or Impy and THEN make your choice becuase if its a 200 dollar difference between this one and another save... i didnt and i regret it deeply

**** give it a 6 b/c its not HORRIBLE but its definatly not within the top 3 types of markers ****
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

PPQS Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with too many addons
Angel IR3 Fly
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Viewloader Evolution 12v hopper
14" Teardrop Barrel
32 Degrees 6 Stage Expansion Chamber
32 Degrees Rocket Pressure Chamber
Psycho Ballistics Medium Bullet Drop
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electronic hopper and a decent barrel for starters
Also, in the case of any gun, N2 would be preferred
Strengths: Accurate, fast
Weaknesses: It chops a lot, breaks down even more
Review: Strengths:
Light as hell, less than 2 pounds id say
Great features like 3 + 6 burst, and shot counter
5-11.5 BPS adjustable
Great looks
Weaknesses:
Chops balls
Didnt know poop was sold for 300$
So far- Bolt cocker broke, bolt case bent (cant take the bolt out anymore), the thing the back part of the bolt shot 20 feet for no reason, Push pin broke
I find myself sitting out a lot trying to figure out why the hell my bolt wont even shoot half the time it is cocked






Conclusion: At first i loved this gun.....when it still worked. Now its a horrible piece of poo, i have to carry around a hex wrench if i want to cock it. Im thinking of trading it back for my Tippmann 98, its terrible.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 27th, 2003 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

brennan87 Friday, February 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion(Tested), Spyder Imagine(Tested), 98 Custom (Owned)
Marker Setup: 20oz CO2, 16"DYE, Empire B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, FAST Hopper
Strengths: Looks, electronics
Weaknesses: Chops a little.
Review: Let me start off by saying this gun is awful! Looks REALLY cool. I bought gun with the intentions of getting a good electronic gun to replace my 98C and this is not even comparable. The trigger is good along with the drop forward and Expansion Chamber. CHOPS ALMOST EVERY OTHER SHOT!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to no one.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 16th, 2006 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media