paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Elite X-Fire Mask / JT Elite X-Fire Mask / JT Elite X-Fire Mask

JT Elite X-Fire Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Elite X-Fire Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Elite X-Fire Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 125
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The X-Fire mask is constructed with a high impact rigid upper for strength, and a soft plastic lower for flexibility.
Product Availability 
The JT Elite X-Fire Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tippy_fan Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Alpha
Varios rentals
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E
12" Progressive Barrel System
20 oz. C02
Custom Blade Trigger
Veiwloader 200
Strengths: Does not fog!
Excellent protection
stays on face
price
Bounce rate
Weaknesses: Does not come with a visor
Really warm after a while
Review: This mask is really awesome for anyone getting into the game. I have tried other masks in the price range but none compare. Remember this is around the same price as a java v type and other crap bombs but still does not fog. Recently i was playing at my buds house (a.k.a. the_super_sheep) and it was... wait for it... -26 degrees Celsius and for all you Americans that's pretty dang cold. It did eventually fog after about 45 minutes but only on one side (?). It has a soft lower half that actually helps alot, i've had about 4 bounces and that was every time i've been hit there. The vision is good but could use some improvement. The strap is really good and keeps the mask were it should be, on your face. The lens does not scratch easy, and over all is pretty tough. I'm not sure why they didn't just throw in a $2 visor but they didn't and i can live with that.
Conclusion: Pretty awsome mask with very little downsides. If you are looking to get into paintball or are tired of your $4 mask than go and scoop one up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chibissj Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Don't know never had another mask.
Strengths: Comfy, good fov, adjustable, thermal lenses, soft chin. on/off visor, cheap
Weaknesses: Sometimes after a while face gets hot and hurts cheeks.
Review: I love this mask, I tried on the PMI X whatever mask too and that mask was 10 bucks more and this one was by far a better fit. It also comes with the thermal lens which the pmi mask didn't and it was much more comfy. Also the chin peice isn't mad of hard plastic like the pmi mask was, it is mad of this soft stuff, which i like better because I got shot in the face my first game, and the ball just kinda hit it absorbed, didnn't hit my chin and the ball didn't break, and it was a marballizer. One draw back is that after wearing this mask for around a half hour or longer, your face gets kinda hot, but that's like all other mask I think, and it doesn't matter since it has the thermal lenses. This mask also once your face gets kinda hot, if I try to move the mask, it irritates my checks so I guess that's also kinda a good thing since if I'm still in a game, I couldn't take it off anyway. OH yah forgot, the fov is really good on this mask and the visor is able to be taken on and off, but i think it looks cooler with the visor. Lastly this mask is very adjustable, it has these three thigns on the side to move the strap around like most mask, but then The strap is better since it can go a lot bigger and/or a lot smaller depending on your head size, and it's sizes are much broader than the pmi mask i tried on.
Conclusion: Great mask, I bought mine for 45 bucks. It's great so far. Just love it, GO out and buy one if you're low on money.

After getting a proflex and using this mask I realize I should lower the review score to an 8 instead, because it's a great buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 7:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soujiro Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Hm.......i really don't know
Marker Setup: Viewloader Revelation with Spyder Shutter Stock barrel(don't ask)
Strengths: It's a good mask for cheap
Weaknesses: It tends to fog up some
Review: I like this mask personally. I got it for like $20 at a Sports Authority. It's cheap, it looks pretty cool, it covers a good portion of my head. What else does a mask need to have?
Oh yeah, it does tend to fog sometimes, but it never fogged up enough so I couldn't see, and the fog usually goes away after about 30 seconds. I recommend to anyone.
Conclusion: It's good for the price but if your really serious you might want to try something better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hudson4269 Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: F-2 Illustrator - RETIRED

Powerfeed Automag - STOLEN

Spyder Victor II - 14" 32 Degree Quiet Riot Barrel, Agitating VL (old school), 14oz Chrome Molly on a drop forward. ACTIVE
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Weaknesses: Not for smaller framed people.
Not for people who need to wear glasses.
Review: All in all this mask, to me, is the backbone of all other mask designs. It has been the pillar for which JT has built there goggle designs on for all these years. If it was not a good mask design, would it still be in use over 6 years after being designed? If it was not a good reliable mask would I still have mine after 6 years of play?

The construction is solid. They are still readily available. JT is a respected name. Good looking design. (unlike some BE's I have seen.)

Only real draw back is that smaller people might find them uncomfortable, and glass wearers might be annoyed when they wear it.
Conclusion: Sure there are better masks out there on the market, but if you looking on getting into paintball, on a budget, or looking for a second backup mask; I cannot recommend this mask highly enough.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KATZEN Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental masks.
Marker Setup: Currently no marker... Use rental Tippmann 98s.
Strengths: Cheap. Thermal Lens really work great!
Weaknesses: Small field of vision. Won't work if you wear glasses.
Review: This a a good mask for the price. Way better than any rental mask. Make sure you get one with thermal lens. They are totally worth the few extra bucks. I played all day in the rain and my mask did not fog up at all. Other guys that didn't have thermal lens were screwed. They could not see a thing! Great starter mask. Even if you only play a few times a year it is worth the money not to have to put your face in some stinky rental mask. The only think I didn't like was the small lens. If you wear glasses forget trying them with this mask. Comfort was ok once i messed with it to get it adjusted OK.
Conclusion: Good overall mask if you don't want to spend much money. BUY THERMAL LENS!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OutlawJ Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmm, probally a rental mask, no wait, this was the rental mask!
Marker Setup: Stock setup
Standard 200 round loader
9oz co2 tank
Strengths: Cheap
Paintballs tend to bounce off
Weaknesses: Crappy color
Fogs up alot
Foam padding sucks
Review: This was my first mask so I did not think bad of it (mostly cuz I didn't know much about paintball at that time). The truth is that there are alot of flaws in this mask. One is the crappy color it comes in; I have yet to see this mask in another color. The color is somewhat of a puke green mixed with baby crap (but this is all my opinion). Second of all is the fogging you have to deal with, I had this mask for about a year and it didn't fog until about the second time of use. I was breathing hard and the damn thing wouldn't stop fogging up no matter how many times I cleaned it. The fog clears up fairly fast, but by that time you would have exhaled again and made the fog even worse. One time I had to sit out for a few games and let the fog clear up for awhile before I could use it again. On top of looking lame and not being able to see you have to deal with the terrible foam padding. Its not squishy at all and soaks up maybe a drop or two of sweat.; and in my opinion its quite itchy. On the plus side however its cheap and affordable, I pick one up for about $20 at the local pro-shop. Also paintballs tend to bounce off the rubber guarding that surrounds the mouth and acts as a crappy vent system. I was hit there a number of time one game from about 10 feet away and 1 out of about 7 didn't pop.
Conclusion: I advise not to get this mask at all (spend $10 more and get the Headsheild). This mask is and will always be a rental mask in my book.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commando_Cow Friday, April 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle masks
Marker Setup: JT excellerator 3.0
Strengths: -comfortable -good field of view -looks good
Weaknesses: -The ball deflector is rather badly cast.
- It isnt thermal so its gonna fog
Review: I got this mask at WallyWorld and they call it an elite carnivore, and it has a nicer visor than a normal xfire, and a clear ball deflector and a tinted lens AND a little bag to carry the mask in.
The bag is a joke, it seems to be made out of recycled pantyhose and smells evil.
the mask seems to be fogproof FOR THE FIRST USE.... however once you wash the antifog coating off.... its fog hell. I had to buy a thermal lens and now its a great mask. Fits my face well. tinted lens was kinda nice but I perfer the yellow thermal.
with a thermal this mask gets a 10 because I find it really comfortable. without, its a 7
Conclusion: Good mask. Buy and you wont be dissapointed. i give it a 7 because it does what its supposed to do and cheaply
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 21st, 2004 at 5:31 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Aslan2005 Monday, December 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex
Scott
Brass Eagle
Marker Setup: Minimag w/Retro Valve, Level 10, and ULT trigger kit
Shocktech Medium Drop, chrome foregrip
Intelliframe with Intellifeed to Warpfeed modification
Taso Winforce 16" barrel
MaxFlow reg on 70/4500 HPA tank
Strengths: Great Protection
Affordable
Durable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Ugly
Stock lens not good
Lens difficult to change/clean
Review: This has been my primary mask for about 7 years. I've modified it my adding a couple computer fans to the top of the goggles that run off 9V batteries and supply a bit of air through the top of the goggles to mainly keep my glasses from fogging.

This mask is affordable, but the key strength is protection. It's big and it's not "stylish"...so you won't win "Agg player of the month" for wearing it. BUT...it protects your face, your ears, your neck (mostly), and your forehead. Very few, if any, masks avaialble (even today) provide the protection that this mask does. And, it's durable. I should know, I've been abusing it for over 7 years.

Now, the drawbacks. Difficult to get the lens in and out. Field of vision is limited. It's ugly and you might take an extra mask hit from time to time because there is more of a profile to it. It's also heavy, feels like it's falling off your face sometimes. And the stock lens is garbage, just like any non-thermal lens. You'll need to buy the thermal lens for it for the mask to work well for you. I've been through 2-3 thermal lenses, had no problems with my mask lens fogging (just my glasses).
Conclusion: Not a better mask for the money. FAR superior to Scott and Brass Eagle masks. Thermal lens is a MUST! But I've got to give this mask a high mark, despite it's numerous drawbacks, because it does what a mask is supposed to do, it PROTECTS you...VERY WELL.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 13th, 2010 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darthraven Wednesday, October 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman US Army masks, Crossfire mask, other various masks
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 (original), all stock
Original Hopper
20 oz. co2 tank
20" RAP4 Sniper barrel
Strengths: Durable and rugged
Comfortable and well shaped
Excellent protection for face, ears & eyes
Weaknesses: Prone to frequent and overwhelming fog
Strap has slackened SLIGHTLY
Minimum neck protection
Review: I bought my X Fire back in 2000 & have used it ever since. It's a good mask, regardless of any other reviews. I've played probably every type of paintball game ever imagined (I think~) in every type of weather you could imagine (eh, Ohio gets some really extreme weather 24/7/365) and the mask always held up. It has a full field of vision comparable to other masks within it's price range and year of release
And the coolest feature I've found is foam spacers behind the ears, which increases the spacing between your ears and the mask. This space allows for better hearing during game play. One bad thing is that it's prone to frequent and overwhelming fog (although I never did install the anti-fog insert, maybe that's the problem) By now, they've probably flooded the market with other hundreds of new masks, but I recommend the X Fire for any collection, casual or pro.
Conclusion: BUY IT! If you can find another mask for the cost, go for it. But if you come across a decent X Fire for a decent price, see my previous statement.....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2010 at 10:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Saturday, October 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteus
NVader
Skull Mask
Marker Setup: Automag
Strengths: Foam
Full protection
Structurally sound
Breathability
Weaknesses: Bulky
Review: I'm sorry, but I liked this mask when I used it. And I liked the padding. It's smoother, more firm, and won't hold sweat above your eyeballs like regular foam will. I think the breathability is the best thing about the X-Fire. I can run and not feel like an old man starving for oxygen. It's a bit on the heavy side, though. I also prefer the Spectra Lens over the Elite, which is why I don't use the X-Fire anymore. I can't say anything about the fog factor as I live in a rather arid region in southern California.
Conclusion: For what it is, this is a good mask. There's better out there, though, but for the price range. . .
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media