paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar

JT Speed Collar Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Speed Collar

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Speed Collar
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Attaches to the tops of ViewLoader's VL2000 and Revolution hoppers for uninterrupted fire power. Eliminates spillage and lost time.
Product Availability 
The JT Speed Collar is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, June 4th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Um... It's a good thought. That seems to be about it.
Weaknesses: Hard as hell to install. It seems like it would be self explanitory, but it's not. It should come with instructions on how to install it. I didn't know what screws or bolts to use. I ended up stripping the screw holes in the hopper. So not only did I mess up the collar, but I also screwed up my new 12 volt revy. Once I got it on, the lid came off about the 3rd or 4th time I used it. I'm not talkin, "Oh, shucks. It popped out. Oh there I put it back on." I talking, rip apart the plastic so it will never go back together. Also, on the hopper, it's real big.
Conclusion: I think that if you got it installed correctly, it might be alright. I like using it with the rest of the system, it's real fast. Uh, if you wanna install it, go ahead and get one. I wouldn't buy another one though.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 19th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This idea for it is pretty good because it saves you time. It also adds like 50-100 balls to your hopper.
Weaknesses: It was a piece of crap. First of all, it was wicked hard to assemble, even with directions from JTUSA.com. It was like the thing didnt fit on my hopper. I had to put a bunch of screws to keep it on. It also kept coming off the hopper and it wouldnt stay on. Then I dropped my gun and the thing cracked in half. Its not like I dropped it from two stories either. The thing is a piece. The stuff inside the collar for the tubes came right off.
Conclusion: It wasnt a bad idea with the speedpods and harness, but it just wasnt good. It might not even be worth what its cost. If you think your hopper is big enough already, then dont plan on getting this. Overall, this is really what I thought it would be. I dont recommend unless you have good luck.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 3rd, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Great Idea! Not bad price for being a JT product Lid fits nice and snug.
Weaknesses: Where can I start!
1. No directions.
2. Putting it together is a real pain in the A**!
3. Inside teeth broke off 2nd time trying it.
4. Pods get stuck inside.
5. Pulled the whole loader off when trying to remove a jam pod. "Not too good during a game!"
6. The G.O.T. timer makes no sense to have when its only be held on there by some kind of glue tape! Ended up popping off during install.


Conclusion: My solution was giving it away to a friend! Very Disappointed !!!! Thank God it was only $20.00 some dollars.
I feel JT would be better off making there own hopper with the Speed collar built right on it.
This is my own experience with the speed collar. Maybe down the road I would try again but for now "NO WAY"
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 6th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The basic idea of loading faster and spilling less paint. Cost is fair. Pods are too expensive though, see my review of them. Overall concept, collar, pods and lsam pack are well thought out, but needs refinement.
Weaknesses: Collar doesn't come with directions. Tabs inside of collar that clip over mouth of loader have to be reduced to fit. Can't be opened or removed without tools if paint breaks in hopper. Works better without lid. Inner collar broke when removing jammed pod. Fingers on inner collar break off and may enter paint marker, MAJOR JAM!, possible damage to marker. Pods get stuck in collar requiring complete disassembly. See my reviews of pods and pack. Cannot be used with other pods or tubes. Very dissatisfied with system except pack.
These problems happened to me, not other players.
Conclusion: Cost of collar is fair, but cannot be used with other tubes. Problems outweigh usefulness. Below average especially for a JT product.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ION666 Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular lid?
Marker Setup: ION, qlock, ans egostyle trigger
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: well my lid broke so my frnd gave me 1


Strngths
it works and helps u reload faster
be unique nobody has em so ull be like ahahhaa i got one yea

weaknesses
very big
only fits on revys(although i hav a revy)
only works w/ jt speed pods

Conclusion: Its alright if u really want 2 try it go ahead its ok so ill giv it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamLibertyCapt Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k cocker, suped up front block, JAM bolt, HPA, 12v rev, Evil Pipe
Strengths: Faster Reloading time
Not have to worry about flipping open lids.
Weaknesses: Pods get jammed all the time
$7 a pod it gets a lil pricey.
Review: My lid on my collar kept falling off so i just took it off... no reason for it, paint doesn't spill anyway. You don't have to worry about opening any lids just pull out a pod and jam it in. Like i stated the pods get stuck so i recommend being a little rough with them when you tug at them to get them out the first time... don't want an extra foot added to the hight of your hopper. Plus it looks kinds funny with a pod sticking out of your hopper.
Conclusion: Its worth it as long as you get the speed pods and you are a back player. Not reccommended for front players... you dont have to worry about being out of paint so your front ment get bunkered or shot out. Giving it a 9 out of 10 fr the hard to get out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arbites[RAT] Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard hoppers, A-5 Cyclone hopper
Marker Setup: A-5: E-trigger, NW Paintball Products drop forward, 3A CA tanks (91 CI & 47 CI)
68 Special: Siphon tanks (still don't understand why & I owned an SMG-60 first)
SL-68: 2 Silencers (why not)
Strengths: SPEED PODS :
-One-handed refilling
-no ball spills with door open
Weaknesses: Poor design to mount collar to hopper
Adds height
Review: This is a great idea that has a few design flaws:
1) It requires that you drill a hole into the hopper to make a firm connection. While there are MANY hoppers on the market, they are using a small plastic adapter for the hopper to collar connection. They should have made adapters to allow the hoppers current screws to be used when available. For example, on the A-5 you must screw into one of these screw holes when it was very close to being able to just use that screw hole to support it with only a little alteration to the adapter piece (which would need to be molded differently - longer). They supply two small screws that appear to be designed for the stopwatch (see below), but since they don't work for the stopwatch I used them for the collar / hopper connection

2) The optional stopwatch (reveiws available seperately - also made by JT) has one of the worst mounting designs I have recently seen playing paintball. The only way to readily attach it to the collar is to use the two sided tape where it sits in a specially designed recessed area. I guess no one at JT remembered that batteries wear out. It comes with screws, but as I mentioned, they didn't work so I drilled through the holes from the back so I could use longer screws that allow me to remove it for battery changes.
Conclusion: I purchased an extra A-5 hopper to try this out (and I'm glad I did). I will still occasionally use this since I bought into it with the speed pods, but do not plan on having it as a permanent part of my setup.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarBUCKs Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything similar to the Speed Collar?
Marker Setup: 68 Automag (Old School Additon, before they were classic), Erin Carter Barrel (Before he was Dye), and some Compressed Air.
Strengths: It drops paint into the hopper like a mofo. I has a lid that securely fastens
Weaknesses: It makes the hopper more bulky. Slamming Pods into hopper can be difficult especially in heat of battle. Sometimes pods are hard to get out.
Review: I don't know If I would recommend it for alot of people. I personally don't use it anymore. I have decided that getting paint in the hopper really doesn't make that much of a difference. More of a novelty. This item IMO is great for shorter games with fast paced fire fights because you can just leave the pod in the hopper and have that extra 90-100 paintballs ready to fly. As long as gun and hopper hits don't count.
Conclusion: Advanced and Intermediate players stay away. This is for N00Bs.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 13th, 2003 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crawldaddy Wednesday, November 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just regular pods
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99, 14" black razor barrel, venturi bolt, 68 ci 3000 psi tank, ricochet 2k
Strengths: This thing is awesome. You wanta talk about fast.....nothing has yet to come close to reloading as fast this does...NOTHING! My buddy timed it at the field one time and in 3 thats right 3 seconds(compared to the 5 - 10 seconds for other pods) I loaded a speed pod and had it back in my slammer pack harness! I love the speed collar.
Weaknesses: The only bad things I can say are it is a pain to figure out and put on your revy, and it doesnt come with directions or suggestions on how to install it. I had to drill a whole going through my revy to connect the bottom part of the collar and drill a hole in the collar itself at the bottom and insert a screw to keep together and tight so it would snap on the top of the revy and stay together. It also takes a while to get use to the added length on the hopper.
Conclusion: It may be the pain almost everyone whines about, and is alot of work, but once you do get it - it is well worth the time, money, and effort. JT knew exactly what they were doing when they came out with this. Keep your marker close and tight, get use to it, and adjust, its not hard and again well worth it. People want one when they see mine in action and i suggest it - not shy them away from it because of how well I set it up and how well it works for me and it's another great product from the minds of JT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freeze31 Friday, May 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: custom 68 Mag. w/warp
doesn't realy matter for this
Strengths: don't have to flip a lid?....... NOTHING!!!
Weaknesses: It is a complete nuisance even with a warp. Got in the war all the time have to sand down the rim and the slide of the pods just to get it to fit in easily. If you get a ball lodged under the lips (that hold the balls in the hopper) and slam a pod in say goodbye to the rest of your shots. You have to take apart your revi to get the paint cleaned out fo the inside.
Conclusion: IT SUCKED! Good concept. Just doesn't work and is not worth it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media