paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Shooting Chrony / Shooting Chrony / Shooting Chrony / Shooting Chrony

Shooting Chrony Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Shooting Chrony

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Shooting Chrony
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $88

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Every SHOOTING CHRONY® measures the speed of bullets, arrows, shotgun & airgun pellets, paintballs, et cetera, from 30/fps. to 7000/fps. and with better than 99.5% accuracy. It can go with you anywhere. Just unfold (like a book), mount onto a tripod or place on a table, insert diffusers (if required) and shoot in less than 2 minutes.
Product Availability 
The Shooting Chrony is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Nwilson Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Vlocity (A piece of JUNK)
Field Chronographs
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts progressive, double trigger, tapco SAW stock, BSA Red dot mounted on Lapco Offset sight rail, Allen paintball remote, Flurry Vest.

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Strengths: Very acurate, easy on the wallet, and portable.
Weaknesses: Have not found any
Review: I play woodsball exclusively so I had to have something to chrono our guns to ensure safe play. A while back I purchased a cheap piece of junk called the Viewloader Vlocity - a HUGE mistake. After throwing that in the trash I decided to buy a real chronograph. I'm glad I did. This thing works awsome. What can I say, it's acurate, it's portable and it's cheap. I have several friends that are big into competetion shooting (handguns and rifles) and they all use Chrony chonographs. This thing can be used for paintball, archery, handguns and rifles. It can be mounted on a tripod, and has an optional printer attachment.
One note. The normal price of this unit is about $90, however they sell a refurb model for right at $50 (that's what I payed for mine). It has the same warranty as brand new, looks identical to brand new (except the refurb models are painted dark green), and comes with everything in the box. Essentially, you would never know that it is a refurb! For only $50, you cant go wrong!
One other note I will say about this company that I think is pretty cool is the fact that if you buy a new chrony chronograph, you can at any time send it in to the company and upgrade to a higher model - you just pay the difference! Check the Chrony website for details.
Conclusion: Excellent chronograph from a company that stands behind their product. This will be the LAST chrono you will need! GET IT !!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Big Red field chronographs
X-Radar hand held
Marker Setup: '05 WGP SuperStock w/ a few upgrades
'05 WGP ProStock w/ even more upgrades
Fully loaded Tippmann A-5

And a few others
Strengths: Super accurate
Battery life
Versatile (not just paintballs)
Weaknesses: Setup/breakdown
No BPS counter
Review: I'll start with the only potential negative things I can find about this wonderful device. The first issue someone may have is that it takes a second to unfold it and set up the diffusers and splatter shield. Basically, you unfold it, place the clear splatter guard (if you got the paintball model, it should come with one) over the exposed internals, and insert the diffuser rods. The shield is held in place when the rods are inserted. Then, if needed, you can install the diffusers. All in all, setup takes less than two minutes if you're distracted or have never done it before, but can be done in about 30 seconds.

The only other issue that might come up is that there is no rate of fire calculator. Some chronographs turn into BPS counters when you fire rapidly, but this does not have that feature.

On to the good. The fantastic, actually. First off, this thing is amazingly accurate. Because it operates by actually seeing the projectile rather than bouncing radar waves off it, you get accuracy to a claimed 99.5%. And that's not just for paintballs. You fire anything between those diffusers at a velocity between 30fps and 7,000 fps, and it's gonna give you an accurate reading down to the 0.1fps. A nine volt will last you a pretty long time, too.

A friend and I made a couple of LAW launchers for scenario games, and we wanted to check to see how fast they were shooting (most fields want you to keep LAWs under 240 fps). My friend's X-Radar hand held chrono wouldn't register it, so we took it to our local field and borrowed one of those big red beeping chronos. Its was reading in the neighborhood of 180 fps, and that wasn't agreeing with our math. So we took the LAW to an archery range to use their super accurate, computer operated visual chronograph. It said we were shooting between 205 and 210 fps. When I bought my Shooting Chrony, I tested it out with the LAW and got the same results as the archery range chrono.

Now I use it every time I play, even if I'm at a field that's got chronos set up. Mine is more accurate.


EDIT:
Two years later and it's still going strong. I now take it with me to the rifle range to check and make sure my loads are within acceptable spec. I've clocked everything from a tiny .177 cal pellet moving at ~900 fps to a 180 grain .30 cal round moving at 2600-2800 fps, and it's as accurate as ever. If you shoot something as small as a pellet that only weighs a couple grains and has a tiny profile, you may have to shoot a couple before it'll pick it up, but that isn't an issue for anything larger. Even stepping up to 40 grain .22LR allows it to pick up the round every time, so it has no trouble seeing something as large and slow as a paintball.
Conclusion: A fantastic piece that will serve you well, especially if you're able to use it for something other than paintball. I highly recommend it, especially to someone who plays outlaw a lot. It gets a 9.7 from me, which I'll round to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 12th, 2009 at 11:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader VLocity - pile of junk
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
ACI Zero Gravity
Flatline
E-grip
Ricochet R5
JCS Duel Trigger
CenterFlag reg.
DOP Front Grip
DOP RVA
Strengths: Accurate
Low price
Easy to use
Compact storage
Used for not just paintball
Weaknesses: Takes just a minute to set up if diffusers are needed.
Review: For those that don't have a chronograph, it's time to get one. If spending less is important, buy a Shooting Chrony and save some money. It works great and the price is right. It appears to be very accurate and that's the most important feature on a chronograph. It is very easy to use; just unfold it, add the diffusers if necessary, and turn it on. It's that simple. Just shoot a few inches above the eyes and straight through. You then have your speed. It also folds up very compactly for a reduced storage profile. It will also work for real firearms and other projectiles. So this is not only useful for paintballers. Maybe the only minor weakness is that it takes a minute to hook up the diffusers. But if you don't have the patience for one minute of your time to set it up, than you have a serious problem. It also doesn't read out balls-per-second, but this isn't designed for paintballing so don't expect that feature at this price. In other words, the Shooting Chrony works great and is very affordable.
Conclusion: Buy this for an all-purpose economical chronograph that works great. It's highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wheelie Pete Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
J&J Ceramic 14"
Polished internals
Empire Reloder II
Autococker Strip Pin
Strengths: Inexpensive
Simple to use
Packs away nicely
Tripod Mount
Weaknesses: Internals look like they could be bought at radio shack
Review: Got my chrony F1 for $74 at a local gun shop. Don't get suckered into buying the "paintball" specific one. All that includes is a plastic splatter guard and a gun barrel rest, neither of which you need and only adds about $20 to the price. Take that $ and go buy a tripod to make mounting the chrony easy. As I stated above you can just put some clear packing tape over the open sensors to cover them from possible paintball breaks. We've broke quite a few balls over the chrony now (my buddy's full auto guns with crappy hoppers tend to chop; my Xtra never chops) and haven't had any problems.

The Chrony has a mounting hole that allows you to mount the chrony to any camera tripod. I have a cheap $20 tripod from wal-mart that works great. The chrony has worked fine for me. It measured velocity just like it was supposed to. It even worked well in the garage after we figured out that fluorescent lights screw up the sensors (the pulsing of the lights fools the sensors.) What you have to do is use the plastic outside cloud diffusers and then position a lamp with a regular incandescent bulb over the chrony. Once we did that it worked perfectly in the garage (we were shooting into a garbage can filled with cardboard to tune the guns in.

I read on a website somewhere that you can also just strip the wires on a 1/8" stereo plug and then either just touch the wires, or hook up a momentary switch and be able to cycle though the different functions of the chrony. In other words, you don't have to buy their extra button switch to access the included functions on the chrony. The extra screen functions show things like average, hi-low, etc. If you don't have the switch the chrony just displays shot # and what velocity in FPS.
Conclusion: Works great, folds up for easy storage, can be a little finicky but not too bad, inexpensive (relative to other chronographs). I give it a 9 just for the cosmetic cheesyness of the guts, but hey, it works as advertised.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trains are bad Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RADARCHRON (ok, not as consistant or easy to use)
Marker Setup: 98 custom with custom body and paint
homemade drop foreward, female Stabilizer and 20oz CO2
Lapco 8" bigshot
Trigger job
Strengths: Extreme accuracy
Durability
Good design and good rep
Weaknesses: Almost none.
Review: I have been using this Chrono for reloading ammunition for years, and I know a lot of people in the shooting community who have one too. This product has a good reputation, it's cheap enough and accurate, durable, and folds up with the stuff inside it.
Conclusion: Everyone who plays outlawball or any kinds of paintball should have one of these, it's great to tinker with.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STRZ Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pro-chrono, Vlocity, field chronos
Marker Setup: Matrix 2002 LED w/ SLAM bolt, SCM LPR, Evil Detonator Inline reg, Centerflag 201 88/4500 tank. and 9 other guns......
Strengths: Reads out to 1 tenth of a foot per second,
metal construction,
Weaknesses: Needs full sunlight.
easily shot by an uninformed user.
Review: I prefer the pro chrono because it works in low light better (but still not indoors) and the splatter guard for it is MUCH better. If you want the extra info of the 1 tenth of a foot per second readout, and you are careful to shoot well over the unit AND play in a sunny area, you should have no problems with this unit. The problems arise when your friends tend to shoot to close to it, not realizing they can shoot a good foot over it and it would still work. I suggest making your own splatter guards from little pieces of clear plastic because the ones they sell for it are only good if you don't want to fold it up.

Be sure to cover the readout with a thick piece of clear plastic because I myself have shot out the display of my pro chrono with a sensitive electronic trigger gun....
Conclusion: A very nice well built feature laden unit that was NOT designed for paintball but will work well if you are cautious with it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shutter_guy Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the big red ones at the field
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: none
Review: It came a week before I played outlaw style paintball fort the first time ( I generally hit my local field, SC Village). I was happy I had it. Only one of the guys that I played with had ever played at a commercial field, and most of them had never even heard of a chronograph. Their velocity policy was to just crank it up as high as it could go. After taking an unusually hard hit, I asked the guy to take a shot over my chrony. It shocked me to find out he was shooting 413 FPS. He was nice enough to turn it down some (OK, he turned it down to 360, but I guess that's better than nothing). Only three guys (myself included) were playing with a velocity of less than 300 fps. Thanks to this chrony, I was able to tell just how unsafe they were, and I can say i'm never going back to play with them. I also had a chance to sweet spot my cocker. This chrono is very accurate and easy to use.
Conclusion: Get it, definately worth the money if you like to tinker with your gear or play outlaw.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 6:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CannonFodder Sunday, April 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Chronography, Other Chrony lookalike model.
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: Compact, Lightweight, Cheap, Accurate.
Weaknesses: Really need to go buy a tripod to use it effectively.
Review: Same price or cheaper then handheld yellow chronograph. Accuracy is stated greater then 99.5% . Paintball model comes with splatter guard. <- Must have!!! I would have to say this is even more accurate then the big red field chronies. My gun is way more consistent with this chrony. Why buy the same handheld unaccurate chronograph when you can have this one.
Conclusion: Great Chrony, Very pleased with my purchase. Not much more I can say about.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KossaK Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
handheld Radarchron
Marker Setup: not important ATM.
Strengths: By the looks of it, it seems pretty sturdy.
Weaknesses: none that i can think of.
Review: I've used this product once, and it works well.

more importantly, i have the website that people can go check out, as its not listed on the product info.
the page is

http://www.chrony.ca/

there are several different models. The basic model is really affordable too, and is more than 99.5% accurate. can be used for paintball, rifles, bows, shotguns... really versatile.
Conclusion: I'm not gonna give a reccomendation except to say that i was impressed with it. its the same price as the handheld radarchron, and its way more accurate.

worked great when i used it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Slaughter Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Field chronos, and hand held chronos.
Marker Setup: Sim-4, led trigger(with custom response mode), Spyder rocking trigger, Palmer stabilizer(inline), 32 degrees 0-1200psi guage, stock single composite trigger. mock silencer(custom), Low Bolt delrin bolt, Magna port valve, New designz high flow valve, Custom ported valve, BSA 4X32 hunting/sniper scope, UTG weaver mounted bi-pod, M-4 weaver rails(for hand guard), M-4 carry handle weaver rail. Guarder fore grip, laser dot sight, Trinity ak-47 expansion chamber, Trinity sypder military stock(custom fitted), and a Kingman java remote+(3) 20oz bottles.
ACP2, Tippmann A-5, Viewloader Triad.
Strengths: Extremely accurate, easy to use, compact, hassle free, low price for high quality chrono.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this chronograph in the summer to test my modifications that I installed in my markers, as well as provide a way for fellow friends to get their markers at a safe FPS for woodsball.

The shooting chrony is the most accurate chronograph for its price range, Others say it doesn't read well in low light, but using the diffusers I don't see any deviation in accuracy. This chrono graph is very simple too. You don't have to bother learning how to operate this one, just flip a switch and fire.
Conclusion: i recommend this chronograph to anyone that is interested in buying a accurate and cost effective product that provides players with a safe way to play as well as test their own markers after certain mods (such as LP converters)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media