paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact

M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount M3 Paintball Products

Buy M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Brand new for 2003 from M3 comes the newly-redesigned Dragun Compact. The M3 LCD electronic trigger frame features a Liquid Crystal Display, electronic safety, battery level indicator, multi-mode settings, game time & shot counter, and up to 20 balls per second actuation capability. Also features externally adjustable solenoid and sear. The trigger frame is powered by a 9-volt battery.
Product Availability 
The M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
chansport Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse IMP009279
-VISION Eye
-Dye Ultralite Boomstick
-Toxic Front Cap
-SP Tapeworm
-Shocktech Long Drop
-New Designs Delrin Bolt
-Planet Eclipse SS hammer
-Planet Eclipse Titanium hammer slik shaft
-OTB Vert Frame
-Smart Parts On/Off
-12v Revy w/ X-board and impeller
-68 4500 crossfire fiber wrap with WDP lok soks
Recommended
Upgrades:
foregrip/bottomline setup
Strengths: decently fast
cool clicky noise
vert feed no plastic adapter
Weaknesses: SSSOOOO loud!!!
it does not, chop (yes, this is a bad thing)
plastic trigger
Review: -this gun is so bad that it makes it good. the kick back is just disgusting however it can be used to the advantage. if you can find the sweet spot on the pull, the gun will actually become full auto... which is illegal in tourneys (even this trick).
-it does not chop. instead of chopping a paintball, a ball gets pinched between the bolt and the breech which ends up jamming the gun. the first time this happend, i thought maybe the sear had come loose and was clicking with the hammer but later observations showed that there was a ball jammed in there and this continued to happen several other times. wouldnt be a good thing if you were going up to bunker someone and all of a sudden ur gun stops shooting. i would rather chop and spray them to death. you have a better chance of having them called out if you get lucky and put a good sized mark on.
Conclusion: this is an ok gun... especially for the price. i would definately get it over a spyder even though it is made in a little bit less quality, it is also cheaper and M3 has to save money somewhere to sell so cheap. but overal better than a spyder. however some reviews that i have read say stuff like "why pay a grand for a gun when u can get the same thing for less thatn $100" this doesnt even compare. there is a reason this gun is less than $100 and others are $1000+. theres a big difference in the feel (kickback for 1) the speed and accuracy. anyone who says that obviously has not shot a high class gun.

overall this is a good marker. i have it for backup but i never HAD to use it but have. usually i just practice walking the trigger on it because it makes a cool noise wen u pull the trigger.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skanky_skunk Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tried some spyders( and dont get the xtra buy this cheaper). electric spyders compare perfectly
Marker Setup: black dragun compact (green)
pmi hopper (black) rather play paintball than buy a 12v revolution but need it badly
12oz pure energy co2 tank
stock barrel
no upgrades yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel. pretty accurate with stock. shoots only a few arching shots with zap. but hey, zap rhymes with crap(and it doesnt just rhyme).
Strengths: fast, pretty accurate, green rocks, chops about 1 in 500 CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP!!!!!
Weaknesses: freezes o-rings. maybe new barrel.
Review: k. this gun rocks hard. i stink royal i think. ive only played 4 times. i am not a wussy back player. The reason i know alot about paintball is because i have like 20 expert paintball friends. today i walked into the arena with mostly begginers and intermediates. the first round i went out on to the field the ref asked to see my gun. i said sure and handed it over. he took the hopper off and gave it to me. MEGA SWEET SPOT!!!!!!! THATS RIGHT, if you touch this trigger lightly when it has gas in it, you can do full auto. alrigghhht! the first round is center flag push. i rushed up to get the flag and the ref laughs. someone had stolen the damn flag last round and they hadnt put it back. but on the other hand, there was noone on the upper level where the flag is so i go down the enemy side. i hid behind a car right beside their base. i popped up and cranked my gun to 13 bps on semi. i killed 13 people, hehehehehhehehehe. alright so the speed is awsome, it can be full auto(i keep playing with it), it costs like 85 or 90 bucks, and the loudness is intimidating. put your gun upside down and shoot gas to scare rushers away if their about to bunker you. i'm going to add a bottomline adapter and a handle, a 14 inch dye xcel barrel, and a 12v volt revolution. tose ugrades will make your gun so much better than an A-5. the A-5 is $240, this gun with the upgrades is like $250. this is accurate fast, tippmans look really bad, and this thing doesnt need a flatline, a sight, an rt system, and lots of installation to work it properly. as for buying a spyder electra intsead. noone lets you use full auto or burst, and spyders tend to break down.
Conclusion: BUY this gun if you are a begginer or intermediate. 12 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BD-freak Thursday, November 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Only Tested: Bob Long Intimidator, Angel IR3, Impulse Vision, Shocker, Autococker
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Compact Blue
-Twisted Volumizer
-32 Degrees 6 stage Xpansion
-12oz C02
-customized drop forward
-12v Xboard revy
coming soon:
-12" Smart Parts Progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel (this gun is loud!) N2 if you are spending too much on this gun, an electronic hopper that can keep up
Strengths: technically speaking IT'S FAST! The trigger is very sensitive so if you have an itchy finger be very careful... i love this gun (though it's my first) thanks to M3, a newbie like me can own an electro-marker for $90, with a few tweeks & your ready to go straight out of the box! Stripped easy as 1-2-3 & highly upgradable with spyder parts. less ball-breaks unlike automags, to top it all, it's a good gun!
Weaknesses: very noisy! but it doesnt matter when your in the field, the trigger wiggles like a door bell but i fixed it with a small spring & it was easy. The stock barrel is awfull so get a better one. i also noticed that when your shooting like 5-10 bps, it won't re-cock, the bolt stuck in a position like its ready to shoot but you gonna have to pull it again & i don't know why ... hard to find any dropforward for this gun, you may have to buy adapter plate or customized your own. Also get a beavertail to protect your face becoz of the bolt blow-back system.
Conclusion: Great Gun! If you are a beginner, i recommend this one. This gun can hold its ground with other electro-marker. Very Nice! It kicks ass!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

denraytay Wednesday, October 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Defender, Tippmann model 98 custom, Tornado.
Marker Setup: Black dragun compact, ricochet ak, smart parts all american, xcore 8 stage xpansion chamber, palmer inline regulator, custom made drop forward out of steel tech, 68ci 3000psi crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
agitated hopper, regulator barrel, nitro tank.
Strengths: The Rate of fire. Accurate with a new barrel. Light weight. Compact the distance between the trigger frame and the va. Trigger pull and length. Easy clean and easy to use.
Weaknesses: If you don't have some type of xchamber or regulator in the va it is difficult to get a tank to seal. Have to buy an adapter for and asa or use a drill.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun for any style or experience player. This gun is extremely fast firing. If you want a great gun that shoots fast get this gun. It is the best gun I have ever used. You can use co2 on this gun but compressed air works a lot better because sometimes with co2 the gun will come uncoked but compressed air fixes that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robb235 Saturday, October 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel Bottom Line (my very first gun)
Black Dragun
ANS GX-3 Autococker
Marker Setup: ANS GX-3 Autococker
Nitro
Ricochet 2k
WGP 2 piece barrel (thing looks just like a boomstick)
CMI Tactical Drop Foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator, if you can't get that, get an expansion chamber
Bottom Line kit or drop foward
Agitating Hopper
Strengths: Electronic. This thing can really let the paint fly. The trigger pull on this thing is very short! When I still had my first gun (the Rebel bottomline) I was at my friend's house where he had a Black Dragun Basic. I had never touched an electro gun at the time so when he handed me his gun, I touched the trigger and accidently shot his 4-wheeler.

Spyder clone. This thing is so easy to break down and clean. Most of the time if anything goes wrong with the gun, it can be traced to a bad o-ring.
Weaknesses: My trigger woobled left-right and foward. I fixed it by cutting off a small piece of a spring from a pen and put it on the trigger and super-glued it. Not major

Another problem is the holes under the trigger frame don't line up with any drop foward that I know of. I ordered Check-It's adapter plate. Problem was that the holes on the plate were too small. The screws that came with the plate fit perfectly through perfectly on it, but where way too small for the trigger frame. I tried to contact the Check-It, but they refused to answer my e-mails. I know they respond to e-mails when they want to because i've e-mailed them with question on other products and have gotten prompt replies. I ended up drilling ot the holes on the plate to make them bigger so bigger screws could go through.
Conclusion: My black dragun was the 2nd gun I have ever owned. I loved it while I had it. But I sold it so I could buy and autococker.

And what was the guy below me thinking??? Not for beginners??? this gun is perfect for beginners all the way up to intermediate. Start out with a pump gun??? yeah right! whats this guy thinking? this gun is so easy to start out with, so easy to clean and learn the basics of paintball.

If you looking for a good gun to start out playing paintball with, go with one of these.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mfan84 Saturday, October 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Blue Black Dragun Compact with 14 All American, KAPP Gas Thruogh for grip, spyder low pressure chamber, macroline and 12volt revvy. 32* CA Adapter 20 oz with on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a barrel, the stock sucks pretty bad. Definitely get a revvy.
Strengths: This is highly upgradeable gun. You can get almost everything changed. Trust me you won't see too many of them that are the same do to the abundance of options. The trigger is great, you can lay down paint like no tomorrow. The gun is really light compared to others i've used. It does pretty good on gas. I don't really have a prob running out but i also have a friend who brings his refillable cylinder to where we play every day. I usually only have to refill once a day
Weaknesses: The thing i don't like about this gun is that after every 1500 to 2000 shots or so the gun doesn't like to recock and i am yet to figure out why. When it does i just bring to my shop.Another is that you need an adapter to but on a bottomline adapter.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a fairly new player. Don't make it your first gun though. You should always go with a pump for you first gun to tune your skills. Then when you feel you are ready you can go to this marker. Don't go cheap on your upgrades, that is what can make or break this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cobra2002 Thursday, September 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, Impulses Angels, black dragun lcd, Spyder Shutter, Spider e-99,
Marker Setup: Black Dragun Compact w/ sweet spot trigger halo B, warp feed elbow
freak barrel, x-core expansion chamber, flames drop forward, beaver tail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
sweet spot trigger and a new barrel, revvy.
Strengths: - with some upgrades you can out shoot impulses (well maybe more then some upgrades). :)
-very little trigger pull.
-one of the best guns i've ever used.
-I took this gun over a cheap cocker.
-very cheap
-I recommend this gun if you are a sweet spotter.
-verticle feed for optimum paint ball feed.

Weaknesses: -stock barrel sorta in accurate.
-verticle C02 tank.
and thats about it. Theres surprisingly nothing else wrong with this gun
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for any level player. i wish i could give this gun over 10. If u have 80$ buy this gun NOW!! Do u want to kick all your friends buts get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wulf1010 Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
all models of draguns, electro spyders and piranha, cocker and angel
Marker Setup: I have a black dragun compact that i added an expansion chamber 2. i also have 3 other draguns all work perfectly
Recommended
Upgrades:
YOU NEED AN ELECTRO HOPPER. if you are using a compact you either need to file down the little button that contacts the tank plunger or layer on the teflon tape. a new barrel and if you have time build a little upside down beaver tail to keep the bolt out of your face. a quick pull take down pin i think youll need to make this 2
Strengths: Ok this gun is very cheap it has an awsome trigger even if the frame is plastic and now the newer ones have an aluminum frame, you can fire this marker so fast that ive been asked if i was using auto. also the acuracy aint awsome even with an upgrade barrel but it aint bad either better the either the spyder e99 or aggressor ive used. its easy to clean ive totaly dissasembled this gun on the field and had it back together befor the other team knew i was down.
Weaknesses: Very expensive to feed youll go through paint and air like its water :). the compact is a gun that needs to be tweeked to work the way i should, you need to file the button in the vertical bottle adapter that presses the tank plunger or layer your tank with tefflon tape to keep it from leaking. it needs a beaver tail or somthing that passes for one i made mine took me 5mins. oh and for those who have a heavy trigger finger this gun will double tap when fired or it can fire if bumped so becarful especial comming off the field!!!!!!
Conclusion: for the price this is the gun to own as i said above to make it work the way i want i had to do alot of stuff 2 it but the only other guns that i would rank in it and other draguns range for reliability and value are the cockers ive used. draguns get higher marks from me then my tippy lol :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roc-pile Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and Pirahnas with E.T.F's
Marker Setup: Blue Black Dragun Compact, 14" CP, PTP Expansion Chamber, Ric AK(next week)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Expansion chamber, hopper that can keep up
Strengths: I paid $160 for this (Canadian) because a downgrade was neccesary to afford college. Its a pretty good deal. Once you get going, this thing will rip. Takes Spyder threaded barrels so you have a wide variety to choose from.
Weaknesses: It will double fire unless you adjust the sear height properly, once that is done, your gravy. The stock grips are awful, and there are no aftermarket stickies(yet). I have to sand all my hoppers to fit the feed neck, they dont fit on my other guns, but you can buy an adapter that will accept Angel feed necks.
Conclusion: For the price, there is nothing you can get that is better. The trigger is very good and you will have alot of fun wiping people out who criticize you for having a blowback with an ETF. I'll give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie06 Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-99 and other semi's
Marker Setup: black dragun compact
java 6 stae ex chamber
ajustable drop forward
14 inch cp barrel
12 volt revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
a exchamber/reg
drop forward
revvy
Strengths: cheap reliable very very very fast u can get these guns for aroun 80- 100 dollers and with 100 more in upgrades it is a great gun
Weaknesses: trigger is plastic does not come stockwith bottomline or anythingbuto compacts do at least not for 80 bucks itsa lil loud stock b
Conclusion: i think this gun is an exxelent begginer/ intermeadiate gun it is very fast on the trigger 10+ bps ive put a litlle more tha 100 in upgrades to this gun and it shoots great its loud at first but with my cp barrel and ex cham its very quit now
ver good gun for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media