paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact

M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount M3 Paintball Products

Buy M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Brand new for 2003 from M3 comes the newly-redesigned Dragun Compact. The M3 LCD electronic trigger frame features a Liquid Crystal Display, electronic safety, battery level indicator, multi-mode settings, game time & shot counter, and up to 20 balls per second actuation capability. Also features externally adjustable solenoid and sear. The trigger frame is powered by a 9-volt battery.
Product Availability 
The M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Compact is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
tryingtosurvive Friday, May 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact 2000, shutter, several brass eagles, and a piranha here and there
Marker Setup: I have a gas through with a drop forward on this puppy and a warpig 16" barrel( its a piece of crap don't get it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Go for a drop forward or a bottomline, an expansion chamber or if you're cheap like me get a gas through. A better barrel helps when you're playing woodsball like I do and you need the range.
Strengths: This marker is very very fast. I can easily outshoot my friends with autocockers and such. Though the thing is an entry level blowback other then that so don't expect too much. For 100 dollars this gun is quite frankly amazing.
Weaknesses: Spyder bottomlines don't fit it. With my barrel it has a tendancy to break a few more balls then I consider healthy. Its the noisiest gun on the planet. balls get stuck between the body and the chamber
Conclusion: If you don't have a lot of cash to spend by this gun and use it. Don't fall into the trap of draining all your money into a marker like this though. Before too long if you're serious you will want to get a better gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Streaks Tuesday, May 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sport, Spyder Shutter, '01 Autococker, Mags, Tippies, Timmies, lots of others (sense '85.....uhg, I'm old)
Marker Setup: This was a stock marker, off the store shelf. The owner didn't believe me when I told him you could get a semiauto electro for $85. I gave him the URL and a week later these bad boys were on the shelf. So, we powered one up to see what she shot like.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Seeing as I didn't have a chance to put paint through it. It's hard to say. But, personally, I like low pressure opperation so, I'd say...

Vertical reg
AKALMP.com Mighty Max high flow vertical ASA
Tornado valve
Lightning bolt
12v hopper or above (i.e. Halo)

but this is all if you want LP opperation. I'm sure you could just get by with a new Lapco barrel and a 12v hopper and a drop forward or bottom line with an expansion chamber or reg.
Strengths: Light, crisp trigger. It "clicks" very much like a mouse. The trigger doesn't feel squishy at all. You can get it to go cyclic with ease and it will rattle off about 12-13 balls/second no fuss no muss. We were using it with a 16oz tank, screwed right into the vertical ASA and I must have ripped off almost a thousand shots with no freeze up at all, it hardly even got cool. Only when I started holding the muzzle down at an angle did I even see some gas vapor escaping.

It's a Spyder clone so all the nifty Spyder stuffs will work on this marker. This is a strong selling point.
Weaknesses: *ponders*

hmmm

uh

well maybe that you _do_ have to add more parts to it to get it up and functioning. If you don't just have some big parts bin to throw at the marker, you'll need more and that makes it more expensive than the selling price.

Other than that, I honestly can't find a problem with this marker as yet. But also bear in mind that I only tested it and have yet to actually fire any balls through one. But I hope to change that soon ; )
Conclusion: I'd like to own one of these! It's a great product at a great price. Hell even if you have to throw parts at it, it's STILL a good price!

Marker = $85
Barrel = $50
Vertical reg = $55 (Bob Long Torpedo also at countypaintball)
CMI Drop Forward = $40
12v hopper = say, $60

So about $290 for everything. Tho I did forget a tank but we'll assume you have one of them laying around ; ) But, for most other electronic markers, that'll just get you the marker, nothing else!

Not bad IMO. If Spyder doesn't answer this challange, they're stupid. I'm waiting to see what they come out with before I buy. Let the low end electro battles begin!!!!! ; )
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
EM1, Excal, Piranha Storm.
Marker Setup: Black Dragun Compact with Dye Alluminum, Pure Energy remote, Pure Energy 12oz, PMI 4+ 1, ACI expanshion chamber, sight rail, low pressure chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You will have to get a revy, barrel (Dye Excel is my recommendation), expanshion chamber/ reg with the adapter, a low pressure chamber, and a sight rail with a beaver tail would be nice.
Strengths: Almost everything. Well I gues almost nothing (depends on how you look at it). But the thing that makes the gun so great is the trigger. It is soo easy to find the sweet spot. Guns like these normaly cost $400. I can out shoot me friends EM1with this gun.
Weaknesses: Like I said it could go either way so I will list all the things that someone could complain about. The main thing is is that they put the holes in the trigger to far apart so you have to buy an adapter. The color of the black one doesnt match the color of a black barrel. The barrel on it sucks. The trigger goes to far past the button. And the trigger frame is plastic.
Conclusion: This is the best gun that i have ever had and almost ever shot. the only gun that shot better than this was an excal. I bought mine for $93 and thats including shipping and handling. This is the best gun you can get for the price. It is unbeliveable and i reccomend this to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Friend's spyder with Booyaah
Marker Setup: Stock internals, Borrowed Armson Barrel (left mine at home), 20oz tank with on off valve, 200 rd hopper, after first 5 min changed to 12v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward, regulator, new barrel, ELECTRIC LOADER!!
Strengths: THE TRIGGER PULL. it's so light that if you hold it in the right spot the kick from the bolt will self pull the trigger and it will go fully auto!!! Cheap Cheap Cheap. that is the whole reason i bought it... it being a good marker i found out later and was thankfull.
Weaknesses: flaw in bolt that lets the ball sit WAY to far back in the chamber and lets the next ball load partially in. this causes a lot of ball pintching but thankfully not many breaks...yet. the gun itself is not my style and it will never be my style. i play with a SmartMag that is upgraded so much it has 2 stock parts and many custom made ones. YOU CANT USE STANDERD THREADED DROPS!!!!!
Conclusion: Great back up gun and a gun that i will let people other than myself play with. so far it has passed many of my tests but not all of them (im a mag guy) this is one gun i will not sell to soon
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Black Dragon Basic
Marker Setup: Black Dragun Compact w/Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, 12 volt Revy, expansion chamber (or regulator if you can afford one), bottomline & drop forward
Strengths: It's electronic, it's spyder compatible, and it's only a hundred bucks. Probably the best bang for the buck in the paintball industry. Great for beginners, or as a backup gun. I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants a decent affordable electric marker. It's basically an electronic spyder compact with a killer price tag.
Weaknesses: Really the only bad thing about this gun is the plastic trigger frame. The barrel isn't as bad as everyone makes it out to be, just make sure your using a 12 volt revy and you should be fine.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. For the price you can't go wrong. Similar performace to Kingman's electronic spyders.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

devildog4 Wednesday, April 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bruizer with storm frame, any spyder and the original black dragun
Marker Setup: black dragun compact with freak barrel 45 4500 nitro, air america black ice reg, system x drop forward with on/off, 12v rev with x board, checkit products stick trigger, custom bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately a 12v loader nothing less, and a new barrel
Strengths: the good...$83, do I need to say more? No but I will. What else are you going to buy for that price? And is it electronic? NO. Spyder compatible, easy to clean and maintain, light and the trigger is insane.
Weaknesses: Plastic grip pannels, the drop bottem line holes are not standard and if you want to add a drop forward you must modify it or buy an adaptor plate. Stock barrel is pretty bad but arne't all stock barrels. This gun needs a motorized hopper to work. Nothing less then a 12v rev or your going to have problems chopping paint the gun is just that fast. The trigger is real touchy the hardest thing is getting to shoot just one ball, but I guess that could be good too.
Conclusion: if you can affort to put another $100 into the gun and get a nice barrel a vertical grip and a 12v rev. All items you would put on a high end gun, then go for it. This gun rips. If you can't affor upgrades then buy a model 98 won't shoot as fast so you don't need the 12v rev. Nothing is perfect but I will give the compact a 9. It is basically a spyder with an electronic fram at an incredible price!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, motorized loader, new vertical adaptor
Strengths: The least expensive electro on the market (M.S.R.P. $100). You are basically getting a Spyder Compact 2000 ($100) with an electronic trigger frame ($140) So this is an AWESOME deal. I made my friend get one because it was such a good deal. They have real nice triggers, high ROF. Has field strip, rear cocking, and thumb velocity. Easy to break down if you have a knowledge of stacked-tube markers. Lightweight and easy to meneuver with one hand. I like the vertical ASA because it makes the gun more compact (hence the name). The grip frame is bigger that usual, and I like that. Since it is Spyder based, it can be heavily upgraded. And you can make it low pressure, too. Vertical gravity feed has a high feed rate.
Weaknesses: When you shoot fast, the gun will not recock sometimes. This problen can be solved if you upgrade to a compressed air system. And I can honestly say that it has the worst stock barrel that I have ever used. It simply cannot stop chopping paint. That stopped when I upgraded to a better barrel. The vertical feed gets in your line of sight. And unlike other speedball players, I like to aim. I don't think that the gun is made of plastic, but it has sort of a plastic feel. That probably causes the light weight. So it's ok. Without a motorized hopper, this gun chops paint alot.And the main problem is; the tab in the vertical adaptor is alittle too big, so it hits the tank before you screw the tank in all the way. So the air will literally SHOOT out of the vertical adaptor. You have to get the tank at just the right point to get the air to stopp leaking like that. Sometimes if you nidge the tank during the game, the tank will come off of it's good position and the air will start to leak again. That happened to my friend in the middle of the game. This problem only happens when the tank is full. When it is about half full, that doesn't happen. And the rear cocking is kind of dangerous without a beavertail. Although I have never done it, the bolt can cock back and hit your mask. If you get a beavertail, problem solved. The trigger is very sensitive. My friend was loading the gun, and accidentally shot my couch.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price. If you don't buy it, you're ripping yourself off. It's such a GOOD deal. I am going to give it a 8 out of 10 because most of the problems can be fixed. Would fair pretty well in a tournament.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus, Spyder Shutter, Rebel w/ Bottomline
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus, 14 inch J & J Ceramic Barrel, 14 oz tank, 16 oz tank, soon to come Palmer Stabilizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Regulator, New Bolt , Revvy
Strengths: Very fast firing
Look is ok
Trigger pull is very very short
Easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: No foregrip or bottomline
Barrel is kinda bad
Needs some upgrades in order to shoot very very fast for the trigger w/ out chopping.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a pretty decent gun for the price. The trigger pull is unbelievably short which means you can fast fire... just get a Revvy. The stock barrel kinda sucks and I would reccomend a regulator, but if not, then an expansion chamber. I guess you could get a new bolt after awhile, but I don't have this gun ( my friend does) and it works well, so I would reccomend it for the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NC demolition Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder E-99, esprit, imagine, icon E
Marker Setup: BD compact
14" J&J ceramic
Halo TSA (soon to be halo B)
Black magic Regulator
CiP sweetspot
PB bullet drop forward
crossfire 47/3k
APM products tigershark bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel. J&J ceramic, boomy, or a kit
bolt. apm products tigershark bolt
trigger. sweetspot or zenitram trigger.
Electro loader. you must have an egg 2 with Y-board at the least.
Strengths: 16+ bps
Trigger speed
Light
Fast
Durable, even with plastic frame.
Weaknesses: stock barrel
no gas-thru, reg or BL
noise
stock bolt is rather sharp
Review: first, this is a great gun. for what it goes for now if you can find them $($80 two years ago) you'd be stupid to pass it up. its full spyder compatible, so you can trick this thing to your hearts content. with my current ups, i break/chop 1 ball every 2+ cases. its extremely fast, and my stock unmodified switch was only 6 pennies to trip. about 22-25 grams. its easy to upgrade, and can match and outdo markers costing 4-5 times its price.just with a new bolt/barrel it is better than a stock impulse. it does have a venturi, but you can replace the bolt or take that out. its useless. right now with my stock valve and VA, i run sub 400 psi, with no shootdown at 229 psi, with field max being 250 because its indoors. with no effort you can drop a full pod in 10 seconds(14 bps). with some, you can break 16 bps.

bottom line, get it. you won't be dissapointed.
Conclusion: Buy it. It's the best gun around for under 100 bucks and can compete with only the mildest of ups. This gun gets a 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 10th, 2004 at 11:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

double_d202 Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel Vertical, Shocker Turbo and Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Black Dragun Compact
Rebel Xtreme bottomline and expasion chamber items
Rebel Xtreme Volumizer
16" Nyte Stick
Recommended
Upgrades:
In order
32* Spyder Spring kit
New barrel
Revvy Hopper
Bottomline and expansion chamber
Volumizer
Strengths: High ROF
Cheap
Easy to Upgrade
Weaknesses: Sometimes burps
Might not allways fully recock
Stock barrel is useless
Review: This was the first marker i bought and I am happy on what I can do with it. The quick rate of fire is fast enough not to be left behind, but not fast enough to waste a full hopper of paint in seconds. The trigger of this baby is so loose in the frame when you point the marker upwards the trigger rests right on the button, which leads to the easy trigger pull (mouse-click). You can do almost anything you would want to do with this gun by using Spyder upgrades. To fix the problems of burping and not fully recocking you need the spring set to change the valve spring (weaker one).
Conclusion: Compared to other markers in the Black Draguns Price Range this marker is as close to the best you can get. To rate it i judged it to the markers around it not the super high end ones you can get.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media