paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger / Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger / Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger / Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger / Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger

Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 118
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Give your Tippmann A5 the power of the RT Kit. Just like the Model 98 RT Kit, this kit will give your gun a full auto effect. Once installed, you will be able to adjust the rate of fire that your A5 can output. Your trigger will have a ''sweet spot'' in the middle of its pull.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Response Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Reddfox Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month147 of 153 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Electronic trigger on '03 Mongoose
Electronic trigger on '04 Mongoose
Tippmann 98 Custom E-grip trigger system (or whatever name it goes by)
Marker Setup: (Tactical) Tippy A5 with:
Flatline barrel
Response Trigger
32 Degrees expansion chamber
remote line w/ line check
24oz CO2 canister on modified 32 Degrees harness
DOP power chamber & front bolt
Folding stock w/RVA

(Speedball) '03 Mongoose with:
Stock E-trigger
32 Degrees expansion chamber
32 Degrees Whisper barrel
Empire sound activated hopper
Strengths: Higher rate of fire
Perfect timing for the marker
Superb control
Weaknesses: Does it have any? Maybe if you don't know how to turn a screwdriver.....
Review: To be fair, I'll get my only concern out of the way first. The RT is an add-on gas line that connects to a piston set just behind the trigger. The exterior gas line really looks like it's just asking to get ripped off the side of the marker when you're running for cover and through brush. That said, it's yet to happen to me in several full days worth of dense forest play.... probably because I remain aware of it and keep my A5 in close when I'm moving. Plus, for those of you who may have seen the RT setup and are wondering: It's not as easy as it looks to pull the gas lines off of their housings. I also picked up some aftermarket replacement hose for it, and it's pretty tough stuff.

One more thing to get oot the way: WHINERS. What??? This is hard to set right? Only if you've never even shot a Daisy BB gun in your life. Being raised in a world of high quality shotguns, pistols, and the occasional AR-15, I'm used to constant and predictable trigger pulls. THE RESPONSE TRIGGER DELIVERS. With a sensitive trigger finger and 100 balls of paint, you can properly calibrate the RT and let it take you to paintball bliss (and your opponents to paintball heaven :-)

As for Rates Of Fire, I believe that the A5 is perfectly comfortable pumping out 15 bps. The RT setup lets you utilize that ability far better than even a double trigger setup, as most people can't crank out more than 9 or 10, especially since the A5 has a sear trigger. (I only average 8 or so when using the 'Goose with it's double E-trigger while I'm "fanning" my middle finger with a curved wrist and straight hand.) Even for those superhuman speed-demons who can reach the elusive double digit BPS by hand, the RT simply saves fatigue in those really hairy melees and lets you worry about what matters... tactics. One more thing about the ROF for the Response: I've found it fully adjustable and comfortable to crank out anywhere from 13 bps down to 4 bps leaving of course, the ability to shoot purely semi-auto if you wish.

How does the RT stand up to the E-Grips? Pretty well. I like the fact that the RT is tied directly to the timing of the marker, creating a perfectly functioning machine that works in unison to dump tons of paint on the opposition. E-triggers by their nature "tell" the marker what to do instead of working with the natural timing created when the bolt vents excess gas after firing. This is mostly only a problem if the E-trigger is trying to work at a ROF above what the marker is able to provide, or if there's a malfuntion in the operation of the bolt assembly. In a good marker, it's rare at worst. However, that still creates one more variable that I personally don't want to worry about, as I have heard of E-triggers running slightly amok. .....then there's the issue of batteries. Oh wait. There ain't no "battery issues" here. Being gas operated, the RT lets A5 users have a VERY fast marker with no batteries in any place on the marker to worry about.

Another thing that bears stating: Gas consumption. With the addition of the RT to my A5, there was only a negligable drop in the number of shots I was able to get out of a tank. To put it into perspective, there are some barrels that will cost you much more gas than that! (Flatline, anyone?) My answer? A 24oz cylinder strapped to my harness. Why? Because it's an A5, already a certifiable gas hog..... but we love 'em anyway
Conclusion: 1) Read responsible reviews for all viable products to help you decide what's MORE right for you: Stock, RT or E-grip
2) If you like precision timed machines that are dependable and don't need batteries, GET A RESPONSE TRIGGER. Save your batteries for other toys.
3) If anyone reading this has the ear of Tippmann, ask them to outfit the next gen of RT gas lines with armored covers that can mount to the side of the marker casing. That's the ONLY reason I'm not rating this a 10. That said, I'll have to give it a very high....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

pm6825 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel for back play
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel for forward play
Response Trigger
PMI Remote
Sniper FX Stock
Strengths: Very high ROF
Smooth trigger action
Barely any kick
Easy install
Weaknesses: Difficult to find the sweet spot
Blow through balls (expected)
Blow through air (expected)
Review: My stock A-5 was looking kinda boring since the field I was going to rented A5s out, so I wanted some advantages. I ran down to my local paintball shop and bought the response trigger for $65 on sale. The installation was a breeze, but since this was my first time installing anything on the A5 and I never field stripped it before, it took me over an hour because I really took my time (and watched TV while I did it). The average person could install this thing in under 45 min, and after doing it once, I bet I could do it in under 15 min. Instructions are very straightforward.

Basically the R/T is a small piston in the grip that uses your C02 to bounce the trigger back into the firing position after you shoot. It is difficult to find the proper setting for the highest ROF since you adjust it with a small screwdriver like you adjust your velocity. Some trial and error will get you set up in no time. If you have it set right, the R/T will never stop firing fully auto in the heat of a game. Some people have complained about this, but they just didnt have it set properly. Expect to fire 10-15 balls per second.

The recoil and the trigger-play feels very similar to an actual MP5. I wish I could compare it to an MP5K PDW (b/c the A5 looks so similar to it) but I've only fired the MP5A4. Very little recoil and deadly accurate when mated to the flatline barrel. Quick 4 or 5 round bursts have always landed within an inch of the first ball fired, so it is very consistent.

I did have the chance to compare the R/T with the E-Grip. My friend has the E-Grips installed on his A5 and I wanted to try it out before I bought the R/T. The E-Grips features are definitely cooler. And if you're a speedballer (why do u own an A5 for speedball? :P ) the E-Grip may be a better choice for you b/c of its turbo setting. But I'm more of a woodsball milsim player. I don't like batteries in my gun and I've heard lots of rumors about the E-Grip blowing bolts apart. The R/T is such a simple design, that it seems just as reliable as the A5 itself. ROF was pretty equal between the E-Grip and the R/T, but I'm yet to compare them side by side. The E-Grip made the trigger feel superlight, and kinda dinky. It didnt feel like MP5 at all. Felt more like a nerf gun or something (don't know what else to compare it to).
Conclusion: This is the best upgrade to add to A5 alongside the Flatline barrel. If you're thinking about it buying it, trust me.....it will put a smile on ur face and it will scare the bejeeezus out of noobs at the field.

I give it a 10 of 10 for its quality, reliable, performance, and ease of installation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

jaskel1469 Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None yet
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, RT, DOP Vertical Adapter, 32 Degrees Whisper Barrel, Remote Line, 230 rnd Hopper,

Upgrades on the way, MP-5 Sliding Rear Stock, Low profile cyclone cover.
Strengths: Rate of Fire BPS!!BPS!!
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Review: When I got my marker the RT was already installed, so I have no basis of comparison to the stock trigger, but I will use my old Spyder in a slight comparison.

The RT is a great upgrade, though if you play in tourneys they probably wont let you use the thing. All I can say about it is it is extremely comfortable just feeling that piston slap that trigger back up to meet your finger, waiting to be fired again, and the BPS is so nice, when you find that sweet spot, this thing ROCKS. Cannot say how much I love this trigger setup vs what the spyder had on it, and I can only imagine what the stock trigger feels like in comparison, but I am sure the RT blows it out of the water. Only thing on a downside, though it is supposed to use the blow back gas, it may also help in eating down that CO2 that I still use, but I can deal with it just fine.
Conclusion: Great Product, does wonders for the marker

10 of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

QuietRiot27 Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested20 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 rt
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Barrel Adapter, Spyder 32 Degrees Precision Barrel, 32 Degrees Gel Grip(Are you gellin' yet?),and the response trigger.
Strengths: Fast ROF. Won't chop balls cause of the A-5's cyclone feed system.
Weaknesses: None, if you use co2 and don't mind to miss a few times.
Review: Great product, made me fall in love with the A-5 to start with. If they don't allow the response triggers at your field or in a tourny, then turn it off ! I am proud to give this fine Tippmann product a 10 out of 10. Keep it up!
Conclusion: Get it if you have the A-5, it's worth it !
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 5th, 2003 at 7:58 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

~XF~ Dukester Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months20 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: The Tippmann A-5 with a Smarts Parts All American barrel and a Flatline barrel for the scenario games when you just need to reach out and touch someone. I have also place an E-trigger on which really makes the gun ROCK
Strengths: You can occationally get a 3 round burst
Weaknesses: It just doesn't work well with compressed air
Review: I received my A-5 with the RT. I spent months on trying to get the RT to shoot rapid. I spoke with Tippmann, other players and air smiths but I just couldn't get it to work well. I'm on a team and we had 5 with the RT's and none of us could get it to work. I had shot one before I bought the A-5 and it worked great. I finally learned that the RT does not like compressed air. I'm told by people who use CO2 that the RT really rocks but when they switched to Nitro it wouldn't work. The one I shot before I bought mine was also on CO2.
Conclusion: If your shooting compressed air get the stock gun and buy an E-trigger. If your on CO2 I have shot the RT and they really work well. I have to rate the RT a 5 only because it works with about 50% of what is out there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

6MilitaryRedFox Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other products are like the Response!!!
I have used 98 Custom, Pro-Carbine and an A-5 all w/out the Response Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ double trig and Response
Looking to replace stock barrel. Suggestions?
Strengths: Increases ROF tremendously
Weaknesses: price
$100 for a simple C02 cylinder

the exterior hose line on the A-5
Review: I bought the Repsonse with my gun, so I cant say whether or not installing the Response is easy and I reccomend purchasing the Response on the gun because its saves money.
This upgrade is a MUST for Tippmann owners. I personally perfer to get in close and bunker people rather than spray paint in an effort to "cover fire" therefore I rarely require a high rate of fire. I have the response trigger "just in case". Im telling you, its good thing too because there are times when I have to engage multiple opponents. It blows them away. The amount of paint the Response pumps out is insane. I was surprised how fast I was shooting during my first game with the A-5 Response. It wasnt like I had to worry about chopping at such a high rate since I believe that the marriage of the Cyclone Feed and Response Trigger is perfect. Plus, after shooting at high speeds all game, i noticed no fatigue. Its cool because it feels like the only motion your fingers are doing is pulling backwards, the cylinder pops the trigger right back under them, saving you having to release.
Conclusion: This is an excellent firepower upgrade. No finger fatigue. When playing oppenents with Tippmanns that dont have the Response, they cant compete with the ROF.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 17th, 2004 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (stock) & with a double trigger

WGP Autococker Karnivor & 03 Vertical Feed
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
R/T (response trigger)
Flatline barrel,
GTA Double Trigger
Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Strengths: Can fire 10 -15 BPS with no batteries, no E hoppers
Weaknesses: A little hard to 'tune' the sweet spot...but when you find it...WOW

Review: Because the markergun has the ability to fire 13-15 BPS without the use of neither batteries nor E hoppers (elctronic thus requiring more batteries and a little added noise of the E hoppers' little fingersagitators spinning inside the hopper).

The ability to achieve similar ROF (rates of fire) as E MarkersGuns without the unforseen & unknown situations when the E boards in the E grip start to mysteriously malfunction. The R/T trigger system is run off excess gas from the firing and it works in rhytm with the flow of the firing sequence instead off the E grip dictating what should be done (the elctronics can recover quicker after the shot than the physical internal parts... thus being ready before the internals and tellingforcing the marker to fire during the recoil...it's a fine line between rapid fire & rapid destruction)

Once you tune it to that sweet spot the gun becomes an automatic (temporarily) until the trigger is released or pulled past the sweet spot. With A double (two finger) trigger this "sweet spot" almost finds you...make it easy to pump out multiple shots.

The sweet spot is inline with your natural trigger pull...just a hair or two past the resting or ready trigger position. But it's a hard to find the sweet spot during the heat of battle.

The excess gas connection tubing that runs from the flow connector boltbanjo fitting is kind of dinky...would be nice to cover with some sort of factoryaftermarket upgrade kit to protect the piece of about 4-5 inch 1/8 inch diameter tubing from getting torn off with a paintball shot or brushtreesbushesairbag seams...ect.
Conclusion: The R/T provides:
13-15 BPS (or about 800 shots per minute)
Rapid fire (no batteries of any kind needed for this set-up)
Rhythmic ROF working with the firing sequence
Solid construction...all on a relatively compact, well balanced marker.

This is a well thought out design that no other company offer this kind of upgrade..you just cannot fire 13-15 BPS with a high price quality marker with a double triggernitro set-up that does require batteries for the E hopper.

The A-5 is almost a "poor mans" AUTOMAG, ANGEL, BOB LONG, AUTOCOCKER or any other high 3-4 figure price tags.

If you can afford it...there's a good chance you'll be satisfied with the overall performanceprice ratio

It works!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 4th, 2004 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GRIM13 Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32* LCD grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 / RT / Flatline
Strengths: ROF is great. not too expensive. semi, burst, full auto
Weaknesses: sort of hard to set at first, tricky to get it to respond, (practice)
Review: I sold my Spyder TL + with the 32* LCD on it last week. The LCD gave me the ROF i was looking for, but after a few different barrels, and upgrades, i still could not get the range or accuracy i wanted out of that gun, so i sold it and began looking for a gun that met a few specifications 1: something that looks different 2: something that shoots far. 3: accurate. 4: fast. So i orderd the A-5 /RT /flatline. and took it to my local field yesterday with a group of friends. This gun meets all of my expectations. The RT is great.
( i bought it on the notion that i would get my wife to get me the E grip conversion
for X-mas), but after its performance yesterday, the E-grip is nothing more than a memory. This thing is cool, you gotta get one. It does everything that my 32* LCD did, even better there are no buttons or batteries, just a valve that you can turn with you finger nail. Also the 32* LCD did not function once it got the slightest bit of moisture in it. That wont be a problem with this trigger. The flatline barrel is also great. On my TL+ i had a 32* 16" 2 pc precision barrell that improved the accuracy, but it can not touch the distance of the flatline. The only other guy out there that could shoot as far and accurately as me was my co-worker, he has a custom 98 with flatline. ( i shot him on his thumb from about 60-70 feet thru a 2" tall x 3" wide hole in his bunker he says by luck. but i was actually aiming thru the sight and only fired one shot so u be the judge) The myth that the RT eats up your co2 is false, it uses excess (extra) co2 that was used to shoot that shot.

CONS: The A-5 itself is a Co2 hog. The flatline does slow your velocity by about 30 fps. The cyclone hopper does not feed when you have about 70 shots worth of co2 left. When aiming through the site, the side hopper blocks your whole right side view. Im getting a remote, this gun is too heavy to hold up and wait for that one shot one kill sniper.(also the tank gets in the way when you are trying to aim thru the sights)
Conclusion: This set up is everything that i wanted in a new gun i highly recommend it to any rec player that likes to stay back and snipe, and with the ROF from the RT, it can also get you out of a jam. Get one, my co-worker is. My overall rating for the RT is an 8 because of the exposed unprotected hose, but performance is a 9.5 My gun setup i give a 9 due to the cons i stated above.(mostly the hopper in the way)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

snipe u now!!! Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT and the 14" progressive.
Also, a Tippmann model 98 (no custom) with a flatline.
I use a 4+1, remote, and a 20 and 9 oz. co2 for both guns.
Strengths: VERY FAST, and no crappy batterys to worry about, or getting it wet.
Weaknesses: Uhhhhhh, none.
Review: I love my RT. It can do anything I ask of it. Fires as fast as my finger will go. Its also FULL AUTO. If you are looking for a product that has adjustable ROF and its full auto, look no more. Stop here and buy it. But, how does it have ajustable ROF's you ask? Simple. There's a little screw on the side. The farther out the screw is the faster your gun will fire. The more in the screw is the slower Ii will fire. I have also found out after a certain point,(after turning the screw out) your RT will stop being full auto. If you unscrew the screw out enough, It will keep up with your finger and how fast it will pull.

It sounds mean. Sounds just like a SMG firing too, Well maybe not as loud, but just like one. I love the sound of my RT in the mornin '! Sounds like VICTORY!! ha ha. The looks you get when the other guys with the more expensive stuff on S*#t their pants 'cause they see your TIPPMANN firing that fast. I love it! especially when the ask " that a Tippmann??" "yes!" I say with a big evil smile on my face.then Once the game starts I light them up.

I can recall this time,before the game stared and we were all on the far side of the field,firing randomly at the bunkers in front of us to see who had the fastest gun. A couple guys fired their guns. I watched, (They thought their guns were the fastest)I then I put up my Tippmann and pulled the trigger as fast as I could. BAM! their jaws hit the floor. "You have a Tippmann?!?" " Yes, I do." Game started,I ran out of paint. Figures.
Conclusion: Buy it! well worth the money. It will make you smile. also, if you dont already know it is REALLY FAST!!! Buy it! DO IT NOW!!! GET TO THE PRO SHOP NOW!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

You Wont See Me Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT and Flatline Barrel System
Strengths: The Rate of Fire is exellent!!!!!!!!!!! you can change the ROF
Weaknesses: "Sweet Spot" a bit tricky to find.
Review: Overall this is a great product. I love it!!!! Its great to hit the sweet spot in the middle of the game going full auto and watch your friends on the other team hit the floor and run for cover. Although this is not allowed on most fields. You can turn it off.
Conclusion: I recommend anyone who is thinking of gettting this product to buy it! It will increase your firepower greatly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media