paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3

PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
imerick1212 Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Piranah Eforce STS 2k3, PE Regulator, 12 volt Revolution Hopper, 20 oz anti/siph C02 tank, PMI Flame Drop, JT NVADER
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator, a new barrel, and an electric hopper
Strengths: Very light trigger pull.
Weaknesses: Doesn't come with a regulator and short barrel.
Review: CONS: Barrel sucks...it's too short, and it doesn't seem to be that accurate. This gun only has a gas thru fore-grip, which you'll want to upgrade to a regulator. There is also no drop in this gun...it feels like you're shooting a rifle without one. The double finger trigger is plastic.

Pros: Shoots really fast for a gun that's 160.00 dollars. Looks good. Nice rubber grip. PMI Website is really helpful. A lot of upgrades are available.
Conclusion: If I can turn back the hands of time, I should've bought the eforce EXT PRO 2k3 which is like 10-20 dollars more and you get a drop and a regulator, in which you'll actually save money by buying. But the internals of this gun and the pro are basically the same. This gun is pretty good...and it's only my first gun, and so far, I've learned a lot from this gun. I'm giving it an eight because the PRO EXT would be a better choice than this one. Still...I have no regrets in the performance of this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 22nd, 2003 at 2:59 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Brandon102987 Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used to have a spyder victor, no comparisom, spyder flash, tippy, spyder image
Marker Setup: i have a pirranha e force sts 2k3 with 14 ounce co2, 3a barrle, emipre loader 9v, spring kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
you need a really fast loader mine chops like crazy, spring kit, new barrel smart parts all american
Strengths: good price, light weight, fast, looks good.
Weaknesses: it chops all the time, bad volocity, co2 hog
Review: i bought this gun and loved it at first, but after using for about a year i realized it sucks! it is very temermental, and chops like a bi#$%. if u though a halo on it, an all american, a perfect drop, and a spring kit you shouldn't have to much trouble w/ it. I have two friends that all so have this gun and there have problems with it too.
Conclusion: i don't recomend this gun, get a impulse, evil omen, or a cocker and if u have the money go all out and get a shocker they rip i want one my friend got sponsored and get one and it is awesome !
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 9th, 2004 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Slipknot9311 Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have this gun, and a brass eagle raptor, the raptor is terrible. the e-force is kick ass. my brother has a Spyder E-99, and his is a good gun and all, but the e-force is way better, because you dont need to get an allen wrench to change the firing modes.
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha E-Force STS 2k3
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitrogen tank, new barrel, and electronic hopper
Strengths: Easy changing modes of fire, fast firing, nice look, good price.
Weaknesses: the only weakness i have noticed is not having an electronic hopper.
Review: This gun is just amazing, It was either this or the JT Excellerator 6.0, and sure, the excellerator looks a little cooler, and has a lcd frame, but you cant change the firing modes on it, and this gun is just way better. It beats my brothers E-99 easy.
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun for the money, and it is just amazing to work with. The field stripping is very convenient. The only problem i've had with mine was that it jammed one time, and im not running an electronic hopper. some people i know have electronic hoppers on theirs, and they said its just amazing, and that there is no problem with it at all with a electronic hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jsr Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have a Black Dragun LCD, Tippmann 98 , and had a Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: STS E-FORCE 2k3 with 12v revvy, Lapco drop forward, and Evil Pipe system
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good high flow reg (I used a Palmer Stabilizer), 12v Revvy
Strengths: Made by Piranha, Nice trigger frame, (this gun was made for LOW PRESSURE)
Weaknesses: gas through grip
Review: When I first got this gun it worked great, except for some recocking issues. I tried different springs , new striker o-rings, etc. I went to the Piranha site and found answers.Piranha had a goal to make a gun with a valve system that would shoot at high or low pressure.I decided to go low pressure and bought a Palmer reg.Palmer and Bob Long regs are both high flowing regs, and both work well with CO2. With my reg set at 300 psi I have no troubles at all. I can't say enough good about this marker. It's incredible. I haven't had a ball chop since .
Conclusion: At low pressure this gun is trully amazing.I've put my Black Dragun back in it's case. Thanks again Piranha.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renegade_pball Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about every other lower end gun
Marker Setup: my field retals consist of tippman 98's, piranhas, spyders, and some misc. others.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a trash can
Strengths: Looks alright
Pmi design is great for maintenance
Built stonger than spyders
Weaknesses: I cannot possibley explain the crappyness in 15 max words
Review: Ok, if you have had or know anyone with problems on an sts 2k3 eforce read this article, because mine has had every problem i've heard of with the sts, all wrapped up in one crappy little package.

-not recocking....after some tinkering, i found it was the flush cocking mechanism at fault. i oiled it with little success, so then i switched with one of my regular rental cocking rods and solved the problem. Turns out the flush cocking sometimes binded on itself.

-massive blowback....shipped it straight to pmi for this problem and they did something or other. Still had a problem so they shipped out a new valve. The blowback was still excessive. At lower velocity, like 240 it was ok, but 280fps was nothing but trouble. You could take off the hopper, cock it, put one ball in the chamber and stack 2 more on top, and it would blow the top ball out of the feedneck from the blowback. The result is crazy chopping at higher rate of fire or with the modes, because it always wants to pop the balls back up the feedneck a slight amount, slowing down your ball feed drastically. No loader on earth can fix that problem it your balls are popped up before they drop. I have never found the root of this problem, and i am sick of even trying. I've rebuilt her to the nuts and it hasn't changed a thing.

-chopping/pinching....try like 5-6 chops per 100 balls at fast firing. supposed to pinch but i still got alot of chops. The reason was the excessive blowback explained earlier. i even tried a plain old steel bolt from my rentals to slow the gun from cycling so fast. No success. And for all you little know it alls that are going to tell me it's barrel breaks not chops, don't waste your breath. I put a smart parts progressive on it (very large bore size) and still the same problem. Plus any moron knows the difference between paint blasted up into your hopper and out the barrel (chop!!) and just seeing paint in the barrel past the chamber (barrel break). Even with a richochet ak the chopping was and is to this day still a ball chomping pig. I actually put the trig on one of my rental guns and it works way better than it ever has on the original sts.

Conclusion: I bought it as an upgrade rental, but I'm sick of trying to make it work and cleaning my hopper and barrel. I ripped it apart and use it as parts for my other rentals!! There really shouldn't be so many major reoccuring problems in a massproduced marker like that. I give it a 2, because it hasn't given me herpes or anal warts. You can argue with me if you want if yours is a good one, but mine sucks plus i'm always right....remember that.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 12:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jmac45 Wednesday, August 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a be eradicator tippmann pro/carbine and a spyder tlx none compare to this gun.
Marker Setup: I have a stock e-force sts piranha 20 oz co2 tank and pmi hopper except a higher feedneck.

I use be eradicator i hav mostly stock but i added new o rings cuz it made the gun shoot faster and i also put a scope on the gun because the gun is hard to aim with without it and i added a pmi hopper and i hav a 20 oz pure enerygy co2 tank and a 9oz also i use pmi paintballs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well first off electro hopper a revolution seems good for this gun, and a new barrel, t board if you want to shoot faster, maybe a new expansion chamber, delrin bolt to me this gun doesnt chp much at all i shot 200 and chopped 0 with a regular 200 hopper, and a drop foward would be nice, and lastly a very nice upgrade youll chop a lot less is a higher feedneck, its working for me
Strengths: Quick, grip, minimum chops, nice stock barrel, firing modes.
Weaknesses: I havent found any if i do ill edit this.
Review: This is a great gun for beginners intermediates and maybe higer players than that it shoot very well if you have an electric hopper on this your gun will never miss a ball or chop but it doesnt chop with a regualar hopper either it will usually just make the cocking bolt go foward it shoots straight with accurace and far and has good firing modes, i would recomend this gun to any type of player.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if your looking for a great gun and at a cheap price its worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 4th, 2005 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

konastuff16 Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-piranha eforce gti
-piranha eforce srt
-spyder tl plus with sprint grip frame
Marker Setup: ricochet hopper
3000 psi tank
smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and i also recommend that you use psi.
Strengths: -Very easy maintenance
-Great accuracy with new barrel
-12+ shots per second
-Lightweight
Weaknesses: -The people ruining this guns rating for stupid reasons.
Review: I have had the great opportunity to play with this gun a few times and it was just great. The easy to use velocity adjuster was very convenient as was the eforce grip frame. This gun was very consistent and would never chop a ball if u properly shot it, fully pull in the trigger. The accuracy with the progressive barrel was very nice and consistent. The only bad thing about this gun are the owners who are too lazy to clean and change the o-rings on they're gun who ruin the rating on this gun. Here's a list of what to do it the following problem occurs:
1-When u buy it, the spring will not yet be broken in. When u notice the velocity going down turn the velocity adjuster to the right and this is for the review about the guy who noticed his velocity going down when he bought it. Obviously the spring will loosen a as u use it so give the gun a few games before setting your final velocity.
2-The gun wont shoot on low velocity: time for you to change your o-rings. The same problem occurred to my buddy and he simply went to the field pro-shop changed the o-rings and the gun worked like new again. This is for the guy who wrote the review about his gun having to have a rebuild witch is total B.S.
Conclusion: So i end this review saying that this is a perfectly good gun and that it's definitely worth the money. It shoots great and it's easy to maintain.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Merc4Hire Thursday, October 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several Spyders and clones. Tippman 98's. rental junk. old pump guns. I don't remenber what all.
Marker Setup: 2K3 Piranha STS eforce , gravity hopper, teardrop 14", Stock barrel, normal Co2's...Nothing fancy, but I can shoot people the same no matter how much they spent on equipment. They can shoot me too.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Empire Reloader
Teardrop, or J&J, Or 32* Whisper, etc
tape over the very bright red "On" light with electrical tape.
Drop forward, depending on balance preferences and tank size
Strengths: Cheap for features and quality.
Feild strip
Lotsa Burst Modes
Weaknesses: *Stock barrel is a stock barrel
*easy to accidentally shoot
* pointless double trigger
Review: I bought this after I helped my father buy a pair for my twin brothers. It is essentially an improved spyder, but cheaper. Mine cost $130 with gravity hopper, mask and 9oz Co2. I added an after market barrel after 1 day of play and some homemade sights. (I taped a short piece of1/2" tube to side of barrel just behind porting and used a zip tie as rear sight. works well enough that I probably won't bother to get a real sight. Who cares how it looks, it works!)

(+)Cheap for level of features and quality.
(+)looks good if you care about that.
(+)super fast and easy to field strip (apox 3 seconds)
(+) has 3, 6, 9, full auto and semi modes, as well as tournament lock for stupid parks.
Similar Kingman products only have 3 shot and full auto.
(+)flush cocking knob- no beavertail or getting hit by cocking knob.
(+)rear velocity adjuster. easy to adjust velocity. Not really field adjustable though
because if you don't use the set screw the velocity knob will loosen during firing and
lower your velocity.
(+) Battery lasts about 6000 rounds per charge.
(+) comes with both wall and car chargers
(+) can use a normal 9v battery
(+) Gas consumption about 580 shots on a 9 ounce Co2
(+) when it runs low on air it does not "run-on" making that Bra-a-ap noise that says,
"come kill me" it does a quiet little "pfthfp" noise and that's all.
(+) it comes with PMI's better bolt: red
(+) it is supposed to come with 3 color coded springs. all 3 guns in my family came with
the medium (blue) and LP (white) springs but not red (high) which leads into the next
point.
(+) PMI had good service. I called them and their service guy took my word for it and sent
new red springs for my brother and I with no charge and no hassle. He even included
2 sets of spare O-rings that I didn't ask for. He did not even bother to ask me for
serial#s to see if I was lying to get extra parts.
(+) all O-rings except 1 are normal tank O-rings not some thing weird it came with a
spare set. Kits with extra ball detents and valve stopper only cost $5 at the local store.
(+) takes spyder barrels, and probably other components.
(+) super easy and short trigger pull- it is like playing Unreal and sniping with the
mouse. easy to "walk" the trigger on semi.
(+) feeds pretty reliably even with gravity feed. if you do only 3 or 6 shot bursts so the
hopper can keep up you will almost never chop.
(+) burst modes and auto are set to 12 bps which seems about right to me.
(+) burst buttons are convenient and water resistant.
(=)stock barrel is par for a stock barrel.
(=)grip frame is plastic but it works and is probably just as tough as aluminum. it is
very comfortable and needs no mods.
(=) ASA is fine but you might want a drop for 20 oz or bigger
(-) there is no real safety and it is super easy to bump the long soft trigger
accidentally. you only have on/off, which resets it to semi.
(-) as usual, they put a vertical sight rail behind a vertical feed... however it is
removable and you can get adapters. PMI does not currently offer a custom
offset sight rail to fit this gun.
(-) There is not one single straight surface to sight along because of the fancy millwork.
(-) double trigger takes away grip and is pointless on an electronic frame. The only
time you would use it is when they don't allow burst. I would almost shorten the
trigger so i can grip the gun better without accidentally firing with my middle finger.
(-) if you plan on using sustained full auto, you should get an Empire Reloader.
(-) the 9 shot burst is superfluous and is just 1 more mode to cycle through.
A burst mode slider switch would be nicer than buttons , and would solve the
on/off reset issue.
Conclusion: Buy it unless you want to go Pro or be a poser pro. If you want two million balls per second get something expensive that does that out of the box. Don't expect to upgrade your way into the big leagues. That ends up costing just as much and doesn't work well.

This gun is cheaper than Kingman equivalents and the velocity and cocking knobs are nicer, as well as burst modes.
It is cheaper than a stock Tippman and works better. It is easer to adjust and dissasemble. parts are cheaper, and it doesn't cost an extra $99 for burst modes. It is just as accurate with the same types of aftermarket barrels as a Tippmann and more accurate than thier stock barrel.
It is basically the best deal for an entry level player and equivalent to a $250-300 Tippman or Spyder setup.

Actually for a few more bucks buy the 2004 Piranha SRT eforce. it is an identical gun with more color options and an anti chop bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballing66 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Spyders and a Zap Point Zero. Tippmann 98s every now and then.
Marker Setup: PMI 2K3 STS E-Frame Pirahna with a modified bolt and a six stage System X expansion chamber, and 20 oz. CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing to exravagent. I got a six stage expansion chamber and it made a big difference on CO2 intake so that is a must. Other than that nothing is essential. A electric hopper would be nice for someone heavy on the trigger.
Strengths: quite, stylish, great accuracy, light, internal cocking system, cheap, electric frame,
Weaknesses: -Hair trigger is too sensitive
Review: The first thing i noticed when i held the gun was the weight. Its very light and "easy" to hold. I took it out for a quick game of speed ball. The electric trigger frame was speedy and light in pull. For the first time out it seemed a decent gun. Last week however, I got a six stage expansion chamber for the gun and it made all the difference in wood ball game i was going to play. It was a three day overnighter game, with tempratures predicted to drop to about twenty degrees. I installed the chamber and my gun didnt have one problem the entire game. Not one velocity spike, not one chopped ball, and no broken internal parts or seals. I know many people say that their gun has never chopped a ball but out of about 500 rounds that i fired, the gun didnt chop one. It is also very accurate even with a stock barrel being used. Another plus is it is dead silent. The internal cocking system is a plus too so you dont have to worry about broken goggles.
Conclusion: For a base price of around $160 this gun is a bargin. PMI is a known and reliable brand and this gun has yet to let them down. Even with no upgrades the Pirahna is a great gun but with an expansion chamber and a few other gadgets its is a gun that would compete with autocockers and shockers. For a newbie or a pro its a good buy and a near perfect gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepsycho Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Eforce GTI, Silver Bullet
Marker Setup: Piranha STS E-Force 2k3, 48 CI Pure Energy 3000 psi nitro, CP X chamber, silver bullet stock drop (from my friend), 12 volt revvy w/ x board, 12 in generic barrel, low rise feed, shocktech superfly derlin bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a reg if you dont have a pure energy nitro tank (those have a built in reg) or if your runnin C02 get a x chamber. Defentetly a fast hopper. Look into a drop, always a good thing and low rise feeds can help.
Strengths: Fast, reliable, good starting gun.
Weaknesses: plastic frame, gas thru grip.
Review: This gun rocks, right out of the box it'll shoot fine. get a new spring though and maybe a reg, if you fancy, overall it's great. Won tourney's for us. I got lucky my boss gave one to me for 80 bucks!
o and better buy an extra case of paint!
Conclusion: Get it, you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media