paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is Bob's newest marker for the Storm team. Exciting new shape, same great quality! Has an Lcd screen ,low presseure, simi-auto only, open bolt, Eualizer Board.Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Kowz_76 Thursday, August 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Ion, BKO, DM4, Wrath, tested many other electros
Marker Setup: TX Storm intimidator w/ ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, On/off, feedneck, board (Unless yours comes with Frenzy)
Strengths: Speed, consistency, reliability
Weaknesses: Length
Review: I'd like to start out by saying how fantastically impressed I was at the simplicity of the intimidator. I know that they are basically an offshoot of a spyder, but didn't realize that they were basically just as simple. The simplicity of the intimidator is really one of it's great features. It only has two moving parts, the ram and the bolt. These are the only things you really need to maintain on a regular basis and it takes about 5 minutes to take them out, lube them and put them back together. Probably the next best thing is the fact that this gun needs ZERO upgrades. Not just to shoot well, but in general. I do like the CP trigger that I have more than the stock, but the stock trigger works well too. A feedneck is also nice, but the stock twist lock is fairly adequate. The stock SOB board is kind of lack luster, but since then BL has come out with the Frenzy board, which came stock on the late models of 2k2 Timmies, and there are many choices for aftermarket boards.

The intimidator really performs on the field. There is a little bit of kick, but nothing compared to something like an impulse. As with most high end electros, it'll lay down streams of paint just as fast as you can pull the trigger, and the anti-chop eyes work fantastic in eliminating choppage. The only thing I didn't particularly like about the 2k2 Timmies is the distance between the frame and reg. It's a bit long for my taste, but all in all feels very nice in your hands.
Conclusion: Great gun, can be had very cheap used these days. All in all I give it an 8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tdogg527 Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion xe, spyders, veiwloaders, tippmanns
Marker Setup: stiffi barrel, cp reg., contract killer grips, evil pressure gage, cp asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much
Strengths: Speed
Weaknesses: Stock Eyes
Review: I have played with many guns and so far this is the best. the speed is uncomparable. the accuracy is key. All around Great Gun!!!! A+++++++++ Like i said i have played with many many guns and this is the best yet as far as veritility gose. i dont like the contract killers tho
Conclusion: If you have the chance buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spion009 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
45/45 LP 05 Legion Air
Halo B Victory
Stiffi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Grips
Strengths: Fast
Good Looking
Weaknesses: Sorta bulky and a tad heavy
Review: I bought this used with a few upgrades. I was amazed how fast it was, so much faster than my ion. I had to get used to aiming with it though becasue it is so much taller. The gun is big but feels very balanced with a macdev, halo, and a stiffi. I like this gun it is much more originaly than an ion becasue everyone has an ion. This gun performes great compared to an ion and most high ends that i have tried. The only bad thing about it is the size but besides that I love this gun zero problems in 6 months and very easy maintainence. I am very happy with this but if i were to get another gun it would be a gun with a smaller profile like an alias or eteck ego
Conclusion: Very good gun but a little big.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ugotnoskill Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse ego
Dm4
Dm5
Shocker
Marker Setup: Red tx storm timmy
68ci crossfire tank
Evolution 2 hopper
CP regulater
ST feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
Reg
Drop forward
Thats it
Strengths: Really freakin fast
Gas effecient
Light
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Screws to the grip are to close to the board
Review: When i was putting in a new barb for the gun i was putting it back together and when i was screwing in the screws it is so close to the board i messed this one little part and it is not working so well but it will.

But after i got it fixed it worked so good and i was shooting so many people and this gun will go through a lot for you and you will be pleased with the results.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome becasue if your looking for a timmy and you cant afford those real exspensive guns get this its fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cowpox89 Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers
shockers
trix's
ion
other timmys
egos
Marker Setup: Upped E-Orracle
Frenzy'd texas storm timmy
Smoke halo b with dice mod
68/45 hp crossfire
Empire barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
High flow barbs
New board frenzy and was are good
nice barrel
fast hopper
adjustible ram cap
new trigger
Strengths: Fast
Realiable
Fast
Its a timmy
Weaknesses: Its has a little kick
its kinda loud
Review: I just got this gun in a trade and as soon as i aired it up and put paint through it i was amazed, it was ramping at 22 bpswith the frenzy 127.4 board with no chops at all and with no shootdown, you can get nice timmys for real cheap now because of the ions and other cheap guns and they rip, if you get this gun the first thing you should get is a fast hopper and a case of paint, you will see why they call them intimidators they intimidate people they are very fast and kinda loud which adds to the intimidation effect, a nice board is must if you want to max out your gun and it will be worth it, i have had no major problems with this gun, the only thing i have had to do is to lube it, replace bumper and detents, and the only reason i had to replace the detents and the bumper is because i was shooting so much paint through it because it is an awsome gun
Conclusion: Get this gun it is very very fast and very reliable and can be bought for real cheap , i chose 9/10, if there was a perfect gun it would get a 10/10 but since there is no perfect gun my ranking starts at 9/10 and since it is kinda loud and has some kick but it is hella fast and very reliable it gets a 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WoRrLoCk_OwNaGe Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 empire timmy
defiant 2
2k2 timmy
Marker Setup: 04 green to black fade texas storm
w.a.s 2.8
clamp feedneck
unimount
dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel maybe
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Not too loud
Efficient
Weaknesses: Bad internal design (see review)
Hard to set if you are a noob
Review: I picked up my storm 2 weeks ago for 400. The first thing i noticed was that for an older timmy it wasnt that heavy. After shooting it and absolutely loving it, i decided to play. The gun worked great when i was playing, but after i went off the field, it had an insane leak. with the help of my local tech, we were able to fix it and put it back together. in the process, we managed to shear the eye wire in half because of the frame pinching it too hard. After close examination, we realized that the eye wire has to follow a trench that is set in the gun. To me it seems like a bad design, but after you get the hang of it its easy to takes eyes off and put them back in. this gun is crazy fast w/ my was board and is very accurate (stock barrel). Annother thing that this gun has to offer is great efficiency. i was dry firing in simulate mode forever and the air gauge hardly moved.
Conclusion: Buy this gun you wont be disappointed. Its not as light or fast as the new timmys, but it will keep up with most high ends as it is. no gun is perfect so it gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
GZ-lighter, less complicating milling, same otherwise
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker
Eblade1 1.06
Nexus Ram
Planet Eclipse QEV's
Orracle Tickler LPR
J&J Ceramic 12"+Dye excel 14"
-or-
CCI VSC Phantom
Roin Gear elite stock class harness

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-cuz who doesn't?
trigger-preference
Strengths: W.A.S. board-so fast
Milling design-looks cool
Mantience
Speed
Quality
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Review: This was my first timmy. I have shot other timmies before, and it made me want to get one. Oh man, the deisgn and operation of a timmy is so simple. Taking it part and cleaning it down is a bit time consuming, but you have to take care of your stuff.
The speed and finesse of this gun is high. The was board lets you unleash streams of paint. Shoots like there is no tommorow. This timmy is a bit heavier compared to ther timmies, but thats ok. Consistency is great thatnks to the stock HPR Torpedo regulator.
Conclusion: Great timmy made
Unique
Fast
Get one 'Nuff said
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmylord711 Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun (first gun), Hybrid Quest Autococker (w/ and w/o eblade), Black Magic, Dynasty Shocker, Trix, Dm4, Shocker 03, 2K2 Timmy, Alias Timmy, Strange Vision Impulse, many more
Marker Setup: Black Texas Storm Intimidator, Black Halo B, Shocktech Supafly Bolt, Centerflag 68/3, Boomstick 10" (Front Play)/Freak 14" (Back Play)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shocktech Bolt, Barrel
Strengths: very good accuracy, very good air efficiency SPEED!!! no kick, fairly lightweight, very comfortable ergonomics
Weaknesses: None in my opinion, just that the gun is longer than most
Review: When i first got this gun, i was awed by the milling. the gun is beautiful. When I first aired it up, it took a little tweaking of the hpr/lpr to get it shooting right (Input pressure needs to be between 50 and 100 or you'll blow out your solenoid). Once I got it set up (dwell at 7.5, eyes on force) and reduced the trigger pull, i was ripping 17bps no problem on an otherwise stock gun. I was noticing that there was a bit of kick, however, but that was completely dissolved when I got the shocktech bolt. It increased the already great air efficiency and took away the last of the kick, It just required me to turn up the hpr a little. I have put lot of paint through my TS and the only reason it has chopped paint was that the paint was bad anyway. When using GAP or XBall Bronze and up, it shoots flawlessly, i havent found other paint that it really likes, but I havent tried it all either. The gun is a bit longer than most high end guns but it makes for better ergonomics and it has improved my snap shooting 100%. Plus, you can find these guns for $800 at some stores, possibly less if used.
Conclusion: This gun is incredible, pick one up for $800, and it shoots as good as if not better than guns like dm4's/dm5's and the high end timmies that all cost over 1.2k GET THIS GUN ONLY IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SOMETHING THAT WILL DECIMATE THE COMPETITION!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reo01 Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, Naughty Dogs Autococker, Angel 4
Marker Setup: Texas Storm, Freak kit with All American Barrell, Frenzy Board, Shock Tech Internals, Crossfire 68/4500 LP, Dye Rino Cover, Dye Mini drop forward," Egg" loader (soon to be a Reloader B)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell Kit and bolt, Frenzy Board
Strengths: Fast, light weight, accurate, no chopped paint, air efficient , consistent air pressure, looks, quality
Weaknesses: To change the battery you must strip the gun, out of date manual
Review: The Electra was a good beginners gun and the Cocker an increase in speed and accuracy. The Angel 4 was even more impressive than the Cocker but in my opinion the Storm is easily the best. Fast (25bps), light, accurate, and reliable the Timmy is low maintenance and easy to understand and operate. Add air, size the paint to bore and go play. Over the chrono I get +/- 2 fps variance and that definitely helps with the accuracy. Consistent air supply along with consistent paint to bore fit is the key to accuracy. The Angel4 is a very good gun as well but I personally prefer the trigger pull and the 45 grip frame over the trigger and space frame of the Angel. For me the 45 frame allows me to get on target faster and more naturally. The Timmy appears to be much longer and taller than the Angel but if you lay them on top of each other the Angel is less than an inch shorter. Height is equal. Chopping paint hasn't been an issue.
The biggest drawback is to change the battery you must remove the grips, grip panel, and eye cover. I did see where a company called Blitz Aphix has released a version that has battery changing from the back of the grip. That would be much better. Still the battery issue isn't enough to downgrade the gun since the battery life is around 15-20,000 shots. The manual has not ben updated since the GZ Intimadator. I would expect better from Bob Long. I would have expected a manual similar to the Angel manual for a gun of this class.
Conclusion: Even with the 2 downsides listed above the gun performance is still a 10. Using this gun will take equipment performance out of the equation. Your results on the field will be limited only by your skill, not the gun. What more can you ask for out of a paintball gun?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 16th, 2004 at 8:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mitch578806 Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Tippman 98 Custom
Angel Speed
Angel IR3 Fly
Angel LCD Fly
Marker Setup: 2004 Texas Storm Timmy w/ Frenzy Board and Oakland Assassins Team Series Barrel; ANS Adjustable Ram Cap; Crossfire 45ci. 4500 P.S.I.; Empire Reloader B; Psycho Ballistics On/Off Drop Forward; Dye Stickies.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap
Strengths: Accuracy, SPEED, Weight, SPEED, Anti-Chop System, SPEED, Milling, and SPEED
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is amazingly fast, especially with the new Frenzy Board in it, on the 2004s the milling is a little different and the weight is almost as good as the Alias. You are definitely gonna need a really fast hopper, like the reloader b or a halo. an egg with a Z-BOARD might keep up but you will have to run the eyes on delay mode and increase the time. I almost got an Angel 4 but i was talked out of them because of some of the problems they have. I was told that they hardly ever chop a paintball and the people that told me that were right, I have not chopped on ball in almost 6 cases of apint through it.
Conclusion: I think this or any timmy are by far the best markers on the market today. If you have the budget I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media