paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is Bob's newest marker for the Storm team. Exciting new shape, same great quality! Has an Lcd screen ,low presseure, simi-auto only, open bolt, Eualizer Board.Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
bigtbone Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, 04 Shockers, AKA Vikings, DM4's, DM5's, 02 timmys, E-Bladed Cockers, pretty much all the high-end guns
Marker Setup: Blue Texas Storm, 2 piece CP Barrel, Freak Kit (i got 2 barrels for a little selection), Blue Hybrid Naked Lady Grips, WAS 2.8, Reloader B, Check-It unimount.

Impulse, Freak Kit, Check-It feed neck, nd bolt, nd blade trigger, vision, some cradle that i got from my friend, new style vertical max-flo.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Fast Hopper
Strengths: Super Fast, Accurate, Light, Sexy, LCD screen
Weaknesses: I haven't found anything yet
Review: I got this gun for christmas and i have to say wow. Im kinda sad that i waited so long to upgrade from my impulse because compared to my storm that thing is a fat(tall and heavy) and slow. The first time i messed with the lcd screen i was shocked i mean the freakin' thing tells you the temperature and all the different things you can mess with through the lcd like the deboune the eyes and well...everything. The only thing I dont really understand is Simulate mode and what the purpose of it is. I read the WAS manual and it says that your not supposed to shoot paint in Simulate mode because it was chop and crap like that but it just seems to me that it just has mad bounce...i don't know. And another thing is that my mom got this from a friend of a friend of mine and he had it in tournament lock mode so i havn't been able to screw with the debounce and stuff like that and i still think this gun rips. Anyway its good.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome and right now the price of a new one is awsome considering just 2 months ago it was over a grand and now its like 800 new and you can get a good used one with a couple of ups for like 600 on ebay or pbnation so ya im not saying this gun is the best gun you can buy because i dont know what gun that is because its pretty close between a few, i think, but for what you pay for you get a whole bunch back and you can play tourny's with this and do really well...if you dont suck for an example my friend used this exact gun in cal jam before he sold it to me and they got in 3rd....Go Elusive.........
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pullethmyfinger Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X NME
OGI dragun the one, and the drallion
Cockers and other guns
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Texas Storm
Smoke Halo B
68/4500 Angel Air hyperflow
Shocktech drop with macro line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit stock barrel isnt to great ( but how many are)
maybe a trigger but theres nuthin wrong with the stock one though (but ive heard nuthin but good about the techna i cant wait to pick mine up)
ive read stuff about an ajustable ram cap im gonna pick one up (dont know alot about um though
Strengths: Speed
Price
Looks
that about sums it up
Weaknesses: If ur new to electros it could be confusing (refer to Review)
Review: So i just got a brand new texas storm i oppened the bax and gazed proudly its wonderful lookin however it dont come with a bottomline so i had run to atlanta (thats 2hours away from where i live(theres no suck thing a Paintball store down in Georgia) to grab one, kinda sucked but o well i get to shot my new timmy now or not as it turns out the eye is sent on delay mode and to fire the gun it needs to be on force mode( i will not go in to detail on how long it took me,2 friends,and my dad to figure this out for it would bring shame to my family) but once we got that straightend out it worked wonders on my first gun with a walkable trigger i was gettin 13 with no setting changes (might not sound impressive but it is where i live so dont ruin my moment) trigger bounce is set stock on 12 so im gonna lower it for more speed i had a rough time gettin it started but its a great gun once u break it in( i dont mean that litteraly) be sure to have a swap if u use the stock barrel though cause i had a couple of barrel breacks fixed um in a sec with swab though it was probly the paint i had though most of it was Wallmart paint i used up all my good paint on my friends new gun and needed a cheap alternative (hobby town is way to expensive and dont even give that great of paint )so i had to go to wally world in the end it is a great gun buy one if uve got the money bout 700-800 if u look probly the best gun in that price range havent shot others so dont know for a fact though but u wont be dissapointed i promise


Edit
i got to use it today it rocked my world i had a ton of people ask to hold/shoot it i dont mind that kind of stuff but some people do i was testin it out gettin bout 14-15 then a guy with a nasty shocker (that has nerve ramping) came up and startin shootin (he got 25 ) so that wasnt cool but o well it worked wonders on the field i got 4 peeps the first game i think we were playin 7 v 7 just walked up the side keepin um pinned single handedly the last guy was brave and jumped out shootin he ended up hitten my hand but at great personal cost :) cant wait to play again


Edit
its been about a month and the only problem ive had was my solinoid(cant spell sry) it crapped out on me but i called bob long (GREAT customer service) they sent me a new one (got it in about 3 days)for free stuck it in there and i rip like new
Conclusion: Buy one if u want a high end gun for realitivly cheap however if uve got money get an alias or a newer timmy but there 300+ $$s more but i dont here many bad things about um im gonna give it a 10 on perfomace but man was it annoying getting everything set up but since it was my fault i wont dock any points ill edit after ive had some good chance to use it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 14th, 2005 at 2:44 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

brenspbplace Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a tippy a -5 with response trigger. ( does not even compare)
And a spyder pilot . ( does not compare either)
I also tested a friends dragon timmy.


Marker Setup: I have a blue to black texas storm timmy with green Halo B with rip drive and a aci bulldog 88 4500 hpa tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A check it unimount .
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, Speed, Looks, lcd, Gas Mileage, and Bragging Rights.
Weaknesses: None I have seen.
Review: When I first opened the box I thought it looked great. I got a check it unimount and put on my tank and hopper. It was a windy day and it was still dead accurate. I noticed it was very very fast I loved it. This is my favorite gun I have ever had. Two of my friends have DM5's and I can go just as fast. This gun is the nuts.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a gun in the 800 dollar area you should defiantly get the texas storm intimidator. You will intimidate at your local field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 8:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I~Own~You Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhh, my imp i guess
Marker Setup: 03' black imp~full freak~evil resp.~sp eye
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp rail adapter/bottom reg, barrel, hopper
Strengths: fast, looks, it's a timmy
Weaknesses: it's FAT. lol, big triggerframe and body
Review: when i picked it up my friend had a nice tri-fade and i really wanted to pick it up. so when i got to it, i realized its a fat friggin gun! the gun is designed for a backer. because the reg is farther away so you hold the gun out more, and can stick the gun outta the side of a bunker better, hard to explain, but i think some will understand. the fat frame made it harder for me to walk, and that i didnt like, but then i got used to it. it only chopped once, and i wasnt using it, the eye got some shell in front of it, or some dirt, and chopped. we kinda just sat there and wondered, hmmmm. it's pretty picky with paint, and some will preform better then others. what i do like, is when there are dimples, instead of the paintballs swaying, and the stream of paint getting inconsistant, it barely effects it, so it may look lik this

TIMMY---------_----_-----_---

the dropoff in the picture is a bit dramatic, but i think it sevres the purpose, the dots are the balls, and the underlines are the slightly affected balls in the stream.
Conclusion: i was thinking of getting it, but decided on another timmy. thats just me :)

id really get it, for the value, the looks, and the fact you can say "hey, i got a timmy"

one thing, the new icd freestyle is pretty close in performance, but it is much more picky with paint then this, meaning, the smallest dimple will cause alotta dropoff, and accuracy is mediocre
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TSt1mmy Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various impulses, angel lcd, angel 4, angel ir3, new shocker vision, countless cockers, shocktech timmy, matrix, basically all tournament level guns...
Marker Setup: Storm Timmy LCD Black fade to Blue, Shocktech bolt, Shocktech adjustable ram, WAS 2.7 Board, WAS eyes, torpedo volumizer, 14" Dye Ultralite, Smoke Halo B, Shocktech mini drop, Shocktech on/off ASA, Crossfire 68ci 4500PSI LP reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS board is hot, worth the money, get a adjustable ram and aftermarket bolt, possibly a volumizer..its all cheap conpared to parts for other markers!
Strengths: FAST, small profile, accurate, reliable... perfect
Weaknesses: scary first time u open it..but its really all very simple. none really
Review: I got this gun used off of Ebay. It works great. The gun is very very attractive and has extremely pleasing lines that are not overdone. The LCD menu is intuitive and it is a breeze to change settings. I was supprised at how easy it was to adjust the regs to proper pressures. Don't be scared the first time you open up the grip frame and there is 395894 wires and a bunch of clear hoses....If you pinch ur ass for a second, the urge to poo will go away, as the whole layout is actually logical and easy to work with. Just be careful reassembling everything. Inside the body, all parts are simple and easy to clean. The regs work wonderfully and have barely ANY parts inside. This marker is used and has a slight leak (user idiocy) and it is +-4 on the chrono. It is extremely easy to reach 18BPS on my setup. Really, any Storm Timmy with WAS can do the same. I suggest this gun to back and front players...it is excellent. There is no question why all the pros use timmys..they are fast, light, low profile, reliable, accurate, and beautiful..buy one, dont buy in to the angel hype (reliable and sexy but nothign special performance wise) and DM4s have palsy.
Conclusion: Do your research. No matter where you look, all signs point towards the intimidator. The Texas Storm edition is beautifully design and functionally appointed with useful features. Play rec, tourny, front, back, ,mid, tape, shoot crap in your yard? GET IT, you wont regret it unless you didnt realize you can no longer buy paint to shoot through this paint rope machine. CHAZZZ FELLAS
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

animalaapthy Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have shot all kinds of timmys and angels and some impys
Marker Setup: I have a bronze to black Texas Storm intimidator w/total freak and an evo 2
or i can use my Gen-X-3 w/ E blade and everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, and get agood low pressure tank but other then that the gun is good the way you get it from BOB
Strengths: SPEED and ease of maintenace, almost no breaks whatsoever
Weaknesses: don't mess with the front reg, once you get it right leave it there
Review: One of the greatest guns ive ever shot, mine works flawlessly practice after practice and i have never had any seriose problems at all, some people say they are liked souped up spiders but thats not true it shoots awsome and with my freak on it is almost as accurate as my cocker, the only prob i had was that if you take of the end cap on the front reg the set screw doesn't stay in place, its no big deal tho because you should always retune the gun after you clean it anyways.
Conclusion: IF U ARE THINKING ABOUT BUYING A BOB LONG INTIMIDATOR ESPECIALY THE TEXAS STORM THEN DO IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT! ITS AN AWSOME GUN!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naughtylyon Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocktech timmy, GZ timmy, dragon timmy,ironman timmy, vision impy,shocker,angel speed, freak imp.and alot of spydrs
Marker Setup: texas storm,cp drop, cp on off valve, and a blue cp 14inch barrel, 91/4500 and a good ole' EGG "burn baby burn"
Recommended
Upgrades:
91/4500 , haloB or EGG, cp 16inch barrel, cp flame drop foward
Strengths: shoots really fast has 2 eyes and is very light and compact
Weaknesses: when changing the battery you've got to take the whole gun apart
Review: Shoots fast, sweet milling , very compact profile, fits so nice and snug with a 91/4500 , easy to clean and maintain, comes with a good stock barrel, already has the equalizer board, adjustable low rise, minimum kick, runs on very low pressure ( mine runs on 50 ) two adjustable regs, lcd screen with ball counter/timer/temp/bps ect..... really easy to walk the trigger,runs on one 9volt, has 2 eyes. what else can you ask for in a tournamet level gun?
Conclusion: when bob long is on top of his game bob is on top of his game
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 14th, 2003 at 4:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hman769 Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost everything under the sun
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
Evil Pipe/Empire 7 piece
Alias LPR, Front Block, and Volumizer
Shocktech Bolt
Shocktech Ram
Hybrid Ram Cap
CP roller
W.A.S. 2.7
Recommended
Upgrades:
adjustable ram cap, trigger, barrel (like almost every marker)
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, consistency, and reliability
Weaknesses: Nothing to complain about, just gotta keep up on maintanence like any other marker.
Review: Another great product by Bob Long. This is by far one of the nicest markers I have used to date. This thing flat out rips, and it has ripped for about 3 years now... I have only had minor maintanence issues with it, but even those are simple o-ring replacements or something simmilar. The biggest problem I have had, was with the poppet o-ring and getting it to set and seal right. Other than that treat it with good and it will work awesome for you.
Conclusion: Great marker, especially now with the prices, WOW! I payed about 1,250 for mine..., still worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 17th, 2007 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cory688 Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocktech timmy- same thing
tippmann 98 custom- blows
2 b2ks- decent guns but cant keep up with a timmy
Marker Setup: all-black texas storm timmy, WAS 2.6, 14" ultralite, dragon-style volumizer, dye mini-drop, smoke halo B, 68-4500 centerflag tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS board, halo or evlution, better barrel (DYE), a mini-drop cuz thats how these guns are set up to be held. and a nitro tank
Strengths: very fast
very accurate
very consistent
sturdy gun
nice looks
Weaknesses: hard to find
high price, but this isnt for poor people
hard to clean
Review: Ok i will point out everything i said for strengths and weaknesses and go into further detail.

Very fast- great trigger on this, 3way adjustable so anyone can set it to their preference. also, the trigger on these is a lot cooler looking than on other timmys

Very accurate- low pressure, run 500 psi into the reg, 225 into the lp, and then 50-75 into the gun. because of the timing with the bolt, shoots like its closed-bolt. few ball-breaks

Very consistent- because it is so low-pressure, it is very consistent. shoot within 5 fps on the chrono. however, you need an adjustable tank for this because the torpedo is only supposed to take in 500 psi

Sturdy gun- doesnt feel cheap in your hands, overall a quality piece from Bob Long

Nice looks- personally, i think this is one of the better looking timmys out there. but some disagree

hard to find- limited edition guns, so not everyone has one. i got mine from a friend for only $850 though. so its not impossible to find them

high price- i dunno everyone puts this. i wont complain. but its worth your money if you want a high-end gun

hard to clean- the milling is crazy on this- use q-tips and it makes it quite easier, everything comes off the gun though so its not too hard to clean if you get shot in a hard to clean area

Conclusion: great gun, well it is used by a high-end professional team, so why expect less? if you want to get to the next level, get a timmy. doesnt matter if its a storm, shocktech, or 2k2. theyre all pretty much the same, with different milling. it really does help your play, my friend and i had won about 3 games on average per tournament. now we just won 7 last week with our new timmys. if you bunker someone. watch the trigger, dont want overshooting penalties.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 16th, 2003 at 9:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

um_hi? Friday, September 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
basically every marker on the market
Marker Setup: texas storm cp barrel system x drop on/off revy,halo,egg depending on my mood and many other things i cant remember
Recommended
Upgrades:
um new barrel
Strengths: -shoots great
-accurate
-fast
-looks good
-never chops
Weaknesses: umm i lost my allen wrench soi cant take off my eyes gun is great
Review: ok wow this gun is awesome when i first used it people were dropping like flies it was so great this gun never chops and u dont rly need to add anything u might want to change dwell and debounce but thats it when u change those u will be able to get to 22 bps easy all in all a great gun nothing at all wrong with it
Conclusion: get this gun now plz... u luv it o yea kinda pricy but well worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media