paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Lawman Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Java
Marker Setup: Black to Grey Dust ANS GX-3 with CP Rail and On/Off, 14" Black Evil Pipe, 12v Revvy, and a 72/4500 Crossfire stubby tank.

AND

Black Smart Parts Nerve with lpr upgrade, team board & CP Rail and On/Off, 14" Red/Black Evil Pipe kit, Egg2 with Y-Board, 71ci 4500 psi 3A paintbal HPA tank with a Dye Rhino Bottle Cover
Strengths: Clear view, wide field of vision, comfy, doesn't fog much
Weaknesses: Hard to remove lens, pain to clean
Review: I bought this mask over 2 years ago when I got fed up with my Kingman Java mask fogging all the time. I bought the Vortex fan with it in order to help with fogging, but usually I do not need it. The thermal lens tends to keep itself from fogging up. I do sweat a lot, so on occassion I have to switch the fan on to eliminate the fogging. It should be noted however, that I live in South Florida, land of heat and humidity, and almost everyone battles the fog when you play 8+ hours a day in a scenario game or rec games.

The mask is very comfy, with lots of padding around the eyes and nose. If you are smart and keep your chin down you won't every get hit in the chin or neck anyway, so the small coverage around the chin won't bother you. I have never gotten hit in the neck or chin while wearing this mask.

The lens is a pain to remove, and the nooks and crannies on the mask are a pain to clean without removing the lens. I usually just wipe the lens clen and don't worry about the paint that oozes into the seal around the edge.

All in all I am very happy with this mask. So happy in fact I just ordered a 2nd to have as a back-up and for my wife to use on occassion. Only improvement I would suggest would be for all spectra system masks, make a quick release and easier to clean lens assembly.
Conclusion: Good mask that is comfy and give a great field of view and usually without fogging (even though I sweat like a race horse) Good product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dextro Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite nVADER Mask - Definitly not as good as the JT Proteus II Mask
Marker Setup: LCD Matrix
Medium length--Side WInder reg
Shocktech long Drop Forward
Black back plate
Black Trinity LPR
Shocktech Delrin Sleeve
Blaack Aardvark Bolt Kit
Strengths: - Slick look
- Very comfortable
- Cleans easily
Weaknesses: - Quality of lens
- Close profile
Review: This mask is a very, very wonderful mask. When I first got it, I immediately fell in love with it. The only competition right now with these goggles would be the Dye Invision and Dye i3 Invision 3 Mask. Now, time for the basics.

Best:
- These goggles are so slick looking that they look polished, shined, and then smoothed out. It has sort of the look that the Chameleon mask does, but not quite. If you keep these goggles, and when I say clean I mean you wash them after every session you get done playing, these will always look brand new.

Okay:
- The comfortability is simply amazing. The foam feels like a soft pillow going perfect around your eyes, nose, and temples. You will have no problem with these getting uncomfortable after pulling a superman dive into your favorite bunker.

- Another great thing about these are that you can just put them in soapy water and they will clean themselves almost. Since the mask is so smooth, as I said earlier, paint comes off very easily. After a long day of playing some XBall I just put these in a tub of warm water, rinse them down a little with some soap and its perfectly clean again.

Horrible:
- The lens on these are absolutely god awful in my opinion. They seem to scratch rather easy and can get very foggy, very easily. If you do buy these goggles, make sure you buy extra lens, you might think of this as a waste now...but you will thank me later.

- Sadly what puts this mask down is how close it is to your face. This mask is a super close profile and when you breathe, you feel the warmth of your breath on your mouth. This can sometimes make you lens foggy, but for the most part it didn't (for me atleast). Be aware of this for all you people with big heads ;).
Conclusion: I say buy this mask if you want something with slickness, good feeling, and easy to clean. However, if you want something where you don't feel your breath, or where the lens get scratched up easily... then avoid. Just buy maybe 2 extra lens, or even just 1, and you will be perfectly set.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 1st, 2006 at 3:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

asa4575 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
invision
pro-flex
flex-7
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5, palmer stabilizer(male), phyco ballistics 2X trigger
Strengths: light
small
COMFORTABLE
price
Weaknesses: the LENSES! they are hard to take out and put back in. WHY?!?!
Review: ive been using this mask for games for about four months and from what i have used it is the best of the JT line of masks. (though some may argue) i have to say the best thing about this mask is its comfort. this mask is very light and small. the foam inside this mask is very soft but durable. the flexi bottom part of the mask is the same as the one used in flex-7s but the area in which is used is small. though i have seen bounces and expierenced bounce with this part though it does hurt of course. this may not be a big deal but its a very nice looking mask and for what you pay for you get a very nice product.

the only real bad things with this mask are the lenses. its hell taking out these lenses and putting them back in. i use gloves for this because it hurts less. another thing is its size. it can be a good thing if you have a small head but if you have a long or big head your chin may stick out of the bottom. though this does not apply to me although some people dont like this.
Conclusion: if you want a small cheap mask for around 50-60 dollars this is a great product. but if you have a large head and detest the lenses of the JT masks look into a v-force morph or profiler.

but remember chicks dig the proteus II.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigballs Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy Raven masks, Flex 7, Nvision(over rated)
Marker Setup: BL Intimidator, Egg 2, Ultralite barrel
Strengths: Max protection around the face IF you play keeping your marker close.
Weaknesses: Rinse that lens down then the antifog is gone with the wind
Review: str: Awesome looks! FOV is awesome and the lens stands up to fog. MOST comfortable MASK I HAVE EVER USED. AWESOME protection around ears.

weakness: being a 2 peice type lens water can get in it. Little or no chin protection when shouting.
I love this mask, its way comfortable, super breathable and the game is so much funner when you dont have to worry about equiptment. I play lotsa night games and the moisture from the night air and from breathing and sweating can really do wonders to "fog resistant" lenses. The Proteus stood up to these nasty conditions and I was able to take advantage of this in my games were i knew my adversaries were foggin bad. I play tourney style Airball and you have no time to worry about fog or how your mask is buggin so do yourself a favor and put the money down and get yourself quality stuff. ITS FUNNER! Dont be cheap and PMI yer games your gonna end up with better stuff anyways.
Conclusion: Best mask I used and you can pick it up cheap online. You cant play if you cant see, so dont get called out on fog. Nvision is overated in my opinion and people are biast when they rate them high since its hard to see in them breath in them, and replacement gogs are a grip of cash! But if you like hype by all means then there the best HYPED gogs in the biz. But if you like game get a proteus!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

proteus sniper Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle (cheap $13 @ wal-mart) and JT USA, the other wal-mart $20 mask...
Marker Setup: I honsetly dont have 1 @ the moment, i sold it, but im prolly gonna get a 03' cocker vert feed,bever tail, and maybe N2 or Anti-syphon, or a M3 Bonz LCD
Strengths: GREAT, flexible, good-looking, name
Weaknesses: -NONE-
Review: I have the Proteus 1 mask but: This mask has worked great, I orderd from pbfantics, and it got here in 3 days, and then i wore it a little outside to te the fog resisitance-great- i trying depritley to fog it up and it wouldn't! My sister is 1 and she was eating, and her hands were wet w/ crums and water and sticky stuff, and and she touched my goggles! I quickly dashed over to the kithen and wiped it off VERY EASILY!
Conclusion: anti-fog works, good looking, flexible, easy to wipe off nasty stuff= I'd buy it, you WILL be satisfied!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbSamurai Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt nvader
Marker Setup: 2k2 blue vertical cocker, warped sportz dark series 14" aluminum black, dye swing trigger chrome
Strengths: LOW profile, kick ass style, does not fog unless humidity VERY high
Weaknesses: it fogged only once for me, vortex fan helped
Review: i LOVE my mask, it kicks so much ass. the foam is extremely comfortable. i got it in 3 days, great service. my steel blue mask looks SO sweet, also the 360 degrees rotating ear piece is pretty cool, however i always keep mine forward so i am not sure if it is significant unless you play speedball (im a woods ball player)
Conclusion: if you are looking for a VERY low profile mask that hardly ever fogs, this is the mask for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dikrezalb Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision3
JT Proflex 8
JT Spectra
E-Vents
Marker Setup: Racegun Blind Rage v06 with 14" Redz Pepper Stick, Macro Line, Halo TSA Frontman LCD/VL Evlution2, Nitro Duck 68/3000
Strengths: Weight
field of vision
price
Weaknesses: Coverage
Review: Alright, so i bought the proteus II after looking for a new mask for awhile. i looked at the i3, proflex, e-vent, and some other random jt masks. i played with my teammate's i3 and proflex, but i wasnt too impressed with either. the i3 is comfortable, but the field of vision on it is horrible. you cant see anything. the proflex is a good mask, but i didnt like the rubber chin protector. i ended up going out on a limb and just ordering the proteus II without having tested one out. i was impressed with the performance of the mask. it has a great field of vision, the lens doesnt fog (a problem i've always had with other masks), and the mask is constructed very well. there is one downfall to the proteus II, and that is that if you have a longer jaw, it may be partially exposed due to the short jawline of the proteus II. other than that, the mask is easy to clean and maintain, it's light, and it has a low profile. and if you shop around, you can find them dirt cheap. probably around $30 or so. which is a plus, considering the i3 and proflex are around $80.
Conclusion: Overall i think the proteus II is a great mask for the money. it's cheap, durable, and reliable. anyone who wants to upgrade their mask, but doesnt want to drop $100, the proteus II is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerking3 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other similar products to the JT Proteus Mask that I've used is the JT Inforcer. It's a good mask for someone that is just getting into paintball. I would definitely reccomend the Inforcer to anyone.
Marker Setup: I use an ICD B2K(pds). It's all stock. On it I have an Empire Reloader 2 Hopper & a Pure Energy 72cu. 3000psi. Aluminum Tank. And I occasionally use a 12in. black Freestyle barrel on it.
Strengths: It looks GREAT, amazingly comfortable, & a very good price.
Weaknesses: None that I can think of. =)
Review: Well...I have to say that the JT Proteus 2 is probably the best mask that I've ever owned. With its good looks, its price, & how comfortable it is; this mask can go far in your paintball experience. I would recommend this mask before any other masks to anyone. The JT Proteus Mask is by far the best mask on the market. =)
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend the JT Proteus Mask to anyone and everyone that I come in contact with, for days to come.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 14th, 2006 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

R_WD40 Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pro vantage
Radar
Elite
Shield
Marker Setup: fenix acs
12in teardrop barrel
jt proteusmask
pmi 72/3000
Strengths: Cheap
good fit
awesome design
Weaknesses: What are weaknesses
Review: Well i bought this mask on a labor day blowout because my mask was cracked so i had been borrowing one. When i finally got it the lens was so clear because all my old masks were beaten to death. When i first took it paintballing all my friends were like cool mask because my mask was the nicest looking.
Conclusion: Get this mask no questions and for 20 dollars you can't go wrong
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j.a.m. Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Some jt package mask
Marker Setup: Evil pimp
halo B
LP Crossfire 68/4500 tank
kila detents
Strengths: Doesn't fog
Small
Good Vision
Weaknesses: Doesn't fit too tight
No neck protection
Review: I like this mask so much more than my last one. My old one fogged so bad, that in several games, I had to call myself out because i couldn't even see. My main complaint with this thing, is that it doesn't fit my head too tightly, and when I adjust it, it works its way loose again.
Conclusion: Amazing mask, but has a few flaws.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media