paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Lonestar2222009 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Armor
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra:
ACS bolt,
brass hammer (custom made),
Evolution2 hopper,
kingman rocking trigger,
16 inch thunder pig barrel,
and paulmer pursuit regulator.
Strengths: Comfortable, light weight.
Weaknesses: Cover a small part of your head and neck
Review: This is a very nice mask it fits really nice and if you wear a hat backwards it's really comfortable (I need to wear the hat because it gives the mask alittle more to grab onto because my head is small). When i got this thing i got from a guy who was selling masks and he sold it to me for 40 bucks (plus a V-force armor) and the moment i put it on i knew this was the best mask i had ever worn. It's vision is good and you can get alot of different lenses for it. Also i let my friend borrow it because he didn't have a mask and he said it was comfortable even when he wore his glasses underneath.
Conclusion: All in all this is a excellent mask If you have the means of getting one get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbeast Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott green mask (cheap beginner stuff)
alot smaller and lighter but not nearly as confortable or reliable
Marker Setup: piranha eforce/ spyder imagine with a electronic viewloader 20 ounce co2 and drop forward with on/ off valve
Strengths: Very confortable, very afordable
Weaknesses: It's a little big and heave
Review: So basicly if u are an inermidiate or pro player this mask is perfect for you. It doesn't matter if you are playin scenario games or speedball, this mask will come in very handy, if u live in a hot region it will be great since most of them come with a stock fan on them that also helps from fogging as much, there is 4 models or protious to choose from, depending on what you like and what you are willing to pay for it. But well at last this is a great mask no matter at what level you are playing.
Conclusion: so if u need a new mask and dont feel like spending 90 bucks just go out and buy this one. I promess you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mickeyu422 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7, and cruddy JT that comes with the packages
Marker Setup: stock Xtra with otter's mods
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: UPS:
I have to say these are the best goggles out there and my friend agrees also. Me and my friend got 2 used of these from a guy at the field. They have an amazing field of vision. I don't think you can miss anything with these on. They never fog up if you have the thermal lenses. They are VERY comfortable ( I can even wear my glasses under them).

The mask is very durable and they are easy to clean and to take completely apart. The lens on mine have shown a bit of wear. I get shot if the head a lot but the paintballs usually bounce off. If they do break I advise not to get the colored lenses because it is hard to see the field unless it is a bright and sunny day just get the clear ones.

DOWNS:
Obviously these do fog up just like every other goggle system out there. If someone says their goggles don's fog then they are a liar or they don't breathe inside the mask. Not a lot of chin or jaw protection if you have a big face like my friend.
Conclusion: Get these. they are the best goggles out there and you can see so much. They are lightweight and strong but a little pricy as most things in paintball but I got mine used for $15 (great deal).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 13th, 2006 at 3:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

culley91 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
flatline barrel
collapsable stock
32 degree remote
e-grip rampage board
rufus dawg double trigger
truglo 25 mm red dot scope
dye sticky grip
nitro duck 90ci 4500psi
32 degree star fire bolt
ricochet R-5 sniper hopper
scepter 4000 launcher
UMS bipod
UMS tactical riser
UMS MK II R.I.S
QEV for cyclone feed
Strengths: Low profile, good field view,
Weaknesses: Didnt fit me, fogs up at first, not the easiest to take apart put toghether
Review: Not the best mask but it does it's job, protecting me. nice low profile, has a good field view not the best but good. it didnot fit me so i had to something to it and they say it is the easiest to take apart and put back together, NOT TRUE, it is kinda hard to put together
Conclusion: It's a mask and it's not the best and it's not the worst so i give it an eight
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Abz Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any high end mask
Marker Setup: Ion w/ Composite Roller Blade Trigger, Clamping Feed Neck, All American 14inch Barrel, Halo b w/ rip drive
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Light
Doesn't Muffle You Voice
Easy To Hear
Easy To Breath
Price
Weaknesses: Stock Lens Scratches Easy
Bad For Getting Neck Shots (not really a weakness)
Review: This mask is awsome. I was surpised the second i tried it on, i even like it better than my invision well with some things such as:

PROTEUS.....................................................
.........INVISION

pros: small.......................................................
.................smaller
awesome hearing..................................................goo
d hearing
doesnt muffle voice................................................doesnt muffle voice
cheap
The one thing that i like alot better than the invision is the ear piece things. I play back for my team and i can the the ear pieces forword to catch the sound waves better. That is the one thing that put the proteus ahead of the invision. Ether masks muffle your voice, i find that the invision is a bit better for this but very little. i love this mask and plan on getting my own very soon!!! And its ALOT cheaper than the invision, buy this mask if you dont have the money for an ivision or profiler!!!
Conclusion: Great Mask I Wish I Would Have Tried This Before I bought My Invision. This Is Not As Good As The Invision But Damb Close And Alot Cheaper. Buy This Mask!!! Even If You Have Just Started Dont Waste Money On A Crappy Mask That Will Only Last A Few Months. Im Only Giving This A 9 Because No Mask Is Perfect But This One Is Close!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 24th, 2005 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knightdetwiligh Thursday, October 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt x-fire
scott mask
Marker Setup: 2002 vertical feed WGP autococker
eclipse dart bolt
eclipse rex dialer kit
eclipse supercharger vavle
nexus ram w/ QEV's
orracle tickler lpr
ANS lp chamber
dye trigger frame w/ extreme rage roller trigger and sear
SP max flo 114/3000 nitro tank
egg hopper
Strengths: Small profile
Comes with vortex fan
Great looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't cover chin or neck
Tendancy to fog
Not comfortable
Poor ventilation
Over-priced
Review: Being a seasoned player, I'm always looking for a good mask. when I started playing, I was using a scott, but then upgraded to jt x-fire. While I liked both masks for their coverage and good field of vision, I needed something a bit better, so I did some shopping around, and found I liked the jt proteus. It was small, came with a fan, and looked awesome, so =I trusted JT and bought it. Though I didn't play with it right away, as it was the end of the season, I have played with it a great deal since I bought it.

I do have a large head, but it manages to cover everything, except if I open my mouth, then my entire neck is exposed, not that it isn't anyway. The so called audio enhancers on the mouth and ear area aren't all they are cracked up to be, they don't really help. The fit was kind of awkward, as the foam used isn't really all that soft, and the nose area just about clamped shut my nostrils, making it a bit hard to breathe, and on top of that the ventilation in the mask is horrible, when I took it off there was condensation in it( I have the clear and black one). With the stock lenses in it they fogged every half hour or so, depending on the game, my fan was always on and did not help for my stealth.

Conclusion: It's a okay mask. It is highly over priced for its preformance. I would recommend it if you are a young player with a smaller head with some money to buy thermal lenses, other than that, Jt offers better masks then this. Get a proflex, the pro's still use em for a reason.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 17th, 2005 at 2:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tsbpenguin Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Low end masks
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Double Trigger
Response Trigger
Egg 2 Hopper
16" Smart Parts Progressive Barrell
Strengths: Comfort, Visibillity, No Fog, Ball bounces
Weaknesses: Havn't found any
Review: First off, let me say i'm especially happy with these because i bought them off some rich @$$ who decided he "didn't want them" after he had paid $70 for them. Brand new, he sold them to $30 so i have no complaints at all.
Pro's:
1.) Comfort:
I have tried on many of my friends' masks, and i have yet to find a mask quite as comfortable. It fits nicely around your face without uncomfortable pressure points or pokey spots. Adjustable back elastic allows for differant head sizes.
2.)Visibillity:
The goggles in this mask are very wide and stretch to the sides of your face removing blind spots from both sides. Also (once the visor is removed) there arent any annoying plastic parts sticking out in the way to block the view. This gives you an advantage over most masks which can only see a fraction of the field.
3.)No Fog:
My friends and i decided to test the no fogging system on these goggles. All three of us started blowing our warm breath directly on the goggles and the goggles would fog up for about a fraction of a second and then clear up. This allows you to always have a view even during cold games while your breath is the warmest part of the mask.
4.)Ball Bounces:
These goggles have a nice little feature to them. The chin and side burns of this mask are made out of a flexible rubber instead of plastic. "What does this get you?" you might ask. Well believe it or not, it will bounce balls. I have been hit there many times now and have yet to have a ball break on that spot. Don't get me wrong, the balls will break on the plastic but i havn't broken one on chin or side burns. This is especially nice because this way you don't end up with a mouthfull of paint.
Conclusion: All in all, this is the best mask i have tried/seen yet. Price might be an issue for some people but since i got mine for $30 i'm happy. I don't know if it's quite worth $70 but if you can get it for like $55-$60 then it's an awesome mask and i would reccomend it to anyone, beginner to pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, standard package deal. Nothing special.
Strengths: Light, comfortable, easily adjustable, no fogging, very little smudging.
Weaknesses: Mouth/chin guard doesn't go down as far as I would like.
Review: I bought this mask after looking at some of the other reviews here and I must say that it was worth looking into because this is the best mask I have used thus far. Sure, I'm new at this and the only other mask I have ever worn is the one that came with my starter kit but this was an investment that was worth it. My other mask really pressed against the bridge of my nose and caused more discomfort then anything. This mask is roomy and comfortable to the full extent of the words. The padding around the goggles is nice and thick so it rests at a comfortable distance from your nose and mouth; no chewing on your mask while talking basically. Not to mention the mask itself is light and flexible, not made out of hard, stiff plastic like other masks. Some may think that's a bad thing but I feel it adds alot of needed comfort while still maintaining safety.
The goggles themselves are very nice, offering up a large viewing area that doesn't feel too narrow or squished in anyway. I didn't find myself snapping my head around to look for my target constantly and was able to focus. Even in the sun there wasn't a lot of glare for me even though everybody else I played with complained about severe glare. And they didn't smudge, just don't use your fingers to clean up that bit of paint spray. Use a glass cleaning cloth or something similiar and you are all set.
I noticed some people had issues with the ear pieces of the mask. While they are there for cosmetic look and don't actually offer up a headset or anything of that nature, I didn't have a problem with them pinching my ears while playing. It felt very comfortable and light over all and was well worth the price of what I paid.
Conclusion: Light and comfortable this mask has everything a person is looking for. It doesn't fog, even when breathing heavily and it doesn't hurt your vision at all. And it also gives you a bit more of an edge when dealing with glare compared to other masks. The best part for me was the fact my nose wasn't pinched by the mask, even when in a full run or diving for cover. Not to mention it comes with it's own carrying bag and is definately worth your money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duie06 Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Masks-Brass Eagle, etc
Marker Setup: '04 Prostock WGP Autococker
72/3000 Pure Energy HPA Tank
Evil Pipe Kit
Richochet Rhino Hopper

More soon
Strengths: Minimal Fogging
Small Profile
Decent Field of Vision
Weaknesses: Doesn't cover my chin
Review: While it may just be my enormous head, I don't think this mask goes down low enough. If I open my mouth, the mask doesn't even cover my whole mouth. The anti-fogging is decent, but not great. For most types of field it is satisfactory, but in the woods it fogs up pretty badly. Also, paint gets inside the mask fairly easily. Despite these problems, there are only a handful of masks that are better, so I can't speak too badly of it.
Conclusion: I don't recommend this very highly, but it's alright. I would suggest that you spend another $10-$20 and get something better.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redrum Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
32degrees standard mask (proteus makes it look like a cardboard box)
Dye Invision (Huge mask for people with huge heads)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline barrel, Dead On universal drop forward, double trigger
Strengths: Great protection from every angle
extremely comfortable

Weaknesses: A bit small if you have a huge head ( Im sure itll still fit)
Review: Im probably a bit biased but this is the best mask thier is, If you get a thermal one (wich i HIGHLY! recomend) itll never fog ever!!, you can hear stuff out of it that you couldnt hear out of any other mask, you can talk out of it better. and the peripheral vision is great, it can take all the punishment you can dish out and more. Overall this a really good mask if your in the market for one.
Conclusion: Its great and i said all this stuff up thier ^ so yeah.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media