paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Scott USA Hotshot Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Mask

Scott USA Hotshot Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Scott USA

Buy Scott USA Hotshot Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Scott USA Hotshot Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 101
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the perfect goggle system for the beginning player.
Product Availability 
The Scott USA Hotshot Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
hambone Monday, January 5th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None as of yet
Strengths: It was free with my Custom 98 power pack
Weaknesses: Fog, Uncomfortable, needed to be assembled, paint is hard to clean off
Review: This is going to be the first thing i replace. When i opened up the mask bag it was folded in half in 3 pieces, these things did not want to be straightened out and put together. Then I went out the the Field and played some ball in 40 degree weather and spent the whole time sneaking my goggles off to wipe the inside out due to fogging up(good thing i didn't either get caught and have to leave by the ref's or get popped in the eye by another player). Then I got popped in the goggles, pulled out my clean rag and proceeded to wipe for 5 minutes just so i could see again, I don't know if this is due to the paint we were using but everyone else had no problem wiping it off of their goggles. So i continued to play for the remainder of the day fogging smearing and worst of all I have what you would call "larger ears"......This mask ate them up....my ears hurt more at the end of the day than the point blank shot in the upsey daiseys i received from a very well timed 3 shot burst.....there are more comfortable masks out there

as for appearance this mask is pretty sharp looking if you are into that kind of thing. But dont expect to have any balls bounce off of the mask seeing how its pretty simple and not designed to help you edge by the rules by having a bounce.

coverage is also fairly good on this mask unless you have large ears such as i do..there also is not any coverage to the top of the head or to the back of the cheak bones. If you are looking for extreme coverage this mask is not for you and maybe you should concider an elite head shield instead

since this mask came with my marker i was not afforded the opportunity to try it out with a thermal lense, some people say its a good mask with a thermal lense but in my opinion why should i go out and spend money on something just to make it work the way it should....hince the fogging


Conclusion: this is a steady 5 in my opinion, if you can stand the fogging and the sheer uncomfortableness than get it but if you cant maybe you should look into a different mask or at a minimum a thermal lense.......one more positive is scott has been it the google business for many years so they know how to make a set of goggles but have on experience in anti fogging stock lenses
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 16th, 2004 at 11:01 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Jakeweeks Saturday, March 26th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Pro Vantage
Proto Switch EL
JT Proflex
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Stock Class
-Green/Silver Splash Anodizing
-Taso Grip
-Clear Acrylic Hardware
CCI bucket changer
11' barrel
Strengths: Good protection
Nice field of vision
Good foam work
Easy to clean
Lens
Cheap!
Weaknesses: Must be assembled
Hard ears - sometimes uncomfortable
No thermal lens (subjective)
Review: I've had this mask for a very long time and I rarely have trouble with it. It has EXCELLENT face coverage, paint is easy to clean, and it is comfortable to wear for long periods of time. Plus, it has that old-school look that I heartily approve of. The lens hardly fogs at all, no matter the temperature. It doesn't get too hot inside, either. The lens can be tough to remove, but it's a quick swap after you do it once. In addition, it's very well constructed, which isn't something you can say about all masks of this vintage. And best of all, this bucket of magnificence is available for a pittance.

There are some downsides, however. Some may scoff at the fact that you have to assemble it when you first get it, but I doubt that there are hardly any in the world today that remain unassembled. And it isn't like it's difficult to put together anyway. Secondly, the hard plastic ears are sometimes irritating when you raise your mask. Third, some people who like thermal lenses won't like the stock lens.

Conclusion: For this price point, this is one of the best masks around. However, I recommend boosting your budget and going for a Vforce Vantage or Pro Vantage instead. These are more comfortable to wear and easier to live with. This does come free with older Tippmann packages, so if you're planning on picking one up, or if you see one of these masks up for sale, I highly recommend you to pick one up.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 23rd, 2012 at 7:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beetleboy09 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tried my friends v-force armor and it is wonderful compared to this crap
Marker Setup: 98 custom with 1/16 of inch trigger pull mods.
Strengths: Is comfortable to wear.
Weaknesses: Fogs
Not available in different colors(camouflage would be nice)
Doesn't protect chin
Slides
Review: I recieved this mask with my 98 custom power pack and it is not good at all. I play woodsball so I want a green or camouflage mask, and this mask only comes in black. When I was playing one time I popped my head up from behind a log and the mask fell down and I got shot in the head a few inches from my temple and started to bleed. Let's just say that didn't tickle, the other guys on the field knew it didn't tickle because they heard me yelling out words that I can't say on this site. The fogging is a definate problem with this mask. And when you have it on it does not protect your chin very well.
Conclusion: Overall this is a mask that slides, fogs, doesn't protect chin, and doesn't come in different colors. I would definately not recommend this mask.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

urbanguerilla Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
unspecific java mask that came with frends spyder imagine select- absolutely terrible
Vforce Shield- tested- Much Better
Proto Switch F.S.- currently own- Much better
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98- 32* whisper barrel, x-chamber
32* PT Extreme Jr.
Strengths: Comes free with tippmann package
Does not fog... terribly
Could be less comfortable
Weaknesses: Comes warped and rubberbanded together
Fogs...occasionally
Could be more comfortable
difficult to clean
Review: This mask came with my Tippmann power package. Upon removing it from the box it was apart and folded over itself which caused it to be more than considerably warped.

The goggles were very comfortable alone.

I assembled the mask and tried it on only to find that the warping caused the mask to be roughly as comfortable as sticking your head into a mailbox with a nesting badger in it.

I disassembled the mask and reformed it by pouring boiling water over it and bending it back to its natural shape. After this process was done i reassembled the mask and strapped it on a large can of housepaint overnight to continue to stretch it out. (the things we do to save a few bucks)

After all this effort the mask was at last tolerably comfortable... It was still a bit tight on the cheekbones, but i played with it for a couple months anyhow.

I played in cold weather a few times and the mask does fog a bit but not terribly. Any fog is potentially dreadful though, so this is not going to be a sales pitch. however, i have seen much worse.(i never used fog wipes)

Lastly... this a very durable but also a very hard plastic mask. The goggles give you very good range of vision but cleaning paint off of them is very difficult and frustrating.

Conclusion: Hmmm... my jerry springer final thought

These goggles would likely have been much better if not for the boneheaded way they were packaged with my tippmann. Even so they have their obvious faults as mentioned in the review body.

It will not hurt a beginner to play with these for a short while. However, these should be demoted to back-up goggles when fiscally possible.

One of the first things I have learned as a new player is that if there is one thing besides a marker that you should never cut corners on it is your mask/goggles. Doing so can potentially ruin your whole playing experience.

However, these are not terrible. I kept mine and use them to lend to friends I am trying to get involved in this sport. I think they fill that niche perfectly.

Rating should be 5 or 6 because of the time i had to spend unwarping them... but i suppose that is tippmanns fault and not scotts so i gave them a 6.5 and rounded up to a charity 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 5th, 2004 at 2:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diablo balla Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first mask and i am upgrading today for sure
Marker Setup: diablo mongoose 2 led
proto 14 inch barrel 1-piece
plastic self lubricating bolt
evolution 3 view loader
Strengths: There really are no streangths of this item. it just sucks.
Weaknesses: Everything. Fogs up fast. Hard to clean...not strait.
Review: I got this mask the with the first gun i got. A tippmann 98 custom. about 2 years ago. I thaught it was all cool that it came in a package with a 9ounce co2 tank. Until i actually started playing more with my cousin did i realize that it was a crap setup. So i went out and got a 20 ounce co2 tank and sold my tippmann. saved up. and got a diablo mongoose 2. But i still had this mask that would fog up even when i was playing in 60 degree weather. and this thing takes a heck of a lot of patience to clean.And another thing was when i got it in the package....it was all bent up and would not straiten out for anything.
Conclusion: Dont buy this mask.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AngeredChild Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce, Dye, JT, and couple diffrent masks
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot with a 14 in barrel
Strengths: It protects you from going blind and getting shot in the face
Weaknesses: Fogs like crazy scratches easily hard to clean and hard to breath
Review: Well i bought this in a 98 custom package and so i went to go test out my gun that week end. the mask started to fog and i couldn't breath very well. the masked was so fogged that i walked to a another person not on my team and he shot me in the neck.
I got shot in my masked and i could clean it very well.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. Unless You cant afford something better
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maletor Sunday, July 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, JT Flex7
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, Expansion chamber, Double trigger, 14" Terminator barrel, Dead on Bolt, Direct Feed adaptor, Dead on rear velocity adjuster
Strengths: -Protect your chin
-Great forehead protection when wearing the visor
-Great thermal lenses
Weaknesses: -Paintballs have got me in the throat
-Strap does not fit when put through links
Review: This mask is a standard mask that has great thermal lenses. Although the paintball that snuck in by my throat really hurt it is nothing to really complain about that much. The goggle strap when put through the links on the back tends to fall down the back of my head so I have to wear the strap above the links. Anti fog is not entirely nessesary, but if used would be a great addition. The ear protection is vital is has saved me from many viscious hits while leaving my ears ringing though.
Conclusion: I would get the Dye Invision system pricy yes, but well worth every dime.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shiekahn_boy Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, i havn't had enough money to buy a new one. I have tried on a JT Proflex and i like the feel.
Marker Setup: Who cares? Is the player not the gun.
Strengths: 1. Very Durable
2. Free visor?
3. uh... havn't had any scratches yet.
Weaknesses: 1. Fogs like hell.
2. Difficult cleaning the lenses at times.

Review: More cons:
3. Hurts my cheek bones.
4. Hard plastic = easy busting
5. presses on your ears and if its a little loose it will slip off easy.
6. Had to adjust the band a few times.
7. Glasses don't mix with this mask.

Jeeze, this mask will give you hell in high humidity. I had to aim my breathing down so it wouldn't fog as bad. Its durable and i have to give it points for that, but its just flustrating. Ive been screwed over by fogging a whole lot and I suggest another mask. Don't go out and buy a too expensive mask. JT Flex masks are always good. You only buy dye and empire if you whant to show yourself off or if you have a sponsored team.
Conclusion: This mask isn't very good on vision and comfort. After awile it will bug the hell out of you with cleaning also. The most important thing is the mask and spending extra on a comfortable anti-fog mask is worth every penny. I give it a 4 because im generous. I really whant a different mask after playing awile with this mask
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

davidski Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Armor, Paper Bag, Speedo Goggles
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98. Teardrop barrel, 30 lbs of camo duct tape
Strengths: Its free with the tippmann 98 custom kit.
makes a great desk orniment or doorstop.
Weaknesses: packaging (3 pieces)
FOG
SAFETY!, pieces fall off if shot in face.
Review: Only good thing about this mask is it was free. but it really wasn't. Considering the marker by itself is 169.99 and i paid 199.99 for the kit, i seem to have this RIPPED OFF taste in my mouth. I would have felt better if Tippmann would have thrown a 20 oz instead of a 9 oz in the kit.

It fogs so bad, id rather get shot in the face bare then wear this into the field.

only time it doesn't fog is when i don't wear it.

another issue i have with this mask is that when you put the goggle strait flush against your face, 1/2 your ear is exposed. the foam is crap as well.

then there's SAFTEY. or there lack of.

the 1st time using this mask, i got shot in the grill. grill ripped off.. well half way. 2 pegs were still holding it on

when a few of my buddies got this setup, 2 of their masks wouldn't even assemble. meaning the posts would not lock into the plastic webbing.

after reading all these reviews, maybe Tippmann aught to figure out a better mask to put in the box.

VFORCE Armor? there's a cheap mask that rocks.
Conclusion: If you are JUST starting out and you get this gun package, SAVE YOUR$$$ and buy the gun separate, DO NTO GET THIS MASK.. there are ALOT of safety issues with this thing.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 2nd, 2005 at 1:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qwerty2003 Friday, April 18th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first mask I have used.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Victor
20oz Pure Energy Co2
Kingman 12" muzzle break barrel
Strengths: Strong, Non-Fog, breathable, looks good, overall good mask.
Weaknesses: First time I got shot with the mask I got a good taste of marbalizer.
Review: Overall good mask, were a hat wile playing, and also a neck protector can't hurt. Try to use some gloves wile playing because this mask tends to become loose and can sometimes be a hassle to readjust in the middle of the enemies territory. Other than the weak points it is a good mask.
Conclusion: Good mask, i got it for free and is worth the money if you want a quality mask from the people over at Scott.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media