paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Scott USA Hotshot Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Mask

Scott USA Hotshot Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Scott USA

Buy Scott USA Hotshot Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Scott USA Hotshot Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 101
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the perfect goggle system for the beginning player.
Product Availability 
The Scott USA Hotshot Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Yomama360 Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental masks. Covering eyes with hands.
Marker Setup: .68 Caliber Sling-Shot.
All wood custom frame.
Specialized high-elasticity rubberband.
Strengths: Came free with my Tippmann 98-C.
Hearing is not impaired that bad.
Weaknesses: Fogs like a mother.
Review: If you're like me and play in the woods in hot, humid climates, and you sweat like a pig-dog on top of that, you'll fog up like a bloated cat on a hot day.

That said, it's a descent mask to get out there and playing. The ventilation isn't so bad if you're moving around or assaulting and it clears out pretty fast when you're moving. Also, it seems like I've been able to hear stuff that team members next to me haven't. (But then again, maybe they're the problem.)
Conclusion: Not bad for a cheap mask.... Not super good either.

If it comes with your gun, and / or you just need a cheap mask to get you on the field and playing, it's not a bad mask at all. Otherwise, save up for something better if you know you will be playing a lot.

5 out of 10 (5 is average, right?) It's pretty-much what you'd expect for the price.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 9th, 2004 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Santaclaus Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT proflex
Marker Setup: The Indestructable Tippmann 98 Custom With 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Firmly built, and it protects your face better than a pair of shooting glasses. hehehe
Weaknesses: IT FOGS LIKE NO OTHER. And sight is the most important sense of all 5.
Review: I bought my Tippmann 98 Custom Power Pack 2 years ago. Wow what a great deal! a outstanding Tippmann 98 Custom, 9 oz tank, butt plate, etc. etc. and scott mask. NOt a Scott Hotshot mask. Just a Scott mask.
Anywho', Day one of paintball. I used the mask, it worked perfectly except for fog filliing the lenses. I live in Michigan, it's humid here in the summer resulting in fogging. I decided "Oh well maybe it was just extra humid today causing everyone's mask to fog." No luck. Next game I still had no luck. For fun I bought a camo cover for my head that could cover my mask. In less than 2 minutes into the game ( yes I timed it ) I could not see 15 feet out in front of me. My friend I had shot out was standing in the middle with his gun laying on the ground. Since fog renders visionk, I began shooting at him. When he started yelling I got the point it was the wrong person.
"Dude that's not me" said my other friend ( on the opposite team ) only 20 feet off to my in front of me and a little to the right in a bunker standing there with a smile. Well, normally I can spot any of them easily because I keep track of where everyone is in the game. But Fog ( say it with me kids ) "Renders your vision".
Conclusion: If you don't live in a humid area oh such as a desert, and aren't good enough to upgrade to a better mask. That's fine for you. Yet people in humid, wet, sticky ( Yes Florida that's you ) areas should definitely buy a better mask. I've read that the JT Proflex is an excellent mask and not too expensive. In Conclusion the "Hotshot" for me just wasn't so "Hot". Yet better protection than shooting glasses.

And Yes. I'm real. MWAHAHAHAHA
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

swartz_o_rama Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt masks
Marker Setup: tippmann 98custom w/flatline barrel
Strengths: Protects your face
Weaknesses: fogs
hard to clean
Review: when i first got this mask it was in the tippmann power pack with my 98 custom it came in three pieces and was kinda hard to assemble the first time i played with it it was sort uncofortable but i adjusted it and it was alright With my experience using this mask it fog in cold weather and when its hot hot and your sweating when you get hit in the face the paint is hard to clean off and the lens are blury if you get paint on them
Conclusion: i would get a better mask if i had the money
dont buy this mask unless there is no way you cant get another one
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dego Whop Friday, December 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
All the other masks I used before this one fogged like crazy.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14in. 32 degrees terminator barrel
Strengths: No Fog, comfortable, visor, and good protection
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: This mask is very good. It came with a package with my 98c for very little. my biggest concern about the mask was is it going to fog up on me. This was a concern because when I would play with my friends masks they would fog up so much I could hardly see my marker in front of me. That would just ruin the day. So right when I recieved the mask I put it on and started to breath as heavily as I could. I did this for a while and they didn't fog. When I used them in the field they didn't fog either. They provide good protection and are comfortable. Some people say they don't look very good but remember it's function over fashion, and you will look a lot cooler then those kids with their stylish masks after you light them up.
Conclusion: I do recomend this mask to anyone who wants a mask that doesn't fog up. You can find it with many package deals, thats how I got mine. This mask wont disapoint you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paully Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE (I've used a BE mask that came with a Stingray II Ice kit, but it doesn't come close.)
Marker Setup: Black Dragun LED
20 oz. Pure Energy Co2 Tank
Pure Energy Expansion Chamber
BE 200 rnd hopper
Strengths: Paint comes off real easy
Fits nicely after you adjust it
Got mine for $35
Weaknesses: Sometimes comes loose
That's it!
Review: This mask is a great mask. If you want a cheap, reliable mask, buy this one. But, be sure you remember to tighten it or else it might fall off in a game and then you'd be screwed. This mask is a nice, high quality mask. After buying this mask, I know where they get the expression "Get more for your money".
Conclusion: This mask is awesome. It is durable, cheap (Not in a bad way), and reliable. As for the rating, I'm giving it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bloodymary Friday, April 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
some really crappy brass eagles
Marker Setup: well my mask is stock
Strengths: Hard
Good Protection
Looks good
Fits great with a hat
cheap
Weaknesses: doesnt fit good without a big hat and leaves some neck open
Review:
these goggles surprised me, I didnt expect it to be as good as it was. Right when you buy it it comes in three parts and is really easy to put together then you look at it and think hey that looks cool. So you put it on your head and it feels kinda akward and loose. No prob just go get a hat ok prob solved. Bring it outside and shoot it point blank with a paintball. good it didnt break(the goggles). cleaning it is a little harder. so you decide to use it on the field. You dont get hit in the neck because it protects a lot of it and it doesnt fog up that bad at all mostly because of all the ventalation. so in the end your happy
Conclusion: I decided to get this for my first mask and i stick with my decision.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holmzinator Sunday, November 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme rage 20/20 goggles - uncomfortable pinched ears and really bad fogging
proto - fogging discomfort
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 16" Smart Parts Progressive
Tippmann 68 Carbine with 16" 32 Degrees Night Stick
Coiled Remote line with Quick disconnect
Pure Energy 72 cu/in 3000 psi nitro tank
3 Pure Energy 20 oz CO2 tanks
Strengths: -Inexpensive
-Easy to clean
-Great for beginers
-Removable Visor
-Comfortable
-Does not fog bad
Weaknesses: -Hard to wear (Only because I have weird shaped head)
Fixed By wearing backwards hat
Review: I think this mask looks nice and after using the extreme rage goggles this mask is great. Only minor fogging when worn correctly (found out hard way) and the only problems i have with it is that the strap slides down but that is because of my head shape and pinches my ear when i play with a headphone in. the worst it fogged is when i wore a headband and broke the seal letting in sweat. also when playing sniper for long time w/out movement like 45 min.
Conclusion: I like this mask so much i had bought a second one. Also for the price i paid $30 and $20 cant get much better. thermal lense is also great for owning for 3 years just now replacing lense. Lastly very easy disasemble for cleaning.
I give it a 9 because nothing is perfet and it could always be better
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MaD_pb Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Masks
Marker Setup: Way too many to list
Strengths: Price, good visibility, light
Weaknesses: Hard, overly vented (eat paint occasionally), limited neck protection
Review: I've used a lot of masks. I've owned several of these. Honestly, they're one of my favorite masks in the price range (I got mine for about $20 on sale).

Most of the reviews have slammed this mask. If you look closely, most of the low ratings are from folks who got theirs in a Tippmann power pack. Realize, if you get a mask in a kit it there are differences. For one, if you buy a mask off the shelf it generally comes pre-assembled. Also, in the kit they use a single lens. All single lenses fog up. It doesn't make the mask bad, it just means you have a crappy lens. A lot of JT masks also had single lenses. The ones I got had the *thermal* lens.

The mask is comfortable for me. Good strap placement, comfortable foam, good visibility. I do agree that it has limited neck protection but low profile masks do.

The main drawbacks of this mask are:
- The large vent holes by your mouth (I've eaten paint)
- The entire thing is a hard shell. Paint will break on it. Flex's are better for this, especially in the chin section
- Limited neck protection
- Make sure you get one with the THERMAL LENS
- If you get it in a kit, some assembly may be required
Conclusion: If you get the non thermal version in a kit, just keep it as a backup. If you find the thermal version for under $25 it's worth the price IMHO.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chukklez Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Headshield
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Rex M2 autococker, VL 200rnd hopper, 9, 16, and 20 oz. CO2
Strengths: Kind of cool looking
Weaknesses: Fog
Fog
Fog
Fog
Fog........fog
Paint won't come off lense
Strap sucks
Review: I'll keep this short. I got this mask free with my tippmann 98 powerpack a few years back. It is a decent mask and it does it's job, but it fogs like there's no tomorrow. The strap on mine is all worn out and can't be tight anymore. I got gogged a few times and have cleaned the crap out of them and still can't get all the paint off.
Conclusion: In closing, do NOT get these. If you get them in a package, whatever, cool, but if you have a choice, just don't. You'll be wasting your money.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tysmash Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only one i've used.
Marker Setup: 98 custom with dye boomstick 18"
Strengths: It protects your face.
Weaknesses: Big, easily fogs up, hard to clean, hard to assemble.
Review: This mask is the only one i've used but it is not good at all. It fogs up very easily. I use anti-fog spray and it still fogs up sometimes. It came with my tippmann 98 custom power pack. It came in three pieces and was very hard to assemble. It is also very hard to clean.
Conclusion: Don't buy this unless it comes with your marker. Ill give it a one because it didn't break when i got shot in the mask.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media