paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo TSA LED / Odyssey Halo TSA LED / Odyssey Halo TSA LED

Odyssey Halo TSA LED Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo TSA LED

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo TSA LED
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 102
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $68

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound activated hopper.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo TSA LED is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Big J Thursday, December 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200 gravity hopper. It doesn't compare, I mean, a gravity feed, versus an electro? Duh.
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder Rodeo, w/ Halo T.S.A. led Frontman hopper.
Strengths: Fast, very fast, I like the sound activation, and the power push button
Weaknesses: I have a couple, but you can read em in the review.
Review: I just want to say thanks to all the guys who have written reviews on this hopper. Because of what you have said about this hopper, I believe that I have finally found a hopper to invest in. I've been looking up info on hoppers for a while now, like the revs, and the Evo 2, and a bunch of others. I'm just glad that I found a website like this to do research on before I spend money. Thanks guys!


I will finish this review when I get my Halo T.S.A..

UPDATE>>>>>>

I got my Halo for Christmas, which was a surprise in the first place because I was going to buy it myself. Anyway, I got out to the field and set my gun up, the hopper was doing a great job so far keeping up with the gun. But it showed it's true might out on the playing field. I took it out and shot my entire hopper of paint in less than 5 minutes, (which is fast for me, because I like to save paint) but I was getting good shots and taking them. It kept up with my gun every step of the way, and took a nasty hit to the side during one game, but just kept on punching. After I was done playing, one of my team-mates asked to use my Halo on his Icon Electric, he took it out and set his gun to full auto, I didn't get to see that game, but from the way he was talking when he got back, it did just fine. He said, and I quote "I'm keeping this thing!!"

Weaknesses, (and a fix for one of em!)
The slick plastic. When I put it in my adapter it was easy to bump it and move it from side to side. SO!! Me, in my infinite wisdom (yeah right!) put some medical tape on the feed neck, it kept the hopper from moving for the rest of the day, and I was in my happy place. (Other tapes will work too, I guess, unless it's scotch tape.)

The lid. I'm not sure if will hold up for very long, it looks a little flimsy. But it's held up for me so far.

If I have any other problems with this hopper, I'll update this review to include them.
Conclusion: I recommend this hopper to anyone, unless they have a wicked fast gun, then I would suggest a Halo B. But this is a good hopper for people with fast semi autos like me, it's performed well so far, I expect it to continue to serve for a good while.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 14th, 2005 at 2:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbsniper2 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
revy
vl egg2
Marker Setup: 2003 BKO Vaporized, "16 AA, 68 ci 3000 psi PMI, Empire reloader
Strengths: fast, holds over 200 rounds, its a halo
Weaknesses: takes 2 9V batteries, weak feed neck, only comes in clear
Review: I bought this loader because I needed something to keep up with my BKO for MMG 2003. the good things I noticed are that there was always a ball in the chamber no matter how fast I walked the trigger. theres a button with a green light so you know when you hopper is on and the paddle feeds both ways. the only major complaint is that the shells aren't made very well, I was worried when I first got it and now I know why. The shell is looks and feels like cheap plastic. After emptying my hopper I went back to reload and the set the gun with a full hopper of paint down to finish getting ready to go back go and when I picked my gun up it seem really light, to my surprise the feed neck had broken in half. To fix that probelm I just sanded it down untill it was even and it worked out ok because my hopper is closer to my gun.
Conclusion: This is a good hopper, but unless ur all about halo or find a good deal on one then I would say go with an Empire reload or a revy they seem to be better made.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Montypup Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revvy, empire reloader, vl200
Marker Setup: Blue to black Gen-x 3, centerflag 68/3000, system x drop, wgp hinge, blue 14" pmi razzor barrel, halo tsa backman lcd, ans derlin bolt kit
Strengths: tilt sensor, sound activation, adjustability, good neck
Weaknesses: shell gets dirty easily, can be picky when in auto setting mode
Review: This is a mediocre hopper. it's got the sound and tilt activation. this means that it agitates every shot and it detects which way you are tilted and it turns the other way. this is great for leaning around bunkers. the backman version also holds 220 balls. this is great for those longer rec games. and the lcd version adds a shot counter, a timer, and a bunch of stuff you can adjust to match your gun.

Update: After having this hopper for about a month I took a glancing blow to the back of the hopper. It barley hit it and the lcd screen shattered and it ceased to function unless i tapped the power button every few seconds to get it to manually spin. This has caused me to lower my rating. The lid also came flying off when i got hit.
Conclusion: this is a decent hopper when it doesn't get hit. not worth the money. but it does have everything but force feeding.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 29th, 2003 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

raven_paintball Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
rev., egg, halo B
Marker Setup: vision Impulse with low rize , eclipse lpc , eclipse blade trigger , eclipse detents new designs drop forward and a halo tsa.
Strengths: looks cool, bitt faster than a rev.
Weaknesses: weak shell. not that fast.
Review: the tsa is an ok spead for blow backs and cockers. but it has a veary weak shell the first time i put it on my gun the neck cracked in 3 places. ther is no spring in the lid (bad for using pods) . the halo stickers came off rite away. the only good things about it is the tilt sensing and the 230 ball capacity . over all i would rather have a rev with an x-board and 6 blade impeller.
Conclusion: don't buy this hoper it smarter to get an egg or rev with x-board and 6 blade. the neck is very weak and brittle. if you get one don't drop it or it'll by in 5 pices!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

andreiturchyn Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg, VL, etc...
Marker Setup: Tricked Out 03 Black Magic, Dye Boomstick TI, Nitro...
Strengths: It's hard for me to say the product has a strength when its inoperable.
Weaknesses: Odyssey’s lack of product support (brad new item).
Review: Here is my issue. I picked up a brand new HALO TSA LED. I pop some batteries in it, throw in some paint and hit the cron and I can’t get my gun to fire consistently! I thought the timing on my cocker was way off (odd), so I re-timed it, put the hopper back on, same thing. As this point I’m confused. I put the hopper on a Pro/Carb, Timmy, and Brass Eagle pump gun. Same thing! The TSA never spins. The light is on (and blinks as it should), and I’ve tried three sets of batteries but nothing. I called Tech Support. After about 15 calls to their “automated system” I finaly get a real live person! The guy was no help at all. Maybe if the guy said “uuuuhhhhh” one more time maybe it would have been helpful (sarcasm). Tech support said to ship it in to them (Texas) at my cost, they would either fix it or send me a new hopper. They refused to play shipping or arrange an exchange with a local store (it might cost them *gasp* money to do that). Before this is over this brand new HALO TSA LED is going to cost me well over the retail price. This is the last odyssey product I’ll buy. I understand that defects happen. However, fix them and fix them at the manufactures cost, not the consumers. The only thing I’ve done wrong is buy what should have been a nice product from a lousy company. Steer clear of Odyssey. If you have any kind of problem and have to deal with support, I wish you better luck that I’ve had.
Conclusion: What might have been a decent product is overshadowed by extremely poor support. Pick another brand.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Thomas.s Wednesday, September 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
HALO B
Marker Setup: spyder kingman rs stock
smart parts sp-1 car stock, cp 21 inch barrel, BT fashligh lasersight
98 custom
Strengths: VERY CHEAP
board
magnic lid
Weaknesses: Feed weak
Lots of screws
Hard to clean
Hard flap wheel
Review: Nice hopper work well with no problems for over 3 years about mainly in the bush but then i brought it to a tournment and had to clean it and got a little bit of water on panel and it started smoking and the tech sayed it was done. Anouther big flaw in the disighn the hard flap wheel it breaks paint if to tight packed and hard to clean out so many screws. And the last big flaw the feed is very weak starts to ware on the plastic making loose and chiped. But in the end for the beginning player great hopper
Conclusion: Good for beginning player for woodsball electric markers
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skydiver_42 Monday, June 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shake-n-Bakes-- Yea, they compare with anything really... :)
Thats about it, except for a Empire Reloader B i used once (amazing)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
16" Progressive Barrel
QEV kit
48 3000 HPA by Pure Energy
Halo TSA LED
Strengths: Price
Dependability (see review)
A decent starter loader.
Weaknesses: SLOW
Not a pretty loader
OBSOLETE (since it's OLD as dirt)
Review: A long time ago (ok, about a year ago), i was searching the internet for a decent Ion package. I saw one that included 3 ups for the Ion ( Trigger, Feedneck, and QEV), a 48 3000 HPA tank, and this loader. Needless to say, I bought it.
While most of the ups we're useless (the "locking feedneck" came without a lock, and the trigger didnt quite hit the solenoid switch, no matter how we adjusted it--- never buy from pntball.com :P), I was pleased with the performance of the Ion (go Smart Parts) and this loader. That was a year ago...

Ok, since we got the story out of the way, let's get down to the review:

PROS-

Price- Even though I got this as a package deal, you can get one for about $40 new, so great price.

Dependability- TSA stands for Tilt Sound Activated. Basically, the paddle spins when your marker goes "bang" every time, although i think it would have trouble with more high end markers (like the Mini).

For players that are just getting used to this whole "walking" business, this is a great loader to use for them.

CONS-

SLOW- This became more apparent to me as my trigger speed started to get faster. Often times (I'm still pretty slow- i average 8-10 bps), the marker stopped firing in the middle of the match. At first, I thought something was wrong with the Ion. Then i realized the loader was failing to feed at these speeds. Kind of a bummer, because this loader is suposed to feed 13 bps, acvcording to Oddessy.

It's kinda ugly looking, although that's a personal preference sort of thing.

OBSOLETE- I will not tell you how many times people have told me "Damn, that's an OLD Halo." All I say is that I agree with them now.
Conclusion: Although a decent starter hopper (and a GREAT loader for you pumpers out there... nah, just kidding), the newness will wear off FAST. When that happens, switch to the next best thing, the Halo B (That's what I'll be getting ASAP).

I give this a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slgfreak Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a proto SLG with a JJ 17.5 inch barrel with an adapter
Strengths: Holds lots of paint, sturdy, inexpensive, good for a beginner.
Weaknesses: It has a fairly loud motor and its easy to smudge
Review: Overall my i think that this halo is a good choice if your just getting started because its inexpensive and easy to dissemble and clean.It is easy to get rid of a lot of paint if you have a fast gun. The only thing I would try to change is to try to get a quieter motor to it.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that its a good, sturdy hopper. and its easy to handle.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rumbleb08 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Halo TSA LED
Imagine E-trigger
Empire Twister Barrel
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech metal feed neck
Strengths: It's a Halo
Clear Shell
Sound-activation
Weaknesses: Noisy
Review: I got this loader because I had gotten an e-trigger and needed something to keep up. I shopped around and this was the fastest thing for the money. At first I was shooting kind of slow and it was perfect, it kept up great, but now that I can rip faster I seem to be outshooting it. I was showing my gun to a family friend one night and noticed my gun would shoot nothing but air every now and then.

As for the noise, that agitator can easily give off your position if you are trying to sneak around. It is loud! And the sound activation will go off for something small like closing the lid or shaking the loader.

The tilt activation seems to help, but once you start to outshoot it, what's the difference?

My e-trigger is only rated for 14 bps, and I seem to be outshooting it when it is rated for up to 15. Either someone lied to me about the firing rate or someone lied to me about the feed rate.
Conclusion: For the money, it does most of what it says it will do. It is faster than a Wal-Mart loader, slower than a Halo B. If you're short on cash, or have a marker that shoots <15 bps, it works. It gets a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cookiex213 Thursday, August 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader 12v
etc
Marker Setup: 2006 Smart Parts Ion
All-american barrel
cp razor drop
cp ASA on/off
68/4500 dye throttle
nxe dynasty cover
Strengths: the TSA
holds 200+ paintballs
magnet lid
fits almost any feedneck
Weaknesses: Big profile
Review: hmm well i bought this hopper this summer because it was on sale for 40 bucks and i needed a hopper ASAP. It runs on 2 9v batteries. To turn on press the button and the agitator will spin. To turn off hold the button until the LED light turns red.

When i took this hopper to the paintball park, i shot 2000 rounds out of it and no chops. Was really reliable because it holds a lot of paintballs. But the negative thing is that it gets fingerprints and smudges really easily.

overall this hopper is good for a good price.
Buy it :]
Conclusion: i recommend this product to people who are thinking of getting a 40-50 dollar hopper. This beats the viewloaders and it is a great hopper that can keep up with all spyders and the ion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media