paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey Halo TSA LED / Odyssey Halo TSA LED / Odyssey Halo TSA LED

Odyssey Halo TSA LED Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey Halo TSA LED

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey Halo TSA LED
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 102
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $68

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound activated hopper.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey Halo TSA LED is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Ctrl-S Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: Dependable.
Tilt-sensor.
Nice looks.
Weaknesses: Can't easily tell when power is on.
Lid opens too easily.
Review: The lid to this hopper is pretty standard, but it's not a very tight-sealing lid. Just be careful that you don't brush it against anything the wrong direction, it opens fairly easily. Don't worry though, normal sliding and diving won't open it; but brush it the wrong way against an air bunker or your belt, and it might come open.

The hopper takes two(2) 9-volt batteries.

To power on the unit, press the power button. It's the only button there, so you won't get confused. The hopper immediately agitates once in each direction.

While the hopper is on, its green light will occasionally blink.

When you fire, it agitates. It will also agitate if you smack it against a rock, or do anything else that could be mistaken for the sound of a marker firing. I have not seen it agitate when others were firing around me. At least not yet.

The tilt sensor works as advertised. Depending on which side it is tilting towards, it will agitate in a direction so it pulls the balls from the lowest side up to the drop hole. Impressive.

To power off the unit, press and hold the power button for about 1 second. The red light will illuminate and the hopper will agitate once in each direction, and then power off.
Conclusion: I recommend this hopper to almost anyone looking for a motorized hopper. Dependable, smart-looking, and tilt-sensing. So effective, you'll stop thinking about your hopper.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IlikePie Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: The counter-spin. if u lean right the paddle will spin left and vice versa.
Weaknesses: none really, only that the halo stickers were kinda coming off but its nt important
Review: When i shot this i was amazed! big big differenc form a non electronic hopper. it kept up very well with my trigger and i was shooting pretty fast. it feeds at a nice speed of 14 bps! i did not out shoot it but it did not under feed me if u could call it that and it fits nice and snug into elbow. also its pretty sturdy.
Conclusion: definitely a buy. it feeds a t a good rate 14bps and it looks great. its a better buy than the richochet AK. there roughly the smae price but the TSA feeds faster and it holds more balls! \
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 1st, 2004 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rippntblbackman Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: evil omen
stock barrel
halo tsa backman
lapco clamping feed neck
p-e 72 c.i. 3000 psi air tank
dead on pro 2 drop
Strengths: fast
holds a lot
looks cool
price
Weaknesses: big
a little tall
Review: this is a great hopper. it is not a force feed hopper. i have the backman led in smoke and it is awesome. i need bigger pods to fill it. it is a bit loud but i dont notice it. the main weakness is that it is big but it is has a small front surface area so its not like its an easy target. also that doesnt bother me as much and i play beck so i need the extra shots. this hopper holds a lot. also its only $60
Conclusion: i would recommend this hopper unless you are playing very serious tournaments because it is kinda big.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilChild Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just a normal hopper.
Strengths: Isn't to loud because it only spins when you shoot.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This hopper will help you keep up with your marker if you have a fast one like my Omen or something like that. It is not really to expensive. You can get one that holds 180 balls or 225 balls. The 180 is a frontman and the 225 is a backman. This is just a very nice hopper for a very fast marker.
Conclusion: It is just great and not to expensive.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justinhalo Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200, revvy
Marker Setup: Red 2k3 Vertical Autococker
-red 14" 2002 all american barrel
-red flame dropforward
-black Halo TSA backman
Strengths: looks great
feeds 14
tilt sensing
holds alot more than most hoppers
Weaknesses: it gets marked up with finger prints....not too noticable...easy to clean
Review: well i got this hopper about 4 months ago......ive put ALOT of paint through it and played around with it...making it spin and stuff and the batteries still have lots of life left...this thing can keep up to mech cockers(even upgraded)...all spyder frames and such.....holds 230 balls with out being too full...the BIG ONE is the tilt sensing....if your hopper is tilted to the right the blade will spin counter-clockwise...when the hopper is tilted left the blade will spin clockwise...it has a clear lid so u can see your paint...u can see alot actually through it...i dont like clear hoppers lol...this hopper is not as plain looking as a revvy or reloader so its got a very nice look to it...turns a few heads....this is a fine hopper and i would recommend this to all u guys needing an agitating hopper...this is the number 1 choice
Conclusion: well....get this if u need an electric hopper...its the best of the agitating and feeds quicker than most with many extra features especially the LCD version....very sexy and fast loader...ill give it a nine cause its aint perfect....nothing is
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SQUID_warrior Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
HALO TSA LED version
Evil Intimidator Bolt
Pure Energy 68/3000 nitro tank
14" Smart Parts Teardrop barrel
Dragun The One Kit:
*Drop forward
*Dragunfly Regulator
*Vertical adaptor w/ LPC and Guage
*Air ram assembly and solenoid
*High-flow valve
*M92 Electronic Trigger Frame w/ 50g IS microswitch
Strengths: High-capacity, tilt-feature, sound-activated, tough construction
Weaknesses: No adjustability on the LED version
Review: I've had my TSA for about a month and it has to be one of the best upgrades I got for my marker. Even though my trigger can easily outshoot this hopper, my finger can't and the HALO keeps up with me all day long! I've put over 3000 rounds through this thing and have yet to chop a ball. The tilt-feature is awsome! keeps those balls feeding when you're leaning around a tight bunker to get a clear shot! And I think sound-activated hoppers are the best, hands down, for non force-feed loaders. Motor spins on every shot, so you never have to worry about jams.

The only caveat I have with this hopper is that the LED version is much more limited than the LCD flavor. The LCD gives you a game timer, shot counter, control over the motor speed and duration, power-down delay time, sound sensitivity, and battery level check. With the LED you get on and off. But the reason I got the LED was I was wary about that LCD screen getting smashed by a paintball. No worries with the LED as there is only the LED, a button, and a thick piece of plastic. I get about 2-3 hopper hits per game, and the HALO keeps on spinnin'
Conclusion: Get this hopper if you want a non force-feed loader that is sound activated. I'm giving it a 10 despite its faults because I feel it does exactly what it was meant to do, and does it with style.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 12:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AnalogPanther Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed hopper
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine (Black)
Check-it 15* Assault Block (Black)
Black Magic Reg (Chrome)
Maddman Rocket Valve
Maddman Spring Kit
soon to have Spudnuk'l LP Bolt and Dark Horizons Striker
Strengths: Fast feeding, tilt and sound activation, 220 ball capacity (Backman)
Weaknesses: clear only.
Review: This hopper has no problems keeping up with my Imagine, whether its me pulling the trigger or set to fully automatic. I like that it spins the paddle in different directions according to the tilt of the hopper, always pushing the balls towards the feed tube. The only weak spot I have on this one is that it comes in clear only (or did when I bought it). But that can be fixed with some good plastic paint.
Conclusion: I recommend this hopper for anyone not needing a fast hopper like the Eggy2 and Halo-B. The cost is on par with other in its competition, and it holds more balls then most of them. I gave it a 9 due to the lack of colour choices (at the time), but really should be a 9.5+. Excellent hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 11th, 2004 at 8:07 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

miotch Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL2000
VL3000
Evolution2
Marker Setup: FireBall Mountain 2k2 Gothic Cocker body
PGI FIRESTORM electro conversion kit
Toxic Toys Venom expansion chamber
Strengths: reliable.
the tilt sensor is great for leaning out of bunkers.
Weaknesses: my halo stickers came off 5 minutes out of the box!!
Review: I cant say anything bad about the operation of my Halo TSA LED, ecept that the stickers came off a few min after i took it out of the box.
i had to reapply them later with some RTV silicone

The loader keeps up with my cocker, i average about 10bps with it.

Halo TSA didnt perfom well at all when i mounted it on a warp-feed/rainmaker (just for testing/fun. Rainmakers are pretty loud, and the noise still didnt activate the TSA..Until i popped open the loader lid.




Conclusion: Over all i think the TSA LED is a bit over priced, but the tilt technology is handy when needed, and the sound activation is (in most cases) as reliable as the old eye technology most other loaders use.(except when on a warp feed hehe)
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigfootimp Tuesday, February 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
HaloB- Much faster feeding than TSA
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse with tapeworm, voodoo delron bolt, high volume end cap, nitro duck tuff skin 4500 with built on reg., cricket board, eclipse magnetic blade trigger
Strengths: TSA backman holds 210 balls.
Sound activation helps to save batteries.
Tilt sensor works well.
Weaknesses: Slow feeding rate
Review: Generally speaking I bought this hopper because I needed something to practice with on my impulse when I first got it. (I was switching from a tippmann a-5). At first the hopper did well but as i adjusted to my imp. I ended up out shooting the hopper by the end of the first day of use. According to the box, the hopper is rated at 14 bps. I find that this measurement is inaccurate and the hopper feeds somewhere closer to 10 bps at the fastest. The sound activation does help to save on the batteries but I think that this is the reason for the slower feeding rate. Another good thing for back players is that it does hold more paint that the Halo B or the Evo. II. It is also lighter than the Halo B. The tilt sensor works very well. All in all I find that the hopper is ok for use but like most backmen the team asks me to lay down alot of paint and it is close to impossible for me to do it without chopping a ball. I have also found that when doing three shot bursts the hopper will cause me to chop consistantly on the third shot.
Conclusion: If you you don't shoot very fast the hopper is a good one but due to the fact that it is called the backman and can't keep up with the rate of fire that I see most backmen using, I can't rate it very much higher than 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ecks Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
regular hopper
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash LCD, CP 14" one piece, Halo TSA, 3A 68 4500 tank.
Strengths: Fast
quite
holds lots of balls
lots of features-lcd
Weaknesses: pretty big-long
weak feed neck
stickers came off
Review: I bought this because i was tired of shaking my gun to get balls to feed into my gun. It was definitely worth it. No more shaking and no more not having a ball when i need it most. This hopper keeps up just fine with my flash, which shoots 14bps at best, and isn't louder than the firing of my gun so no one notices the noise. There are alot of features, most of which you will never use or know what to do with, but its nice that they are there. However, when i first got it the stickers where peeled off a little, and eventually i just took them off because they would not stay down, no biggy but kinda says it is cheap if the stickers cant even stay on. Also, my feed neck cracked a little when trying to put it on, but that was my fault, it looked like it would fit right over the feed neck and it did, but split it at the seems a little. no prob tho. It is big and long, but so will any electro, doesn't interferer with my play or draw more hopper hits so its all good. My particular HALO is the back-man so it hold 210 balls which is excellent for an electro, i spew out balls pretty fast so the extra capacity helps.
Conclusion: All in all this hopper does its job, and does it well. Feeds fast, looks nice, and doesn't make to much noise. I would recommend this for anyone who is looking for a hopper to keep up with their gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media