paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68

Sheridan VM-68 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan VM-68

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan VM-68
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Sheridan VM-68 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
68kaiser Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
old spyder, puma,
Marker Setup: vm-68/ 16" smart parts AA barrel, expansion chamber, bottomline, sigh-trail with red dot,
field strip screws, mods to bolt and trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above.
Strengths: Durability, looks bad ash, old school, simplicity, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Gas hog.
Review: The vm is a very solid marker that demands respect and if not given it will get it after you light some one up. some people say they are to heavy, my self i like how they feel much like a real gun not a toy like most markers. Don't worry about finding parts they are around you just have ti know where to look and honestly the only thing that will wear out are the o ring's and you can find them at hardware stores.
Conclusion: A very solid marker that will get looks on the field and serve you well if maintained properly. Go get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hunta Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
striker (i know its not much like it but what is??)
Marker Setup: stock with a laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sight of some kind of sight
Strengths: STRONG AS HELL
easy to upgrade
cheap
single trigger
gas in the front!
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts
gas hog
the feed for the paintball is small
Review: When i first saw this gun on an online auction i knew i had to have it because the gas at the back of guns always bugged me, the gas at the front balances the gun so it is really steady.
(i have seen heaps of custom vm 68 with the gas at the back, i don't know why you would do that but what ever)

Some people complain about it being too heavy but the weight in my opinion is an advantage because it makes it steady and it's not like it makes too much of a difference unlees you're playing like a 24 hour game.

I have had a history of breaking guns but this thing is built like a tank! and it has only broken
3 paintballs since i got it

it's not super accurate but its ok to about 20 m which is good 4 bush play

it's a bit of a gas hog which is a bit annoying but it does look awesome

Conclusion: it would be good to put a some kind of sight on it

BUY it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VM68Elite Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: -VM68
-Expansion Chamber
-Double trouble trigger
-Precision Markers bolt
-16" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Bolt
- Double trouble trigger (uneccessary)
- at least a 14" barrel
Strengths: -Powerfull
-Easy to use, take care of, clean, etc.
-Accurate
Weaknesses: This is an old gun, it is heavy and loud, parts are hard to find
Review: Excelent gun. I am never going to change my gun until i can't fimd parts for it anymore. i have never had any issues with it. This gun used to be my bros. and he didn't have any issues with it either. "Its not the gun but the player." i am definitly going to use this gun for a long time.
Conclusion: As a classic gun i know that this used to be top of the line.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 at 12:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedFuZZy Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Rainmaker, BE King Cobra, Palmer Cocker, CMI Thunderpig, PGP, Spyders/Piranhas, Tippmann ProAM
Marker Setup: Rainmaker with MAC mount, mag ASA w/ gas through, 14" B.O.A. snakebite, angel LCD frame w/ TLALOC chip on '99 RM board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Same as any marker at first. New barrel, Palmer's Stabilizer, bottom line setup and perhaps a good stock. Maybe a better grip later as well like a 45.
Strengths: Durable, reliable, many upgrades, cheap upgrades, as accurate as others, great feel.
Weaknesses: Recoil, loudness, gas inefficient, weird velocity adjustment, heavy, upgrades less common are all weaknesses.
Review: Although it may seem as if this gun has way too many weaknesses, that is far from true. Sure it is an ancient chunk of aluminum in paintball history these days, but if you want something reliable unlike most of whats out there, than this beast is what you need. It can be suited to scenario needs as well, with tons of CAR stocks being made for the thing. There are so many different configurations too, its hard to truly do this gun justice if you leave out the upgradablility factor. Even though some parts are getting a little harder to find, practically all of its weaknesses can be fixed via all the aftermarket parts out there. You could run your car over this thing and it would still work. This thing will even run off liquid CO2 unlike most other guns these days. There are several homemade upgrades you can do as well that will significantly increase efficiency and reduce other problems. VMs have a special feel to them as well with the additional mass and recoil. Barrels are fairly cheap too running at about half the price of the normal cost in most cases. Armotech guns use the same barrel threading as well as Bruizers, so barrels are still being made as well as Lapco's cocker to VM barrel adpater, so don't worry about whether or not barrels can be found.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone seriously considering getting into paintball. People shouldn't start out with anything electronic in my opinion or anything expensive, but rather reliable. Malfunctioning equipment can give the wrong impression on paintball and take away the fun aspect. This gun is built like a Tippmann, or maybe its the other way around. For a good reliable gun that's highly upgradable with CHEAP upgrades if you look around the Internet, you can't beat the VM. Otherwise, I'd have to recommend a Tippmann, but then you wouldn't be oldschool and/or get those funny looks at your gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BennayBoy Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Vm 68 with Starfire bolt, mp5 stock, and a DYE Boomstick Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt.
Strengths: A Very Durable and dependable gun, low maintenance, and accurate.
Weaknesses: Very heavy, velosity adjuster inside. Hard to find parts for anymore. Not very CO2 efficient.
Review: This gun is a very good beginner and pro gun. Its very dependable, and since its made of solid alluminum, its very hard to break. The stock barrel it comes with is also very accurate, surprisingly. Every once in awhile the gun will chop balls. But for the most part i dont have any breaks. Its a very good sniper gun and also can put out the paint fairly fast in close melee's.
Conclusion: I personally recommend this gun to players of all age's and experiance. Its a very durable gun thats good all around.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bluesboyk3 Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic Automag
Custom Cocker
Bob Long Defiant (but then again, it's electro)
Marker Setup: Getting a 2k Bushy
PE 68/ 3000
Dye Boomie 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt
new feed neck (u have to mod ur own feed neck)
Bottomline (didn't bother on mine) the tank under the barrel makes it unique and compact actually.
Field strip screws
Strengths: Durable
Easily modifiable into anything u can imagine
pretty accurate
A lot of upgrades
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
heavy trigger pull......really heavy
Review: The first marker I've ever owned. I got this baby used with standard configuration - tank under the barrel sorta. It came with a 14" thick bull barrel which makes it look really cool. I sent this gun to the airsmith to make some modifications. They drilled port holes on the barrel and they drilled internal expansion chamber. With this setup I'm getting fair efficiency with my 9 oz tank. Oh it also comes with a wire stock. kinda like the trigger guard but it extended all the way and curved up like an assault stock. Waay cool. Hahah i sound like a noob, but this is the thing that get me started into paintball. I learned to take this thing apart, learn how the trigger works (complicated). I actually drilled the face of the bolt myself so it looked like a starfire bolt.
I also made my own feed neck to change the curve metal that it had. I bought a brass pipe and cut it about 1 1/2" and replace the orioginal feed neck with this so it would accept standard elbow and hopper.
If i have the money, I'd get this again and turn it into a scenario gun.
Conclusion: Well, for those of u who couldn't find parts, u're not doing ur homework buddy. Check on ebay; they got field strip screws, barrels, bolts, stocks, etc. And i used to know an online store that has all the internal parts of the vm 68. Overall, this is an old marker, with early design. It's a pioneer and well known for its durability. I'd give this an 8 because there's a whole bunch of better markers out there that I've yet to try.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 7:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Praxxus Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann
Marker Setup: lightened stock hammer, cupped bolt, stained oak trigger rails (gets interesting looks), bottomline
Recommended
Upgrades:
use your imagination...anything you can dream up can be done to this marker (and probably already has.)
Strengths: reliability, sturdiness
Weaknesses: weight...but who cares.
Review: This is the first marker I ever bought. Nothing but good things to say...I rarely chop a ball. This beast doesn't really care what brand of paint you feed it, 'cause it handles it like a champ. Any, and I mean ANY, modification can be done to it, and probably already has been done by someone.
Conclusion: If you already own one, whatever the configuration, kudos to you. If not and you want to own a piece of paintball history, get one; they're still available in limited quantities from various places (you just have to look). See you on the field!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fartface Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI, Spyder
Marker Setup: PMI VTL with coiled remote and red dot sight, VM68 with 4x scope, Talon, 2 slingshots, 2 rocket launchers
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight
Strengths: noise, badass, accurate, foregrip, lasts foreever, nothing breaks in barrel
Weaknesses: nothing and you morons out there quit complaining about the weight
Review: This gun kicks butt it can compete with autos or anything when noobs see it they run in fear it will never die I love this gun and I will never sell it and noboby who has one should ever sell it.
This gun is awsome you feel like the terminator when shooting it in one hand. It sounds like a chaingun. looks like a shotgun. dependible backup gun or sidearm I use it in my left hand when going dual semies.
Conclusion: I highly recomend this gun too everybody if you ever come across one even if you already got one buy it you won't regret buying this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HellBoundPB Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VM 68
Spyder 2000
Brass Eagle Talon
Brass Eagle Blade
Marker Setup: Stock setup (bottle under the barrel and all stock parts)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
X chamber
Bottom line
Strengths: Extremely durable, reliable, easy to maintain, very intimidating, loads of modifications and aftermarket parts
Weaknesses: has a pretty sick recoil, stock barrel is kinda short, pretty loud
Review: This was my first paintball gun that I bought. The first thing I noticed when I picked it up was how heavy it was and how it could only hold a 9 oz bottle under the barrel. I had my doubts at first, but once I started playing I was hooked to it. I loved how the recoil simulated a small rifle and just the design and sound of the gun were enough to intimidate people. The trigger pull was a little heavy, but after a while you get used to it. The cocking pin can be screwed in on either left or right side and the hopper mount can be mounted either way. This gun isn't exactly "CO2 efficient" but it definately has power. Maintainence is a breeze and the gun shoot fairly accurate. with a full hopper and CO2 on the front, it can get pretty heavy though. But if you have strong arms, you won't notice it really. People started nick naming mine "The Cannon" because of the recoil and because of how loud it was. I bought mine for around $75, and I was definately happy with what I got. Only reason I sold it was because there were no fields aorund were I live and I didn't know anyone who played. Now I regret selling it. This gun is definately a legend that is at the heart of some very grand stories
Conclusion: A great gun for rec. ball and small tourney's Easy to maintain and just plain fun to use. I recommend this gun to anyone who can get their hands on one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

]D||C[IceMan37 Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Tippman 98 custom with modifactions
Spyder compact
Spyder tl
Sheriden PGP
Sheriden VM-68
Brass eagle stingray
brass eagle tiger shark
brass eagle talon
and many others
Marker Setup: I use the VM-68 now with new 3000 psi air line, rear mounted co2 adapter, with new anodized bolts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Put co2 tank in better area other than front mounting, better barrel depending on your pb strategy, maybe have multi co2 tank set up, buy new bolt because stock bolts are easy to strip, the best thing is to buy a lighter hammer and striker. There a to many modification for the vm-68 to name.
Strengths: Extremely durable, really accurate, very rare to chop balls, legendary gun design, sweet gun
Weaknesses: not the best with co2, really heavy.
Review: This is a legend among the paintball world, this gun is one of the best gun i have played with, i love this gun, this gun has so many modification you would not be able to believe it, how many gun can you go to and they have a section and area just for your gun, well the vm-68 has its own section on many site. Well they become rarer and rarer over time so be proud to own one.
Conclusion: the vm-68 (wow the VIRTUAL MACHINE 68) Be proud to own one and be proud if you can get your hands on one. this gun is truly great and will never be forgotten. i will use mine till it fall apart or i lose it.
PS: if it fall apart what the hell did u do to a 98% metal gun to break it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2004 at 8:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media