paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

PMI Hand-Held Chronograph Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Hand-Held Chronograph
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This sweet little chronograph fits in the palm of your hand so you can take it anywhere. It's a great item for referees to instantly end arguments about whether somebody's gun is hot right on the field. Comes with instructions and a hardy plastic carrying case with foam interior for protection. It measures speeds from 150 to 450 f.p.s., and runs on a 3-volt lithium battery that provides around 30 hours of operating time. Size: 2 1/2" x 3 1/2" x 1 3/16".
Product Availability 
The PMI Hand-Held Chronograph is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
mechanic79 Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radar Chrono - big and expensive
Marker Setup: RT PRO, Lvl 10, Intelliframe, warp feed, ricochet 2k, Kapp Drop Zone lll, NItro Duck 88/45k mega reg tank.
Strengths: small, durable, light weight, convenient
Weaknesses: none so far
Review: I purchased this chrono mainly for playing on private land.
It comes in very handy for testing your marker setup after upgrades etc...
The chrono is so light, small, durable, and convenient that it makes paintball much more fun, especially when you can dial in your FPS before you go to a field or use your own chrono instead of waiting in line for the field to chrono.
Conclusion: Anyone that plays on private land, or anyone that doesn't want to wait in line at a field for chronoing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UnknownAssassin Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2K2 Vengance Base Cocker
Strengths: -Portable
-Fairly Accurate
-Affordable
Weaknesses: -No off button
-Unsure how to change battery if needed...
Review: Good chrono for any type of playing group. It's handy to have for reffing on field during tournaments and also affordable so rec players can use it. Great for outlaw ballers who cant afford the more expensive chronos but still wish to play safe. Easy to use and anyone can learn to use a device with just one button. Also keeps last reading in memory when you turn on next time.
Conclusion: I reccamond you buy this if you don't have a chrono or need a handy pocked sized one for reffing tournaments. Remember! Play Safe!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Thursday, January 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Chrono's at the fields that cost a lot more money:)
Marker Setup: MR1 with a j&j ceramic
BSA 30mm RD
20oz CO2
Halo TSA Frontman
VS3 With VS2 Trigger
88ci/4500 PMI HPA
Strengths: Small, easy to use, comes with a case, auto off
Weaknesses: Why no 3 digit lcd?
Sometimes You get no readings.
Review: This is a pretty good little chrono to set your marker up before you go to the field and also to use at your home fields. I got mine for about $65 on amazon.com.

It takes a little getting used to but once you have figured out how to work it, it's fine. It's operation is pretty simple. One button controls everything. Press the button and it turns on and displays the last reading that was taken. Press the button again and it is ready to chrono. It comes with a little velcro strap so that you can hang it on the barrel. Place it on the marker and shoot a ball. The hundreds number will flash first with the tens number flashing second. Then they alternate back and forth. For the next shot, the button must be pushed again.
Conclusion: The chrono is good for a group of friends that play together at a private field. It would also be good for refs in large scenario games where the chrono might be miles from where the checking needs to be done. You need to chrono your marker often and if you play privately, you can pick this one up on the cheap. I'll give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 24th, 2008 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No hand held models.
Marker Setup: Icon T PDS, Reloader B, 72/3k, rest is classified ; )
Strengths: Accurate. Hand-held.
Weaknesses: Twi digit read out for a 3 digit result.
Review: As a ref, i've been using this for about a month now. Its light weight, mostly accurate, and easy to use. My only complaint is the 2 digit readout for a 3 digit fps. Just didnt make much sense to me. The cost wasent too steep. At manufacturers cost, my field can get them for pretty cheap.
Conclusion: Low-expense accurate hand-held chrony good for on-the-field use.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matnoo Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few laser ones.
Marker Setup: Vengeance pro 2.0
Various hoppers
Various cylinder
Strengths: Tiny, accurate, looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: None realy.
Review: It just does its job:
You fire a shot and it tells you how quick the ball was.

Simple.

Why anyone would use one of the huge laser ones, I have no idea, the accuracy of the RADARchron, is +/- 6 fps over 300fps. Which is fantastic.

m@novacrylics.co.uk
Conclusion: Its the smallest chrono avaliable.
Its the lightest.
Its near as dammit the cheapest.
Its accuracy is more than adequate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wastedwalrus Tuesday, October 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Gun #1-
2002 Autococker
Belsales Hollow Point 3way
Belsales .44 Magnum Ram
WGP Hinge Trigger
All-Delrin Bolt
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Emipre Reloader B
(Everything else is stock)

Gun #2-
Tippman A-5
Response Trigger Kit
Double Trigger
Flatline barrel
Adjustable Car Stock
Front Grip Extension
(Everything else is stock)
Strengths: It's small, comes in handy, easy to use.
Weaknesses: Expensive, doesn't always work very well.
Review: Well, it's cool to have this because my friends and I play outside of parks a lot and we want our games to be safe and fair so this was a must. It's really easy to use but it doesn't always work. All you have to do though to get it working is keep firing it and try to get a reading then it will pop up eventually. It cost me 85 bucks but like I said it was something that I kind of needed.
Conclusion: Its a good thing to have. Could've been made a little better but still good.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iram Saturday, October 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field chronographs
Marker Setup: Not Applicable
Strengths: Cheap
Small
Weaknesses: Durability
Ergonomics
Review: I picked up one of these chronographs for $80 at a local store about 18 months ago to help with testing guns on my own and for checking velocities when playing outlaw.

The chronograph does it's job. It needs to be held against the barrel within 2" of the muzzle. It comes with a velco strap that can supposedly be used to hold the chronograph in the correct position next to the barrel, but I found that this didn't work as the strap tended to slide out of position if the chronograph wasn't being held.

If you hold this in your hand next to the barrel, you need to be careful how it is held or you will end up with your fingers covering the sensor on the back. This makes it a bit hard to use since you need to essentially hold the chronograph by a small tab on the bottom or have a friend hold it while you chrono.

The display has two digits, which makes it a little annoying since the velocities it is used for are all three digits. The result is that if you take a shot that's 275, the display will flash between showing " 2" and "75".

The chronograph only has one button, which serves as both an on button and a way to reset it between shots. There is no manual way to turn the chronograph off, but it has an auto-off timer.

The chronograph is advertised to read velocities between 200 and 399 fps. In practice, I saw it working with velocities as low as 185. I never tried seeing how high up it would go, but the highest I personally saw was 367, which was the first shot on a friends custom build bolt-action gun.

The chronograph runs of a small circular battery, about 8mm diameter and 5mm tall that is stored inside the chronograph. This is not designed to be replaced by the end user, as the chronograph has to be completely disassembled to access it, and then the battery has to be pried out with a tool. The battery is marked:

+
CR-1/3N
3V

This is not designed to be users serviced at all. The outer body (plastic and overmolded rubber) is held together with 6 self-tapping screws, and then there are an additional 4 self-tapping screws that go into the plastic to hold the two circuit boards together.

The really disappointing thing was the durability. I used this to test fire a gun four times (taking about a dozen shots each time) and at four outlaw games to chronograph people. In all it's checked about 200-300 shots, and then it died. Normally when you press the reset button, it switches from displaying the velocity of the last show to displaying "--" (two dashes). Currently my chronograph resets to "00" when you push the button, and then starts flashing between " 0" and "00". After such relatively light use, I was disappointed to have a failure. I've taken it appart and reassembled it and the problem went away.
Conclusion: If you play outlaw paintball or do a lot of gun work, this should be in your gear bag. It's not the best chronograph out there, but it does get the job done.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Red Radar Chrony... much better but bulky
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro, stingray, Avenger, Triton, Brute, Raptor many many more..
Strengths: Portable, small
Weaknesses: Can be tricky, gave me 0 a few times..
Review: This chrono worked well once I figured it out, which was pretty simple. sometimes it wouldnt read the paintball so I woudl need to retest it but for most part it worked very well. buy it off ebay at a decent price dont pay over 100 for it. I paid 150 only cuz i needed it and dint have time to wait on shipping...
Conclusion: I was happy with this item but not the price I paid for it. (150) great buy on ebay foir 60$ for woodsball to ensure safe play.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tenacious15 Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
X-Radar
Marker Setup: 2006 EVIL PIMP KIT 7.0 GHETTO BOARD
SMART PARTS Q-LOCK
EVIL STICKY GRIPS
HALO B W/ RIP DRIVE
SHOCKTECH HOT ROD KIT
68/4500 PSI PURE ENERGY TANK
DYE RHINO TANK COVER
Strengths: Small
Accuracy is good
One button opperation
Easy to clean
Easy storage
Weaknesses: None really just the price
Review: The radarchron is great I use all the time when playing with friends in the back yard and at there houses, its accuracy is very good only like +-2 so thats not very bad very compact easy to store in gear bag or pockets, easy one button touch, easy to clean good battery life, just if it was cheaper it would be even better
Conclusion: Buy this if you and your friends want to play safe, great for refs and players

9 out of 10 for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cole45 Friday, July 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular chronos
Marker Setup: Angel force fly
halo b
lucky 15 barrel kit
Empire fuel
Strengths: Small and compact.
Weaknesses: None I dont think but I onoy used it once.
Review: This is a great thing for woods ball.When you and your friends are going out into the backyard make sure that ret ard didn't just crank his gun up all the way because that is never fun.Also a great product for field referees, someone is shooting hot and you want to check him just wip it out of your pocket after the game and make sure he is shooting 280.

But what some people don't get is how to work the chrono,for one it has to be facing the wall, the chrono measure the distance from you to the wall, then sees how fast the paintball hit the wall, and do this at close distance a a couple feet.
Conclusion: This is a good thing and if above applies to you id definitely get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media