paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board

Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 336
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New VL Y-board eVLution II. Feed up to 19bps, and solved most problems regarding light. Other than the Y-board, the hopper is the same.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
E r y k Monday, November 3rd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months79 of 153 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spankin VL 200
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Red Lightning PaintJob
Lapco Bigshot
Evo 2 with Y board
Toxic 2x Trigger
DOP Drop
Palmer Stabilizer
Trigger Mods/ Polished internals
Lapco SIght Rail
Lapco Nickel Plated Double Trigger Guard
20oz Anti Siphon
E-bolt coming
Strengths: In review body
Weaknesses: In review body
Review: Edit- 2/20/04- im getting alot of this in my comments... why put an egg on the m98? well heres the answer. 1) because i can. 2) if i switch to faster gun in the future. 3) the cycle rate isnt 11... it can cycle way faster than that.
NOTE: nothing was caused by user error, i took every precaution to make this loader stronger, from sanding off the nubs so the lid wont have to bend too much to open/close, removing the springs so they dont snap back and crack the lid, to glueing reinforcement washers onto the pivot points of the lid... i even decided not to sand down the feedneck cause i was afraid it was going to weaken.

NOTE 2: it is very possible i got a lemon...

I did all this before i even took it on the field just as a precaution... but guess what, it still crapped out on me

Strengths:

Packaging: This is some grade A plastic here, I think this stuff is stronger than the raceway/feedneck on the eggy itself. Awesome advertising, too bad for the ones with the Y board, it still had the same packaging as the non Y board.

Design: Props to VL for creating this uniquely shaped loader which looks like a deformed monkey testicle... but hey, its still special. Its the thought that counts. I like the idea of how the loading process works, how the raceway works and everything... only if this was perfected instead of just ripped off the drawing board and mass produced.

First Impression: After spending 70 bucks plus shipping on this badboy, it finallally arrived... I guess the first impression was great cause it was a fake first impression, this loader is rigged. (explained in the conclusions) remember kids, LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING.

for the first couple of days, i was overjoyed because i was sitting here with a 18+ claimed bps loader in my hands. the first hour was great, putting balls in the loader, setting the switch to see how fast / slow it will load, sigh, the good ole times.

Right now you must be saying, you must be missing some strengths... trust me, im not.

Weaknesses:

Feedneck: this badboy is amazing, comes in 2 halves its not even glued together... very dissapointing... i would of thought for a whopping 70 dollars i payed for this loader, VL would at LEAST glue the feedneck together or make them stronger, i could literally bend these flimsy things out of place...

Lid: Oh boy... for anybody considering to buy the egg, please buy at least 5 spare ones, they are bound to snap. I tried reinforcing my lid by taking off the springs, glueing washers to it... etc the lid is very hard to open/close... sure its easy to open/close at home cause you actually take time to do it, but on the field, do you actually think you are going to gingerly open the lid and fill it up? i think not, its more of a flip down, pour paint, flip back up... i dont think the lid is ready for that kind of stress on the field

Battery Prongs: I wish they could be more consistent with these prongs, when new, they are rock hard, but after some use, they somehow get smaller and weaker... so then before you almost gave yourself a hernia putting the batteries in, now your worried about them falling out, at this stage, you will need to put some foam to fill in the space between the battery and the battery lid.

Battery Lid: Sigh, you might want to buy a couple of these too, they are only held in weakly and gets bent/dented around the area where it connects to the bottom of the egg. The little grooves inside are also poorly created, they wear out so fast, sooner or later, it wont even close properly without some tape. My egg battery lid wont even close without batteries.
Be gentle with this too, you dont want to snap one of these little grooves inside... but if you do, you will have to buy new ones.

Battery Spacer: Whats up with this? Did VL make measurements off a couple of millimeters so they then decided to stick in the missing millimeters with a seperate battery spacer? I wish they could of made the design like the halo where the battery goes in like a clip. No stupid spacers needed. I'm always looking for this stupid spacer.
btw, with this spacer in, the batterys are nearly impossible to take out... i had to use pliers last time.

Lid Screws: Wow, these things go into the poorly tapped sides on the egg to hold the lid in. I dont even think the holes were tapped, i think they were forced in manually with a screwdriver. (poor factory workers in china gotta hand screw in the screws)

Worst of all, these perky badboys stick into the loader... and CUT YOUR PAINTBALLS... as the loader spins, the balls are tossed around, and if they get tossed into the two spikes of hell, you will have a break in the loader which is a pain to clean.

Customer Service: They got some representative over at pbnation.com, representing VL. Mr. Greenmans a pretty nice guy, helps you out, answer questions. But when your loader is screwed, he gives you a phone number and asks you to call them. So when my eggy broke and was STILL under warrany, I gave them a call, nobody answered or the line was always busy. So i shot them an email, guess what? still no luck... so i gave up.

Warranty: 90 whole whoppin days... i dont think thats enough, they should at least be like odyssey and offer lifetime warranties.

now before you hit the reply button and flame me to hell

Heres how my egg 2 w/ Y board died.

It was a sunny day, when i went to the field, i was very excited... I got my tank filled, filled up the hopper with my evils, and screwed in the co2 tank. I set my gun down on the grass, and ran back into the store to grab my other stuff.

when i came out, i picked up my gun, and amazingly, the Egg just sorta fell off. Pretty damn pathetic if you ask me. I didnt even play a game with it, it never got shot or anything. It snapped off right at the neck and hit the cement floor with a hard thump. (im surprised the shell didnt crack, it just got scratched) when i grabbed it to turn it back on, it sorta smelt like a bbq going on in my hopper... but it went away.

sure, maybe the evil hopper gnomes came to kill my hopper when i ran back into the proshop for 2 seconds... i think not.

I have no explaination for this, but i have formulated a theory.

VL has put a self destruct timer on it, and it decides to blow itself up whenever it feels like it. I have yet to find out where this self destruct mechanism is.

After trying to contact their tech support with no avail, i decided to make my own raceway with fiberglass... i made it all by myself :) So i am happy now, my loader works with my custom raceway made of fiberglass, this isnt going to break anytime soon.

I am trying to aquire somebody who is willing to create a metal body for my egg 2, if you know anybody please LMK.
Conclusion: I give this product an 8 so i dont get flamed to hell because of my experiences

I give this product an 8 also because it has made me a skilled fiberglass moulder

I hope this review has helped anybody here...

Good luck to anybody who purchases this loader.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 20th, 2004 at 8:03 pm PST
I found this review  
73 Comments - Add Comment

thePest Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year30 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any other hopper on the market minus the Q loader
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralight & IS Boomstick
Halo B & Evolution with Z Board
CP clone reg, PBC fron lpr reg
Free Flow Bolt Kit (and Lethal Mods)
CCM No-rise
Max Flow 72 cu tank
Strengths: Fast, Light, Good with batteries
Weaknesses: Not as sturdy as Halo
Review: Ok, my brother(ceo of our growing paintball company), and I(technical advisor), have tested 4 hoppers no less than 2 hours ago and have fully marked their speed. We tested the HALO B, the EVO 2 with y Board, the EVO with z Board, and the 12 Volt REVY with x board and vortex impellers. These were unbiased tests that were meant only to show how fast each loader could load 130 paintballs (roughly one tube of paint).
Trial 1 Trial 2 Trial 3 Total Average
EVO 2 (Y Board) 8.28sec 7.78sec 7.66sec 7.91sec
EVO 2 (Z Board) 7.23sec 7.16sec 7.48sec 7.29sec
HALO B 7.67sec 7.54sec 6.66sec 7.29sec
REVO (12v, w/ x) 12.34sec ------- ------- -------

Keep in my that this test show only how fast these hoppers can load 130 balls. We were quite pleased with the Y board. It loaded a little slower than the HALO B. Not that much slower, but the HALO was still faster. Y Board is still a good hopper though loading at 16.6-16.8 balls per second.
Conclusion: The EVO 2 with Y board is a good hopper, although a little slower than others, it is still fast enough to deliver high rates of fire.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

SnipingPiper Saturday, September 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months17 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
haven't used but have seen 12v, and 9v Revvy's
Marker Setup: Blue Spyder Shutter, Blue Esp Sprint Frame, Blue ACI 6-stage ex-chamber, Blue In-Yo-Face T-stock, Blue All American 2002 18in. Freak Front, Remote Line w/ Co2's
Strengths: fast, reliable, easy to use, not too expensive, direct feed, adjustable speed
Weaknesses: battery door is akward, feed neck is slightly loose, chews up cheap batteries, kinda big
Review: Overall this product is worth every penny, its fast, easy to use, and does the job without hassle, I would reccomend this over a 12v Revvy, Halo B/TSA, or a Ricochet, for speed to price ratio the Halo is not worth the money, and if you buy a Revvy or Ricochet it may not be fast enough for your marker, and you may end up upgrading after buying one of them so why not just spend the extra $10-$20 for one of these now rather than end up buying one just for it to be set aside later, also in more and more tournament games you see the pro teams using the Evolution 2....if the pro's use it then it must be good. I highly recommend this to any play just starting or a seasoned veteran, this hopper will work great for recreational play and tournament play alike, an avid woodsballer myself this hopper works great in any conditions.
Conclusion: I give this hopper a 10 because it is fast, relible, easy to use, great price.......SO GO SPEND $70 AND BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

4tene Saturday, June 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, Hybrid feed neck w/ adjustable collar and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Holds alotta paint, doesn't look bad, the lid serves as a spout, constant feed.
Weaknesses: Kind of on the large side.
Review: Initially, I had started with the Quantum,(NEVER EVEN CONSIDER GETTING IT) because I didn't really plan on upgrading to the Rocker, and that thing sucked beyond belief. So I decided why get another hopper that I'll just be unhappy with, and nag at flaws, so I decided, what the hell, go top of the line. So I was between the Egg, and the Halo. The key reason I chose the Egg over the Halo was because it held more paint. I then found out that it was upgradable with a Z-board and had a crazy feed rate. So I placed my order, and a week later, had my egg. Now, this thing is rather large, but that's to accomodate lotsa paintballs. Approx. 180. Thankfully, this thing has a speed adjustment knob on the side of it... because when I first started shooting, it actually wouldn't feed because of how slow my spyder shot. So I turned it down, it fed like a charm. Worked beautifully, and I eventually upgraded it. (See my review for the Z-board) Another feature which I find unique, and rather helpful, is how the lid opens downwards, and is rounded. It serves as a pouring spout so you don't spill paintballs, for those who have trouble reloading, or just like the added luxory.
Conclusion: Great hopper, holds lots of paint, feeds reliably, adjustable, pouring spout, upgradable... There's very little else you could ask for out of a hopper. You will buy one. Get it. Got it? Good.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 9:52 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Most agitating hoppers and a halo a
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Strengths: Fast
Holds alot of pbballs
Weaknesses: Terrible customer service
Very back heavy
Infraed sensor
Reliabilty problems
Review: Well this is a fast good hopper. But not nearly as good as the Halo B in my opinion. Its slower, not as consistant at very high rates of fire, its very back heavy and viewloader has terrible customer service. It has the infread sensor which consumes much battery as it does the entire time its running. But aside from all that it still is a very fast hopper, probably best fitted for a back player though, not so much for front.
Conclusion: If your a backplayer this very well may be the best hopper for you. For frot I dont think it would be. But really go for the hopper the best suits your game.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

SPPaintball Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl200= Blender
12 volt revvy= 13 bps not too bad
Marker Setup: 2k3 Blue Smart Parts Impulse
Vertical regulator
Black Smart Parts Grips
Blue Smart Parts Tapeworm
NDZ Pro Mag Trigger
NDZ Custom 5 inch Equalizer Bolt Black
Eggy2 with y board
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Fast (18+ bps)
Eye (stops agitating when there are balls in feedneck)
Looks nice
Weaknesses: Feed neck requires sanding on some feednecks
Review: STOCK FEATURES

Looks: The evo 2 looks nice and comes in multiple colors

Speed: The loader will feed 18+ bps which is a very good speed.

Price: I bought this for $70 which isnt a bad price, considering how halos are over $100.

Eye: This loader has an eye in the feedneck, which means that the hopper will stop agitating when it sees a paintball which is great, because you dont have that constant annoying buzz.

Lid: This hopper has a very unique lid, which aids as a funnel when filling. Also, the spring acually holds the lid shut, not open, so say goodbye to your hopper opening in the middle of a game!

Speed controller: There is a small knob on the side of the hopper, which will allow you to control the hoppers speed, which is great because when the speed is lower, you will save batteries.

Batteries: This loader operates off of two 9 volt batteries.

Agitator: This hopper includes a six paddle agitator.

UPGRADES

Z Board: The Z Board will allow your loader to feed an exess of 23 bps.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this loader to anyone who is looking for a hopper that will feed 18+ bps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb-enforcer Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first motorized loader.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
14" Teardrop
Egg II / with Y-board
20oz co2
Strengths: Fast
Looks cool
Eyes
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I bought this loader to compliment my new Pilot. I was trying to decide between this loader, or the Empire Reloader(a little cheaper). I got the Egg II because it got good reviews, and after I tried one at my local field I really liked it.

Strengths:

I like the design. It does not look like a hopper with a battery pack on it. It is fast, I don't have to worry about out shooting this loader (all of the new Egg II come with the Y-board). And if I do upgrade the Pilot more, or get a faster gun, you can upgrade the Egg II (with the Z-board) to match.

Now some reviews say this is a force feed loader, and some say it is not. This may be due to the way the balls are fed into the gun with the Egg II vs. the Halo. The Halo has a feed cone that is spring loaded, and the Egg II uses a flexible six fined wheel to feed the balls into the feed neck. However, It clearly says on the front of the package " The eVLution II Force Feed Loader".

Weaknesses:

The only thing to list here is the latch that holds the loader door open. When I first got the loader, the door would open easy enough. But to close it you had to force it hard. However, the fix for this is easy. Take a sharp knife or sandpaper, and take a little of the plastic off of the latch bump on the bottom of the loader. Be careful when you do this. You don't want to cut yourself, or take off too much material. Test the door operation as you go until you get it how you like. Other than that this loader works flawlessly.

As of yet I have had no problems with jamming, the case cracking, the eye not working, or the battery door coming open. As far as I am concerned, this is the fastest, most reliable loader for the price on the market today.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a loader that will feed 17-19 bps, looks good, reliable, and still upgradeable. Without having to spend over $100 dollars for a Halo. I would highly recommend the eVLution II.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JRtippmannpb Monday, November 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revvy w/ X board- ok
Empire reloader- bad
Halo LCD TSA- horrible
Halo B- great
Marker Setup: Nasty Impulse 3.5
Vision
extreme rage low rise adjustable feed neck
Dye sticky 3's
NDZ Pro EQ Derlin Bolt
NDZ RIP valve
NDZ Hammer Housing Assembly HE
Phyco Ballistics drop foward
HALO B
68 ci 4500 PSI Cross Fire tank

Tippmann 98 custom
response trigger
double trigger
expansion chamber
rocket cock II
Rear velocity adjuster
14' and 16' AA barrel
32* flame drop foward
3-9x scope
egg II hopper
trigger stop
20oz c02
Strengths: Fast
strong feedneck
reliable
good on batteries
upgradeable
Weaknesses: Battery door
other than that nothing
Review: i was really quiet sceptical about getting this hopper becasue i had heard horror stories about how the neck snapped in the middle of games and how the battery doors flew open and the batteries fell out but i decided to taket he chanve and buy this hopper. i later learned that the eggy II w/ Yboard is awesome. it has a strong feedneck (i have heard of some peoples feednecks breaking really easily but i havent had a problem with mine yet). It is VERY FAST, ALMOST impossible to outshoot. it is good on batteries. and if you think you are some kind of super human who can pull faster than 17 bps u can always upgrade ur eggy to an eggy II with Z board (they claim 23 BPS). the only weakness i have found with this hopper is the battery door. it is very weak and im surprised mine hasnt broken already. (ducktape fixes that though)
Conclusion: Great hopper but i have to give it a 9 for the battery door. If u want a fast hopper but dont want to spend 120 on a halo B go out and spend 70 on an Eggy II with Y board. and if u feel that 17 bps is too slow spend the extra $30 and buy a Z board with it (23 BPS)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bonzipon Thursday, June 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
standard hopper
and a ricochet hopper
Marker Setup: tippmann custon pro
e-trigger
had to buy my w.a.s board booooo
Eggy II Y board
20 oz. co2
my orange paintball bolt hasnt comein yet and neither has my tippmann rocket cock
my compressed air tank is coming too
Strengths: Looks cool
Fairly fast
Cool lid
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: Well i used this thing since i started and its pretty good. of course i have custom modded mine so that its you know, awesome. So if you have an EvoII and dont want to sell it but want to keep up with the big hitters, this is a mod for you. Fistly I taped the battery box shut with some duct tape. secondly i turned it to its max bps setting. Then i cut off every second paddle on the inside so that instead of six i ended up with three bigger spaces. then I put some loctite in the little crack down the middle of the feedneck to reinforce it. I then taped the feedneck for added support. be sure to mark out how far your egg goes into the feedneck clamp on your gun. Do not tape in the area where you gun claps onto it! Then I took out the cheesy plastic spikes and replaced them with a metal nut, bolt, and washer on each side. I tightened them so much that the lid will not open when running or anything. But the i realized i had rendered the springs useless so i undid the screws and took out the springs. While doing this i put loctite on the screws (removable version) so if i had to absolutely take my hopper apart i could. And that is my ultimate mod for the evo II.

Its a good electro hopper but if you have the money id go for something a little better like the halo B. This hopper can compete with the big hitters and it is awesome for woodsball. Its good for beginners or even better players who are in money shortage.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to all except good players with high maintenance guns who have lots of money. i will ive a 9 because of the feednecks overall crappiness. I think that if someone reinforced it with fiberglass it would be an awesome hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonPaintball82 Friday, January 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion
Dead on Paintball bullet drop forward with on/off valve
evlution 2 hopper
pure energy 68/4500

Spyder Rodeo
Progressive barrel
shocktech spring kit
vl 200
20 oz. pure energy c02
Strengths: Very fast, lid can stay open while filling, has a ball sensor
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this loader a few weeks ago and its awsome. It is also only around 75$. When i got it i put some batteries in it and started the testing. I loaded it up with paintballs, turned it on, and let it empty them out. It emptied all the balls out very fast. I calculated about 17-18 bps. I loaded it up again with only about 20 balls and put my hand over the place where the balls come out. I turned it on, and when the paintballs reached my hand the loader stopped like it should, it didnt crush the balls, proving that the ball sensors work like they should. I had some trouble making this loader fit the stock feedneck on the ion, but after taking out the top O-Ring in my feed neck, the hopper slid in with a little bit of force, which was perfect. For anyone who has a marker that cycles faster than 18 bps, putting a z-board in the loader highers its rate to 23 bps.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to anyone because of the good cost and speed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 13th, 2006 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media