paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board

Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 336
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New VL Y-board eVLution II. Feed up to 19bps, and solved most problems regarding light. Other than the Y-board, the hopper is the same.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
R.H.S.S Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just gravity fed hoppers
Marker Setup: spyder imagine with cp14" barrel, Evo2 with Y-board,superfly bolt
Strengths: Its fast
It doesn't break any paint.
Does what its supposed to
Weaknesses: I haven't found any yet except that it doesn't feed 100 bps.
Review: This is one heck of a good hopper. It does exactly what it supposed to to. Feed paint, and feed it fast. I went out today and it was well under freezing so i was sorta worried that it might break some of the more fragile paint. NOPE! It kept my gun going all day and worked like dream. The eye in it is very good and since my gun only shoots 14 bps it worked great. I didn't even have the hopper going as fast as possible.
Conclusion: Well to anyone who has a gun that shoots between 12 and 15 bps this would be the nicest hopper you could get for it. It may say it shoots 19 bps but thats only for short bursts. If u want to sustain the fire i wouldn't get a gun that actually shoots 19 bps.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 14th, 2005 at 2:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

parmaflyer27 Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a viewloader max which is a decent hopper and i have used a regular hopper which sucks
Marker Setup: I use the electra and i have a smart part barrel and a evolution 2 hopper and i just use CO2
Strengths: Doesnt chop paint, fast and battery last awhile
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: This is a Great hopper, I have a spyder electra and shoots really fast because of the rocking trigger and this hopper keeps up with it. I bought this hopper of my friend for 25 dollars which was a real good deal but the lid was broken so i just had to buy a new lid.
This is a great hopper for its price.
Conclusion: It is a really good hopper and it works really well on any gun. It is much better then any hopper i have used.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ratimpy04 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
quantom(doesnt compare), and a revvy(only tested, not as fast, but lighter)
Marker Setup: check other reviews....
Strengths: fast, adjustable speed, good for back player, back heavy(I like it). SEE REVIEW.
Weaknesses: feed neck, fairly heavy, back heavy(some people dont). SEE REVIEW.
Review: PROS
good speed
can be upgraded to a Z board if you really want to.
adjustable speed
back heavy
lighter than a halo
can hold a lot of paint

CONS
feed neck must be sanded down
feed neck is tall
battery door breaks and it must be replaced or tape must be used(this is the worst one for me)
back heavy if you dont like your gun beign back heavy

Great hopper for a lot less then a halo and in my opinion is better.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to a back or mid player. It is very fast, but for a front player you may only want a revvy because of weight and price. I want to give it an 8 but things are overrated on this site.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 20th, 2004 at 1:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beetleboy09 Monday, June 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo- Kicks the heck out of this piece of junk
Ricochet Apache- Never had a problem with it and fed faster
Marker Setup: Silver Smart Parts Nerve #1816
92/4500 High Pressure Crossfire
Dye Rhino Cover
Egg II (not for long)
Strengths: Feeds faster than a gravity fed hopper (while it works)
Weaknesses: Price for its quality
Feed rate
Lid(easily fixed)
Review: I bought this piece of junk for $68.75 from an online site when I received my Nerve and Crossfire tank 3 days ago. When I opened the box the first thing i did was give it fresh batteries and perform a drop test. Over 10 drops it averaged 14.2 balls a second, my Ricochet Apache I owned when I had a 98 Pro E averaged 16.4 balls a second out of the box and cost about $20 cheaper. I also discovered some interesting information about what Viewloader claims this hopper can feed. On the box they claim it can feed 19 balls a second, but in the manual they say the max is 17 balls a second, misleading? I think so.

After being pretty mad about my hopper only feeding 14.2 on a drop test I went onto pbnation and discovered the "Impeller Mod". It consists of removing 4 of the 6 impellers so the remaining 2 impellers are straight across from each other. Removing 4 of the impellers leaves enough room for 8 balls to be put into the raceway instead of the stock 6. After I reinforced the 2 impellers the egg averaged 16.6 balls a second, better but I would prefer the 19 the box says. Today I was in my back yard and put my nerve on rebound and was very limited in speed by my loader. The very last ball in my hopper was caught between the impeller and the raceway and I believe it fried my loader. I emailed Viewloader and demanded they fix this because a motor shouldn't get fried because of a jam. I will update my rating depending on how Viewloaders customer service handles this.
Conclusion: $70.00 Paperweight, complete waste of money, get a halo.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 5th, 2006 at 3:11 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

jester511 Wednesday, December 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo
Marker Setup: red diablo wrath
pure energy N2 3000 psi 48 cu tank
VL evo. II with y-board
Strengths: Good looking, fast, easy to use, and lightweight.
Weaknesses: None, really.
Review: i love this freakin loader because its lightweight and superfast for your speedy guns. I love this thing. It works great, and it's a great product. If your looking for a new loader, get this one. 195 ball capacity may seem small, but thats what pods are for. Veiwloader did a nice job on this one, unlike the terrible quantum.
Conclusion: BUY THIS LOADER because its got amazing speeds and its cheaper and cooler looking than the other loaders on the market
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 12th, 2007 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maddog34452 Tuesday, December 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
sweet spot trigger
freak barrel w/ full kit
superfly bolt
Custom drop forward
macroline

Epiphany
superfly bolt
Egg II Y board
32 degree drop forward
full freak kit
88 cu Pure Energy Carbon Fiber tank
Strengths: Fast
Good eyes
doesn't chop
Weaknesses: Battery hog
Little loud
sticks up high
Review: I bought this hopper to keep up with my Epiphany. It is a good, fast and reliable hopper. I only out ran it one time and that was only for one shot on ramping mode. Besides that the lid is a little tough to work with and difficult to clean around.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to anyone, it has is problems, but nothing is perfect 9 because it is close
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 4th, 2007 at 4:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nomahsib Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Halo Backman TSA - Only tested, but didn't seem to jam as much as this
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion - Q-loc neck, 2006 Smart Parts Progressive barrel, DXS N2 tank, and VL egg 2
Strengths: Pretty good feed rate
Low profile
Weaknesses: Battery door
Lid that closes hopper
Jams
Review: This hopper is pretty good. It feeds at a good rate and it's adjustable in terms of the speed. It brings a diferent look onto the field which can be good and bad especially if you have an Ion like me >.< Anyways, the cons are as follows, battery door, hopper lid, and it jams. The battery door seems kind of weak to me and seems as if Viewloader should've made it a little better. Also, the hopper lid makes it a little bit hard to load paint into the egg as you have to make a funnel like shape so you don't waste paint. As for the jamming it might've been that I was just using cheap paint or that the eyes on it weren't set correctly, either or it was a pain in the butt.

EDIT

Jamming was due to the propeller spinning the wrong way. Took it apart and switched the wires. Works awesome now. Changed from 8 to 9.
Conclusion: Pretty good hopper when it doesn't jam :) Great for any recreational to intermediate level player. Once you start shooting really fast you should probably upgrade hoppers though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 8:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

babustos Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cyclone feed on A-5
Marker Setup: Blue Dangerous Power Fusion
Blue Egg 2
68/4500 Air America
Blue Free Agent cover


Strengths: Fast
Capacity
Looks nice
Not complicated
Weaknesses: Shells aren't the greatest
Battery door is prone to breaking
Lid
Not force-fed
Review: I knew exactly what I was getting when I got the Egg 2, and its held up to my expectations. You can get these hoppers for pretty cheap, around $30-40 used. They are plenty fast, feeding 19 bps drop test, and around 16-17 on the gun itself. The capacity is nice, a pod doesn't fill it up all the way like a Halo B or Reloader B. On some guns they look nice, others not too much. Either way, the Egg 2 will get its job done without causing any problems. This thing is simple to take apart and put back together, unscrew the screws, take the shells apart, clean the inside, put it back. Its good on paint too, since its not force fed the odds of breaking paint in the hopper is reduced due to the lack of tension applied on the ball stack. That is probably the only good thing about not being fully force-fed. Some bad things about the hopper is the shells. The shells aren't really "weak," they're just not that strong. Don't drop it from 10 feet onto concrete, and it shouldn't break. It withstood a horrible blow that caused my ASA to break, so its strong enough for me. Another bad thing is the battery door, if the batteries are left in too long, the tension will cause the door and part of the shell to crack, and eventually break. Its quite a common thing, the best way to avoid it is to put the batteries in only when needed, and leave the battery door open when not in use. It is true that after several uses, the lid doesn't completely close. The fact that the lid pulls down is ok, it doesn't bother me because when I reloader I don't do it in a crazy fast fashion that I need to get paint as quickly as possible. The lid does bounce back and not close 100% over time, but it doesn't matter.
Conclusion: If you don't need to shoot over 15 bps consistantly, and want to get a reliable and cheap hopper, get this one. Sure the Halo B is a better hopper, but it also costs around $60 more new.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lawman Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revvy & X-Board Revvies. Slower, but better balanced
Empire Reloader B, faster and better balanced
Halo TSA, Slower but better balanced
Marker Setup: Black to Grey Dust ANS GX-3 with CP Rail and On/Off, 14" Black Evil Pipe, 12v Revvy, and a 72/4500 Crossfire stubby tank.

AND

Black Smart Parts Nerve with lpr upgrade, team board & CP Rail and On/Off, 14" Red/Black Evil Pipe kit, Black Empire Reloader B, 71ci 4500 psi 3A paintbal HPA tank with a Dye Rhino Bottle Cover
Strengths: Pretty fast, battery life is pretty good
Weaknesses: Slower than HALO and Empire Reloader B's, unbalanced
Review: I bought this because I got a good deal on a used model. I has worked very well and I have had no problems with its operation. I could not outshoot it with my 1.5 Evil Omen, but I can outstrip it easily with my Nerve. Still, it is a lot faster than a 12v Revvy or a HALO TSA. The adjustable speed is nice, but the battery life seems pretty good even when its turned to the fastest speed.

I have shot an Empire Reloader B on my Nerve and it keeps up better than the Y-Board Egg. Get the type that does not have screws holding on the door, they are more durable than the previous models.

My biggest problem is that it is not balanced well, and as a result it makes guns more awkward to use. Its design also causes more pressure to be placed on the feedneck when you close the lid. I have minor cracking around my Egg's Feedneck as a result. It has not affected performance yet, but I am sure I will eventuallyhave to replace it due to the cracks.

Expect a reliable 12-15 bps feed with the Y-board. Anything faster is spotty, and doesn't feed at a regular reliable speed.

Contrary to what the VL advertisments claim, the door doesn't funnel or direct the paintballs into the hopper during reloads. I have lost more paint during reloads with this hopper than all my other hoppers combined (12v revvies, Reloader B, and plain gravity feds).
Conclusion: Buy it if you cannot afford a HALO B or a Reloader B, but don't expect your high end electro marker to perform as well as it can. This hopper will not keep up with most highend fast electros. I suggest the Reloader B.

The Egg is a good reliable hopper, but is not the fastest or most comfortable to use.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 22nd, 2006 at 9:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerrorTrooper Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revvi
Halo B
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego (Blue to Silver Fade)
JT Proteus Clear.
VL Evolution 2 (Y Board)
+ Zeus G2 as a backup.
PMI 5000 PSI 68 Cu
Strengths: Fast Enough.
Nice Shape.
Weight Well Distributed.
Reliable.
Weaknesses: Battery Door.
Swine To Strip.
Poor Construction Materials.
Review: ok, when i got my Viewloader Evolution II (egg 2) with Y Board, i was rightly Sceptical of the claims of 19 BPS that is stated on the Box.. But most companys advertise there products with an unrealistic theoretical maximum, so i wont gripe too much about that..

I have seen a lot of people moan about the spacer between the 2 batterys.
Saying that with it in, they had to remove their batterys with pliers ect..
Obviously those individuals didnt read the manual that came with the Egg..
OK. its a hopper, youve handled other hoppers.. but instructions are there for a reason, you never know what tid-bits of information might be in them worth noting...

Said people are quick to scorn the spacer without actually realising what it is for..
well.. let me enlighten you.. C class Batterys (9V square ones to you and me..) are not manufactured to a specific size, none of them can agree to a standard size, granted, most makes of battery fit rather comfortably without the spacer, (so if your forcing it in anyway.. then frankly.. that was silly thing to do.. wasnt it?) but a couple of makes 9V batterys are rediculously small.. so the spacer will go inbetween them to stop them rattling about in the casing..

OK. now i got that out of my system.. im sorry if i sound condescending.. but please.. read the manual people.. it is there for a reason, and should only be used if needed..

Right, Let me start my Review..
NOTE :- i have 2 Eggs.. what i say covers both.

STREGNTHS :-

- "Reliable." All in all, i have had very few actual technical glitches or problems with this loaders mechanics, when it does act up, it either needs new batterys or a good clean
and its right as rain.

- "Relatively Fast." This loader feeds quite happily at 13 BPS, with a fresh set of batterys, it can just barely manage 15 BPS. this is by no means what its advertised at, but this is generally more than adequate unless you got super fingers, or ramping..
In whitch case, slam a Z Board in it, this should knock it up a ball or 2..
(i measure its speed with an EGO with Eyes on.)

- "Battery Life." The General Concensus seems to be about 5000 shots on 2 x 9V batterys. i actually get between 7000 and 10000 ber pair, whitch im quite happy about.

- "weight distribution." ok, this is down to personal preference, but the Egg comes back from the feedneck rather than being directly on top of it like other hoppers, the laws of physics & perpetual motion, and my personal prefference of how my gun weight should be distributed at the rear, make my Egg the hopper of coice for me if im going to be swinging my gun about a lot.

- "Shape," The Eggs profle is pretty decent, especially after you trim an inch of the feedneck, and its shape just looks cool...

WEAKNESSES :-

- "Build Material." The shell and feedneck of the Egg feel like some Brittle Thermosetting Plastic, and sure enough, they are..
Ive had several broken Battery Doors, and a couple of broken lids.. both my feednecks are also cracked, but so far, havent had to replace them.

- "Stripping." The Egg is fairly simple inside, but BE WARNED! pay very close attention to how it comes apart as if you dont, putting it together again can be very tricky! its not all that hard once you get the hang of it, but the first time can be VERY awkward..
I put this down to poor design. (i had no trouble with the lid springs..)

- "On/Off Switch." Although i havent actually had a problem with this, the little metal lever switch does seem like it "Could" potetially be easily damaged either on the field, or in the kit bag.. and i dont think this was the best idea Viewloader ever had when designing the Egg. Consequently, i always transport my Eggs in their boxes to prevent this ever becoming a problem..

<<<EDIT>>>

An Extra weakness i found on the Egg.
i recently purchased an SP8 whitch has a 45 feed neck with Elbow.
i bought another Egg & Z Board as i was happy with the one on my Ego.
When used on a Scenario Marker, this Hopper has a MAJOR problem.
Due to the Eggs unique way of oppening, (Mainly sliding the lid back over the hoppers
rear end) i find this puts immense strain on the Elbow of a scenario marker..
(due to the hoppers feedtube being right at the front, and the lid at the back, a simple understanding of physics and tensile stregnth should have made me see this coming..)

i will not Edit my score as i am still verry happy with Eggs.. but it seems i will need to cut my losses, and buy something top loading for my SP8..
Conclusion: The Egg is a Decent Hopper for the Price, as it will keep up with the demands that most players will exert on it..
I get the impression that perhaps Viewloader were in a hurry to get the Egg on the market, as i feel some really poor design choices were made in its construction
and have resultantly left it with some rather dissapointingly obvious design flaws..
Apart from that though, it is a fine hopper, and i would recomend it..
I gave it an 8 as it is certainly an adequate hopper...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 at 2:58 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media