paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Mattdieter Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
matrix
Marker Setup: totaly chome RT Mag
- benchmark 2x grip
- clear dye panel grips
- level 10
- halo tsa
- 68/3000 fiberglass
- dye cradle with on/off


Recommended
Upgrades:
a hopper that feeds over 13 balls per second
freak system
Strengths: fast
nice trigger
accurate
low recoil
Weaknesses: heavier than other electros
high price tag
Review: Before I owned a gun, I used to borrow this one. I never appreciated it until I shot other guns. Compared to cockers, this is just as accurate, way faster, and much less of a problem. Compared to mags it is faster, and more accurate. And angels, intimidators, impulses, bushmasters, and open bolt guns don't hold up to the accuracy of this gun. In fact, the only guns that I can really compare are the matrices and shockers. I used to have a lot of fun with this gun. After I bought my first personal gun (Bruizer), I relized what a perfect paintball gun the excalibur was. I really would enjoy if they dropped the price on them about $500. In my oppinion, if the only things they changed on the excalibur were the price and the weight, it would be the most popular tournement gun ever. I really miss this gun :(.
Conclusion: I would buy my own if I had the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

templeton5 Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ok here we go!
-Ripper Timmy
-Ironman Timmy
-Species Timmy
-Classic Timmy
-Angel LCD
-Angel Speed
-Eclipse Angel LED
-Dark Angel IR3
-Eblade Cocker
-F5 cocker
-AKA Viking
-Matrix
-Dye Matrix
-Tequila Sunrise Matrix
-Trauma Matrix
-NYX Matrix
-Bushmasters
Marker Setup: Aka Excalibur
-Dye Boomstick
-WAS board w/ eye
-Twist lock rise
-Angel A.I.R
-Soda Can Mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS board if u don't have, so fast its crazy
New barrel like a freak, boomy or pipe though the stock is great
Reliability
Strengths: Pretty fast
Accurate
Awesome Customer Service
Weaknesses: Sorta heavy
Hard to find
Expensive $$$$ if u dont know where to look (hint ebay)
Review: This marker is great i bought mine just lately off ebay for $825 shipped. This marker is fast and extemely accurate. On the flip side it is sorta heavy( mostly because im using angel air). It can be very expensive if you buy it directly from the factory. The main thing about this gun is that is very reliable. My teamate has an angel and it just keeps breaking down from board problems and leaks. No offence to WDP i love their guns i used to own one.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. I say if you have the money then go for it. The gun is fast and accurate. Pus the service and reliablility are top notch.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 28th, 2003 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, tricked Autococker, Revenge V2, Shocker, Bushmaster, Spyder, Tippman, Automag. None compare to the Excalibur. The only thing close is the Revenge V2, but that has too many adjustments if you just want to go play.
Marker Setup: AKA Excalibur, JT 14" and Freak 16" barrels, Viewloader with X-board, Viewloader with Turbo Rev board, 88cu" fiberwrapped compressed tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is perfect, except for the vertical feed. Hoppers won't stay stationary very well, and need tapping and/or a sleeve.
Strengths: Ease of maintainence. Just wipe it off, clean off the bolt, and disconect the battery for storage. (it kills batteries left in between paintball weekends).

Doesn't require any adjustments on timing, etc, like an Autococker. Also, it is completely enclosed, so that the gun is easy to clean off.

VERY EASY ON PAINT, AND AIR EFFICIENT. The low pressure is consistent, gentle on paint, and the gun is very accurate. Even in heavy rain.

Excellent customer service!!
Weaknesses: Kills batteries. Viewloader won't stay stationary in the vertical feed without tape.
Conclusion: If you do NOT like to constantly do adjustments on your gun (like me), and you just want a low-pressure, reliable, consistent velocity, accurate, fast shooting gun, GO WITH THE EXCALIBUR. There is no substitute.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supra_man101 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, e-cockers, viking
Marker Setup: 03' cocker
sticky 3 grip
14'' kaner
cp razor drop and asa
egg
nitro duck 45/45
**knoe its not the sh!t but am getting a dm4 soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new grip
WAS board and eyes if ya dont already have em
Strengths: FaSt!!
super accurarte-closed bolt
comfortable feel

Weaknesses: Not the lightest out there
Review: Wow wow wow. The first time i used an excal was at a tourny, a friend let me use his extra, and was an old, old excal (serial number 00056) with all this new stuff on it (WAS board and eyes, double finger trigger, ect,), and was a really fast, accurate gun. And one thing that i really loved about this gun was that it is probalby one of the most air efficient guns out there, and u can probably get close to a case of paint on a full 68/45. I played back so i didnt have a problem with the wieght, but this gun coulb be a little lighter, not saying its heavy. The only problem i had was the old stock feed neck, which wasnt threaded and was glued, and after about 5 games, fell of over and over and over, which was a little frustrating. When buying this gun stock, it takes some money to make it a really comfortable, perfected gun. One thing that is really important in performance that only come in the 04 excals is the WAS board and WAS eyes. U can shoot sooo much faster with them, and cost about 240 dollars for that setup. With out them, u cant shoot faster then 16 without chopping. The only other performance upgrade is a new barrel. The stock javelin barrels arent anything to brag about, and there also sort of ugly. Those are the only rell performance upgrades. A new grip would be comfortable, the stock plastic ones arent that good. With a lil bit of tweaking and timing here and there this gun can become as good performance wise than a dm4, and are probably a teensy bit more accurate than a dm4.
The good thing about excals that make them like no other gun is how they operate. Everyone knows that cockers are some of the most accurate guns out there. AKA took the closed-bolt operation of the cocker and put it in the excalibur. Actually, excals work a lot like cockers, and have that accuracy AND the faster speed. Why are they faster then even E-cockers (talking about excals with WAS setup)??? Because they work like cockers, but all of the moving stuff is done electronically and internally, getting rid of al of those moving parts.That is also why there a little bulky. One more thing about these is the milling. I have one word for the milling and body...boring. Its too blocky and doesnt really have what u would call inovative milling.
Conclusion: Overall this gun (with WAS set-up) kicks a$$ and is one of the best oiut there, with accuracy thats arguably the best, speed that is uncapped, and not super heavy, so an excal with a WAS board gets a ten, but one without gets a 9 cuz the ones without eyes tend to chop, and it gets dirty when it chops, and is a b!tch to clean, so it gets a 9 without WAS setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 at 2:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 2nd, 2001
 
1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: quiet
pretty fast
semi-small
looks nice.
smei-only (I like that)
possibility for an ACE
cocker threads
efficient
Weaknesses: The single trigger I felt wasnt that great
its not as fast as my matrix
its a little heavy
too pricey
it IS possible to chop with the one I shot (3rd gen baord, 2nd gen body)
Conclusion: It performs great stock, but is a little too expensive, its better than a shocker, but has a bit to go to compete with matrix/angel..

I would say go for it if money is no object.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Remjin Sunday, July 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse E-tek, Ion
Marker Setup: 2003 AKA Viking, Palmer Stabilizer as bottom-line, Stainless braided lines, mother of pearl 1911 grips, VL Revvy w/ X-board, stock barrel, 20 oz. CO2 w/ anti-siphon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel, though stock one works fine. Compressed air tank.
Strengths: Reliable, simple, fast.
Weaknesses: Not machined for eyes, no longer in production.
Review: I have owned this marker for quite some time. I haven't used it a lot, as I got it after I had mostly quit playing paintball, but I brought it out for the occasional game of recreational play and recently got invited to a local team. I've been practicing with them for a few weeks now.

I have to say, having left the game when angels and shockers were brand new and people were still using mechanical sytems (I had a palmer typhoon at the time), this was a new experience for me. Sure, I've handled the odd electro-pneumatic wonder-gun, but I hadn't really played with them much. Heck, I still have my VM-68 sitting in this room with me, and I still regret selling that Typhoon.

The best thing about the Viking, in my opinion, is that its easy to use and get going. I haven't spent a lot of time maintaining it or taking it apart or generally fiddling with it at all while I've owned it. When I bring it out, I just put a drop or two of AKA's oil in the ASA, and a drop or two on the bolt, and then I go play. I'm still using CO2 w/ the anti-siphon bottle. Of course, dual regulators help with that as well. I shoot more with that one bottle than anyone does with their compressed air, and I haven't had any issues with velocity. Then again, I'm used to CO2, so I don't leave it out in the sun, and I let it thaw out after getting it filled before I screw it onto the gun. No complaints so far, and I have maybe 12 cases through the thing.

Its accurate as needed, and once I figured out how to work one of these new-fangled clicky triggers (yeah, that's a technical term!), I ripped 'em out of there plenty fast to keep up with all the e-teks, impulses, and whatever other fancy guns were out there with me. Several of the guys actually commented quite a bit about it, since they hadn't expected that rate of fire from me. Then again, I didn't have a problem with that when I had the typhooon, either, but that's memories versus the last few weeks, and I am getting a bit old and nostalgic.

I didn't experience any drop-off or inconsistencies, it chrono'd just fine, and I pretty much haven't messed with the settings since I got it. I sit around while everyone else re-tunes their stuff and tries to figure out why they're leaking, why their gun won't work, or they clean out the breaks or jams and fine-tune their stuff. I'm not personally really into messing with all that if I don't have to. An occasional turn or two once in a while to adjust for the environment of the day to get myself dialed in and that's it. I just have to buy all the paint so I can keep playing and pop some tylenol when the joints start hurting.

Its not in production anymore, and I've seen them go from $350 on ebay to $1400 on some websites. In the end, there's not a lot you have to do it to play, and there's still plenty of stuff out there for those who need to upgrade the thing. Its plenty fast, and easily faster with a Pandora/WAS/Tadao board with some eyes. Everything else is just preference. Compared to my old markers, its pretty lightweight, though, so its fine for me. Not so sure about this vertical feed stuff, but it seems to work.
Conclusion: Good marker for the money. Shouldn't cost you more than $500 to get one, and its just reliable and maintenance free. Get the newer 2004+ ones if you can, just because its already set up for eyes and all that other fancy stuff. If you need to have all the newest gadgets, its probably easier to just get something currently in production. With just a hundred bucks or so, it can be upgraded to be as good as anything out there as far as I can tell, so that it has all that fancy ramping/full-auto/programmable/laser eye/blade/jingly-ball-catastrophe-makers you kids like these days. =)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lopez17 Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vikings, Intimidators, Ego's, etc. - The comparison is completely different since this is a closed bolt marker operating with dual solenoids, so the cycling action is smooth and distinct. Very different from an open bolt marker.
Marker Setup: I shoot a 2K5'd GZ, Excalibur, Viking, Texas Storm, Ripper, Ripper 2 and Ripper 3 Intimidators. I run a Halo or an Empire with a PMI Pure Energy Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a WAS 1.6 board over the nelson or pandora boards. I also recommend a clamping feedneck and eyes to maximize the potential of the marker. If you have an 02 or earlier model you may want to consider getting the LED installed or having the marker milled to reduce it's weight.
Strengths: Closed bolt operation, smooth feel with the dual noids. Highly accurate.
Weaknesses: The weight of the marker, difficulty in getting service/work done due to age.
Review: Excals are no longer the en vogue markers that they used to be but they're incredibly efficient and smooth markers. They operate in a true closed bolt manner and that operation is controlled by dual solenoids (either MAC or Humphreys depending on the age). Several of my friends and I have picked them up recently and with the latest board technologies and increases in cycling speeds, we've been very impressed with their performance.

Like their brother marker the Viking, they come stock with a Sidewinder regulator and are incredibly efficient on air (less so due to the dual noid set up). They have a smoother feel than a cocker or omen that often feels bouncy due to the mechanical movement. They're easily upgradable with new triggers and can be adjusted for a faster or slower speed. There are a good amount of upgrades still available however, fewer than in years past since the Excals are no longer being made.

If the weight is an issue for you, you can have DC (soon!) mill them as well as several other companies. There are also milled versions (featherlight and highlander) available used. With the used market dropping, Excals can be found relatively cheap.
Conclusion: A fantastic closed bolt marker whose performance is untouched in the industry. It comes stock with a fantastic reg and is a great marker for woodsball or a great backup marker to have around.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluedevil Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers and many other poppet valved guns.
Marker Setup: Full milled Excalibur #158, WAS'd, Eye's, Scepter kit, Warped blade trigger, ccm feedneck, Crossfire 68/45, Hybrid halo shell and grenade grip.



Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
feedneck
Strengths: Long range
Accuracy
Speed-w/ eye's
low upkeep
built like a tank
Weaknesses: Weight
They don't make them anymore!
Review: Well what can I say....this gun is the best gun I have ever had! I have had zero problems since I got it! It shoots as fast as anything out there (with eye's) and has a long flat tragectory! I love taking guy's out with three shots to the face! It only requires you to put a few drops of oil in the gun after a day of play, for upkeep. It also has no problem shooting the crappiest paint you can find. AKA makes amazing markers so go out and get one!
Conclusion: Other than being on the heavy side, the Excalibur is flawless. It is built like a tank and shoots like a gatling gun! It has a very smooth operation and is easy to keep on target. You can get a really good deal on them used and it will be better than most if not all newer guns. I have yet to use a gun that comes as close to purfection as the EXCALIBUR!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

solarice Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Green Acid Wash Excalibur (unkown year)
SideWinder Reg
Stock LPR
Stock Board
Freak Barrel Kit (10" & 14" Tips)
eVolution II
Dye Stickys, DOP Big Drop, CCM No-Rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit, or System
Trigger
Cosmetics
Board
Strengths: Efficiency
Consistent = Accuracy
Low Kick
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I looked into this marker for a while before I was able to aquire one. I heard about their great efficiency and great reliability and all the glamour and chrome. Well when I got mine, I was all excited and buzzed.

All that adrenaline was wasted in the couple first shots of my new gun. My hopes and dreams were shattered. The gun was horribly inconsistant and was breaking and chopping paint like a wheat thrasher on harvest day. After trying to tweak the SideWinder, it broke. But alas, I scrutinized the manual, and found that the battery could be dead. I replaced it, and to my amazement, it worked... and was shooting mildly consistant, varying -/+ 10fps, most likely due to the paint/barrel match. It shot just as fast as I could pull the trigger. This was a great gun.

After about three months of owning this gun now, I am very satisfied with my purchase, even without the upgraded board and eyes. I am mostly a woodsballer but like to mix it up on the speed courses, and my gun hasn't failed me on either. I like the trigger on it already, it isn't too loose or free, nor is it too tight or snappy. The heaviness of it has its offset, as its not too easy to move around when firing, though you can't swing it at will either.

I recently bought a 88/5k Scion for the most shots I can get on a fill, and easily got over a case of paint on little over 3400 PSI (4k fill). I changed out the barrel, though the Javelin wasn't bad. It was a kind of an odd barrel, having a snap sound to it that I didn't like much. I added a Freak Barrel to it, and on a windy day I can still get a 80% grouping of 8" at 85 ft, on 295 fps.
Conclusion: I can't really compare this marker to anything of its level as it is my first high end gun, but so far I have been impressed. I originally bought this marker to replace my forever problem stricken E99 that I have seemed to mess up some how, but I think this will not only take its place, but I have a feeling it will stay there for a long time. I assume I will get the upgraded board and eyes, but I'm still trying to see if there is a need for them, as this thing will pinch paint all day, old or fresh. I say that, but I think if it's on the seams, it doesn't do as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigfatlobber Friday, October 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking, cockers, timmies, and spyder variants
Marker Setup: 03 red/black acid wash excal, cp drop with on/off, crossfire 68/3k (for now), empire reloader b, empire bore size barrel set.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bore sizing barrel, that's about it. If you don't already have the eyes, get em. With the WAS board you'll be way faster
Strengths: So damn air effeceint, fast as all get out. This marker really jams.
Weaknesses: With my steel 68/3k tank, slightly heavy
Review: Right out off the box (generally speaking. Had to put the drop and all on) this marker is ready to jam. With the WAS board and no eyes it'll only pump 10 bps but with the eyes is easily capable of 20+bps. Simple operation (one switch). It feels super nice during play. It handles exceptionally. Everyone that I've let jam on it are impressed. It's so smooth and has almost no recoil. All that and once you've made it through the break in period (10,000) cycles you can drop the pressure even more and make this thing really scream.
Conclusion: All in all this is definately one of the highest quality markers that can be owned. If you're really concerned about the weight then get a highlander from Action Pursuit Paintball or try and find a featherlite.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media