paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Montypup Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almso every other high end electro
Marker Setup: 2k3 Acidwash half-milled Excalibur, WAS board, WAS eyes, WAS switch, 14" ANS S-5 barrel kit, Hybrid rail, 68/4500 Centerflag "Thunder" Dynaflow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the pandora board, eyes and switch. They turn the excalibur into a machine gun. Clamping feedneck also helps too.
Strengths: Very, very smooth. Little mainteance required, no need for major upgrades (except for eyes)
Weaknesses: Limited to 10bps out of the box, stock barrel isn't the best.
Review: I picked up my excalibur used. This helped me save over the overpriced retail price. I immediately sent it off to get the eyes drilled and put into it. After getting it back, it was one of the fastest gun i've ever shot. I was amazed by not only the speed, but how smooth it shot. It's also easy to take care of. All you have to do is put a drop of extreme lube into the asa, dry fire a few times, and you're ready to rock. Overall, this is an excellent marker, from a company with an excellent reputation.
Conclusion: A bit overprices, so pick up one used. This is one of the best guns i've ever shot, right up there with the dm4.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CheetohFingers Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushys, tippys, angels, spyders, cockers
Marker Setup: 04 jmj featherlite excal
halo b w/ z code
sceptor kit
macdev conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above
Strengths: Accuracy, Efficiency
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: You should get most of the idea by now.
However, it was thought to be heavy, but the jmj milling makes it about 2.5 pounds.
It used to be slow but was'ed out i can get about 18bps.
It is still expensive, efficient (1800 shoots on a 68/4500), deadly accurate, and low low maintenance.
Unfortunately it is no longer in production.

Conclusion: If you can find and afford one, get one!
Closed bolt gnomes really do exist, and they live in much faster markers these days!

Edit: After a year of use, I like it even more. I may never replace this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 8:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frisky Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulses, ebladed cockers, but nothing really compares to this marker
Marker Setup: 03' Outkast cocker graphite with a 15* asa, dye ultralite boomy, JAM ani-chop bolt, and a cam adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
none this thing kicks major huevos stock
Strengths: A C C U R A C Y
Weaknesses: none that i really recognizedbut it is heavier then my buddys impulse
Review: when i went to the so-cal paintball expo they were letting people shoot these markers with brand new ricochet apache loaders on em full of paint. i picked this puppy up and checked the trigger, very VERY light snappy pull. i started ripping on this trigger and shot half the hopper in ( it seemed like) two seconds, fast as a mofo. but the best part was that the paint placement never moved. there was one paint splat on the target board and i shot 200 rnds. AWESOME accuracy , way better then my buds impulse. i didnt want to put this thing down, if i had 1300$ i would have bought that thing right there.
Conclusion: awesome marker from 1-10 it gets an 11
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballfanatic Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about all electro guns out there: intimidators angels e-blades vikings excaliburs impulses
Marker Setup: blue acid wash half milled excalibur with eyes pipe barrel razor cp drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
eyes are nice HALO B is a must
Strengths: very accurate fast lite butiful Your ideal gun
Weaknesses: none yet except that it costs a tone over 1500
Review: The excalibur is one of the nicest guns availibil on the market today. it shoots very nicey and you can set the balls per second to what ever you want to keep up with any hopper. The eyes seem to work with the best and one thing that i liked was the fact that they drilled the eyes at the bottom of the bolt chamber so the ball has to be seeted all the way in before it will register the presence of the ball.
Conclusion: If you have the money to get one I would recomend it but if you cant trade for one that is bone stock the still shoot nicely.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iLUVvikings Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking
Ir3
Angel lcd
Autococker
Intimidator 2003
Marker Setup: Viking with was board, wicked switch, scm, ccm no rise, jmj blade trigger, dye sticky 3's, check it unimount, and an assortment of barrels.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes, and a light trigger. make sure you have a fast hopper.
Strengths: A C C U R A C Y. It can be fast.
Weaknesses: isn't the fastest gun out. you need to have the skill to use it.
Review: I have to say that this is simply the best gun I have ever used( so far). The accuracy is the best, and if it is upgraded to the max then watch out opponents. My brother owns a featherlight, and he simply gogs everyone. If you want to survive a match up against one then when you put him in, then don't you dare let him out. I have read reviews about other guns having incredible accuracy, but when i used them i never saw it! people always said you could nail a tack all the way across the field with what they had. they never said it didn't take them all day and several cases to do it. I am always sold on accuracy and this gun has it, but I don't have the money, or at least the courage to spend my money to get one.
Conclusion: If you are tired of missing game winning shots, then you need to try one out. They are not the fastest gun out(the viking is), but they make the money shots all the time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ILLSTATE Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other excaliburs and closed bolt guns
Marker Setup: Mountain Dew Excalibur 207
16' Dye Ultralite .686
PE 45/45 NO DROP
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you have an older model, put new 'noids and was board and eyes and if you have a hundo laying around get the scm
Strengths: Very smooth and easy to rip and INCREDIBLY gas efficient
Weaknesses: Pricey at start and upgrades are pricey as well
Review: well mine was a machine gun, pretty much was one of the smoothest, straightest shooting guns around. Only downside is mine was a battery hog. Other than that absolutely beautiful. I had an ugly color, but you'd only say that after i cracked you one in the face. This gun on the other hand IS always that consistent -/+ 1 or 2 unlike other people that claim this consistency.
Conclusion: well its an incredibly well made peice of machinery. Worked perfect all the time and incredibly consistent and efficient and smooth.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andress Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cockers (pretty much all of 'em),angels,timmys,bushmasters,etc.
Marker Setup: aka marlin cocker (upgraded excal) with featherlight body from jmj designs
total freak barrel 12 inch
max-flo regulator (costum made)
Recommended
Upgrades:
ok, a really good marker as it comes right out of the box... i got it a new barrel but that javelin shoots so damn straight but it wont fit all paint
Strengths: fast, accurate, sweet looking, super low pressure, almost no need of maintainance
Weaknesses: none, stock barrel dosent fit all paint
Review: an excellent marker from an excelent company AKA really outdid themselves with the new excal, i got it a featherlight body cause the costum body was kindda heavy.... shoots straight, fast and accurate right outta the box... even though the stock barrel brakes cheap paint its damn good i reccomend a boomy or a freak...... kindda pricey but well worth the $$$... sweet sweet sweet trigger shoots really really nice.... cool milling
Conclusion: GREAT GREAT GREAT..... really good marker... if your going serious get it cause its well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MojojojoAF Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Powerlyte with Eblade, Cockers with Eblade and they don't compare
Marker Setup: EXCALIBUR, Sidewinder reg, Dye SS Boomstick, Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
It was perfect, I dont own it but it worked hella good for me.
Strengths: Quiet, fast, accurate
Weaknesses: I don't own it!
Review: I tested this Excal last night after practice and I was really very impressed. It was quiet and soooo fast. It had no kick to it at all, and I was ripping paint. I ended up playing a game with it and it was down to almost 300psi and was still ripping, although the ball began to arc just a bit. I had never used a gun that was so low pressure.

There was no eye, but I never chopped once. I did not feel any weight penalty as I had heard nor did I see anything wrong with the gun except the splash ano wasn't my flavor.

I can not tell you how impressed I was, I had been using me Ebladed cocker all night and was very happy with it untill I started using the Excal.

Conclusion: If you can afford one, I am going to guarrantee you will like it. This marker rocks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 31st, 2003 at 7:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, impulses, e-mags, shockers, matrixes, and other electros
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. a new barrel isn't nessisary because the stock one is a great high quality barrel, but its bore size is tiny (the barrel is meant to be used with the highest quality small-bore paintballs). other than that the only other upgrades you need are only cosmetics except for maybe a drop forward.
Strengths: Autococker, angel, shocker, matrix and tippmann
Weaknesses: Price tag, ugly, break in time (?)
Review: If i could have any gun it would be a JMJ concepts milled featherlight excalibur. if i could have any other gun it would be a stock excalibur. if i could have any other gun it would be a jmj concepts viking (you get the point)... this a great paintgun. as the adds and early review said, it has the long balling ability of a cocker, accurracy of a shocker, speed of an angel, low pressure operation of a matrix, and the siplicity of a tippmann. i didn't get payed by aka, it is true this is one of best stock or customized paintguns in the world. before i tried it i had heard of a break-in time for it to loosen up the internas. after the break-in time it would be primed to low its operating pressure. i did (i got it out of the box) find a breack in time for this gun. i shot 500 ball through it and it was ready to go. maybe i mis-understood the break-in time concept, but what ever. great gun, and if you were thinking of geting another angel priced gun get it, but if i had that money i'd get a jmj excalibur.
Conclusion: Also another bad thing about this marker is that it is expensive even stock. when you buy it you should get an ajustible, high quality air set up (like a macdev tank). even though it will run on co2 (only with a primary palmer or maxflo reg + the aka stock reg and a remote, and an antisiphon set up on the tank), i don't suggest using it (i never suggest using it, except shocker). as long as your running hpa your fine, and since this gun is so efficient (i forgot to mention that) it can be paired with a small tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 31st, 2004 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Heavy Hitter Wednesday, June 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my other excal, nothing is quit as good
Marker Setup: EDGE EXCALIBUR with 68/45 maxflo with freak n all those goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good air system and the WAS board
Strengths: AWSOME ACCURACY!!!! it comes tricked out basically you dont need to upgrade anything
Weaknesses: the marker rocks no problems except the customer service of AKALMP
Review: the only problem with this marker is the company that makes it! the marker is awsome the customer service SUCKS!!!!!!! they fix a problem and creat a new on its an on going process but the marker rocks

the marker is an awsome example of an awsome paintball gun the company that makes it is an example of shame and i hope that this review helps you and i hope the company realizes that having a lady answering the customer service that doesnt know jack about the paintball industry isnt a good plan thanks

BRian

PS about the custom service problems i speak on behalf of many people thank you
Conclusion: the marker is an awsome example of an awsome paintball gun the company that makes it is an example of shame and i hope that this review helps you and i hope the company realizes that having a lady answering the customer service that doesnt know jack about the paintball industry isnt a good plan thanks

BRian
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media