paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
The Ender Wednesday, October 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The shocker is the only other ultralow pressure electro I've tried.
Marker Setup: '02 Dye Cocker, Dye pneumatics, 16" Ti Boomer, Angel IR3 minireg, Izon, 68/45 AA Raptor Air, Warp Feed, Evlution II revy, Shocktech beavertail, low pressure exhaust valve, low pressure conversion(running 230 psi currently)
'99 WGP Cocker, Shocktech front block kit, Supafly bolt, Benchmark 45 grip, Dye Stickies, Ti Boomer 14", Shocktech df, 32Deg 68/45 CA tank. Shocktech beavertail, Ricochet hopper
'02 SFL Emag, level 10 bolt(duh!), Warp Feed,(duh!), Ti Boomstick 12", Home built z-grip with electronics and solenoid integrated
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are looking to upgrade anything on this gun, stay away from the internals, nothing you could put in there would make this marker any better than it is now. The only thing I would suggest is a Ti Boomstick. I would put a Ti on any gun I own.
Strengths: Ultra low pressure means ultra high effciency. The only other gun I have ever used with better efficiency as an electro is the Shocker, and that was the only thing it did better. It can shoot faster, and more accurately out to 40-50 yards. Past that neither one is very accurate but then nothing but a cocker or a flatline tippmann is.
Weaknesses: There are few upgrades available. This is only a bad thing if you are like me (diehard cocker fan) and like to tinker and upgrade until you have replaced every piece of your baby with something new.
Like the Shocker, the Akalmp is a bit unwieldy, but this is not a partcular concern to most. As far as aesthetics go, this gun is not for show. Again another idiosyncracy of cocker or angel owners used to seeing all kinds of cosmetic tailoring, not necessarily a bad thing.
Conclusion: This is a get down to business type of marker. Just gas it up and plan on running out of paint before you run out of air, no matter how big your harness is.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

excaliburfiend Monday, September 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tricked cockers
ALL ANGEL
timmys
Marker Setup: Excalibur #347 Red acid wash fade/ custom milled
10 inch dye boomstick
stick trigger
68/4500 conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
new software when available
Strengths: everything
most consistent marker, most efficent marker
shoots like a cocker......
i love it
for some reason the genius' at AKA made the gun sooo low pressure it is incapable of chopping paint!! hummm
Weaknesses: expensive, and the wait to get one is really long
Conclusion: GET ONE

I wanted the best marker on the market and i chose this one, i could have gotten a IR3 but i didn't want one, i tried both the cobra mamba IR3 and this and i liked this much better.. is just cant chop paint.. also its much cheaper then the cool IR3's

I love this marker and i woulnd't trade it for anything. the only think that might come a close would be a RACE free flow cocker. but only if RACe actually got the act together and made their product reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kman2002 Tuesday, August 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 2k2
Marker Setup: black milled excalibur with 14" smart parts AA, shocktech drop and 68/4500 pmi
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a barrel if you plan on using medium bore paint. the stock javelin barrel works very well but only with smaller bore paint.
Strengths: - gas efficient. almost 1900 shots with 68/4500.
- mat black anodizing is tough as nails.
- excellent stock barrel.
- comes with stock sidewinder reg. super consistant and adaptable with many air configurations because of the swiveling bottom.
- very accurate. same as an autococker better than the angel.
- great point ability. you can sight down the gun and barrel better than most guns.
- adjustable trigger makes ripping string of paint so easy. no need to go faster than 10-13 bps.
- not too heavy.
- uses 9v battery.
-tight profile.
- good customer support.

Weaknesses: - not cheap.
- should have and "on" indicator. battery dies fast if left on too long.
- you have to pay for software kit to increase bps speed to 13 and the tool kit needed to take the gun apart. (gun costs enough already)
Conclusion: very well built gun which performs everything very well. if you can live without the bells and whistles and don`t need to unload an insane amount of paint, this is the choice of high end electro markers that`s going to ultimately get you more kills.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all of them
Marker Setup: blue milled excal, with freak, dyna flow68
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing to the gun but i would recommend some rechargeable batteries
Strengths: this gun is basically an electric cocker, through the software you can program the BPS, the dwell for the hammer release, hammer drive, bolt release and bolt drive. the gun does need to broken in with 2-4 cases(thats just fun though)
to put it simply its a the trajectory of a cokcer with the speed and comfort of an angel. the service at splat attack has been super
Weaknesses: Ive been hearing about battery problems with the xcal but have not experienced them myself. I played the last three weekends plus alot of shooting in the backyard and my batt is ok. these are typical problems of a new gun on the market, some will have problems others dont.
Conclusion: a solid marker shoots straight fast and is everthig you pay for
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kano2001 Wednesday, May 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
well it shoots like a high end cocker and a triiger like a bushmaster but with a snappier trigger.
Marker Setup: Pbexcalibur(purple, aqua blue acid wash
freek system 14 in all american
12 volt viewloader
45/4500 pmi tank
Back up
Bushmaster 2k2 lcd
gladiator reg w/asa
sonic lpr
teflon ball detent
freak
vaporized
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well U could get a new barrel b/c the stock barrel bore is small but pretty damn good, I use the stock barrel instead freak which I find more efficient
Strengths: Shoots very straight with flat trajetory like a cocker.
very quiet
low pressure can get 1500 shots out of 45/4500 psi tank.
easy maintananace
can go down to 65 psi
can stick ur finger in the breech a pull the trigger without getting ur finger broken off
very light and balanced
nice trigger
tournament semi so no need for any tournament locks
Weaknesses: takes bout 9 cases to break it in so the volocity stops dropping off.
Conclusion: overall good gun not only b/c I have it becasue it shoots very straight . Like an autocoker it curves down alittle but that is possitive b/c u can shoot over a bunker and let it curve down to hit the person but the curve cant be ever in a negative way. Lets just say If I got a bushmaster and my excalibur and putthe guns at the same level the excal will shoot farther due to flatter trajectory. For the bushmaster to shoot at watI'm shooting at he will have to shoot like an ark. I give it a 9 b/c every day newer and beter things are coming out but right now this is as good as it gets

Any Questions??
email me at kano2001@aol.com
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers black magic, dye, sleeper etc...angels, mag rt mag, tipmans and so on
Marker Setup: excal with boomy, agd 4500 flatline air, halo, shocktech df
Recommended
Upgrades:
performance wise nothing has come across my mind the stock barrel (javelin) i think is more accurate then my boomy but it doesnt shoot as far. for comfort some dye sticky's a good drop foward. this gun is ready to go
Strengths: this gun is great. it shoots far and so so accurate and very compfy . i dont chop paint i never did yet. (i just knocked on wood). very very quiet and super low pressure. the trigger feals amazing it is adjustable and easy to do it. it has a short pull and is sensetive if you tighten it up you can got a bounce back going if you like that. the javelin realy might be a better barrel then a boomstick i just use the boomy because it bothers me that i bought it before i got the gun and i am brainwashed by dye prodects . the gun is made solid you realy dont have to worry about something breaking. cleaning is a piece of cake actualy i should say oiling because i haven't had anything chop (fingers crossed). i can go on on . the lifetime waranty is nice oh and you get a bag
Weaknesses: the bad? ok i will nit pick. not the lightest gun but it realy isnt that heavy just not one of the lightest. it eats batteries. the light by the power switch blinks red when the battery needs to be replaced but i just think it blinks red sometimes and causes me to replace even more batteries atleast its a peice of cake to switch them out and i take them from work so they are free. the price but if you are worried about that you shouldnt be reading this. the warranty card was a crooked photo coppied piece of paper it got me nervous until i fired it. also i cant bring the floppy disk in the bathroom to read.
Conclusion: this realy is an amazingly well made gun it may not be the fastest out their and doesnt have a lcd display. but it does shoot 13 bps and i think it is the most accurate i ever fired and shoots the furthest outside of the flatline so you decide do you want a gun that tells you the time and has a fully auto mode you cant use or a gun that kicks a$$.... i gave it a 9 because a 10 gets no bad comments no matter how petty they are and i havent fired a 10 yet
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
well i started out with a stingray, then a compact C spyder. then a crappy impulse. then the excalibur. I've shot about every single gun on the market though.
Marker Setup: Excalibur, 12" Dye Boomstick, 45ci nitrogen tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
well, the javalin is a good barrel. but upgrade yoru barrel first because there is really no upgrade that the excalibur needs. but the only real thing that it needs is an upgrade. but i still use my good ol javalin for certain crappy paints.
Strengths: well i cant think of anything bad about this gun. Its ungodly fast. and the really cool thing is that it comes with a disk that you can upgrade the speed after a certain number of shots at your local retailer if they know anything about aka products. it has a nice trigger adjustment. its really loud without paint but get some paint in there and it hums. its very accurate. not as much as a cocker but its right on its tail. its very consistant in its shooting and the sidewinder is one of the best regulators on the market and it comes stock. Its about as low maintenance as a spider is, only requires baterie changing, some oiling down, and just little maintenance. overall it is the best gun on the market
Weaknesses: ok i encountered a problem with the excalibur but it was mostly my fault. DONT TAKE THE EXCALIBUR IN THE RAIN. yes yes some of you that are reading this review might think im stupid but DONT DO IT. me and my freinds were playing at a local rec feild and it was a cold rainy day. but i wanted to play. i didnt care about the conditions you know i just wanted to play. so we were playin and it was horrible water was getin in my barrel even though i was usin the 3 hold ported barrel javalin. so basically it was a bad day. so every game we had to go in and clean off our guns and barrels. well i went in one time and i cleaned my gun off oiled it up, and then went to chrono it. when i got tehre it wouldnt shoot. it just made a little croaking sound. none of the refs or me could figure out what was wrong with it. so i took it to the shop and it turns out that water was all in my internals. luckily it wasnt bad but learn from my mistake DONT TAKE IT IN THE RAIN.
Conclusion: there is nothing wrong with the gun. with accuracy basically as good as the cocker and speed faster than any gun this gun really is the best on the market. DONT TAKE IT IN THE RAIN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder em1,a shocker 4x4 turbo, e-mag
Marker Setup: automag classic with a pmi vertical reg, kapp micro apocolypse drop forward, benchmark 2x finger triiger frame, dye boomstick 12in,pure energy 68cu 4500psi n2 system, and a 12vlt revy x-board hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, my friends recently bought an excalibur and he says other than a new barrel the gun is perfect right out of the box. he uses a smart parts AA with freak inserts
Strengths: When i first shot this gun i was absolutely amazed at the trigger pull. it was so light it was as if u didnt even have to pull it, but lay your fingers on it to fire. His is the blue acid wash custom milled.he runs it with a halo hopper, angel a.i.r, and a smart parts AA 12in. I actually believe i could get a higher rate of fire than any electro marker with this gun on semi !!! the quick strip design on the bolt makes for extremely easy on fiels maintenance. I LOVE THIS GUN !!! in my opinio this is THE BEST GUN ON THE MARKET !!!
Weaknesses: Me, being only 14, have a tight budget. As soon as i shot my friends gun i wanted one, but do you know how long it would take a 14 year old to raise that kind of money? So price is one thing , also you use alot of paint with this marker. And paint doesnt grow on trees, so keep that in mind as you think about purchasing it.
Conclusion: If you have the budget definately get one of these !!! It is the best electro for the money, besides angels are over rated.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used Mags, angels, cockers and the lot. I have been playing and reffing this sport for close to ten years now so I have shot a wide variety of guns.
Marker Setup: Excalibur with a CP flame drop and a maxflo 4500 nitro setup. Dark Angel led with a flame drop and a nitro duck 3000 setup. Minimag with the rt valve custom drop AA Apoc 4500 nitro set up. I have a few revvy's, a r2k, and a halo loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Freak barrel system works great on this marker.
Strengths: This marker has performed awesome right out of the box. The rate of fire was set at 13 for me right from the factory. I was able to easily outshoot my revvy with x board several times while testing it. I haven't been able to do so with my R2K but that is another review. The distance on this thing and the accuracy at those distances is what other owners have claimed. I was able to "gog" the "out of range" cocker player that other people couldn't hit on the opposite corner of the field. The purple acid wash finish on this marker is flawless. The workmanship in general on this marker is top rate. These people really care about what goes out thier door. I shot 4000 rounds through it in a weekend and I only broke one ball and that is because I let my r2k loader get way too low on balls.
Weaknesses: I guess I could whine about the price but since I paid more for my shelved Dark angel I guess I can't.
Conclusion: This marker has lived up to all the claims I have been reading about it. It shoots far and straight and fast. Throw a R2k or a halo on it and you will very ,very rarely break a ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Shocktech Cocker , another cocker , dark angel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: It shots really fast
Its is unlike almost any marker out there
I love my closed bolt electro markers!
This thing can sling paint very accurately
It looks really sweet and has good acid wash choices inculding custom ones
Your air tank will love this gun for being so gental with 170 psi
Weaknesses: Its not a big house hold name like a angel or a cocker , and thats all that some people out there care about which is a stupid reason not to like a paintgun. oh where was I? I think the computer link and stuff should come WITH the marker and not be charged extra.
Conclusion: Im currently trying to decided between a shocker and this and im leaning towards this , AKA is a smaller paintball company and ive never meet a nicer group of people running a company before and they put alot of work into this gun and ill take this over a angel any day. If you want a electro paintgun this is worth every bit and even a little cheaper than most angels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media