paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Everything - Top to bottom, front to back, this thing is built without compromise. The folks at AKA do a wonderful job, the machining is pristine, whether you look at it from the inside or out. With respect to the function - not even a hicup, or a broken paintball. Maintenance so far has been putting a drop of oil in the Sidewinder before use, oiling the bolt, and charging the battery.
Weaknesses: It is kinda pricey, however, it is definately a top shelf product. I would also like to see the software for altering the program settings available for a PDA.
Conclusion: If you can afford it, buy this marker - it is, i.m.h.o. without flaw.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Autococker, Electric 'Cocker, Bushy, tricked 'Cocker, Splat Attack V2, Spyder EM1, Matrix, Dark Angel, sling shot and by hand! :)
Marker Setup: AKA Excalibur, 12v Viewloader w/ X-board, JT two-piece 14" barrel, Bull Dog 91 cu" tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only thing that I would suggest to improve the AKA Excal is to swap out the darn stock Vertical Feed for something that clamps down on the hopper neck. The stock vert feed doesn't hold the hopper well, and since I am a mobil player I need that hopper to STAY IN PLACE! I haven't located a clamping-vertical feed for the Excal yet, because the thread pattern is unique to the Excal.
Strengths: It is perfect. Maintainence is minimal, less than the good 'ol reliable Spyder everybody starts out with. It only requires wiping down, and removing the battery at the end of the day. Small amount of silicon on the bolt, and maybe remove the ball nubin to clean with a Q-tip.

The Excal has the fire-power when I need it, but it's main appeal to me was it's consistency, accuracy, and low operating pressure.

IT DOESN'T REQUIRE TIMING ADJUSTMENTS, or any other kind of adjustment like the remarkable 'Cocker does. It is also completely enclosed, so there isn't a plethora of small parts/tubes to be gummed up by paint (like the 'cocker...)

THE BEST THING ABOUT THE AKA EXCAL IS THE GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM "SPLAT ATTACK" IN KENT WA , AS WELL AS AKA IN INDIANAPOLIS. I never get an answering machine when I call these people, and they are always happy to answer questions I have about my Excal. The follow-up customer service is worth the price of the marker--and if you play alot you will sooner or later need their services.

They have offered me a loaner Excal if I need my looked at by their technicians.

The AKA Excal is to the high-end markers, like the Spyder is to the entry-level markers.
Weaknesses: My Excal number is 301, so perhaps it still has a few quirks to work out. Mine eats batteries like gummy bears, and also needed 5 to 6 cases to break it in real well. Splat Attack is in the process of correcting my battery problem....

The only other really annoying thing about my beloved Excal is it's stock Vertical feed, which I mentioned above. It doesn't fit tightly on a hopper neck, and needs to be replaced with a locking vert feed.
Conclusion: The Excal is the perfect tournament marker. It is reliable, low-maintainence, and bullet-proof. If you really wanted to, you could dig a fox hole with it on a rec field and then play that fox hole without stopping. I accidently got a "core sample" of mud during a tournament in Bremerton WA, and being in an incredibly tight situation I had to keep shooting without squeegy-ing. The Excal blew paint and mud for a second, and then shot straight enough for me to win that game.
You don't want to play a tournament game with the Excal's barrel filled with mud, but you can if you have to!

(I can supply you guys with my receipt of purchase, if you like, to prove I own it. I also intend to get another as a 'backup' marker for tournaments, and our team consists of Excaliburs and Angels.)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark Angel LCD 2001
Marker Setup: Dark Angel (pewter), MacDev Gladitor reg, Lasoya Trigger, Lasoya Mid-rise, Dye Titanium Boomstick, AKA Lightning Bolt, Nickel Hydride battery upgrade with On/Off switch, Centerflag Hyperflow 68/4500, . . .
Recommended
Upgrades:
J & J Freak Barrel setup, because the stock barrel has a small bore size of .684.
Strengths: Weight - Feels extremely light compared to my Dark Angel. Without actually weighing the two the AKA feels around 35%% lighter.

Accuracy - I never thought it was possible, but somehow AKA managed to take the accuracy of an Autococker and the speed of an Angel and package the two together. This past weekend my 10-man team practiced, using these and I was able to get more eliminations because of the consistency and accuracy of this marker.

Rate of Fire - Can easily shoot over 11-12 balls per second after you adjust the trigger and allow about two cases to break the gun in.

Sound - This marker is extremely quiet. Compared to the Angel I would say the Excalibur is about 60 to 75%% quieter.

Options - Can either be purchased in a single or double trigger configuration and uses standard autococker threaded barrels. Also has plenty of metal to allow for many custom milling jobs, and can be easily anodized. My Excalibur was anodized a splash green/black from AKA, and after playing with it does not appear to show any wear. Good quality wet look and feel.

AKA - From personal experience and reputation AKA has great customer service and their products are some of the best in the paintball market to date.
Weaknesses: As of yet I have experienced absolutely no problems with my Excalibur. The only thing I would miss from the Angel is the shoot counter (with trip) and built-in game timer with vibrating grip frame.
Conclusion: I never thought I would say this, but the Dark Angel with have to be my backup marker because the Excalibur has moved into the front. This marker is lighter, more accurate, more consistant, and lower pressure. Even though I'll miss some of the extra functions the Dark Angel has, I more confident that I'll get many more eliminations using the Excalibur.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shot a shocker for awhile, freinds have angels and merlin autocockers
Marker Setup: Excalibur. I have a ricochet hopper, getting a freak, 45 68 mac attack, dye sticky grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
all the stuff that i have works good, but you dont really ned to upgrade it much
Strengths: shots great. has a awsome rate of fire and pretty accurate for a electronic gun, i wouldnt say its has accurate as a autococker but its speed makes up for it
Weaknesses: the trigger tends to want to go full suto somethimes it may seem, but its actually not its the bounce making the switch go and basicly shoting it self. but aka is working on that, some little things but those are being worked out
Conclusion: all and all its a great paintball maker and i cant wait to get my next one, iam getting a blue to clear annodize
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jt_popeye3 Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
huh.......my spyder alil....i've shot other angels
Marker Setup: i got an Spyder Shutter(Blue),with Boo-yahh elcd,CP 12'' nickel barrel(Bore:.289),A CP Drop Forward w/ costom made housing to fit stock reg,a new turdo like vale to make it lower pressure,and i got HPA running to it.(i had to see the local airsmith to get HPA to work.,and i'm playing tornaments with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket Barrel.....A desint drop-forward(to balence is out)....and some personal perference up-grades
Strengths: It is simply ALSOME:a 3 spot trigger adjustment,9 volt battery operation,Uses HPA or Co2(with the right set-up), AKALKP's Life Time Warrinty.(with good C/S too),AND its Accerate,Quite,FAST(also the trigger has a sweeeeet-spot),and SUPER LOW-PERESSURE
Weaknesses: Nothin that i found out,basicly its alittle bit pricey
Conclusion: It's an *ALSOME* gun.. i proise you wont regret it...and it has a fully life-time warrenty for manufactuing defects....Well GO AND GET IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AKALMP LP Cocker
Marker Setup: Nickel-and-Black Excalibur with 12" DYE ultralite, Warped Drop-Forward, 88/4500 air system, Revolution hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of your choice, good electro-assist hopper - Rev is minimum!
Strengths: Rugged body and anodizing to take abuse from tourney players
Modular design for ease of maintenance
Impressive cycle speed, Cocker-like range & accuracy
3-point adjustable trigger
Lifetime warranty with good tech support (thanks Sully)
Takes cocker-style barrels
Doesn't need a bunch of gadgets to run right out of the box
Weaknesses: Limited upgrade/accessory path - hey, some of us LIKE to accessorize!
Any color you want, as long as it's black (getting better now)
Needs a high-end hopper to realize its top speed. Revolutions need not apply!


Conclusion: Best marker to come down the pike in the last 5 years. I've shot Angels, Defiants, Intimidators, etc. Nothing came close to matching my AKA LP Cocker until this bad-a$$ came out. Now the Cocker's relegated to back-up status. The Excal's snappy sweet trigger has completely spoiled me!

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
00' Dark Angel LED, 01' Dark Angel LCD, WGP Autococker vert feed 01', WGP STO autococker 01', WGP Black Magic autococker, Free Flow autococker, Bob Long Defiant, Bob Long Intimidator, all these i have tested for the period of 1 week each and have had to repair them for other people, my markers are, Pro team micromag 01', Smart Parts 99' Shocker (with upgrades)
Marker Setup: Micromag out of the box with 12v hopper and 68/4500 tank, 99' Shocker w/ hyper grip frame, gadget grip, Glacier AT board, air assist , and also Smart parts intellifeed for shocker. 68/4500 or 68 CO2 w/ anti siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward and barrel of your choice.
Strengths: This is probably the best marker i have ever had the priviledge to test i got to test one of the original 10 prototypes ever made from aka lmp, and i also got to test one of the newer models with the new board and I have absolutely no complaints, the low pressure is way better than i ever thought i would get out of my shocker and the distance kicks A$$ and the trigger is adjustable between 3 different settings.
Weaknesses: The only bad part is not having one.
Conclusion: This is a new marker that easily competes with the high end marker market. Front players might still stick with angels due to the little faster trigger and shorter distance, but this is a must for back and mid players and is completely low maintnence and i guarentee that if you ever have a problem with this marker aka will take care of you if you are nice to em. I'm still waiting on money to get mine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Custom Cockers, Emags, RTs, Bushys
Just about any semi out there, and many pumps
Sold my $2000 Custom Ripper Cocker to buy this
Marker Setup: I have a swirl milled blue acid wash Xcalibur
Currently I have 68/4.5k Conquest tank on a Kapp Cradle
Also a Full Freak set
And a OLD Revolution from 4 years ago (hasnt let me down yet, hehe)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
This gun is great outta the box
I recomend you get the programming cable and tool kit from AKA though so you can work on it and adjust it your self. I am my local fields airsmith and our whole team shoots Xcaliburs so it is well worth it for me
Also I reccomend a barrel such as the Freak Set or the OTP set with bore sizers so your paint doesnt roll outta the barrel.
I also reccomend that you buy a GOOD Nitro tank to feed this marker. I good screw in will work but do not be supprised if you get drop off with a cheap tank.
And of course a good powered loader, Ricochet, VL Revy w/ X Board, Halo
Strengths: Everything is great about this gun, here are a few of the good points:
Gun is lighter than most
Fast shooting
AKA has good customer service
Very durable
Doesn't break paint
Very accurate
Very efficient
Very consistent
9 volt batteries
Great trigger
I ran 25000 rounds thru it in the first 2 months I had it and have had zero problems. I have broken about 10 balls in that time, all barrel breaks. This gun when properly set up will NOT break paint in the breach.
Weaknesses: Bad, whats that, OK maybe a few nit picky things
Data cable not included
Tool kit not included
Trigger is blocky
Very expensive
Conclusion: Ive told many people "Sell whatever you are shooting, Buy an Xcalibur, you will not ever want another gun!"
I bought one on faith from AKA, and now all my teamates are unloading their Angels, Defiants, and RTs to buy one.
Read my full reveiw here: http://CGBCustoms.homestead.com/ExcaliburReview.html
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used Tippmans, Spyders, Angel leds, Angel lcds, auto cockers.
Marker Setup: I currently use an Excalibur, with 68/4500 preset and a warpfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: This marker is built like a tank. It has been used by newbies as a rental, and used in several tournaments.
Effeciency-enough air to play a few 5-man, or a couple of ten man without worrying about running out
Ease of use-turn it on and go play
no gimmicks- no lcd screen, no multiple modes
Weight-lighter than an Angel or any other marker that I know of
Size-very compact
Trigger-love that trigger bounce
Weaknesses: I have Excalibur #21. I have had the first gen board- sometimes it worked. I had the bad batch solenoids-replaced for free. I wish I could have gotten a larger bore barrel, .684 is just too small.
Conclusion: If you are wanting a marker to play tourneys in, then this will fill the bill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel
b2k2
tribal(3)
all types of cockers
Marker Setup: excalibur
12 inch cp
12inch boomy
kapp drop zone 2
12volt revo
68/4500 nitro duck
48/300 pmi pure energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel and a cradle
Strengths: very good design that was well thought out, extemely low pressure reg(i put one on my cocker and it worked awesome). takes cocker threads which are easy to get at most stores. a real head turner ar fields. accuracy is exellent from close and far range. not on the heavy side at all. it shoots extremely fast at up to 13bps. hardly ever chops
Weaknesses: aklmp has pretty bad customer service. price
Conclusion: great gun for the serious player
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media