paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Vertical Bottle, Trigger Shoe, Anodized Aluminum Body, Lightweight, Easy Field Stripping, and Maximum Performance Valve.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
PF_Nut Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO Autococker
TippmanA5 w/reative trigger
Tippman Pro-lite
Marker Setup: Has the right hand feed, autococker had a center feed but I missed looking down the top so much I made sure my next one was right or left
Female stabilizer mounted just below the handle
Adco red dot site
Black hard coated 10.5" spiral vented barrel
Protouch trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stabilizer reg of some type, helps tremendously with velocity consistancy
Strengths: - Quick bolt pull
- Super light
- Accuracy is awesome
Weaknesses: - Sometimes I still chop paint
- Bit pricey
Review: After five years of using this tank of a gun it still works but has developed a small leak in the cocking regulator (aka the rock reg). I called palmer shop about it and they said mail it in after running through a few things on the phone and they would fix it for free as a warranty repair! Amazing, after five years they still honor the warranty.

Powder coating on the marker is top notch, after five years of playing there's still no chips or scratches! Mine is just flat black with nothing fancy done to it, I thought at the time it might last longer that way, maybe I was right.

Bought it back in 2000 with a pro touch trigger job. I heard the stock setup was heavy and I didnt want another autococker heavy long trigger. Was very happy with the blazer's trigger, rocking motion, short, and light. Have to love it, but man those electronic marker triggers are soooo light and snappy. Love the blazer, think my next gun may be an electro blazer. Just not looking forward to it having hoses sticking out, will miss the clean design of the standard blazer. Far as chopping paint it just happens sometimes, it's still a two stage trigger so it happens time to time.

Price wise it's 400 stock setup, add a stab, 45 frame or trigger job and a ported barrel you'll be more closer to 650 - 700 dollars. Figure though it's really stood up to the test of time, not bad considering no issues with it until recently and even after the problem it's covered by warranty.

Over the years the barrel has seen a lot of use and it's not near as accurate as it once was. Just worn out, so while the gun is in for repair I told them to match a new 12" dual vented barrel ($125) to it. Matching a barrel just means they fire a bunch of paint through the barrel while turning it, once they find the best position the top of the barrel is marked so you know the best way to attach it to the gun. Slip fit tension system for their barrels in the blazer is sweet!

I also had them do a general maintenance on the gun ($35) to clean it up check any parts that need new o-rings and change em, etc. This has never been done by me or anyone else over the five years I've ran it so I figure it's time.

Not much else to say except I've kept it over the years as my only marker because it's a solid performer. Always worked and it's small size and weight (just two pounds without hopper or air on, add air and a full vl revolution hopper and your talkin about 4.5 pounds) is a huge bonus to me, I'm a tall but skinny guy and carrying around the autococker (had a stainless barrel on it, gun was 5 pounds without hopper or air, add full hopper load and 20oz tank it came close to 8, nearly double the blazer) for a year I noticed my arm was tired after a few games and it became harder and harder to keep the gun up and on target if a match lasted more than 15 min or so in the woods.
Conclusion: It's a sweet gun, but now a days considering the competition hmm The electro race guns sure are fun to shoot but if you must go mechanical this thing is very good (electros are just so sweet, it's why I give this an eight, palmer now offers an electro mod for the blazer which may bring this back to a 10, just cant compete with 15bps LOL)! Palmers was super helpful when I did have an air leak and the air smith they transfered me to knew the gun inside and out. 5 year warranty? Most cars dont have that
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fossilhead Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various autocockers, Mags, Angels.
Marker Setup: 2004 PPS Blazer, 2x45-frame with blade trigger, dual vented 12 pps brass barrel, PPS slider sleeve, dual Stabilizer regulators, Lapco stock, 16 ounce anti-syphon Co2 with on-off
Recommended
Upgrades:
From the base Blazer I recommend the 45 frame blade frame
Vented barrel
Matched barrel
PPS Stabilizer
If you are running Co2 use an anti-syphon tank
Using a slider sleeve lets you play tight in all situations
Strengths: Weight, size, accuracy, reliability, solid feel, barrel wedgits, feedneck hopper screws.
Weaknesses: Possibility of ram bushing backing out. (A little blue loctite will fix that.)
Review: I have shot many different markers. Spyders, Autocockers, Automags, Angels, too many markers to mention really. I have found my favorite marker. It is a Palmer's Pursuit Shop Blazer. PPS is about quality. The Blazer is the product of nearly 20 years of fine tuning from the inventor of the first pneumatic gravity fed paintball marker. I was looking at buying yet another autococker and thought "Since I'm going to have to replace all the parts with Palmer parts, I might as well get the Blazer." The best decision ever. PPS doesn't sell hype. Only what works. They have put extensive research and skill into this marker.

I have the dual stabe setup and the consistency of fps on co2 is amazing. +-2fps.

I don't have to buy a barrel kit for it. The barrel wedgits hold the ball in place to get the best blast of air from the valve.

I have a matched barrel. The accuracy is astounding. If an opponent gives me an inch I can tag it.

The trigger is nice. I can put out a good amount of paint with it.

I don't have to buy do-dads and gadgets for it. Every practical add on and upgrade is available through pps. Made and specifically fitted for this marker.

It shoots as fast as I can and it hits everything I want it to. Who could ask for more than that?

I'm thrilled to have a marker that will handle any paint, any time.
I'm thrilled to have a marker I can run Co2 and compressed air on without having to make any changes.

The same allen wrench used for all regulator and velocity adjustments.

Easy maintenance.

Also the best customer service you could ask for.
PPS is still coming up with options for Blazers, pump kits, trigger kits, the Blazer is upgradable, in house, from the people who made it. They only sell what works.
Conclusion: All killa' no filla'
PPS doesn't advertise a lot. They are a custom shop. When you buy from them you are getting a product that will work. Not hype.
If you see someone carrying a Palmer's marker you can bet they know the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vincib Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, ICD BKO, 04' Viking.
Outside of the Xtra this is the other mech marker I have owned. It blows the BKO away and the Xtra is not even a comparible item, the Viking is in a class of it's own.
Marker Setup: Blazer with Verticle feed, male stabilizer, 12" spiral vented brass barrel. Use a 12V Revy with it or just a gravity fed hopper and a Crossfire 68/45k LP tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I put a medium drop forward on it, 4" shocktech and used the duckbill that came on it and it positions the tank perfectly. Other wise from the tank seems like a reach for my short arms.
Strengths: Quality. Reliability. Weight. Rarity. Efficiency. Easy Maintanance.
Weaknesses: Not many after market items made for the Blazer.
Review: I had never shot a closed bolt marker before, but my first impression was that it was utterly smooth when it shot. Right out of the box, it had been adjusted at the factory for my LP tank and chrono'd. They even found the sweet spot on the barrels rotation that made the tightest cluster of balls and marked it. IT is ready to go right out of the box and built just as specified. Thats one really nice thing that PPS does, customization.
I havent found anything that does not work properly on this marker. Right now if I had to sell a marker it would be my viking, cause I dont need batteries in the blazer and am able to put ball on top of ball. The trigger is really short just a few millimeters and easy to rapid fire. I have used it in speedball and woodsball and found it to be awesome at both.
The brass barrel that comes with it is all you'll need. It works as stated and is easy to maintain.
The feedneck is superstrong but would be nice to have a clamping feed neck. WOuld be easier to accomodate the Halo B.
Maintnance is easy just wash it with warm water after playing and run some oil through it before you play. The insructions even say to take it in the shower with you for cleaning!
All in all, the Blazer is an awesome marker and highly reccomended for people who enjoy playing rather than tinkering and fixing broken markers that leak and wont chrono properly.
Conclusion: I enjoy the reliability and quality immensely and the customer service from Palmer's is second to none. Before you spend money on some electro this marker is worth its weight and more and can hang with the 1000 dollar markers with ease and will still be working while they are fixing theirs!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

osustevie Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Orracle=much more troublesome
AGD Tac One=very nice marker just not at same level as a Palmer
Marker Setup: 2004 Palmer Blazer BZ2438, 12" Nickel Ported Palmer Barrel, Nickel Highlights, Black Stabilizer, Stock Single Trigger/Gripframe, Unimount ASA, Crossfire 68/3k HPA, Ricochet AK loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker is loaded with top level parts already. Any upgrades would be cosmetic or just a preference change such as a 45* gripframe.
Strengths: Reliabilty, Accuracy, Efficiency, Light weight, User friendly, its a Palmer!
Weaknesses: Not for tinkering with, If it works dont fix it! Sleeper looks, Price
Review: I have owned a few mechancial markers such as the A5, WGP Orracle, 68 Mag and a Tac One. The Blazer is what I have been looking for. I wanted the benefits of a closed bolt marker without the headaches and problems of an Autococker. I found it in the Blazer. Glenn Palmer has spent over 15 years developing and refining paintball guns and the Blazer is the result. The Blazer is the ultimate mech marker hands down. Its is so smooth to shoot. Its ROF is great, just as fast as I can pull the trigger. The accuacy with the Palmer barrel is remarkable as well. No need to buy a new barrel here. The Palmer stabilizer and built in regulator make this marker very consistant and air efficient. The appearance isnt very impresive but its performance certainly is. There are very customizable through Palmer. These markers are not cheap but as the saying goes " You get what you pay for". Its super easy to maintain too. You just have to shoot one of these markers to truely appreciate it. Im sticking with Palmer products from now on! Check the forums, I have never seen a post where a player was getting rid of their Palmer gear and moving on to something else.
Conclusion: This has to be the top end for mechanical markers. Its smooth, troublefree, and reliable.
A Blazer is everything an Autococker wants to be.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sixgun Saturday, October 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pps typhoon pps squall misc cockers
Marker Setup: cf blazer ,daul reg'ed ,12 inch ported-matched brass barrel ,45 frame single,derlin rings,gas-tru stock,cmi micro coil remote
pps typhoon rf 12 ported barrel,qev's,triger job,palmer stab,derlin rings,pump kit 2 guns in one
Recommended
Upgrades:
45 frame , maybe another stab if ya want
flat derlin rings
match barrel if ya want but realy the blazer is just fine bone stock
Strengths: Accurate, reliable,accurate,reliable,fast,quiet,smooth,balanced ,best customer servise,accurate
Weaknesses: Nope couldnt find any
Review: My blazer is a work horse never fails ,ever. can be used with co2 or hpa right out of the box with no adjustments and the trigger pull is very short and snappy .....it can crono with the best of them ,always consistant +/-3fps.... the accuracy is top notch, i've never shot a better gun period ,except maybe a typhoon...... with a 16oz tank i can play damn near all day with about 80 shots per once .....its light ,maybe not the lightest but under 4lbs is not heavy .....shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger i can out shoot my empire easy and its not even a elctro gun .....barrel wedget system works great ,one barrel shoots all paint good real good with no roll-outs ,shoots all paint well but i've had sucsess with pmi prems,marbs,allstars, evil., feed neck screws hold hopper tight , range accuracy and noise are all outstanding and its real easy to clean just pull the bolt pin and it can be squegeed in about 3 sec's and after game day i just jump in the shower with it ( owners manuel tip )...........best customer service you can get , real (airsmith)people answer the phone....glen palmer invented the auto cocking system and loves to talk shop ......all i can say is , i'm proud of this gun and im glad i ran into this company
Conclusion: The gun drives nails and is by far worth every penny with no disapointments, pps is a custom gun shop that dose great work..... be advised to do your homework and get it done right the first time
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Machine Head Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Tippman 98c
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Blazer right hand feed
45 Double Shoe Finger
12" Double Spiral vented matched barrell
Palmer's Stabilizer (Male)
PI Drop with on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stabilizer Male or Female. Other than that they are good to go stock!
Strengths: Quiet smooth operation.
Fast ROF
Reliable
Durable
ACCURATE
THE ABSOLUTE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Weaknesses: None
Review: If you are planning on buying a new marker in the price range of $400-$900 check Palmer's Pursuit Shop out. If you have the money they can build it. 100% custom.

Don't buy into a lot of hype. I have seen Angels, Timmys Shockers and other high end elctros at my local field and at tournaments. There isn't a day that goes by that you don't see one of these markers disassemble and someone scratching there head trying to figure out why there $1000 marker isn't working.
I have never been outgunned or felt outgunned by using the mechanical trigger in the Blazer. Once you get the hang of the mechanical trigger, you can rip good strings at 14-16bps.
Conclusion: Solid gun. Medium price range with quality that cannot be matched! PERIOD.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blazzer Sunday, March 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None/ only other semi I have owned was a tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Palmer Blazer
12" ported black powder coated barrell
Lapco bottom line
Female stabilizer with block mount
16oz anti-siphon tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
12" ported barrell
female stabilizer
motorized hopper
Strengths: accuracy, reliability, dependability, customer service, price, not main stream mass produced. smooth like butta
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: If you want the best semi Auto marker in the world that is not an electro get this marker, period. If you have to waste paint and shoot 17 balls per second get an electro. If you are looking at an auto cocker stop looking and start looking at a blazer.
Conclusion: I love it, I live in Virginia, I don't know the Palmers whop are from California. No one suggested I write this review, I am just writing this review because before I buy any paintball equipment I chck this site and see how people rate whatever it is I am looking to buy. This site is one of the big reasons I bought this gun, and I am so happy that I did.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avery Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, Typhoon
Marker Setup: TIppmann 98 (Every accessory I can think of)
custom assembled Autococker
PT Punisher
Recommended
Upgrades:
Absolutely none, just get what you want built right in.
Strengths: "Try to be concise" it says. Feh.
Hand made out of good parts, made with love.
Available in any design you're willing to pay for.
Runs fine on CO2!
Removeable parts (unlike many PPS markers)
Weaknesses: They're pricey (of course).
I think the shape is ugly (my opinion)
Review: I have a friend that had one custom built with the most incredible purple anno I've ever seen. I have no idea how it was done, but I love it - and I hate purple markers! It even had a PPS hinge trigger on it. Shoots very well, never needs to be upgraded (doing so would be stupid). When you have this marker, it is done! Very swift trigger pull, faster than a Typhoon, I'd say.

Think custom built and tuned autococker from literally the ground up.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 because it is not my favorite PPS marker, but it is truly a custom piece that performs with the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballmagnet Thursday, July 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers
Marker Setup: Autococker and a Select fire Shocker. This usually changes, I've owned twenty some odd paint markers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The marker I have used belongs to a friend. His has the double trigger and nickel highlights, delrin bolt, Palmer Stabilizer. It really doesn't need much!
Strengths: Shoots fast for a mechanical marker, light weight, short overall length, shoots as well as any 'Cocker I have used, Palmers lifetime warranty!
Weaknesses: I just spent over 1000$ building a Autococker, this was before I had seen a Blazer. Now I can't afford to buy a Blazer! On the downside, the trigger takes some getting used to. Its easier to chop than with my KAPP hinge. Finding barrels can be a problem, but I'm a machinist so modifying one to fit doesn't cause me any real problem. I fitted a 16" All American for his.
Conclusion: I'd love to own one of these. If I had seen one before building my Autococker, I'd own a Blazer instead! I think this is the best overall mechanical marker to be had. Anyone out there want to trade one for a really nice Autococker?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joeykid Wednesday, July 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite exactly the same, but I have used an Impulse and a Shocker
Marker Setup: 10" ported nickel plated barrel, nickel highlights, double trigger, pmi perfect dropfoward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pro-touch trigger job, nickel plated barrel and highlights(for cosmetics cuz it isn't very pretty, and brass gets scratched easily) and a Dropfoward.
Strengths: Its very Accurate and it could shoot farther than my Impulse. I've never had an autcocker but this cycles very fast, it can cycle just as fast as I can shoot. With a dropfoward its a pretty tight package, no longer than 15". Its not very popular so you will be one of the only one w/ it, and I always get asked questions.
Weaknesses: Well the stock trigger if your'e not used to it can chop. Also if you chop a ball its accuracy is horrible.
Conclusion: Well I am probably very biased b/c I love my Blazer. I think this is better than any gun around its price range. The only thing is there are limited upgrades so if you spend more to upgrade a bushy or impulse it will be better. All in all I think this gun is well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media