paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Vertical Bottle, Trigger Shoe, Anodized Aluminum Body, Lightweight, Easy Field Stripping, and Maximum Performance Valve.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
hockey star Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none!!
Marker Setup: Blazer with .45 frame, reg, matched barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
matched barrel
.45 frame
Strengths: This gun is INCREDIBLE! Before this gun, I had a 98 custom with a flatline and the Blazer shoots just as far if not farther when the velocity is turned up past 300 FPS! That is no joke. It is also the MOST accurate gun I have ever seen! The pneumatics run as smooth as butter and it is SOOO easy to clean. It also hardly ever brakes balls. I shot it with balls that were over 3 months old, and it broke one ball. It is also backed up by Palmers who has the best customer service in the business. O yea, I forgot to say that this gun is very durable. For instance, there are no gaslines to be blown on this gun like there are on Autocockers; all gaslines are internally drilled inside the body of the gun. That right there is a pretty sweet feature.
Weaknesses: Nothing at all
Conclusion: If you want to step up from the low-end blowbacks, go with a Blazer, trust me. I have had over 7 guns, all blowbacks ( tippmanns, spyders, pirahnas ) and none of them even compare to this gun, it is just amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Zee Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing is like this marker!
Marker Setup: PPS Blazer with Ported 12" PPS brass barrel, Stabilizer, bottomline with drop forward. Double trigger with stainless trigger guard. Delrin Bolt. Sight ring. DYE Stainless barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the ported barrel and the stabilizer with bottomline!
Strengths: Compact: Lay this next to any other marker, and they dwarf this little powerhouse!

Light: It is also featherlight.

Smooth action: When you pull the trigger, the pneumatics work with you hardly noticing.

Quiet: This is one of the quietest markers I have ever seen.

Easy to clean: Just take it into the shower after the game, run some air through it and oil. Bolt comes out in about 1/3 of a second.

Accurate: This marker is unnerving how accurate it it.

Barrel is threadless, so you can't cross thread the barrel, and it doesn't come loose while playing all day.

The marker hardly ever pinches or breaks paint.



Weaknesses: Nothing BAD.
They are not cheap, but then what do you expect for a custom, made ot order marker?

They also use a dual action trigger, and can be short stroked, but once you get usedto the trigger, you can't go back to blowbacks!
Conclusion: This is the most remarkable marker I have ever used.
I have played for 13 years, and nothing I have ever shot compares to this.
The PPS brass barrel was MUCH better then the DYE barrel. Much more accurate and also quieter.
Glenn Palmer invented the 'autococking pump' and this is his current brainchild. Simple and extremely effective.
I give it a 10, as I have never even shot another marker that impresses me as much as this one does.


Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

austinkroe Tuesday, October 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PPS Stroker- very nice but not nearly as good.
Stock Autococker- no where near the performance or quality.
Marker Setup: PPS Blazer RHF
45 single triggerframe
female stabelizer with gas tru foregrip
SP drop forward
vented matched barrel
sight hood
12v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can get the best upgrades for it for Palmers.
I would say definatly get the stabelizer reg it is well worth the money.
matched barrel
If you want it to be quiet get the barrel upgraded to the 12" ported one.
I like the 45 grip frame but that is a matter of taste. The 45 does come with a good trigger though and I have heard it is a great improvement over the stock grip frame.
All the rest are cosmetic
Strengths: Barrel-Accurate and I mean very accurate. This thing will shoot all sorts of paint very well. I shoot some cheap practice pait through it and it was the most accuate I have ever seen that type of paint shoot. I also ran a hopper full of mixed paint through it and it handeled it better than any other barrel I have seen. This barrel is so versitile.

Trigger(Remember this is for the trigger in the 45 frame.)- Smooth. fairly short. It is about 4mm, very wide trigger shoe feels very nice. snappy, very well set. there is no forward or back play in it although there is a little side tio side.

Bolt- QUICK-STRIP You can take the bolt out and put it back in in unber four seconds. very good flow no frills about this bolt.

Pnuematics- The best on the market built into the marker. very effective regulator short four way quick ram.

Overall marker- This is the best marker I have ever shot. I am very happy with it it is light and compact and there ar no frills to it. Palmers has done a great job with this one. I think it is abeautyful. very co2 friendly. almost mantanince free. performance is flawless. It will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger with out any noticable shoot down. Ok so now I am going to give some gun specs. these are for my setup.

Length:15.5" with the 12" barrel it is 17"
Width:2" at the widest point
Highth:10.5" incliding the bottom of the reg on the DF and the top of the feed port
Weight: about 2.5 pounds

Servicing: wonderfull customer service. The best techs around for your marker. good turnaround rate for a custom shop. supirior product. you most likely will never need to send it in for a service job.
Weaknesses: Barrel- Doesnt like it when you break paint. The eliptical honing doesnt handel breaks well. Loud. If you get the stock barrel ported it is a bit quieter but I think you should go with the 12" ported to make it great.

Trigger- Short-strokeable but then again all closed bolt semis are any way. Not as light as I would like but I dont think it would be reliable if it were lighter.

Bolt-Well the only problem I could see is that you could have some one bunker you and quick strip your bolt before you get a chance to fire at them. No really this is an awsome bolt there is nothing wrong with it.

Pnuematics- nothing wrong here

overall marker- not tinker friendly.

Servicing: you have to send it to palmers for anything greater than an oring prob and they are in Calf
Conclusion: Exellent marker! This is the last one I will ever buy. The thing fires flawlessly and the only negitaives to this marker are things that are a matter of personal preferance such as looks and the trigger. I absolutly love it. It is a perfict tiny little powerhouse workhorse of a marker. I feel that it is simply the bes gun on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

metalmylisha03 Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GX-3 cocker
custom 98 right feed autococker
Marker Setup: Palmer Blazer, Vertical Feed
Bob Long torpedo regulator
Dead on drop
3000 psi N2 centerflag tank
richochet 2k
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vented Barrel
Double trigger frame, stock isn't bad but not very fast
Good drop
Fast hopper
Strengths: Good out of the box
Accurate
Pretty quiet without vented barrel
Weaknesses: Barrel not vented
Doesn't come with a stabalizer
Review: I just went out and played with this gun at WAP. This thing is awsome. My set up was a completly stock blazer, vertical feed, and a torpedo reg, dead on drop, and a n2 and motorized hopper. I was shooting JT Maxums 2's through it.

I was fast accurate and pretty quiet. My friend came up with his cocker, and mine was way shorter and lighter than his. This is nice because I'm a front player and I need something small, accurate, and fast. That's why I'm going to get the double trigger frame pretty soon. Don't get me wrong, the stock frame is good, but not great for front players.

I also recomend a n2 tank for greater consistanty. But if you use co2, then get an anti-siphon tube.
Conclusion: Overall, its a very good paintball gun. Don't like the break in period for the rock, but worth it once its done. Very reliable, and its basically an upgraded cocker. Im giving it an 8 because the barrel isn't vented, and it cost $95 to upgrade to a double trigger frame! But it's worth it. I definetly recomend this gun to anyone that wants to get into the tourney seen, but doesn't have $800 for an electro.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Shade12 Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Owned,
- Tippmann a5, 98, x7
- Emag

Shot,
- Various Autococker's
- Mech Automags


Marker Setup: PPS 2k Blazer
- SO T2W Stock
- PPS Male Stab
- 12" Single vented barrel
- Various HPA Tanks and CO2
- Empire B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ego feedneck mod
Electric hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Very Little Maintenance
Efficient
CO2 or HPA Compatible
See review
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Barrel threads (or the lack of them)
Review: The Good:

- Very accurate. I've used year old paint, mixed paint, inconsistent paint. The blazer has shot them all very accurately without barrel breaks or chops (I've never had a barrel break). Its also very consistent no matter the paint, usually + or - 3 over the chrono.

- Maintaining this marker is very easy, a little oil in the asa and shoot it through the marker and your good. The bolt is easy to take out, just pull out the pin and slide it out of the back. I've never had to take it apart more than that as I've never had a problem with it.

- You can run either co2 or hpa through it, equally well. I generally use hpa but have run co2 through it on occasion and haven't noticed any difference in performance.

- It also feels very nice in the hands, the weight is well distributed (it is a bit on the heavy side but I like it). The trigger also feels nice, very crisp. Safety also works well. I can probably get around 8 bps out of it although I've never measured it with a computer.

- Barrel is very quick to take out (slip fit) although this does mean most barrels won't work. It is also very forgiving on paint (have yet to get a barrel break).

- Best of all no battery's!

The Bad:

- The stock feedneck isn't that good. It's not big enough to work well with a lot of loaders. I do believe they now offer the option of a clamping feedneck straight from the factory. You can also do it yourself by hacking of the stock one and using an ego feedneck.

- The barrel isn't threaded so there aren't any aftermarket barrels for it besides the pps brass, although its probably one of the best ones out there. You can have barrels milled down to fit but it won't work with all barrels. You can get an adapter to use cocker threaded barrels but there is still 1-2" or so of adapter before the paintball gets to the barrel. This isn't really a bad thing, I would just prefer it to be cocker threaded.

- You have to be careful with the trigger as a partial pull can result in chopping a ball. I've only done this once in my year or so of using it while I was using a gravity feed and trying to put down alot of paint. Thus I recommend a electric hopper of some kind (agitated or force feed).

- If you have a problem your probably going to have to ship it back to pps to get it fixed. It is also not a tinkerers marker as they recommend not taking it apart further then pulling the bolt out.

Conclusion: This marker is simply a performer. I think the best thing you can say about any marker is that it's the one you will never sell, and for me this is that marker. Only reason I give it a 9 is because of the feedneck and barrel threads. If it came with a clamping feedneck and cocker threaded it would be the perfect mechanical marker IMHO.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wjr Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I shot an automag before I bought my Blazer. I would actually have to say I liked my automag more, although I like my Blazer because it's good with c02
Marker Setup: -PPS Centerfeed Blazer (serial # BZ2511)
- 8 or 10in (I can't remember) unported brass barrel
-16oz anti-siphon co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm satisfied without it, but most reccomend a stabilizer
Strengths: -Co2 friendly
-light
-Made from quaility parts
-pull pin bolt
Weaknesses: - I'm not a huge fan of the Barrel cinch
Review: I had an automag for a long while, and I was sick of having to drive 45 minutes to get my HPA tank filled if I wanted to play in the woods with my friends. I wanted a gun that could perform well with co2. I had thought about getting a Blazer before, but they were way to expensive for me. Luckily, PPS was having a sale. They were selling a pair of centerfeed blazers with barrels for $550. So that's $275 per blazer, as opposed to $430 like it normally is. I jumped on this deal. Me and another kid split the package. I ended up paying $300 for mine after adding shipping.

I first shot the gun using a standard tank set up vertically. I read the manual, and set up the LPR. I was very impressed with the trigger feel. I had no paint or chronograph, so I had to wait until the next day to thoroughly test it. I took it to the field the next morning. At the chronograph, I was surprised that it was more consistent then I had thought without a regulator. I remember it had about a +6/-6 fps fluctuation using co2.

Something that I noticed about my blazer was that it cycled much faster when the barrel was off. And sometimes, the bolt would get stuck in the barrel. I asked about this on Mcarterbrown.com, and Craig Palmer answered the question for me. I'm not exactly sure what it was, but I think he told me that the barrel wasn't perfectly round or something. He said to rotate the barrel until the bolt stops sticking. Now it works perfectly
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a high quality, reliable marker. I couldn't be happier with mine, although sometimes I do wish that I still had my automag. If my automag broke down (which it seldom did) then I could take it apart in no time and fix it. If my blazer breaks down (which it hasn't yet), I have to send it all of the way to Califonia (across the country for me). That's really the only major downside of the Blazer for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

409novaman Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, not a bad product.
Typhoon, a great marker.
Marker Setup: Blazer, left feed, matched 12inch ported barrel, twin Stabilizers, bottom line, 45 twin trigger frame, 45mm red dot, Ricochet Apache, 9oz. anti-syphon CO2 tank, Blackpoint Engineering folding T stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, you don't need any.
Strengths: Accuracy and Precision, very accurate, built like a fine watch.
Weaknesses: Makes me want to buy the E-Blazer, I want another Blazer!
Review: The Blazer was a work of art out of the box, light weight and easy to handle. I went out in the back yard and shot 2000 balls to get the feel of the trigger. The dual 45 trigger frame is perfect, the trigger is light and it's movement is short, very short. This thing is fast!
This is the best money that I have spent on a marker and I have been buying them since 1989.
I went to my first game with the Blazer and took my Typhoon as a backup, the phoon will never see the light of day again. The Blazer is so light and the trigger so fast, I had a great time. Everyone was asking about the Blazer and the great shots it allowed me to make during the day. This thing can drive nails at range, put the red dot on what you want to hit and Bapp! Out! The twin Stabilizers keep everything under control.
I have had it about 3 months now and nothing has gone wrong, I have a marker that allows me to stop fixing and just play the game. FUN.
Autococker? Bwahahaha, this marker owns them.
Conclusion: Buy it. If you are short on cash, buy the standard model and build it up with Palmer upgrades when you can. If you have the cash buy it with everything and have fun. This is a great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 8:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

54ogar Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothign like it shoots better than autococker
Marker Setup: center feed, stab, single triger, delrin bolt, pump and semi
Recommended
Upgrades:
a pump kit makes it so you have a pump and a semi-auto in seconds you can change back and forth.
Strengths: No ram 3 way or rods to bend. No back block slamming around deadly accurate
Weaknesses: Weighs 2 pounds have to have Palmers turn the barrel to fit the blazer
Review: this is by far the best marker i have own and i have gone through allot from spiders to cockers to nerve, impy, timmy, and proto matrix. now i have just a stock one and a e2 ebladed one. most impressive things is the total reliability of the blazer. never fails does well on air and CO2. never have to mess with the timing. you can call palmers pursuit shop and they can walk you through any problem. never had a problem in 3 years. you can have any barrel made into a blazer barrel fo $20 through palmers. there is no front block or 3-way rod or ram to bend. you can buy a pump kit and turn you semi-auto marker into a pump and back in less than a minute. the have stock class tube adaptors. most versatile marker it is like having a 2 in one.
Conclusion: if you want a marker that will last a life time and shoots lazers than the Blazer is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbourdon Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: Right Feed
12'' Black Ported Barrel With Sight Pin
Male Stabilizer
Lapco Spoon Drop Foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends on what you want. The marker is great stock.
Strengths: ACCURACY
consistency
durability
simplicity
ease of cleaning
no electronics
Weaknesses: Price, but you get what you pay for.
Review: Before I purchased this gun I looked at everything. Cockers, angels, spyders, mags, tippys, ions, etc... . I realized that I didn't want to go the way of electronic guns. They just seem like there is too much reliance on something that can short out so easily. Then I decided that I wanted a closed bolt gun. I was considering an autococker for the longest time. But I soon realized that they were outdated and buggy. I wanted something reliable. Then I heard about PPS. The blazer was everything that I wanted all wrapped in a pretty aluminum and brass package.

I spent about a week deciding what I wanted to put on the gun. The major decision was whether or not to get the 45 frame. I decided against it and ordered it with the options listed above. The final price with shipping came to just around $700. The customer service is next to none. I called up and all of my questions were patiently answered. If you have ANY questions about their products call them!

The gun came in over spring break while I was in New Orleans helping clean up, so I had a week of extra painful waiting before I acquired my blazer. I also purchased a case of paint and filled two 20 oz tanks to break in the gun before I went to play.

The gun came in an exciting little white box that told me what was inside. My new blazer. I tore the box apart and quickly took the marker pieces out of the box. I then assembled the marker (after reading the manual). It took a little fumbling to make the drop foward work because I needed a spacer to get the duck bill to fit. So I used 1.25'' skateboard hardware because the threads matched (my paintball shop is also a skateboard shop). I lubed the marker, loaded a hopper, and gassed 'er up.

The stock trigger was eons better than my mechanical spyder's. Short and crisp with a little snap that seems to help eliminate short-stroking. Straight out of the box the gun was shooting 290-fps with a deviation of 5-fps. Every ball was landing one-on-top-of-the-other. After the first tank was emptied, I let her rest, and gassed her up with the second tank. I set the rock regulator to a higher pressure as to increase my rate of fire and help with reducing short stroking. After that I set the velocity adjuster to 290-fps after the hammer spring broke in.

The accuracy of this gun just amazes me. I shot a spyder TL for over six years as my primary marker. I purchased this gun because I was tired of losing eliminations because my spyder couldn't shoot the blind side of a barn by the end of the day. I play with this gun this upcoming weekend and I can already tell that I'm going to waste less paint and get more kills.

I know that the marker doesn't make the player, but after 6 years of experience of playing with my spyder and my trracer, I felt that a new gun was the next step in improving my game.

I couldn't be happier with my new baby. The next question is, what am I going to name her?
Conclusion: If you are looking at a new pneumatic mechanical cocker, stop now and take a look at the PPS blazer. I'm glad I did. I give this marker a full 10/10 because of the great product and incredible customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellion360 Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Merlins- very good, similar operation
Autocockers- sometimes very good, sometimes not so good, similar operation
Excaliburs- Very good, closed bolt but disimilar operation, similar feel though heavier
Marker Setup: Viking
CCI DropoutPhantom
Palmer Super Stocker
Palmer Blazer
Custom Sniper
Recommended
Upgrades:
It comes with all the good stuff built in.
But the options I use are:
The 45 frame
Spiral ported barrel, matched 12in: best barrel I have ever used, seriously the best
Palmer Stabilizer reg
Unimount
Strengths: Accurate, just off the hook accuracy. Beats everything else hands down.
Easy maintanence
Tiny
Weaknesses: ROF, it is a mech
barrel doesn't shoot clean well
Review: The Palmer Blazer is really a work of art. It is by far the best mechanical gun I have used. And I have used essentially every other mechanical gun there is. I like mechanical guns.

Blazers work in a similar manner to autocockers, being a two stage trigger pull. But they fire very smoothly and consistantly, like only the very best custom autocockers. The trigger pull on a blazer is not quite as good as some autocockers I have used but it is definitely up there.

The Blazer is incredibly light, It weighs two pounds even. It also just has incredible balance. It is easy to handle and points perfectly with a 45 and a unimount. It also has a smooth feel when firing.

The efficiency on Blazers is very good, I don't have a real number but I haven't had any complaints.

The part about Blazers that is really exceptional is the accuracy. The Palmer's barrels are the best I have used. Far superior to Boomsticks or Ultralites. I have been one balling people with my blazer more frequently than anything I have used. Palmer's barrels combined with palmer's regs lead to some very consistant, very accurate shooting. WEDGITS, these little dimples mean no more rollouts. I have had no rollouts with my Blazer. The consistant positioning of the ball in the barrel probably leads to more constant shots.

The blazer is a fast shooting mech, but I am not able to shoot it anywhere near what I shoot an electro at. Blazers are really fast guns, no doubt, but you have to be able to pull that trigger. You have to work for your speed. I have seen a video of Craig Palmer shooting a consistant 11bps with sound analysis. But I am probably shooting like 6bps. The accuracy really helps make up for a slower rof though. Since I am hitting people on my first shot a lot of the time, the rest of the balls that hit them don't matter.

side note: (e-blazers are available now. They come with E2's and are at least as fast as the fastest half-blocked autocockers out there. Probably faster, and definitely less hassle)

Blazers are very easy to maintain. The bolt design is easy to quickstrip for squeegeeing. There is no crap hanging all over the place to get paint in. You can even take it in the shower with you. Just dry it out with a hair dryer and oil it up afterwards. They don't come out of time and you should never have reason to open them up. Having owned mine for a year, and it being a year old or so when I got it, it has never been opened up for cleaning..
Conclusion: These markers are such high quality.
The Palmer's put a lot of love into these guns and made something really exceptional.
Glenn Palmer is the originator of the autococking mechanism and has really put it to good use. The Blazer is the best mechanical gun I have used. And as it has all the good upgrades when you order it the value is good. Right now a blazer set up how I like it would run you 690 dollars. No small investment, but a good one. I have gone through a lot of guns in my time but I am going to stick to this one. An easy 10, the best.

Plus it is a really custom gun, made how you order it. And not a lot of people have them, which is kinda nifty.

The bottom line is that many many guns have passed through my hands since I started playing. My blazer is the only one I have never considered selling.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 at 1:51 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media