paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Vertical Bottle, Trigger Shoe, Anodized Aluminum Body, Lightweight, Easy Field Stripping, and Maximum Performance Valve.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, January 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
An Autococker. Compares in the way it functions and performance and has a familiar feel to it when shooting. I feel the Blazer is more superior than the Autococker.
Marker Setup: Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer:
- Black, right feed
- .45 frame, double trigger w/ guard, Pro Touch Trigger Job, sight ring, male stabilizer, drop forward
- nickel plated highlights (trigger, trigger frame, barrels, stabilizer, sight ring, etc.)
- 10" PPS barrel (nickel plated, spiral ported), 10" Lapco Bigshot and Autospirit - all matched

Nova 700 ET
- Darkstar Electronic Trigger kit
- 16" ported brass barrel
- dropforward, female Palmer Stabilizer w/ LP springs

I run the Blazer w/ a 20 oz CO2 tank and the Nova with an N2 tank on a remote hooked up to a T-Stock. I use a Richochet for each gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are necessary, but I would recommend a male stabilizer or at least a vertical foregrip to make holding it easier. Couldn't imagine shooting it with a vertical tank.
Strengths: My Blazer has never broken down on me. I keep it well lubed and clean constantly.

It is an accurate gun and I just love the trigger. Think of a short, crisp hinge Autococker trigger with a nice snap to it and little dead pull. I can get a VERY high ROF going and little shootdown.

Palmer has the best customer service around (Let's see Bud Orr reply personally to your EMails!) and the craftmanship is excellent. It is an uncommon gun so you will get looks at the field.
Weaknesses: Since it is uncommon, if it (I don't see how) breaks down it will be rare if someone at the field can fix it. DO NOT LET SOMEONE WHO KNOWS COCKERS CONVINCE YOU HE CAN FIX IT.

Conclusion: This gun is absolutely flawless. Period.

If you are looking at a Cocker, I recommend seriously looking at a Blazer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Had an F4 Illustrator--great gun, but i outperfomed its maximum capabilities.
Marker Setup: Blazer - .45 Frame - Fem. Stabalizer on a DF - Macroline - SP Gas thr foregrip - Nickle sight hood - 12 inch PPS spiral ported matched powdercaoted barrel - 14 inch PPS spiral ported .688 brass barrel - 11.5'' Lapco Bigshot - 9" Extremepaintball custom barrel - 20 oz CO2 and 47ci Bulldog
Recommended
Upgrades:
First of all, if you can find them (check the POG Classifieds) Buy them used. Why? becasue 1. They never break- so you know its a good quality used gun 2. helluva cheaper 3. most come with upgrades that would cost you more in the end. ( I got mine used for 600 instead of the 1000+ that it adds up to be)

Anyway if you get one new, get either the Protough trigger job or .45 frame. Stabalizers help in cold with Co2, other than that most other upgrades are cosmetic.
Strengths: Personally I love to be original and different. Everyone in my region has M98, Cockers, Mags, Angels, etc. I am the only one with a Blazer. And it gets all sorts of looks and attention at the field.

Anyway, the 45 frame trigger pull is lighter than my friends Mag and shorter than his brother's Cocker. The PPS barrels ROCK. The pneumatic arrangement is ingenius...makes me wonder why the heck Budd Orr stuck em all out in front to get banged around....

To sum it up, read the next post down, I dont wanna repeat everything that guy said! :)
Weaknesses: The only BAD thing is that they dont come with a night vision thermal heat seeking automatic Warp electro milled trick auto sniping option.

B U T W H O N E E D S A L L T H E H Y P E ? ? ?

What makes a good gun is error free operation, quality design and user friendliness. So therefore, there is no BAD.

Conclusion: Excellent gun. Dittos to all the stuff already said below.

Please look into the Blazer before you follow the Lemmings into the "Sea of Mags Cockers and Electros"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 24th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Blazer, 10.5in vented & matched barrel, sight hood, male verticle stabilizer, female bottom line stablilizer with ring mount on Lapco drop-forward, 45 style 2 finger hinge trigger frame (by Benchmark I believe), 16oz "stubby" anti-syphon CO2 bottle, 12v revolution loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
stabilizer (one if not two for CO2 use), vented matched barrel, 45 style 2 finger hinge trigger frame
Strengths: Extremely accurate, compact, lighweight, reliable, low-maintenance, CO2 efficient, very few upgrades to make it top-notch and customer service is awesome. The only time I have broken paint in this gun is when I short stroke.
Weaknesses: Only one place to get gun repaired (if ever required), no after market upgrades (for those of you who like to work on your own markers),
Conclusion: Imagine an Auto-cocker with top of the line pneumatic components installed by a master airsmith. Imagine an Auto-cocker that has the most accurate and quiet barrel possible that was made specifically for your gun (not model but individual gun). Imagine an Auto-cocker with a Benchmark 45 style 2 finger hinge trigger frame. Imagine an Auto-cocker that works flawlessly and efficiently on CO2. Imagine an Auto-cocker that is low maintenance and requires virtually no adjustment to velocity or regulator pressure. Imagine an Auto-cocker that is flawlessly consistent in operating pressures using CO2. Imagine an Auto-cocker that is easier to field strip. Imagine an Auto-cocker that you can wash in warm water, the entire gun. Imagine an Auto-cocker that has a shorter body and lighter weight. Imagine no more, what you got is a Palmer Blazer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 10th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
An autococker, hooked up myself.
Marker Setup: to much to type. list of actual guns Blazer, Model 98, Carbine.
Recommended
Upgrades:
All depends, if you care about being quiet, MUST get spiral vented barrel. If you like light short trigger, must tell palmer you want the trigger job. Wanna shoot at low pressure, get the low pressure valve installed. Stabalizer is a must.
Strengths: Everything, i havent experienced anything wrong with it. I absolutely love it, never had a problem. The only 1 thing is if you lube the bolt,(tiny ass bolt, smallest ever), and shoot, youll get some lube in the barrel, whichll mess makes shooint paint horrible, but vaseline works great on the bolt, and everything is fine about that. Another good thing is, to clean the gun, you can just put it under a sink, and run water, take a shower, give it a bath ,antyhing(it even says to in the manual!!).

I had a cocker, i sold it, my cocker was worth 900 dollars, it was bigger, heavier, cost more, more problems, not as reliable at all, have to baby it way more than a blazer, it couldnt use c02, blazers can use both, my blazer is extremely accurate also, never breaks paint unless you short stroke it.
Weaknesses: Every field i play at , referrees try to buy it off me. Seriously. Its a rare gun in michigan.

Prices are good as far as performance upgrades, but cosmetic upgrades are way to much. My gun is beautiful and i didnt pay anything for cosmetics.
Conclusion: Its a great tourny gun. Great Rec gun.

People will say "well why doesnt everyone have one if it was so good?", those people are jackass's and paintball store owners who love cockers. Reason why is because they arent mass produced, each is hand built by one of the Palmers themselves.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bruizer Pro, Viper M1, Custom 98, Typhoon
Recommended
Upgrades:
.45 gripframe
Strengths: The Blazer is small, light, handles well and shoots well. Is there much more you could ask for from a paintgun?

With the 45-gripframe from PPS, the trigger is short and light. Combined with the small size and great balance, the Blazer is great for indoors play and for speedball. A good trigger and good handling allows you to fire fast and fire accurately.

The stock length barrel (10.5") is very good -- there's no performance-related reason to go with the 12". Likewise, there's little need for a non-Palmer barrel on the Blazer as the barrels from PPS work very well. The Blazer will put paint right where you aim it, like any good paintgun with a good barrel.
Weaknesses: There's very little that's wrong with the Blazer design and build quality. The only thing that I can think of is that however short and light the trigger is, if you like electros, it's not as short or as light as an electro-trigger.

There's really nothing about the Blazer that makes me wish something was different about it.
Conclusion: There is almost no direct comparison that can be made to the Blazer except the Typhoon -- and that's only because it's from the same shop and uses the same pneumatics. But in terms of design, there's nothing like it.

It's an autococking paintgun in a package that's smaller and lighter than your typical blowback.

I am *very* happy with my purchase, and I would recommend the Blazer to anyone. It shoots well, it handles well, it's reliable, it's easy to take care of, and you will not find a smaller or lighter autococking paintgun anywhere.

I gave the Typhoon a solid 9 rating. The Blazer deserves something just a little higher. I don't like to give 10's, since nothing is *perfect*, but it deserves something just a smidgeon higher, so it gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Macbeth Wednesday, November 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Lite (stock)
TIppmann Model 98(all sorts of upgrades)
00' Cocker (Eclipse pivot frame, bomb 3 way, lightning bolt)
Marker Setup: Palmer Blazer:) (black)
1x 45 Frame (black)
Gas thru vert grip (black
10.5" vented, matched barrel (black with black muzzle break)
"Typhoon Style" Foregrip
Black, angle cut sight hood
Female Stab black
20oz anti siphon
I'm currently between drop forwards, but I always run "something"

Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the barrel matched, it is completely worth it.
45 frame, it makes the gun feel fantastic.
Stab, it will make your gun run like it was on nitro.
Strengths: +/- 2 FPS, eveyday
Incredible pointablility, and accuracy. Just pop out, squeeze off a few rounds, and make a kill.

Its LIGHT.

It is incredilby durable, I flet right at home coming off a Tippmann...
It's pretty rare.

Weaknesses: Noting really....

Well, it is ugly.
It takes unthraded barrels, which is kind of a pain.
Conclusion: I am gonna see about getting my Eclipse frame milled to fit her...that coul be nice....

Get one, they are great for the budgetd tourney play, who needs a gun to haul ass any day of the week.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used cockers, mags, tippmanns and spyders.
Marker Setup: I have the Blazer with the shortened trigger, male vertical stabilzer, 20oz CO2 tank with anti-siphon tube, and the custom spiral vented brass barrell.
Recommended
Upgrades:
All the stuff I got ; )
Strengths: I'll tell you what. Out of 2 and half cases of paint I only chopped 3 balls, and that was becuase I was an idiot and forgot to turn my viewloader on and when a kind broke my hopper elbow on the breakout and oozed paint in and out of the hopper. It shoots just as fast as any cocker out there, and just as accurate. It is very compact, lightweight, and looks unique. It feels great shooting a maker that was built for you and not mass produced in a factory. Maintenance is a breeze, just take in the shower with you after a hard day of paintball. Then dry it off with some Q-tips and oil up. Last, it has the QUICKEST stripping bolt out there. That's the bottom line.
Weaknesses: Ummmmm you really need to have to your agitator going or you are going chop a ball now and then. That's about it. I love it. If you are an upgrade fiend where you need to add stuff every week, this isn't the gun for you. Finally, It isn't as quiet as the high end cockers.
Conclusion: I love it. When about 4 balls broke in my elbow due to a collision with a teammate, all it took was me running my Blazer under the water cooler to clean it. Squeegee once to dry, and oil. I was back in full action in 5 minutes. Try that with a cocker or Angel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
Strengths: This is an extremely light marker. There is very little in the way of wasted metal. Range is equal to any gun out there. Same trajectory and range as a 'cocker.

Extremely reliable and easy to clean. Bolt is very short and easy to remove.
Very durable and a joy to shoot. Rare gun.

Stock barrel is amazing with normal paint. Haven't tried small bore though it should shoot well.

Rock 4-way(not 3-way according to Palmer) is internal to the gun. No messy looking hoses everywhere!
Weaknesses: Cosmetically it looks strange from the rear. This is done to lighten gun so I don't have a problem with it.

Gun does need the Pro-touch and double trigger with guard in my opinion. As with almost all markers, you need a good regulator. I recommend the Palmer stabilizer as you can use either nitro or CO2.

Almost all after market parts available are from Palmer's. However, you can find some that will fit though you don't need them. The 3-way is like a cockers and the grip frame is WGP compatible though you will need to carve underneath to fit the rock reg.

Stock trigger is too stiff. Not as bad as a Tippmann carbine but not as good as a Mag or Model 98's. Glenn is old school and prefers a stiffer trigger for reliability.

Pricing is high but you get what you pay for. Upgrades will need to be done at Palmers for the most part and this will cause you to wait for mail time and backlog on their work. Hey, the best gunsmiths are always busy! Ask Doc and Glenn!
Conclusion: As with almost all markers, you need a good regulator. I recommend the Palmer stabilizer as you can use either nitro or CO2.

Get the spiral venting on the barrel. It is expensive but worth it because the marker is very quiet.

Contrary to what most people say, you don't have to send the marker to palmers to get servicing. Any good cocker tech should be able to fix it. There will be some parts that you may have to get from Palmers but the majority of good stores will have replacement parts. After all, Palmer makes great cocker parts and they are the same as on the Blazer.

I recommend the following when ordering from Palmers:

Double trigger with guard
Pro-touch trigger(although you could do the Ravi trigger job)
Gas through grip with female bottom line Stabilizer and block mount
Matched barrel with spiral porting with 12" upgrade (porting makes it a 10" effectively)

Anything else is just cosmetic and a matter of personal taste. Mine is plain black with a brass barrel. Unassuming and a sleeper; just the way I like it!

I would recommend this over the Typhoon. I own both guns and the Blazer is quieter and just as accurate with the front grip installed.

This gun is better than a cocker in my opinion. It is smaller and has been very reliable. With the Stabilizer on it, I don't have to mess with timing. The hoses are inside the gun unlike most custom 'cockers I have seen.

I own other guns as well. Short of an electro's rate of fire, you won't find anything lacking in this gun.

I traded a BBT Typhoon for this gun and have not been dissapointed. If I had it to do over again, I would probably buy it direct from Palmers and have the barrel colored to match the gun.

I have not found a better semi-auto paintball marker. I own 8 markers including this one so I can speak objectively.

With my recommended upgrades, this gun will cost you about the same as an entry level electro (around $650). You will get mechanical reliability that can't be matched in this price range though. If I were to sell all of my markers, this would be the last to go.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 19th, 2001
Strengths: Excellent accuracy...can tag players through holes in spools, etc. Can get really quick ROF, especially using .45 frame. Trigger pull is very short. Light weight, small size, excellent design and layout. As close to the perfect non-electro as you can get. Also, it's actually quite easy to work on/with if you are even modestly mechanically inclined.
Weaknesses: Not much...the bolt knob has been known to break at the threads (happened once to me, a couple of times to a friend), but it's traceable to using non-Palmer barrels like the Autospirit (because the bolt enters the barrel; tightbore barrels have less room and create stresses on the bolt pin). There's not a lot of people who can work on the gun, just because the guns are relatively rare and trouble-free, and people think PPS won't work on a gun that someone else has worked on. Not true. They just won't fix someone else's screw-up for free.

The only other thing is that some players can't seem to get the hang of the trigger, especially players used to electros.
Conclusion: I'd stack my Blazer up against anything. It's got the speed, accuracy, ease of use and comfort level to excel in any situation for less than most custom Cockers (Freeflows and Shocktechs). With only a .45 frame upgrade and a Stabilizer, you get a trigger throw that's about the same as a stock Angel and the best all-around reg on the market. The Blazer runs well on either CO2 or HPA, and you can get one with the .45 frame, Stabilizer, and a vented barrel for under $650.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 5th, 2001
Strengths: Ok, I really like this gun. For one it is very small and lightweight which is really nice. I also like the quick strip bolt a lot it makes cleaning the gun both on and off the field really easy. It has a great fire rate and it gets even better if you have some trigger work done. I hear the stock barrel is loud but if you get a vented one it is pretty damn quite. The Blazer has good air usage even without a stabilizer and comes ready for both CO2 and N2. It's VERY accurate (Palmers Barrel work can improve this too)
Weaknesses: It is a little bit of a hassle to send the gun back every time it needs work especially if you don't live in or near California.

A lot of people say it's not very upgradeable but and this is somewhat true but I can't think of too much you'd want to do with it that Palmer doesn't already do.

Not a lot of barrel options. Some people don't like brass barrels and that's all you get from Palmers (Maybe you could get a custom job)
Conclusion: The Blazer is a very solid paintball gun. It's a little on the pricey side only because there are a few upgrade I would recommend that add to the price making it cost and perform similar to a Palmer Typhoon with out having the mystique of the Typhoon. The bright side of this is it has a couple very big advantages over the Typhoon. One is the changeable barrels and another is the quick strip bolt that I think makes the big difference between the guns.

Compared to other non-Palmer guns of similar quality I think the Blazer holds it's own and brings some advantages to the table. It has a much better air system than any stock cocker I've ever used. I also really like its lightweight and ease of use it's a lot less finicky than most cockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media