paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Smart Parts Progressive Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Progressive Barrels
[ View Photos (39) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 486
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Progressive barrels are available in lengths (12/14/16/20") and are available for most paintguns. They come in black, blue, red , silver & green.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Progressive Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (49):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
brandonhamilton Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrell
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra ak ricochet hopper crossfire 47cu tank with the progressive barrell
Recommended
Paintballs:
i only shot with zap primer and i didnt get one break untill i but it on my bros esprit and i choped one
Strengths: Cheap,nice,works good and doesnt shoot as loud
Weaknesses: porting holes are hard to clean if you get a chop
Review: I bought this because the teardrops where outa stock and i was kinda worried about this because i read all the reviews about it being a crappy barrell but i guess it only works with certin people. this shot pretty good with the paintballs i was using and i am happy with the results
Conclusion: good overall barrell and it was very cheap good for first time up grade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frontgunner Saturday, August 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing exept A-5 stock and Gameface vexor stock barrels which do not compare
Marker Setup: Warrior 06 ACE
Empire 2 loader
CO2
Smart part progressive barrel

Gameface Vexor

Tippmann A-5 stock
Remote coil
Nxe 4+1 pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
Spyder black labels
meteors
Strengths: Pretty accurate
Durable
Weaknesses: Cant shoot through breaks
Too shiny for woodsball
Review: I have had this barrel for about a year now and this barrel served me really well.

ACCURACY
----------------

This barrel has decent accuracy but the best out there. I got into situations where I had to hit someone far away I could not always do that because the balls start to drift away but close to mid range this thing is quite accurate.

DURABILITY
-----------------

Tis is durable and it does not scratch easily. I have had it for a year now and all I got is two scratches at the tip of the barrel and that is just because I banged it against a concrete wall. I have droped this barrel too many times to remember and it does not crack or break. I have dived on top of my gun and I have hit the barrel against every thing imaginable and it still works just like the day I gort it.

BREAKS
------------

This barrel does not shoot through breaks well at all. If you get a break, you cant just shoot a few shots and it is clean. You have to take out your swab and clean it.

It is a bit shinyfor woodsball but that is just me. If you dont mind a shiny barrel than it is fine
Conclusion: Overall this is a great barrel. I has decent accuracy great durability and it looks mean.
If you are on a tight buget go and get this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beretta92fs Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This is really the only barrel ive used beside the spyder sonix stock
Marker Setup: Spyder sonix
14" Progressive barrel
48 ci 3000 psi pure energy hpa tank
And all the basics (mask, etc.)
Recommended
Paintballs:
rps STINGERS (cheap and good $34 for 2000)
rps BIG BALL (im using atm and $18 for 1000) they are pretty accurate)
Monster balls BE (dont buy)
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Durable
Weaknesses: I cant think of one really
Review: This barrel is great the accuracy was shocking for a 35 buck barrel. When i had a stock on my spyder sonix the gun was super loud really not that accurate but when i added the barrel to it was silent from 20 ft away. The paintballs ddint even look like paintball flying at you just a quick blink and then bam. If your a woodsballer get rps stinger the paintballs are a greenish brownish color you wont even see the paintball yourself until it hits someone or a tree.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel and if your debating between the linear and the progressive (as i did) get the progressive you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippy_fan Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock JT Excellerator Barrel
Tippmann Stone Honed 11"
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E
12" Progressive Barrel System
20 oz. C02
Veiwloader 200
Recommended
Paintballs:
Seems to like the tinier bore of paint. Lots of people don't know this but right in the middle of the porting on the end of the barrel it gets really narrow and is the cause of most barrel brakes. Marbs are excellent.
Strengths: Price
Accurate (for its price)
Quiet (kinda)
Many different lengths available
Weaknesses: The narrowing in the bore kinda sucks
Doesn't look the greatest
Review: Another barrel from the bargain bucket and one of my personal favorites i might add. Competing with the well known J&J ceramic line the progressive barrel is basically a teardrop that is louder. The new form of the progressive barrel has yet to be tried by me but i am sure its the same thing with a makeover. The inside is very nice with a well done mirror finish . Porting isn't that great until the tip in which there is alot of it. The barrel is not extremely quiet but not loud either. The way i see it as soon as you shoot they know were you are anyway. It is also very light, on my gun you dont even know its there. If you are tired of your stock barrel missing easy shots than this is the barrel for you. Not expensive enough to be thaught highly of... until you try it of course.


to be edited...
Conclusion: Light on your gun AND your wallet the progressive is a recommended barrel for anyone tired of their stock barrel and wanting an upgrade without having to save up for a year or two. Great for any tippmanns or spyders to get them really shooting like a million bucks without spending a million bucks.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 20th, 2007 at 7:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tak14 Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Excel, Ultralight, Freak Jr., Many stock barrels
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker SFT, CP 48/45, and Pulse Loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't recommend any specific paintballs.
Strengths: Kind of light
Pretty accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I got this barrel with my Ion and it has served me well. Not the most accurate barrel out there but is good for the price. It also doesn't add a lot of weight to the gun so that is also good. I was also surprised to see how quiet it was. I like it better than the Dye Excel.
Conclusion: Definately recommend it to any entry level player if you are not looking to spend a lot of money. I give it a 9 because it is one of the best barrels in it's price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NHbooniesballer Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak- great if you have the money
Evil Driver- more accurate, but also costs more
Evil Pipe kit- very accurate, only used once, but very impressed
Marker Setup: Electra 06 with eyes: and
Freak Barrel kit
4500psi 68ci Tank
Vlocity hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
The new Xball, really any medium bore paint is great in the one I've used (as long as it's round)
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Tolerance
Don't need expensive paint
Weaknesses: Shine
Finish rubs off fairly easily
Review: This barrel is awesome, I bought it at only 20 bucks and I still use it. For the price I don't think that there is anything better out there, but if you're looking to spend more, or even to upgrade, look at a kit.

I have only had one chop because of this barrel and I've used it for about a year. The accuracy is great for a barrel of this price range, out of 50 balls at 25ft, only 2 missed, and the others were within the 6" circle (Using Xball)
*Re-tested with Marballizer and got the same results

For big games/tourneys I'll use my Freak kit or the Evil Driver just for the extra accuracy, but for rec. games I'll use this, and It's fine on my electra.

Also, this barrel can stand a beating, I lent it out to one of my friends, and it took such a beating that I was getting worried even though it was only 20 bucks. They hit it off of trees, the castle at Canobie, but luckily not the rock wall. When I got it back, I saw the expected scratches, but it performed just the same.

The only weakness that I could find with this barrel was the fact that in most cases the barrel comes with a high shine which isn't great if you're trying to flank the other team, but if you're on the front-lines, then that really isn't a problem.
Conclusion: Smart Parts proved themselves once again with this barrel, affordable yet one of the most accurate barrels that you can buy for under 40 bucks. If you are really serious about the game though, spend the extra 40 bucks and get the Evil Driver or even the Freak if you want to spend more.

The shine, although not a huge factor, kept this barrel from getting a 10 although I can't stress how impressed I am with this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 6:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kek Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI Thunder Pig - way worse
Flatline from both A5 and 98C - less accurate, more range
Armson Stealth - Comes somewhere close, but way more expensive
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5
Remote
68/3000 HP

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Proggressive
Univ. Air-through stock
HALO TSA LED Frontman
Remote
48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Worked nearly perfect with Draxxus Blaze & Tomahawk Field
Way bad with the Fuego Strike, which of course is crap paint
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Sound
- Looks
- Price
- Quality of finish
Weaknesses: Maybe the somewhat small bore size
Review: Well, this is one of the best barrels I've had so far, esspecially for this price. It is more accurate than both the A5 and the 98 Flatline's. Of course it doesn't have the range these barrels have, but you can't seriously call that a weakness.

The proggressive is also way more quiet than both the A5 Flatline and the Armson Stealth, because of its porting, which of course the flatline lacks at all. I estimate that the flatline is twice as noisy as the progressive, which can be described as both a good and a bad thing. But as I prefer function over looks & impressiveness, the quietness is a good thing to me.

This barrel looks very smooth on almast any marker, perhaps the older model looks even better than the new one, but as there's no accounting for tastes, that's just my opinion.

At around 35 euro's, this barrel CANNOT be beaten by any barrel under e. 75,- that I know or ever heard of. This is a great price for a barrel like this one..

the quality of the finish has been excellent at both of the progressives i own, so no complaints about that

The only (small) weakness the progressive has is that is has an little smaller bore size than most other one-size barrels (except for the J&J then), so big bore paint will not function perfectly. For a good paint-barrel match, try using Draxxus Blaze or Tomahawk Field, both pretty good paint, which will give no breaks what so ever (shot more than 5 cases with the both of them)
Conclusion: Almost perfect barrel, and unbeatable for this price (even if it was 30 bucks more) and good quality product, that says it all I guess...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: -- Tippmann 98 Custom

-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- BT Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- Shocktech Medium Drop Forward
-- 3 20oz Pure Energy Co2 Tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Cryptic, but whatever you want is fine with this barrel.
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: I purchased this barrel along with my 98 Custom and I haven't stopped using it.

#############################

Rating System (Seen In Conclusion)
--------------------------------------------------
Each " * " is one point added to the rating.
Each " ^ " is one point subtracted from the rating.

The ratings for certain aspects ARE NOT out of any specific number, it's just dictates how much quality is in that area. Adding the " * "'s up then subtract the amount of " ^ "'s from the total amount is how I come to the rating. Confused yet?

########

Strengths
--------------
+ Decent price (about $50.00 Canadian).
+ A good amount of porting.
+ Quiet... nice and quiet...
+ Low amount of condensation inside the barrel.
+ Accuracy is pretty good.

###########

Weaknesses
-------------------
- Paint on the barrel can chip if you run into a tree. (I've done it.. lol.) // (-0.0)

######

Overall
----------
As you can see, the strengths obviously outweigh the negatives. The negatives that go along with this barrel aren't even a big deal, and aren't specific to this barrel anyways. Most paint will chip if you run into a tree... I just felt something had to be in the weaknesses section (it seriously isn't a weakness though, just don't run into tree's).
Conclusion: Accuracy -- **
Condensation Level -- (Low) *
Looks -- *
Porting -- *
Price -- **
Sound -- (Quiet) **
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 9:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman stock barrel( Sucks big hairy hippy nuts)
32 degrees terminator(Much worse than a proggressive and it costs about the same)
Freak kit(A bit better than the AA because you can match bore size)
All american(Its better and deadly quiet also a 2 peice but agian its double the price)
APEX(ok it's like the best barrel ever it creams the proggressive but what do you expect its more than double the price. Although I found the proggressive doesnt get the random crazy off target shot the apex gets from time to time)
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8

Recommended
Paintballs:
Procaps(worked great)
Midnight(worked great as well)
Strengths: Improves accuracy
Doesn't chop balls
Quieter than stock barrel
Weaknesses: I havn't come across any
Too long on the a-5
Review: Well after having my a-5 for like 6 months I decided a new barrel was in order. My friend has a proggresive on his gun and it improved it alot so I decided i'd get one for my gun. Well firstly on looks the dust black matched my a-5 great so that made me happy. As well as in combination with my saw stock my gun looks pretty intimidating. Happy with the looks I went to the side of my house to check the actual preformance. I found it helped alot when I started to shoot fast the balls would stay on track. Where as with the stock barrel when I shot faster the balls would go off track sometimes. When I took to play some paintball I found it improved my accuracy from far distances it didnt curve off as much as the stock barrel. I have since got an apex and I dont use this thing anymore. I keep it as a back up.
Conclusion: This barrel improved my a-5 alot and only cost me 55 bucks. I reccomend it to anyone looking for a cheaper but still good barrel or for anyone looking for a backup barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 7:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt_conti Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The stock barrel?
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ACT
smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
200 ball hopper
20 ounze C02 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything half decent, but i personaly use X ball bronze
Strengths: Quiet
accurate
one piece
looks great
avalable for almost every gun
Weaknesses: When ball breaks, hard to get paint outta the holes at the end
Review: i just picked this barrel up yesterday cause i found the stock was too loud and not accurate. i bought this one cause all my friends had one so said ok well if they all like it so will i. i wouldnt recomende getting more then 14 inches tho, cause i found the 14 to be a little long with a 98C. so after i played a quick round, i found that only 2 balls out of 140 were off target and from far, my friends couldnt even hear my gun. thats exactly why i recomend this barrel to a new player who wants to be a sniper. its cheap (i payed 43$ can. for it) and worth every cent.
Conclusion: im gonna give it a 10 even if its hard to clean the paint out of the porting holes (i think thats what there called corect me if im wrong) because with a 98C with ACT and some pretty good balls with the same bore size, balls never break.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (49):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media