paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Amp Transformer / Zap Amp Transformer / Zap Amp Transformer / Zap Amp Transformer

Zap Amp Transformer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Amp Transformer

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Amp Transformer
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Zap's AMP Transformer has an LED display, electronic trigger, and is semi-automatic.
Product Availability 
The Zap Amp Transformer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
hangar18__ Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a bunch
Marker Setup: zxs 1000E wit teardrop and mach 404 hopper,20 oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new barell , electic hopper,
Strengths: Fast , Accurate , Reliable , Never chops anythin (cept b.e paint),Cool lookin,great on co2
Weaknesses: Sometimes double feeds.
Review: great gun .. fairly cheap , accurate ,reliable, electric , upgradeable, is now called ZXS 1000E and it comes wit the expansion chamber and drop....i couldnt b happier wit it ,its killer . the only thing was when ,it ddint cock all the way back cuz a ball was half - fed.. it doesnt happen often(u mite need a electic hopper if it does),only when ur shooting amazingly fast . aslong as u kno that all ya have to do is re-cock it , ull b fine...its not a big issue but i tell ya so ya dont stick yer finger in to push the ball down and shoot yer finger off . ,it is great on co2.,it was very cheap 160 somethin (cdn)..
Conclusion: Great gun ...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 8th, 2004 at 11:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eagle_28 Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Couple of Spyders, Piranhas but they felt cheap.
The New JT's felt almost the same.
Marker Setup: Zap ZXS-1000E (AMP Transformer) CP flame Drop, 32* Cut and carved expansion chamber, freak barrel system, 15* assault block.
Brass Eagle Raptor
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Brass Eagle Talon
20 oz.
9 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
for the AMP, just buy a drop, ASA and expansion chamber, But if you buy the ZAP ZXS 1000E which is the same gun, u get a drop, gas thru and ASA already.

Other than that. nothing really.
Strengths: Shoots Fairly fast, shoots acurate
Weaknesses: sometimes double feeds.
Review: The Amp transformer is an overall very good marker, it shoots fast, is very accurate. Anyone thinking about buying their first electronic, go with this one. The Amp is price very very cheap, and i think its a lot better than, SOME spyders and piranhas.

beep
im out
lata
-Eagle_28
Conclusion: recommended for anyone thinking about buying a tournament grade paintball marker, and very good for a starter electronic.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Navarone666 Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Misc. Spyders
Marker Setup: ZAP ZXS 1000E
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Fix The Trigger
Strengths: Accuracy(8/10)
Speed(7/10)
Reliability(9/10)
Weaknesses: Jumpy Trigger
Review: There are many, many better paintball markers out there. But for around 140$ Canadian, this gun will suit its needs. It has amazing accuracy for the price, the only downsides are the trigger, it is very jumpy, you might want to fix it, also don't be too trigger happy, or you will chop paint, not so often does this happen, but when it does, this marker is easy to disassemble, clean, and assemble again. All in all, this is a very good starter gun, and even for some experts, it is a reliable gun.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker to anyone, regardless of your experience.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ubi_20 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental, Piranha Evo
Marker Setup: This is the ZXS 1000:E
Stock barrel
Zap Mach 404 hopper
CO2
Drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator/Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Cheap
Great for starters
Weaknesses: No beaver tail
Chops paint sometimes
Review: For its price, the gun is a good buy for beginners. I got it for $140 Cdn. The key is to not go crazy(fast) on the trigger unless you have a good electro hopper otherwise it will chop paint. My Mach 404 couldn't keep up with it.

I've only had one major problem with the gun. After using the gun for the second time the electronics stopped working! I couldn't put the bolt/hammer back in without unscrewing the trigger frame. This is probably a bad batch, however I kept the receipt and exchanged it for another one. After getting the second gun I have had no problems.

No beaver tail - What was Zap thinking when they decided not to include a beaver tail? That bolt is dangerous especially when it's so close to your body. The bolt hit my friend's mask once. Although the hit wasn't serious I wouldn't want the bolt to hit me. So I looked online and the local pro shops for a beaver tail and I still haven't found one that fits. Eventually I decided to create my own tail (a sheet of metal bent 90 degrees) and it works fine.

Other than the problems stated above, the gun works great. Recommended buy.
Conclusion: This is an excellent gun for beginners. I would give it 10/10 if I could find a beaver tail.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capn Red Legs Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, 32 degrees, Brass Eagles, etc. They are all basically the same style of marker. But for $30, this gun rocks.
Marker Setup: WGP 06 Black Magic SF
CP Reg, drop, asa
Freak
Vlocity Loader
Empire Fuel 68ci/4500psi

Smart Parts Ion
Scenario Dreams T Board w/ DYE membrane
SP 360 QEV
Firebolt
Freak

Smart Parts SP-8 Desert
SP 360 QEV
Firebolt
Remote fitted w/Palmer Stabilizer to run CO2
Stealth Barrel
Adj. Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a fast loader to avoid chops!
Expansion chamber, drop forward.
Strengths: Price, price, price!
Capable of 12-15 bps w/a VLocity HOPPER
Light
Weaknesses: Plastic grip
Feed neck
Review: I bought this gun for my nephew for Christmas and did not have very high expectations. It was $30 brand new for an electro-mechanical so I had to at least give it a try.

First thing I did was take it apart and see what makes it tick. Pretty much the same as any stacked-tube, blow-back marker. I did notice that it need oil so we took care of that and put it back together.

The only loader I have is a VLocity so I put it on and filled it with some paint I had laying around, screwed in a 20oz co2 and went at it. After a few shots, the loader almost fell off the gun. If you were in a game, this would severely suck, but a little tape fixed it for now. The gun has no more or less kick than any other and the stock barrel is no better or worse than any other stock barrel.

I noticed that the trigger was very sloppy and needed adjustment so I tried to make some. After fixing the feedneck and adjusting the trigger, this gun was ready to reveal its true potential.

This is a hidden treasure! This gun has no equal in its price range or within $75! I was hitting anywhere from 10-15 bps consistently. I bet you could probably go even faster than my slow fingers. The trigger is very sloppy, but who cares, it costs $30! The loader you would need to keep up with this gun costs twice as much as the gun! You could take care of most of the slop in the trigger with a piece of a sticky drawer bumper-stop Place a sliver of the bumper in front of the trigger where it mounts to the frame. If is does not stick, super glue it. This will limit the pre-activation travel.

The velocity consistency was within normal co2 variation , +/- 10fps, and with the vertical bottle attachment, I did not notice much, if any, shoot-down. As for accuracy, it was not spectacular, but it was acceptable. At 75', I hit a 2' square target 18 of 20 times with single shots or 2 to 3 shot bursts. Could have been the old paint I used. I didn't check to see if it matched to bore. I went through 500 round and did not chop one ball.! People may or may not know, but without eyes, your loader has a LOT to do with chops!


I have yet to see anything terrible about this gun. It is easy to clean, easy to operate, and easy to rip with.

I have no idea what the long-term reliablility is. As the gun gets used more, and time passes, I will update with any useful info.
Conclusion: If you can find one of these for a price anywhere close to what I found it for, get it. It is a lot of fun, shoots fast and is easy to strip in the event of a problem. Like I said before, this gun is WAY better than anything in its price range and at that price, it gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 14th, 2007 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom Pro, Avenger, Triton, Pirahna, Boneddaddy, Stingray, no electrics
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Fast, sensitive trigger, vertical co2 feed
Weaknesses: Vertical co2 feed, barrel
Review: This marker has rather impresed me expecially for its price. it has vertical co2 feed from under the marker which is great in the winter as no co2 enters in liquid form so it can keep shooting fast. some people dont like the feel of it but its more efficent so it works for me. the marker shoots very fast and the trigger is suprisingly sensitive. I have only testfired other electros before other then my amp generator.

Barrel is not greatest I recommend an upgrade but what stock barel is, concidering tho its not that bad compared to most stocks. accuracy was ok as was range. marker is built to be easy to repair and upkeep so im happy there.
Conclusion: Great entry level electronic marker capable of shooting more then fast enogh, i recommend this marker for its price range and efficency, no problems yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

botowa Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98, Tippmann A5, M2
Marker Setup: Catalina 16 Ounce Aluminum Tank, GT Bottomline and Foregrip Kit, Viewloader Quantum E Feed Loader Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
A bottom line kit with grip is a must. I did need an adapter for the kit to align it straight but those are easy to pick up. A electric hopper is important but you may not want to go as cheap as I did. It does work fine if you dont mind the noise and having to turn the hopper on (which I dont). A new spring kit was needed for mine. This gun wants the strongest spring to get the 290 you would expect. Next for me is a 14" barrel. I have tested some kits and think just a 14" will do fine. Spyder parts make this gun fun to tweak but it cant go that far. It does not need to. Its fine the way it is.
Strengths: Price, Nice Trigger, Accurate (faster you fire the better the cluster), Spyder Parts for upgrades.
Weaknesses: Grip is a bit weak, but is holding up. So far thats it.
Review: I read some harsh reviews for this gun and some just seem like bad luck. This gun rocks for the price. It is accurate, scalable and many people have comment that they love the look of it. The guys I play with all have $200 plus guns and loved the speed and feel of this gun. The electro has it benefits in a fit of rage and this gun delivers. As long as that hoppers droppin your all set and you can keep up with the big boys. Its a great entry level gun or a veterans reliable back up.
Conclusion: Get it. Its a great semi-auto. Have more fun with an edge, and you dont need to break the bank.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 7:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rainnm8ker Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder vector, and the old school spyder semi. both of which for a dollar to dollar comparassin both are far better guns.
Marker Setup: i use the stock Zap Amp marker and set up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
at the moment a longer barrel
Strengths: Very little air usage
Weaknesses: No range, has a less then a 20' reach. also barrel and trigger
Review: It is a good gun over all, and i think it would be a nice starter gun for a young player who want to just into the e-markers. but the gun leaves a lot to desire in the range and velocity area. i can turn it all the way in and only 264 fps and i can unscrew it all the way out and shoot 264fps. have no idea why this is. i have explored every idea that i can come up with. but am not complaining.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to young player who wish to use e-markers and that are on a buget other then that save a bit more money and buy something else.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 1:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballa13 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only other guns i've used is a stingray and walmart pumps
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
tigger, grips, barrel
Strengths: fast, doesnt chop TOO much
Weaknesses: Barrel, trigger, and grips are the only weaknesses.
Review: I think that this gun is very good for a noob its fast and pretty durable. I've played a lot of woodsball with this gun and i only have a couple of scratches on it. the skrew for the velocity adjuster fell out wich kind of made me mad b/c it wouldnt stay where i wanted it too. The grips suck there plastic and let water in. I was playin in the rain adn it messed up the electros a little bit. The barrel isnt horrible...im broke (lol) so i cant rlly buy a new one so after using it enough i learned that it just swerves a little to the right. The trigger has no pull at ALL literally. I dont liek how you have to use allen wrenches to change the modes it makes it way more difficult to change. Another problem i have is sometimes when i start shooting fast and walking the triger it will cock forward and not cock back so you have to recock it alot.
Conclusion: The gun is good for any noob wanting a farely fst gun. the only real problem is the trigger and the mode changing but over all its a good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 12:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m3tal_muli5ha Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Genesis
Marker Setup: All Stock. Dont want to waste to much money on it. Going to pick up a better gun. Spyder Pilot most likely
Recommended
Upgrades:
12-14 inch barrel and a electronic hopper
Strengths: Durable
Light weight
CO2 conserver
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Trigger is a bit sketchy
Manual is CRAP
Strip pin falls out easy
Review: Lets see....this is my first gun and i bought it at Walmart. so far everything has been geat except i stripped the thread on the plastic grip and have to kinda hold it still with a bit of electrical tape...that was my fault. it is really cheap and amazing for the price. Not to many upgrades are needed. Maybe a 12-14 inch barrel...16 maybe a bit to big and an electronic hopper if u like to keep the balls fireing. Its only semi auto but thats fine for me. it still shoots out fast. The manual that comes with it is the crappiest one ever. ud think for a gun it would have pictures and descriptions and pages of how to fix it if something went wrong. but no..it onlu has like 15 pages of crap. about 5 of it is filled with company info and useless crap. other than that it is a real amazing gun for the price.

Looks = 9/10
Durability = 10/10
Price = 10/10
Parts = 8/10
Conclusion: Basically this gun is great. I would give it maybe about a 9 out of ten but im going to stick with an 8. its strictly beginner or a gun to fool around with. and a new spring would aslo be a great help.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media