paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels / Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels / Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels

Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 550
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Teardrop Rifled barrels are available in many different lengths for almost all paintguns.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Teardrop Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (55):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Shuurajou Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder 9.5 Barrel, (Imagine, Victor)
32 Degrees Terminator 16inch
Marker Setup: -Spyder Victor II-
14in. SP Teardrop
CIP 15* Assault Block
32 Degrees 2003 Expansion Chamber
DYE 1500psi Mini-gauge
16oz Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP Bigball or Better
Have used Bigballs, (most common in local shops)
also Diablo Nightmares, which also worked fine.
-AVOID CHEAP PAINT- (see review)
Strengths: Accuracy.
Noise Reduction.
(See full review)
Weaknesses: Cleaning.
(see review, MINOR weakness)
Could be a bit cheaper.
Review: First off I must say, always, always avoid cheap paint. If you use paint like Viewloader, Brass Eagle, even Draxxus, for anything competitive, dont expect any performance out of any barrel/gun combo. If you're specifically going to build your gun to handle crap paint, you should concern yourself with bolts, and other methods to avoid chops. as for accuracy, I've found RP balls (any variety really) are reliable in this barrel, and in any other barrel i've used for that matter.
I cant stress enough, if you use cheap paint, dont use it for anything other than Chrono testing.

Accuracy and Noise level are what you can and SHOULD expect from any barrel in this price range. the 32degrees terminator which is roughly the same dollar range performs at ALMOST the level of the teardrop on both levels. I personally prefer the style of the Teardrop, it's very attractive. dont expect a silent gun, or a sniper rifle. Barrels effect both accuracy and sound, but the marker has the most control over such factors. for example my spyder is *LOUD*. even with this barrel the pop is fairly considerable. however my friend and his cocker are whisper-quiet, as long as he doesnt out-shoot his hopper.
the best way to quiet your gun down is to find the perfect paint/barrel match. experiment.
as for speed and accuracy, i feel that it has helpped my gun and is definitely worth the money, ESPECIALLY if you're STILL using a stock barrel.

keeping up with cleaning this gun can be a small issue. the teardrop shaped porting is very attractive (i'm not sure if it REALLY has any serious effect) but it is very adept at accumulating paint. if you break a ball, or you get sprayed from enemy fire, you can get paint all in the teardrops. i havent noticed any serious accuracy issues when this happens, but god is it annoying. make sure you have some method of "finer" cleaning when you clean your gun after a game, and with any ported barrel try to make sure you clean the ports if you get a break, after your game.

Conclusion: i paid $40 for this barrel give or take, i ordered it online. i dont feel i overpaid at all, the barrel has not let me down, and I like it alot. Aftermarket barrels are a very important aspect of a marker, but dont let it get you down. if you're not a Pro, stay in the $50 range, the $100+ barrels and kits just arent going to help you any more than a mid-range or entry-level barrel upgrade. i think you'll be happy with this barrel, but i wont scream at you to buy it simply because i did.

I rate this as a 10 not because i feel it's the best on the market, but i feel you cant really do better than this barrel at its specific price range. It's a winner.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintboy383 Friday, February 20th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye excel (14") and boomstick (14")
Marker Setup: e-99 avant
polished internals
12" teardrop
flame drop
Recommended
Paintballs:
not pmi prems
Strengths: pretty inexpensive
looks nice
Weaknesses: breaks like crazy
pretty inaccurate
hard to clean
Review: i hate to give bad reviews... but i've got to here. i put 1500 balls through this barrel in 1 night... & i got at least 15-20 barrel breaks (1 or 2 per game). and they are the worst for cleaning too. w/ my boomy or excel i could dry fire like 10 times and at least balls wouldn't keep breaking before they leave the gun... but a break with this barrel requires a battle swab. even swabbing doesn't completely fix it... it will contine to curve balls until you can thouroughly clean it. cleaning out the porting is the worst part though, it seems like nothing can it clean. when it wasn't dripping paint it wasn't the greatest with accuracy. i mean it wasn't horrible, but maybe that's cause it's a 12" (but i don't think so).
Conclusion: all in all, i think it's a bad barrel. i know some will disagree, but if it works for you then cool. i would reccomend a dye excel (same price as teardrop). it's always treated me well and i wish i had one for my spyder (it was a tippmann barrel). hope the review helped, but i would reccomend a different barrel... but that's just me. l8r, J
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

persianking Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 12" Teardrop barrel, standard VL 200 rd. hopper, 12 oz. CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any medium sized bore paint will do fine. (except for Brass Eagle. believe me i've tried)
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Silence
Basically everything
Weaknesses: Puts my gun off balance
Review: this is THE best barrel I have ever used. First let me talk about the design, this thing looks awsome!!! it is very intimidating. it looks angry. the inside of the barrel is soo crystal smooth it almost makes you want a paintball to hit you from it. the spiral porting actually works!!! I can't believe it. at first when I bought this barrel I thought it was there just to make it look good. but it really does something. To all you newbs out there I am going to tell you what it does: when the paintball is shot there is trapped gas or air behind the paintball pushing it along. without porting, that gas will build up and make the paintball hardly have any accuracy at all because there is nothing there to control the gas flow. now heres where the spiral comes in at. normal porting just gives it accuracy but with the Teardrop's spiral porting, the gas is released in a spiral as the paintball is moving out the end this causes the paintball to spin giving it top notch accuracy, more speed and more power and control. hmm..... almost like a symphony orchestra in one little piece of metal; everything works and cooperates so wonderfully together like in perfect harmony. the only thing thats not that good for me as an Xtra user, is that the barrel is so light it puts my gun off balance, but thats okay because it doesnt really matter when you are on the field. now let me talk about the silence. this thing is so whisper silent you can hear a pin drop when youre shooting the teardrop (pun intended) but seriously, if your a sniper, nobody will ever know where you are. even if they hear the shot, its hard to tell where its coming from.
Conclusion: this is the best aftermarket barrel i have ever had the pleasure to use. I recommend this barrel to anyone looking to take a step up from a stock. I would definately give this at least an 11 rating but I can only go up to 10. oh well, when life gives you lemons...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 12th, 2005 at 8:19 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

CjGray Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson, AA, Freak
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/
12 inch Teardrop
Response Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips
GTA 4 Stage Expansion Chamber
Co2
Double Trigger Installed
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson, Draxxus, PMI/RPS,
(Code of Paintball, NO BRASS EAGLE PAINT!!)
Strengths: Porting
Sleek Design
Smart Parts
Cool looking
Weaknesses: None I can Think of Really
Review: This Barrel you can get in 14 or 12 inch versions, I reccomend the 12 for any gun. It really is the Perfect size. This barrel is really machined well. It is milled and bored to the best qaulity possible. It really is a great deal. As the ad goes. "Accuracy, Economy, Beauty".
Conclusion: This barerl really is the best barrrel for the money you pay. For 100 canadian you can get one of the most greatest performing barrels on the market, one of the best looking barrles on the Market. And this barrel has a proven name, Smart Parts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb-enforcer Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel (sucked of course)
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
14" Teardrop
Egg II / with Y-board
20oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze, Marbs
Strengths: Looks
Price
Accuracy
Weaknesses: The stickers on the side are STILL upside down.
Review: I bought this barrel when I bought my Pilot. I had read tons of reviews that say the stock barrels on guns suck, and you know what......they do. Supposedly, the gun manufacturers know that one of the first upgrades people get is a barrel. So they put junk on the guns to keep the initial purchase price down, fair enough. I did a lot of research, and was considering a few different barrels. After thinking about the J&J Ceramic, and the CP one piece, I got the Teardrop. My local paintball shop said the Teardrop is the best bang for your buck, and he was right. It looks very cool, and with a good paint to barrel match it is very accurate. Blaze paint is actually a little small for this barrel, but it still shoots awesome. Just for fun I put my stock barrel on my gun, and squeezed of a few rounds. After about 15-20 yards the balls would fly off in all kinds for directions, and I had two balls break in the barrel. So I put on the Teardrop, and did the same thing. My back yard is only about 25 yards, so I don't know how much range you can get. But at 25 yards the Teardrop was dead on. The balls flew strait, and I could hit a 4 inch wide tree with ease. Some reviews say that when you break a ball the accuracy is gone. Well, I can't comment on that because I never broke a ball...not one. As far as performance goes this barrel is the best in it price range. I'm sure the Ultalite, Freak, or the Boomstick will do better. But your going to pay for it.

The only bad thing I can say about the Teardrop is when you screw it onto your gun the stickers on the side are upside down. I would think that Smart Parts would realize this and fix the problem. But this small detail doesn't affect the performance.
Conclusion: If you want a good one piece barrel. That looks great, shoots great, and doesn't cost a lot, I would highly recommend the Teardrop. Sure the Ultalite, or Boomstick will perform a little better. But your going to pay twice as much for them. For being one of the best in it's price range, I give the Teardrop a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SpydXTRA Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP All American/All American, SP All American/TearDrop, Armson [not even close] BoomStick [what ever]
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
12v revvy
14in TearDrop
ESP Frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS & Team Colors
Strengths: QUIET
Accurate
Cheap
the logos line up side-side
Its Smart Parts.

Weaknesses: um... none.
Review: The barrel is good. It fact it rocks... the Other barrels like it the All Americans i tested were sweet but this barrel to me seems to do the same at a much lower price.
the amrson dosn't even compare it stunk. And the BoomStick well thats in its own world.
Conclusion: Over all A+. this barrel is great... shoots long, accuratly, and quietly. This is a great all around barrel for speedball to woodsball. You can buy them cheap online for about 40+9 dollars shipping... or local stores sell them from 50-60. BUY THIS!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98crt Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Xcel
32 Degrees Whisper
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, Smartparts 12in Teardrop, 88 4500 pure energy tank, Dead on pro blade drop with on/off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo, PMI, Bigball, and Evil
Strengths: Cheap, almost silent , cool looking, and never broke a ball yet
Weaknesses: There is really no weakness on this barrel
Review: This is a great barrel for people who don't have the money to buy Boomsticks or All Americans. This barrel is very accurate, it is as accurate as any more expensive barrel for a cheap price. This barrel is also made by Smartparts so it is going to be awesome. When I first tried out a Whisper that barrel was crap compared to the Dye Xcel or the Smartparts Teardrop.
Conclusion: To sum it up this barrel is Cheap, Accurate, Almost Silent, and good for players that can't afford expensive barrels.

If you are looking at this barrel get it , it is worth is money !!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 11:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmandh Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Stock Barrell- WOW. Why would you even compare it to this??
J&J Ceramic- Nice, but kind of ugly and fragile..r
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Teardrop Barrel
32 Degrees Universal Drop Forward
Revolution Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marballizers work like a charm
Don't use Zap Rec Series... they break in barrell and dont hit accurately
Strengths: Accuracy
Look
Durability
Silence
Price
Weaknesses: Not many at all, except possibly hard to find
Review: Accuracy- The barrel is very, very accurate. Compared to the stock 98 barrell, this baby is about 4 times better. I can't stress how good it is. The barrel could compare to that of the boomstick.

Look- Glossy finished with a nice design. Discreet so flashing colors wont get the enemy's attention.

Durability- Aluminum and strong, looks like it will hold up

Silence- Much quieter than stock barrel

Price- For all this, no other can beat it at less than $40!!!

Hard to Find- not really, but there were only a couple on eBay when i looked, but a store had some.
Conclusion: This is a very, very good barrell for almost any type of player. There is no reason to spend $100+, when you can this kind of quality for this cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 21st, 2005 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smart Paint Saturday, October 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The barrels that I have used on my Tippmann 98 Custom are the stock barrel and a Flatline barrel.
I've shot a Toxic Impulse with 2 different Freak barrels (one with an aluminum back and an All-American tip, and another with a stainless steel back and a Freak tip), and I've shot an Outkast autococker with a Freak barrel (stainless steel back and Freak tip). Those barrels are also made by Smart Parts, so you could consider them similar to this product, as it is made by Smart Parts.
Marker Setup: I own (use) the following marker with the following upgrades/accessories:

Gun: Silver Tippmann 98 Custom.
Barrel (other than stock barrel): Black 14-inch Smart Parts Tear Drop barrel.
Loader/hopper: Blue Viewloader 12 volt Revolution loader (has an X-Board in it).
Special trigger: Response trigger (I own the stock trigger on my gun with the response trigger installed; it is a single-trigger with the response system in it.).
Air source: 20 ounce CO2 tank with a blue thread protector.

Other upgrades/ accessories that are not in use on this gun are a Flatline barrel and a double trigger.

Even though it is not a marker, I have no where else to list what mask I have. I own a blue 2003 Dye Invision mask. I also own a 2003 Dye Precision Jersey in the black and red color.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't exactly know what paintballs are good for this barrel. I have shot Draxxus Blaze and P.M.I. Premium paintballs through this barrel, and I have yet to break a ball. With that fact at hand, I'd have to say that those paintballs are compatible with this barrel.
Strengths: Strengths:
- Increases range.
- Good accuracy.
- Variety of color options.
Weaknesses: Weaknesses:
- I have yet to have any problems with this barrel (there are no weaknesses).
Review: After I had played with the stock barrel on my Tippmann 98 Custom twice, I decided that it was time to purcahse a new barrel. At the time, I did not have superior knowledge of paintball equipment, so I asked a friend, who knew a lot about paintball equipment, what a good barrel would be that isn't too expensive. He reccomended the Smart Parts Progressive barrel.
On April 17th, 2003, I went to my local paintball shop. With $55.00 in my hand, I asked an employee for a Smart Parts Progressive barrel (I asked if I could purchase one). He did not see any in the main area of the store, so he went to the back of the store to see if there were any. Unfortunately, I was out of luck- they did not have it. But, being that the store is very generous and nice, he said that he'd sell me the Smart Parts Tear Drop barrel, which was better than the barrel I asked for (the Smart Parts Progressive barrel) for the same price as the Smart Parts Progressive barrel that I asked to buy (the Smart Parts Progressive barrel was $50.00). I was more than delighted at the offer, and accepted the propsition. I bought the barrel, and 2 days later, went paintballing.
As I played, I noticed the dramatic increase in accuracy and range of my marker. I was very pleased with the barrel. It shot accurately, and I was able to shoot out opponents at longer distances. 1.5 years later, I still feel the same way- my barrel performs great. It is a little less accurate than when I first got it, though, but that is expected. I have yet to break a single ball in my barrel. Even though breaking balls has to do mostly with the gun, the barrel can affect it, too.
Conclusion: I am very pleased with this product. I reccomend this barrel to people who want a good barrel at a low price. They sell these for around $40.00 online, so take advantage of the opportunity. I also reccomend this barrel to people who have guns such as Tippmanns, Spyders, or other low-end guns, since they come with pretty bad stock barrels. I wouldn't reccomend this to people who have guns such as autocockers, Impulses, Angels, Intimidators, or other high-end guns. This barrel has performed very well for me. Smart Parts, you deserve a 10/10 (100%, which is an "A" in these circumstances) rating for this splendid product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 25th, 2005 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive, AA, Bigshot, Freak etc
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze
Strengths: Accurate
Nice Finish
Weaknesses: nothing really
Review: Well I've shot this barrel and its very nice. Has an excellent finish, shoots very straight and gives very tight groupings. Only problem can be is it it breaks with the porting it would be hard to clean but it seldom breaks any paint. Its a good buy for the money and is a real nice barrel.
Conclusion: Its well worth it, one of the nicest barrels I've shot. And is very affordable. So this is an excellant barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (55):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media