paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Stealth Barrel / Armson Stealth Barrel / Armson Stealth Barrel

Armson Stealth Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Stealth Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Stealth Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 228
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The all new Stealth combines the same 6061 T-6 aircraft grade aluminum construction, and Polygon Progressive rifling as our legendary Pro-Series, with the noise reduction of a ported barrel.


Product Availability 
The Armson Stealth Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (23):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Dreadpirate Thursday, March 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak system: Better accuracy in a shorter, lighter package, but looks terrible on an A-5, louder.

Lapco Bigshot: similar accuracy, less maintenance, much louder.

Tippmann Flatline: longer range, much much louder, poor accuracy.

Apex barrel: longer range, louder (not as bad as flatline), poor accuracy, but can be adjusted to curve into the wind and shoot straight in a crosswind.

Stock A-5 barrel: actually fairly accurate with a good paint size match.
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro ULE custom
Magnetic suspension ball detent
Ultra-Light Trigger pull kit
Freak barrel system
Crossfire 68ci 4500# air tank
Reloader B feeder

Tippmann A-5, first year run
Armson Stealth (mid-90s version)
e-trigger w/ APE board
Ranger f/x m4-style foregrip
Spec Ops Commando stock
Lightweight rear bolt
aluminum front bolt & power tube
two-way vented QEPH
Lightening rod
flexible cyclone paddles
upgraded cyclone sprocket
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with thick, anti-wipe fill and a dry shell, match the size to your individual barrel.
Strengths: Pretty accurate, barrel report is quiet, not silent.
Intimidating 'zip'.
Good ballistic accuracy.
Tough
Weaknesses: The 'zip'.
Heavy
Must have paint to bore match.
Clean after each day of use.
Review: When I first picked up this gun, used for $60, it was so-so, and got worse the longer I used it. Then I learned about how paintball residue builds up in guns, and used some cleaner on it, then followed it up with the same company's teflon polish, and now it shoots -far- better than it ever did when I first got it.

Strengths:
Accurate: up to 20 ft or so, this barrel, with a proper paint match, is spot on. At longer ranges, it fades a bit, but still keeps up with most aftermarket barrels.
'Zip': I recall, when I first began playing paintball, that some of the 'experten' on the field had guns that caused the paint to make a 'zip' noise, like an angry bee, as it travelled downrange. I thought at the time that it was this brand-new 'nitrogen' tank that they were using. Now I realize that it was the seam of the ball as it spun at 12000 rpm exiting the rifled barrel. These days, people have forgotten what it sounds like, and are really intimidated by it. I get all sorts of comments about the sound it makes, and more than a few re-chronos at scenario events by refs who think the sound comes from a hot gun.
Ballistic Accuracy: Or long-balling, the traditional way: this barrel is unnatural in how accurately I can drop balls in behind a bunker from 100 yards away. I've heard theories on how the spin makes the ball less susceptible to slight breezes. I'm not sure, I just know it works. At Global Conquest 2k7, I eliminated 4 or 5 players by sighting in a key spool at the end of the field and dropping balls behind it from range. Most of the balls landed within a 5-ft radius of each other.

Tough: This barrel will -not- bend. I've abused it quite a bit, and so did the owner before me and though it has chipped, it will not bend or break.

Weaknesses:
The 'Zip': The zipping noise downrange is real good at attracting attention, especially if you're pumping 15 bps downrange. Even with a single shot, most players who aren't diving for cover will be able to figure out where you shot from.

Heavy: Not an issue on a two-handed milsim gun like the A-5 or 98, but I would never want this monster on the front of a tourney gun. Armson made the Pro-series for that.

Accuracy w/ unmatched paint: if your paint is so small that it drops through the barrel with light on all sides, it will tumble randomly in the barrel when shot, and fly off in random directions. Dry, rough-shelled paints designed for use in a flat-line system seem to work best.

Cleaning: Although it shoots clean after barrel breaks fairly well, in order to maintain performance, the barrel needs to be cleaned of paintball residue after every day of play. I use Pro-Team's residue cleaner, and follow it up with their teflon barrel polish, to minimize the deposit of further residue during play. Oily paints cause a faster resiude build up.

I have read Tom McKaye's article on rifling in paintball, and it is sound, assuming you use very watery paint fill. These days, most paintballs are filled with a very thick, anti-wipe fill, which provides more momentum than the 90s paint, which was often still made using fish oil. I wish I had the high-speed photography equipment necessary to reperform his tests with modern paint, to see if the spin continues all the way out to maximum range.
Conclusion: Definitely worth trying, if you frequent a field that uses a paint which matches this barrel, and if you are using a two-handed marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yags Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
14'' J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: spyder MR1
14" jj ceramic/ armson 16"
coiled remote
evolution 2
68cu tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used stingers but recomend hurricane
Strengths: Rifled
Quieter than stock
Accurate
Weaknesses: No color choices
Chop 1 chop many
Review: when i first tested this barrel out i was very impressed. It was acurrate and quieter than my stock barrel. when i choped my first ball i chopped the next 7 until i cleaned it. I blame th paint though it was not a very good match. It was very accurate and I managed to hit a can i had haging on a string 80% of the time from about 50ft.
Conclusion: Very accurate but because of the rifling if you chop you need to clean it out as soon as possible.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rob AKA GUNN3R Monday, October 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline: louder, but more accurate
Stock: better for CQB but nearly as accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
A LOT OF STUFF
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS/PMI
NOT Brass Eagle
I usually use hotspot bc its a bit cheaper and just as good
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, and looks freakin awesome
Weaknesses: None that require mentioning
Review: My dad surprised me with the 16 inch barrel a couple years back. I use it when I'm at a field that has small holes in walls/bunkers that the flatline cant go through. I also use this when I want to maintain stealth because it is VERRRRRRY quiet, and perfect for multiple flanking attacks(other team can't find you...its darned fun). The 16 inch also makes your gun look like something out of DOOM. The only draw back is that mine is 16 inches...obviously this is very long and hard to get around in a building with. However, if you want maximum range and accuracy it is a simple fact that you will need a longer barrel. Unless of course you get a flatline which is only like 10 inches long (but its way louder and fatter).
Conclusion: Get this barrel, if you want accuracy get a long one (duh) and if you're a Rambo style maniac...get a shorter one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rambosephus Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: '05 Spyder Pilot ACS, EvoII Hopper, 16" Armson Stealth Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used Diablos and some other fairly cheap paint from Dick's. Everything I have used has worked fine.
Strengths: Accuracy, toughness, looks
Weaknesses: Had to file a little so it would fit my gun.
Review: I purchased this barrel from a buddy of mine for my Spyder and it has worked really well. The accuracy is great and a huge performance boost over the stock barrel. I don't think that I would pay $70 for it but getting it at a discount made it worth while. I have only had three ball break in it and I think that two of those were from the first one breaking. Overal the barrel is great and the finish on the insides has stood up nicely and it has fit all of the paint I have put through it nicely. I personally like the way it looks as well. I would definitely recomend this barrel unless you don't like your barrels a little on the heavy side. The finish has also scratched up just a tad but nothing serious. Overall a 9.5/10 because nothing's perfect and I had to do some modding to get it to fit my gun (It did fit fine on my buddies pilot).
Conclusion: Great barrel although maybe a little pricey, but then again I guess it is made out of pretty high grade material. If you can find one cheap then definitely get one...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lfs9375 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline 12, teardrop 14
Marker Setup: A-5 with armson 16
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbalizers
Strengths: Very accurate
Easy cleaning
Silent
Range
Weaknesses: Little pricey and a little to long for those speed ball players.
Review: It's a good buy for those who play a lot of wood ball, I haven't had any trouble in speed ball because I have a quick shot but it shoots far and accurate quickly. I hear that balls break in this barrel but it cleans itself out but I haven't had any trouble because i have been using marbalizer paintballs that work amazingly(about 60$ for 2000).
Conclusion: Great piece of equipment for wood ball
strong recommend
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vtrosie Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
32 Degrees Nite Stikk
Marker Setup: 2002 VF Autococker
WGP Swing Trigger
WGP Black Magic Venturi Bolt
Empire2 Loader
Freak Barrel System w/ 12 Freak front
JT Spectra Mask/VForce Armour Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs
Strengths: Very accurate and quiet
Weaknesses: Very paint sensitive
Review: I used this on my 98 when I had it. With marbs this barrel was unmatched. It was quiet, accurate, and since I had the 16in version, made my 98 about 4 feet long when fully assembled, so it looked pretty sweet. Surprisingly, I had very few, if any, breaks due to the barrel.

The knock on it however, is that unless you play at your own field and can afford marbs or similarly sized paint, this barrel is useless. Paint will twang left or right, it will spiral "towards" your target if you don't have the right bore-to-paint match.
Conclusion: If you play on your own terms and have some cash to spend on the properly matched paint go for this barrel, you won't be dissappointed. However, if you mainly play at a field, I wouldn't recommend unless the paint consistently will match the barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 25th, 2006 at 11:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadaimcarlos Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" 32 Degrees Nyte Stikk
16" 32 Degrees Terminator
18" Dye Ultralite
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 16" Armson Stealth, Remote line, Sub Zero Ezpansion Chamber, Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze, none other will perform in my opinion
Strengths: Very Strong
Very Durable
Very Quiet an
Ridiculously Accurate
Weaknesses: Slightly Heavy and also generally expensive.
Review: I'm an avid paintballer and i like playing a back field sniper. That said, i needed an accurate, stong and very quiet barrel. The answer was the Armson Stealth. One of my (at the time) highschool freinds actually told me about it. I shot about ten rounds through it and it was simply awesome. I was pulling i good 3 inch closed group at 75 ft and that was standing. The only downside is that it added quite a bit of weight to the gun, but that didn't matter because i wasn't going to be moving that much. Also, 16" was the perfect length. It was long enough to make an accurate 150 ft+ shot but short enough to be maneuvered in tight tree lines. Lastly, it looked so cool and was well made. For some reason the black anodized finished is also incredibly durrable. This barrel has been dropped on gravel, smacked into trees and eaten dirt during a dive and has managed to stay perfect aside from three small exterior scratches. I have used my barrel for just over 3 years and it has managed to take out even the smallest targets at even great distances.
Conclusion: This is the single besst barrel i have ever used. I got mine for a reasonable $50.00 even and that was brand new. It is very quiet and durrable and most importantly it is the most accurate barrel you will find. Just make sure you run a good paint through and no marbalizer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cranky Yankee Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Schrager Brothers 12", 14 and 16"
Freak stainless 14"
Armson Stealth 16" (both Tippmann and Spyder)
Marker Setup: Schrager Brothers Factor X2 (stock and upgraded)
Schrager Brothers Shadow (stock and upgraded)
Tippman 98 custom, expansion chamber, velocity adjuster, rocket cock and powerfeed
Recommended
Paintballs:
small to medim bore paint
Strengths: Beautiful machining, form fit and function great
Weaknesses: Carry a cable squegee for ball breaks
Review: This barrel is incredibly accurate and gets great distance when matched bore to paint size.

I have played a few games with this barrel and have had mixed results.
One game played Diablo Dusk (.687-.691 diam) worked great for incredible distance and accuracy. Next game, new batch of paint, found less than satisfactory results.
I assume the variation to be within the paint as it was purchased at Walmart. (no idea how long they sat on the shelf)

I think it to be the bore to ball match issue as the the Armson is (..687-.691 diam)

The key is to buy quality medium bore paint and test before playing.
Conclusion: When you find a paint that matches stick with it. The accuracy and range is unmatched.
Mis-matched paint results in breaks and frustration.
The key is to match bore to paint.
The barrel is a thing of beauty. It is up to you to feed it properly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Toad1951 Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Xtra Barrel, Teardrop Barrel, J&J Ceramic Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, Armson 16" Stealth Barrel, ACS Delrin Anti-Chop Bolt, Assault Block Vertical Adapter, 32 Degrees Magnaport Valve, Evolution 2 Hopper, Dye Sticky Grips.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big Ball (these fit as Ace Ventura would say "Like A Glove!")
Strengths: Very straight shooter, semi quiet, great looking, lightweight, does not scratch easy.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean (because of the porting), could be quieter, and the price...to much $$$.
Review: I really have liked this barrel for the most part. It was a bit to pricey but it is a constant good straight shooter. My one peice of advise would be to not get the 16" barrel like I did, it limits your ability to move around in woods ball I would recommend the 14" or 12" if you can. Also I don't think the rifling has much effect on the distance, though it does shoot straight which I account as it just being a well made barrel.
Conclusion: If you shoot a spyder like myself I would recommend this barrel. But I do think you could do better shooting a J&J Ceramic Barrel or a Teardrop Barrel for a fraction of the price. I will say this barrel does make a good conversation peice, everyone seems to have an opinion on whether the rifling actually works or not. I give this barrel a B+ ( 9 of 10) just because it is so well made and has never gave me on the field problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pkmoron01 Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, all-american
Marker Setup: 2001 Angel Cobra
Armson stealth/ all-american barrels
dye dual regulators
evolution II hopper
nitro duck air system
Recommended
Paintballs:
a little bit smaller size ball due to rifeling
Strengths: Super durable
Super accuracy (rifeling)
Nice signature due to porting
Weaknesses: Llittle heavy
Uses more air to get ball at 300 fps due to rifeling
Review: Great barrel
Cant be shot very fast due to length and size
I can hit a soccerball every time at 50 yards
The barrel looks very....... the only word i can think of is manly.
Would recomend the shoter lenghts due to rifeling it will slow the ball down which uses more air.
Conclusion: great for the price! little bit heavy but balances with my gun. Perfect for woods ball when accuracy is a must
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (23):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media