paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Fokus VX 2k3
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is the newer version of the mokal fokus. It is a semi auto vertical feed paintball gun that comes in blue, green, red, black, pewter, and champagne. Rear Flush Cocking System All aluminum construction 45 grip frame with double trigger Light trigger pull Vertical Feed Low pressure valve internals Thumbscrew velocity adjustment Ball bearing ball detent system Bottom Line with gas through foregrip 14" 2-Piece Ported Barrel No Tools Breakdown Comes with spare o-ring kit and one year warranty
Product Availability 
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ghost_on_fire Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder (crap)
Rebels
Model 98 (killer)
Titan (back up)
freeflow autococker (depends whos using it)
Automag ('cocker rocker)
Marker Setup: Model 98
System X drop forward
48cu in Pure Energy Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing (really)
Strengths: Balanced
Good barrel
Good internals
Good grips
good everything
strong
Weaknesses: Nothing (really, its that good)
Review: The Fokus 2 is a really good gun. It does everything a Spyder does, only it does it better, faster and makes it look good. The stock barrel is awesome. The paint job is awesome. I never breaks paint. I never break itself. This gun it just really well built. I highly recommend it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for anyone, whether you just got it to the sport or have been playing for 10 years. BUY IT NOW!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Mok14 Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyders, Piranhas, Tippman, BE, VL
Marker Setup: 2k3 Mokal Fokus. 14' SP Progressive barrel. SP Smart Grips. Mokal drop forward. 12oz PE CO2 w/ anti-siphon and SP on/off valve.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel if you feel like it
-I didn't like the grips, maybe new grips
Strengths: -Reliable
-Simple to adjust vilocity
-Looks
-Easy to strip/clean
-Barrels not bad
Weaknesses: -Had a bad first sear
Review: I got this gun mainly because I wanted a Spyder or Pirahna, but also wanted something different then everybody else, and I thought it looked really cool. This gun is perty much the same inside as a Spyder/Pirahna, but I found mine a lot simpler to strip then my friends Spyders/Pirahnas. It is easy to change the vilocity, and to lock it in. There is a knob instead a strip pin, to clean the gun, that works really well. I bought a Progressive barrel, which was an improvement, but not a huge one. That is because the stock barrel is perty accurate compaired to the stock barrels on most cheaper blowbacks. I'm still glad I got the Progressive though. I bought my gun for $200 Canadian. My gun came with a wierd sear, that would sometimes do two-round bursts, but I got it replaced by Mokal (quick!) and it's perfect. I am yet to break a ball in my gun since I got my new sear. The gun prety quiet as well. I really like the flush cocking. I have a lot of people giving me complements on the looks of my gun and how it shoots. Most people are suprised when I say it costed $200 (one kid geussed $500). With the Mokal drop forward (5'') the gun becomes really compact. This is a good gun.
Conclusion: Other then the bad sear at first, my Fokus has been really good. Nice gun. 9 because of the sear.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tono Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
BE Samurai
Marker Setup: Stock Pewter Fokus VX2, 20 oz co2, 200 rd gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell, maybe a drop forward or remote
Strengths: Build quality, finish, trigger, flush cocking bolt, customer service of company
Weaknesses: barrell, valve o-rings
Review: I had been shopping around for my second gun, and decided on the Fokus VX, with the knowledge that I'd need to get a new barrell with it. So I go to paintballgear and find the VX2 which isn't mentioned anywhere on the Mokal website. I emailed Mokal and got a very fast response from one of their employees. There are three differences between the VX and the VX2; the 14 inch two piece barrell, the flush cocking bolt, and a differently milled reciever. I decide to go for the VX2 because with the 14 inch barrell I might not have to get a new one and save myself about 50 bucks. I get it in, open the package and the first thing I find is the barrell, I look through it to check the quality and there are little divots that look like there were air bubbles in the extrusion before they honed it. So I'll still need to get a new barell. However, the flush cocking bolt still makes it worth the little bit extra over the VX at least to me. I take it out to go play a couple weeks ago with freshly lubed internals, except the valve o-rings, because I don't have the right size allen wrench to remove the valve yet, and it starts double firing. So I put some oil through the ASA and bottom line and it stops double firing for awhile, but quickly starts back up again after about 10 minutes of play. So when the scenario is over I put more oil in. It's good for about 15 minutes this time, but I put more oil in and it gets better till the point it lasts through 3 15 minute games before I have to oil it again. So I'll be taking it apart today to make sure the o-rings are lubed up and there are no air leaks anywhere. No big deal since I'm mechanically enclined but if you are afraid to take your gun apart it might be a big deal. On the plus side, the gun was incredibly good when it wasn't double firing, so much so that the only time it chopped a ball through about 800 rounds that day, was when it was double firing the rest of the time it was a very solid machine. The accuracy wasn't where I would like it because of the marred surface of the barrell but that's to be expected when playing with a stock barrell on a 120 dollar gun. The trigger pull was excellent, nice and short and had a very good feel to it. Like a real gun, not like a mouse button on the Spyder imagine. Everything else on the gun worked flawlessly and the gun was very very quiet. When you fire the gun it sounds like a metallic ping, rather than the click of some guns or the clanks of others. Probably because the entire gun is made of aluminum with only the grips and the trigger pivot being plastic. Once again, good build quality, doesn't feel like it will ever break. A little update. The problem double firing was caused by a bad sear, evidently a manufacturing defect in the first run vx2s. I contacted Kal over at Mokal and he had one sent that day. A few days later it came in and now the gun works perfectly. Thank you Mokal. Buy this gun, it's worth twice what you will pay.
Conclusion: Aside from the double firing which is easily fixed, and the stock barrell the gun is very very nice, and I like it more than I do my friend's Imagine. And with the money you save over a more expensive gun, you could buy 2 and keep one as a backup.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beuoy1 Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion and VL Maxis
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus 2K3 stock out of the box using CO2.
Update: Mokal drop forward, Mokal EVX2 trigger, JJ Performance 14" barrel, PMI 48/3000 N2 and VL Revolution2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward, agitating feed loader and e-frame.
Strengths: Good Build, very accurate stock barrel. Nice balance.
Weaknesses: Paint finish, looks dirty in places.
Review: I must say I'm really pleased with the marker, I should've purchased an agitating feeder the maker simply out paces my gravity feeder, more than a few times I haven't had a ball in the chamber. So far I haven't chopped a ball but I only have about 2500 balls thru the marker. I was really surprised by the accuracy of the marker with the stock barrel. It places the balls where I want it to, not really thinking of upgrading the barrel. A drop forward is a diffent upgrade, with 20 oz bottle it's right against my fore-arm! I have only one minor complaint but it doesn't affect the performance, but the paint finish has a dirty look to it! Over-all though I believe I got a great marker.

Update: With the upgrades I've added the marker has gone from a very good, to excellent. I really can't say how pleased I am with the marker. I believe the performance of the marker is on par with anything out there. And I play with a group of people that use some very high end markers!
Conclusion: I don't think you can go wrong with the Fokus, it's a very good marker! I really think you get more than moneys worth!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 at 7:48 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

newbtube Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mokal fokus 2k3, i have used various brass eagle guns, none even come close to this gun even when its stock. Impulse *better only if the Fokus 2k3 is not upgraded to a electronic trigger frame.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus CAD(Canadian funds) stock marker cost me $250 bucks . With a electronic trigger (installed) cost me $150 CAD bucks, with a Mokal drop forward and all else stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you get a nitrous tank!(FOR ALL THE NEWBIES) Nitrous is good because unlike Co2 its not a liquid, sure you can get 500 shots off co2 but your gun is gonna freeze up(The Mokal Fokus 2k3 is all METAL) it gets cold, especially in the cold weather.
Strengths: Strong, Cheap, Easy to take apart!
Weaknesses: Heavy (I don't notice it!)
Review: I bought this gun for $250, best gun in the world for its price. Mokal is great they answer all your questions, ill keep this short... If you new or even on a pro BUY IT! unless your all about looks then but like a ARMOTECH! and spend 1000 Bucks!
Conclusion: Buy it dude its something your not gonna regret it, its pretty cheap and you got a years warranty from Mokal!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

drugsquirrel Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 C
A-5
Spyder Rodeo
TES Sniper
Spyder Electra
And 98 C with e-grip.
Marker Setup: Stock Mokal-Black
Electro grip that came with the gun for $170 all together.
Ricochet Apache-Black
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly the Electro grip from mokal. It shoots SO fast if you get a fast hopper
Ricochet Apache. Perfect match. The Apache has just the right feeding bps for the mokal. The Apache feeds about 20 bps as it says it on the box. The Mokal with the electro grip can do about 14 when it's on semi. But if it's on 3round burst or full auto, it's a little slower. So just go old school.
Strengths: Very Light
Durable
Looks smooth
shoots decently fast
Canadian. Don't blame them
Barrel
Weaknesses: None. It's really that good.
Review: A great gun. Honostly. It's that good of a gun. I just got it about an hour and a half ago. I screwed in the CO2 and filled my new Apache with some Atmosphere balls and went out to my backyard. I took a couple shots and saw that this gun was really acurate. There was a 4mm orange pole that was sticking out of the ground. I hit it 5 out of seven times and I was 10 feet away. It does't seem like much but it was amazing. The barrel is pretty good for a stock barrel.The mechanics of this thing is great. I love the flush cocking bolt. Nice paint job. Nice milling. I could hit anything. But if a paintball pops in your barrel, sometimes your accuracy just gets flushed. The balls curve and never go where you want it to go. So just get a J&J ceramic.
Conclusion: Great gun for woods ball or speedball. Its a great gun. I would tell anyone to get this. But don't tell too many people.Cause then everyone would have one. So just get it. A great overall gun. GET IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swfreak Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor (I like this better)
Spyder Shutter (around the same, Shutter is easier to tell if you have a break.)
98 Custom (a little better, much more expensive, my friend had one and i still took him out one on one, he was experienced and it was my first time)
Not really the same as the Mokal but when versing an A-5 i hit him in the head from around 100 feet away.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus2 all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm fine with it for now, but a new barrel will most likely improve it.
*UPDATE*
I'm purchasing a Palmer Stab and 14" Lapco Bigshot
make sure to have plenty of o rings.
Strengths: Awesome trigger.
Inexpensive.
Fun to shoot.
Awesome looking.
Pretty accurate.
LIGHT!
DURABLE!
Weaknesses: Kinda co2 hog puffs after shot, taking off bottle.
Screws became loose easy to tighten.
Review: The gun is awesome looking, straight out of the box you see how unique it is and how just nice it looks. Almost all metal and very durable feeling. Awesome to shoot and awesome trigger. When playing in the cold it pretty much died on me, almost every ball broke and it just everything went wrong. When not cold it works beautifully though. It's a nice inexpensive gun thats fun to shoot and you can play right out of the box. It could use a new barrel (balls fall after about 150 feet) but i was fine playing with the stock one. Just no sniping. Mokal is a fantastic company, they respond with answers to any question almost immediately. Its cool to have a gun that not everyone has and it's just a really cool gun.
Conclusion: Its a great gun, i love it. I was really annoyed in the cold but i guess i cant ask that much form it. Its annoys me when taking off the co2, it releases a lot. Shoots fairly accurate with stock barrel and pretty powerful. Much more accurate than my friends Piranha VTL. It feels great to shoot and looks great also. Great gun but a few problems. Their fixed rather easily though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2004 at 1:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

schokkm Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Blackmaxx (junk!!)
BE Talon Ghost (good for a pump)
VL Orions (jokes to the Fokus)
Various Piranhas and Spyders
Marker Setup: Mokus EVX-II 2K3
PMI Deluxe Remote
20oz CO2 pin
12oz CO2 on/off
Eggy2
PMI Perfect Expansion chamber
14" Razzor
Blackmaxx backup
BE Talon Ghost backup-backup
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVX-II e-trig
Electric Hopper
Stock barrel is really good (13" 0.691 back bore 0.701 front), I prefer it to my Razzor
An expansion chamber or regulator as the gun puffs smoke like a trooper.

Strengths: Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!!
Weaknesses: Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!! Fear the Fokus!!
Review: Strengths:
- Shoots hard
- Shoots fast
- Shoots accurate
- Relatively inexpensive
- Amazing support from Mokal
- Stock Barrel is 10 times better than other stock barrels
Weaknesses:
- Puffs CO2 plumes without an expansion chamber, but thats every gun I think
- Not many retailers sell it, so I had to buy from the manufacturer, or on the internet
- That's about it

This marker is amazing. I have used many others, and nothing even compares to the accuracy and smooth feeling shot of the Fokus. In my experience with it, I have been out probably a half dozen times since I have bought it with 3 or more friends, and I have NEVER lost a shootout, I took down a 3 on 1. These guys have been playing twice as long as me, but this gun just outshoots them straight up. I know its whos behind the gun, but this guns backs itself up. Its a great deal for the price, I think you can get it without the e-trig for around CAN$225, which is less than the Tippman, which I have slaughtered everytime I play against one.
My friends have learned to FEAR THE FOKUS!! and so will yours.

It isnt sold at very many places, so you will probably have to get one straight from the supplier. Not a big deal, just call Kal at Mokal and he'll set you up, or if you live in Canada, like me, he'll set you up with the Canadian suppler, thanks Kal.

The gun puffs plumes of CO2 unless you get an expansion chamber or a reg.
Conclusion: Excellent solid marker. Better than guns more expensive than it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

imhotep29897 Saturday, January 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra (not even close)
Brass eagle eradicator (can't compare it to anything)
68 automag (awesome)
Spdyer tl-r (just another spyder)
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Mokal fokus 2
Rocket valve
Assault block
Dye mini gauge
Shocktech regulator
WGP black magic ddrop forward
Viewloader revolution w/ x-board
16oz chromolly co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro (it gets cold easily)
upgrades i have above ^
Strengths: Too many to list in fifteen words
Weaknesses: Canadian....still works good though.
Review: This gun is great
1.I have never chopped
2.The stock barrel is great
3.All you need to make it low pressure is a reg and spring kit
4.If you put in a rocket valve it never burps (i dont know why)
5.Has o-rings in the feedneck to hold the hopper (it's never come loose)
6.Gets about 1100 shots off a 16 ounce tank when its STOCK
This is a great gun, some people say you cant upgrade it but it takes spyder parts (except for the bolt because of the way that it fires without any moving parts exposed).I shot it at the field a few weeks ago and the velocity only went up and down about 15 fps (when it was stock).Once you get it low pressure it has almost no kick and gets a ton of shots.

**Update**
With my 45/4500 at about 300 or 350 psi i can get around 700-800 shots, with only about +/- 4 or 5 fps.
Conclusion: It is a great gun, even if it is $120 ,its worth it because its so much better than a spyder.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 6th, 2006 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

personguy22 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
a couple pirahnas when i was still renting
my friends spyder xtra
thats about all...
Marker Setup: all stock so far...20 oz co2, crappy viewloader hopper
im gonna get a mokal electric trigger though, maybe a drop forward
yah looks like i have some upgrading to do...
Recommended
Upgrades:
-probably a fokus evx trigger frame if you want to shoot more balls per second and if you want a lighter trigger.
-maybe an electric hopper( only get it if you have the electric trigger)
-a drop forward would make it a lot more compact
Strengths: -great stock barrel
-nice colors
-pretty light trigger
-overall light weight
-pretty cheap
-accurate
Weaknesses: -a big cloud of co2 comes out when you shoot
Review: well, this is a great gun. I have never had a ball break in it so far, and ive probably shot about 5000 shots so far. its very accurate, a reasonably light trigger, easy to take apart. Like i said in weaknesses, you can really only upgrade it with mokal products from www.mokal.com but they are still pretty good. You can get a drop forward, an x chamber, and the electric trigger frame---
Ok well heres the thing about the trigger frame: its electric so you can easily shoot 12 balls per second, it feels good, it looks good, and oh yah...you can adjust it to be as light as you want! you could make it so light that if you shook the gun back and forth, the trigger would get pulled just from that force and it would fire. If you want to turn this into a pretty good gun rather than a beginners gun, you should definetly get this trigger frame. once you have the trigger frame, you might want to also get an electric hopper. thatll make this gun very fast shooting, but only get it if you have the electric trigger frame. otherwise, its a waste of money, because it wont do you any good. I would also suggest getting a drop forward if you want it to be really balanced and compact. you dont really need an x-chamber, ive never had my gun freeze up from the co2. Dont take this review the wrong way though, its still a great gun if it isnt upgraded and stuff, the upgrades just make it even better.
Conclusion: i would recomend this gun to anyone-beginner or expert. Its a great gun, and it would be better than most if you put a lot of upgrades on it and stuff.
BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media