paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Fokus VX 2k3
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is the newer version of the mokal fokus. It is a semi auto vertical feed paintball gun that comes in blue, green, red, black, pewter, and champagne. Rear Flush Cocking System All aluminum construction 45 grip frame with double trigger Light trigger pull Vertical Feed Low pressure valve internals Thumbscrew velocity adjustment Ball bearing ball detent system Bottom Line with gas through foregrip 14" 2-Piece Ported Barrel No Tools Breakdown Comes with spare o-ring kit and one year warranty
Product Availability 
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Hugo Tuesday, January 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder aggressors, i like my fokus
Spyder Extras,
Shutters
bone daddys
and lots of others as I run a field
Marker Setup: Fokus 2k3 with standard barrel, 12 volt revolution, and 47cui hpa, fokus electronic trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
an aggitated hopper is a must to keep the balls flowing smoothly, electronic trigger, and they run nice on hpa
Strengths: accurate, quiet, fast, simple, quick stripping, and very sexy looking.
Weaknesses: some two peice barrels are misalinged, check the sear if double feeding
Review: I like my fokus, my first marker was a bone daddy bought from a local department store to find out about paintball as I wanted to set up an indoor, see Final Impact in New Zealand, we got aggressors for our field markers and I got a Fokus 2k3 to evaluate as well, needless to say the Fokus became mine and as I play most days I have got to know it very well, we now have three Fokus 2k3s in our club.

First check the alignment on the two piece barrel and get your supplier to replace if it is misaligned, polish out the marks on both the breech and bolt after you have sent a box of paint down it, polish any sharp edges of the front of the bolt, check that the ball detent is working and tighten in if nessecery. Watch for doublefiring and check for wear on the sear and hammer, get your supplier to sort out this problem, it shouldnt cost you at all.

I run my Fokus on hpa, it runs good like this and I get very few ball breakages with the aggitated hopper, we have a lot of players come to our field with all sorts of markers, and though I find the expensive ones cool, I like my Fokus.

That said, I would like to play with a 2003 shocker, update,
I spent several days evaluating a 2003 shocker, nice but I sent it back, some idiot had used it before I got it and it leaked, I gave up when the only o rings left to replace were the ones under the solenoid, I might look at the Dynasty Edition though, I am still playing with my reliable Fokus! not so many o rings!
Conclusion: This is a great marker for the money, if you are patient with it and spend a bit of time getting used to it the people you play with will soon "FEAR THE FOKUS"
This is not a top level marker but is easily entry level for competitive tournament play
In this price range 9 / 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 14th, 2004 at 2:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Mongoose Reincarnation 2
Marker Setup: Straight out of the box-14" CMI QB Barrel, CMI Drop forward 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really-
Strengths: Strengths: Cost, Durable, Shoots straight. Relialbe.
easy to clean, easy to chrono.
Weaknesses: None for an entry level marker
Review: I am a 47 y.o. newbie. I thought that paintball would be something my 16 y.o. son could do together. So we wanted a good entry level marker, because we didn't want to get too much invested encase I ididn't enjoy playing. One day of indoor speedball and I am hooked. The Mokal VX 2K3 performed very well. I was amazed at how straight I could shoot even at long distances. I marked a player with a 50-60 foot shot. The marker is light and easy to carry. It also shot very fast. My son could double trigger as fast as some electronic markers.
Update: Wow is this Mokal great. The double trigger is great. After just a few uses I can shoot as fast as many of the electronic markers. I am even more impressed with how it is made. Most of the other entry level markers have plastic trigger frames. These are all aluminum. Wow is this marker easy to break down and clean. I chopped a ball-cheap paint-and I was able to strip it down. clean it and put it back together without missing a round (less than 10 minutes).
When we chrono the markers, I'm amazed at how much easier the Mokals are to adjust than some of the other markers.
09/06/07 update: The Mighty Mokal rocks! Played many times now. This marker is really reliable. With the CMI barrel it shoots straight. I can put paintballs through the ports of most forts or castles at 50 feet.
Conclusion: For the price I think this marker is ever bit as good as a Tippman Custom 98 that is right out of the box (my son has experience with these), but it is 1/3 the price. It's all aluminium and pretty sturdy. Great value for the bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 6th, 2007 at 7:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ninyin Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c: Crap barrel, one finger trigger, Fokus is much better
Marker Setup: I do not own a Fokus but this was its setup:

Mokal Fokus
PMI 47/3000
PMI hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Stock barrel is fine, but its the only thing worth upgrading)
New Grips (Sock grips are very hard, you may want to replace them)
Strengths: Fantastic Tigger
Works with Co2 or HPA
Cheap
Great Handle
Terrific beginner gun
Weaknesses: Ocasionaly over shoots and must be re-cocked
Hard grips
Barely any upgrades
Heavy
Review: I tried this gun a few times at Ontario's Area 51 paintball arena. I was really pleased with it. The tigger was great and it shoot well. However, it also came with a few problems.

GOOD

The Mokal Fokus is really cheap so most people begining paintball could afford it. The trigger on the gun is great and the tigger-pull isnt that bad either. It can use HPA and Co2 which is great if you only have one kind. I use HPA and it shoot like a dream. Definitely the gun I would recommend to all beginners.

BAD

Sometimes this gun would shoot really fast for a second then I would have to recock it. Only to have the something happen to me again. To fix this, all I did was dryfire it a bit until it stopped rapidfiring. It worked fine after that. Mind you that this was a rental gun so it takes a lot of abuse. The grips on this gun are very hard. You may want to replace them, but its not recessary. The gun its self is a litle heavy so you would not want to use this for speedball. Lastly, this gun has nearly no upgrades. But this is a beginners gun so its not a problem
Conclusion: If any beginner came up to me and asked what would be the best gun for him, I would recommend the Mokal Fokus.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

godzilla(911) Saturday, July 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder
Recommended
Upgrades:
new j and j ceramic barrel
Strengths: Amazin price
Strong parts
Never breaks paint
Pretty accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun wont dissapoint anyone its a good deal for the price and everyone should get This gun as a first gun. I love it and y does this have to b a 50 word minimum thats not cool i like this gun so thats all i have to say im not going to label the internals
Conclusion: Great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MasterTymon0325 Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion
E-99
Tipmann Procarbine
Tip. A-5
Tip. 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Mokal-Everything stock (Black color)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, unless u want a better barrel but the stock barrel is very good for a stock barrel
Strengths: Great barrel
strong
reliable
everything
Weaknesses: Nada
Review: I got this because my pb friends had guns that totally out clased my VL Orion. I also didn't want to get the same gun as them. So i looked around at some of the companies i had never heard of anyone talking about. I came to mokal and there was a sale so i bought the gun. The day it arrived i knew i had come across a gold mine of a gun. It's awsome. I have had no trouble with it and i am having a great time destroying my friends with this gun!!
Conclusion: Best gun ive used so far. I would recommend this gun to intermediates and lower elechelon experts and high elechelon novices. The gun is awsome and it comes in 5 colors so take ur pick. This gun also comes with a 14" 2 piece ported barrel which is extremely good for a stock barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bob2213p Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I play woodsball and have always sworn by my old faithful Tippmann Pro/Carbine. I wanted to get a good extra gun for friends to use. Read the reviews and decided this would be a good choice. I have not been disappointed. I now split my time between the two.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine w/ 14" Lapco Big Shot
Mokal Fokus VX2k3 w/ Mokal Expansion Chamber
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Ricochet 2KX led
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Grips
Electronic Hopper
Feed Neck (if you can find one to fit)
Strengths: Fast
Light
Affordable
Weaknesses: Doesn't Like CO2 and weather (spoiled by Pro/Carb I guess)
Feed Neck
Review: I bought this gun as a spare and fell in love with it. It is very quick and very accurate right out of the box. The first day I had it out it worked well. I had a run in with some swollen paint and it began breaking balls. I was also using a gravity feeder that didn't help with my new found speed or my poor paint.

By the next day I had added a barrel kit and electronic hopper. The Mokal was dialed in. I learned the meaning of shooting darts. Maybe three broken balls out of 1000 (I can live with that) and it shot right through them.

I love my old tippmann, but this is a close second and still growing on me. I got the expansion chamber, but have since gone to air. Tried the CO2 just to see and wasn't nearly as impressed. My pro/carb is reliable, but in no way compares to the accuracy of the Mokal.

The biggest drawback is the feedneck. It is very easy to tear up O-rings if you take your hopper in and out very much. I have tried to find a replacement, but no one has been able to tell me what type of threads match up.


Conclusion: Solid gun at a solid price. Looks good and performs even better.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 2:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cleverfrog Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: trilogy comp sf
egg2 w. z-board
all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
elec. trigger
drop forward
egg2
Strengths: Stock accuracy not too bad
Weaknesses: Leaks out of the regulator
Review: This gun leaks but is somewhat accurate. Just get some kick @ss upgrades for it and you'll be set. Might as well get a new front block and regulator to make this marker kick a. If you want a cheap starter go for the Mokal fokus it is a crappy gun stock but upgrade it and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: It is a good starter
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vodispo Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only shot them but..
Spyder Rodeo
Tippman 98 custom
Spyder TL-X
And a few others.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus 2K3, 14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel, CP Flame Drop forward, 20 oz Co2, 32 Degrees 2003 Expansion Chamber, Viewloader Grav Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward and maybe anti-syphon or X-pan Chamber to prevent snow, make it more consistant and save alil Co2. Stock barrel works fine but a new barrel would still help.
Strengths: Light.
Durible.
Accurate.
EZ maintenance.
Inexpensive.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: Excellent starting gun. I got this gun as a starter and still using it. I've only broke once out of about 4000 and that was with crappy paint and really cold out. I've tried out my friends Tippmans and Spyders and I've only seen about 3 (A Rodeo and 2 Tippmans) that are as accurate and consistent as mine out of like 15. The price is mainly why I bought this, $120 for a Fokus package on Action Village.
Conclusion: The ultimate starter gun that won't disappoint you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snuts Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom-almost the same
spyder imagine-faster trigger frame but terrible bolt
spyder rodeo-doesnt shoot as hard
Marker Setup: red mokal fokus vx 2k3
phsycho ballistics on/off drop
smart parts progressive 14" barrel
dead on paintball products 8stage expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
-dead on paintball products 8stage expansion chamber(only 20.00 and works great -after its broke in)
-the stock barrel provides good accuracy and you dont need to upgrade it if your a rec player, but if you feel the need for a new barrel then go with the progressive by smart parts, its cheap just like the dead on 8stage and quiets the already quiet fokus and adds more range and consitency
-if you want speed then get the evx 2 frame from mokal
Strengths: -Tough
- Valve
- Barrel
-Exaust ports
-Colors
-Flush cocking system
- Bolt
-Feed neck
-Detents
-Quiet
Weaknesses: -No expansion chamber
-Aluminum bolt
-Handle grips
-Trigger pull is harder than a spyders
Review: This is a very good gun for the money. It is comparable to the tippmann 98 custom and as everyone knows the tippys are good,accurate,reliable guns. This gun has a number of features that make it one of the best lowend guns on the market. It has flush cocking system, good stock barrel, regular style ball detents not the spyder ones, a great valve that can operate off of 200 psi, exaust ports on the feed neck that let the blow back escape and let paint feed easier, o-rings in the feed neck to hold your hopper in place, and a triple o-ring bolt. The triple o-ring bolt is a great feature of this gun. Unlike spiders that have at the most two orings this bolt has another one on the front. This extra o-ring provides less wear or burn on the inside of the gun and seals the chamber for a more consistent shot, kinda like smart parts's seal forward technology(SFT). The barrel is fine on this gun and is remarkably consitent for a stock 12" barrel. If you are a more serious player and want more performance out of your fokus then I recomend a barrel such as the smart parts progressive, tear drop, or 32 degrees nyte stick. These barrels are around 30.00 and enhance the performance of the gun. Also another upgrade that should be considered if you are using co2 is an expansion chamber, prefferably the dead on 8stage. It is only 20.00 and works great. You don't have to worry about replacing the valve on this gun it can operate off of 200 psi and works great. In fact I got about 1700 rounds of paint out of a twenty ounce co2 tank with the stock 12" barrel on the fokus. This gun can also become very quiet especially if you put a progressive barrel or something similar on the gun just make sure it is at least 14" and for all you newbs out there that is the all around barrel length, if you get a 16" barrel the gun with be much more quieter but it will use more gas. Also the more porting you have the quieter the gun will be but that will also use more gas try to get a barrel with a good balance of these the ones i mentioned above are excelent choices.
Conclusion: wether you are a weekend warrior or really into paintball if you are using lowend blow backs this is a great choice. It wont let you down and performs well. Just oil the bolt, hammer, valvle body o_rings,and cup seal. If you do these things the gun will last longer, perform better, and you will get more efficency. If you have any questions please email me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 18th, 2005 at 12:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

FNK Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Spyder Victor
Spyder Victor2
Tippman 98 c
Tippman A-5
Fokus 2K5
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus 2k3
X-Chamber by Mokal (6 chamber)
JT Pro serie Gloves
ST!FFI 14''
Proto FS
16&20once co≤
Recommended
Upgrades:
An X-Chamber ( Lot of difference )
A good barrel whit tighther bore
Strengths: -Price!
-Very Very easy to maintain
-Ok range
-Low on gas
Weaknesses: -Limited addon
Review: First of all, you can get this market Stock for 200$ Can! It's a very low price marker.
The new 2K5 model has something different, but I don't know what, yet. Shoot like a 98c.

The stock barrel is ok compared to stock Spyder barrel, but a nice improvement would be a 14'' whit tighter bore.
An X-Chamber is making wonder. I think that only the one designed by Mokal can fit in. Whit that addon, you can raise the pressure greatly! More pressure = more range. (No precision lost.)

Whit all stock, it's a better marker than a Spyder Victor or else, and I give this marker a 8/10 because of the stock LARGE barrel.
But whit a few upgrades, this marker is beggining to be serious!
Whit an X-Chamber and a new barrel, Im gving it a 9.5 score.

Now my impression.
When I first got it I was like WOW! Then I played whit a lot of people and then realised my Fokus was lacking on some place. So I added a CP 14'' one piece and the precision was up a notch. Then I ordered an X-Ch, presision and range one more notch. The winter passed and I player like 4 games at -20celcius and 1 at -30c. This is incredible how this FOKUS can last. First of all it don't or rarely chop ball, thanks to it's anti-chop system. And while playing, other gun were freezing and the valve would not respond to them. ME, puff no problem! I lasted as long as Tippman or Imagine. I was stunned by this low end marker. Now summer is back and the fun to play in dust is there too. My bought a Spyder Victor and as you know, Spyder got their mechanism out. So dust and small rock entered into it's marker and scratch the metal.... : ( I was feeling sorry for im. But that's another point for the Fokus.
Conclusion: A really good low-end marker. Still it's a Spyder Clone, but whit improvement.
I definitively recommand this Fokus.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 14th, 2005 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media