paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Fokus VX 2k3
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is the newer version of the mokal fokus. It is a semi auto vertical feed paintball gun that comes in blue, green, red, black, pewter, and champagne. Rear Flush Cocking System All aluminum construction 45 grip frame with double trigger Light trigger pull Vertical Feed Low pressure valve internals Thumbscrew velocity adjustment Ball bearing ball detent system Bottom Line with gas through foregrip 14" 2-Piece Ported Barrel No Tools Breakdown Comes with spare o-ring kit and one year warranty
Product Availability 
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
coolio1831 Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippman 98 Custom, Spyder Imagine, Spyder Flash
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus 2k3
20oz Pure Energy CO2
Java Manual Feed Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitrogen, HPA
Expansion Chamber
Barrel
Strengths: Quiet
Fairly Accurate(stock barrel)
Efficient
Sturdy
IMO Looks Good
Simple



Weaknesses: Gets Cold Quickly
Double Shoots Paintballs Sometimes
Valve Cup Seal Leaked
Tank O-rings Burst
Review: I bought a paintball gun mainly just to be able to play with my cousins at their ranch. I figured it would be cheaper just to buy one than an spend $35 multiple times to rent. I picked this one because it was supposed to be a reliable gun and a decent performer. So far it has. The only thing I've had to do to it was replace the cup seal which was really easy. Just because I didn't want to have to do it later, I wrapped the hose connections with teflon tape. The only complaint I have having to do with the power source is the tank connection. For some reason, no matter what I do, every time I take the tank off, the o-ring freezes and breaks or just gets cut up by the threads. So I always have a pack of tank o-rings handy. Performance wise it is better than I expected. It is more accurate than my cousin's Imagine. I also have a strong feeling that if the Mokal had a electronic trigger it would fire faster. But I don't want to have to charge it. I can still out fire the crappy hopper. I've found that my particular gun likes small-medium paint. I tried some old Zap paint and it really hated it. That's the only time I could get it to break and it was in the barrel, not the bolt. Recently I tried Dusk, and it fires very well, but every 20 or so shots it would shoot out 2 paintballs. I might have to adjust the double feed bolt-thing on the side. What I really like is the simplicity of the marker. Although if you get one, they use metric allen wrenches, tools are not required except to operate on the valve, hoses, and handle. The bolt assembly unscrews and comes out in four pieces: the bolt, the hammer, the hammer spring, and the hammer damper/stop. When its all together there are only three openings: feed tube, tank socket, and barrel. There is no opening in the back part of the gun so no dirt gets in it. The gun is built like tank as well. The only plastic on the gun are the handle grips. The rest is either steel, brass, aluminum, or o-rings. What amazes me is that its still retains its efficiency even though all the heavy parts are moving back and forth. The bolt weighs a ton and it still does well over 1000 paintballs/tank. I shot just over a half of one of those 2000 boxes of Zap paint, then left the tank sitting for 3 months, then rapidly fired off 400 Dusk before it sputtered out on me. The only thing about rapid fire though is that it gets the gun COLD. I live in Houston and it's humid all the time. After some 10 or so rapid shots the barrel will start getting condensation on it. But its always fairly quiet. The best way to describe how it sounds is a muffled or suppressed nail gun. It doesn't clank, clunk, or thud. It's a crisp pop sound with a little ping. Dry firing the gun sounds like a normal nail gun and putting the paintball in front of the CO2 really quiets it down.
Conclusion: Stock its a beginners gun or maybe for a purist that wants a blow-back. After some modding I could see it being intermediate. It definitely wouldn't be able to fire off 25 bps, but 13-15 is reasonable. Very reliable though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spoozz Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Titan(crap)
Spyder Extra(ok)
Tip man 98( not really good)
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus VX 2K3
Halo Frontman tilt sound activation (electronic) hopper
War Games flame drop foward about 3"
20 oz CO2 (air tank)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New grip (getting soon)
New hopper
New barrel (getting soon)
Drop foward
Strengths: The fokus vx 2k3 is accurate, pretty fast and also has a very nice style
Weaknesses: Theres not really any bad weaknesses for this paintball gun
Review: Over all this is a very amazing gun from barrel to the air tank. This gun has been the best gun i have ever used so far. But if you get really good at it u may want to put a electronic trigger frame. So what every you do when your playing paintball don't be a baby or your better off at laser quest.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any kind of person that wants to have some fun in the best sport PAINTBALL !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whatsmyname Thursday, August 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: fokus 2
revy 2
expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Great fit and finish
Weaknesses: Without an expansion chamber it can get very cold and is a little heavy.
Review: I love this gun I had recently bought a rodeo and a bushmaster but I would rather shoot this gun. I just bought the electric version of this gun because I love it so much. It has a great trigger and is very ergonomic. It is made of all aluminuim and is solid.
Conclusion: For a first gun this is a great choice if you want a faster gun got with the electric version. This gun is far better that spyders its just so accurate and can rip for a mechanical
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikey777 Wednesday, May 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98s --- stock barrel on Fokus is better
Various Spyders --- can get dirt and crap in the open bolts
Marker Setup: Stock Mokal Fokus VX 2k3, co2, grav feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
x-chamber or just go for HPA
Strengths: -- Reliable
-- Quiet
-- Tough
-- Easy to strip
-- Virtually no recoil
-- Nice stock barrel
Weaknesses: -- Without x-chamber etc on co2, marker struggles a bit
Review: This was my first marker. It is reliable and served me very very well.

I put thousands of balls through this marker and it didnt chop a single one, shot after shot it delivered perfectly.

Bolt assembly is completely encased so no dirt can get in there, and it is fully metal which means you can put it through all sorts of crap (which I had to in some games) and it came out firing....Tough.

Execellent newbie marker, I knew very little about maintence and how to clean etc etc, now I know alot thanks to the easy strip clean and reassemble this marker has.

The stock barrel is accurate enough, just shoot a few more balls to be sure, its quiet which means it takes longer to get noticed when firing, and there is no recoil which helps accuracy.

One weakness --- When it is all stock standard on co2 the marker does struggle with velocity spikes which affects the accuracy --- I was however playing in winter and on the warmer days it performed better, but with HPA or a x-chamber/regulator it would be awesome, even with the stock barrel it would be very accurate, you would own!

Conclusion: If you are looking for a first marker this one is great, it is reliable as and easy to maintain and can make you more sure of yourself when stripping you're future expensive guns... Awesome bang for buck, but if you live in the colder parts of the world..... dont use co2, or get some extras to help it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 29th, 2005 at 6:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baleys Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha
Marker Setup: 2k2 BKO, Freak barrel, CP reg, Micro Rock reg, Powerlyte trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and a reg..recommend CP reg.
Strengths: No need for tools to disassemble.
Weaknesses: Trigger pull.
Review: I bought the marker back in ay 2004 and the reason I changed it is not because there was something wrong with it, it was because I need something a little more performance.

Mokal as done a great job with this maker. They've applied the "KISS" rule superbly (Keep It Simple Stupid). It's a sturdy marker that won't break under extreme use and if it does it probably because you've been using it as a hammer.

Cleaning this marker is a joke. just unscrew the back and you got all you parts that needs to be clean...again the "KISS" rule.
Conclusion: This was the 1st marker I've bought and I haven't regret owning this marker. It's a great beginner marker. I prefer Mokal over Spyder because of the sleek design...everything on the marker is there for a reason. The only reason why I'm not giving a 10 is because of the trigger pull. Other than that..nothing negative to say about it. buy it if you wanna start playing and don't want to spend 300$ for a marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tai_mishuu911 Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
friends spyder victor 2
tippmann a-5 rt
Marker Setup: mokal fokus 2 12 oz + 20 oz co2 tank (electronic trigger + evo 2 soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
mokal electronic trigger and electri hopper
Strengths: Accurate strong reliable
Weaknesses: Bolt holding trigger frame to body comes loose
Review: Over all im telling you to buy this gun its got a great body style and colors. its better than any spyder out there and its cheap. it can always b upgraded later. guns accurate and gets the job done. it has a ligth trigger pull and easy to maintain. velocity is adjusted easily but turning a knob and can be locked. takes like 15 seconds to take out the bolt to clean
Conclusion: Go out and buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 29th, 2004 at 12:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beevur Sunday, November 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None other
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus, Gravity Hopper, Co2, All else stock. (Rental Gun at Area 51 paintball in Ontario)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not sure, probably E-trigger,
Strengths: Medium-Good Accuracy
Durable
Moderate rate of fire, probably 5BPS
Not bad for a rental
Weaknesses: Really long trigger Pull
Quite heavy
Review: This is the rental gun I've used, its quite good, its not terrible inaccurate, so maybe 1 out 2 or 3 shots you'll get it right on your target.
Runs on Co2 fine, doesn't really get as cool as other's say.
Sometimes air doesn't blow back the bolt.
Good rental gun, seems expensive for a gun to own, but very durable is probably why.
Really long trigger pull.

Overall not a bad gun for rental. I don't mind it.
Conclusion: Since it is a rental I cant really recommend or upgrade it, but if you do own one, probably get the e trigger for it, so that u can shoot faster, then maybe get an agitated hopper if u really need to shoot that fast. Barrel seems okay, but an upgrade wouldnt hurt.
8 out 10 for being a durable, acurrate *Rental* gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

focus_2k3 Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned stuff like a 98 custom and spyders, they don't compare at all to the performance of a focus(maybe the 98 custom).
Marker Setup: Right now i have a Mokal focus 2k3, everything stock except for my handle extension.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none at all(seriously)
Strengths: Accurate,light,easy to take apart,power and a low price.
Weaknesses: Double shoots and hard on o rings.
Review: I just love this gun, ive used lots of different guns like the 98 custom,bunch of spyders and some brass eagles but they are all not even close to a 2k3.Ive been playing for 3 years and i don't spend that much on my guns so im always using bad guns, but then i found the 2k3 for 180$ and it works better then the other more expensive guns i used.
Conclusion: I would say to everyone from pro to beginner, to buy this gun and you will never have to worry about breaking ur gun again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FEAR_DE_FOKUS Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
almost all spyders(dont even think about buying these with the fokus out there)
couple tippmans
Marker Setup: all stock man
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe an e hopper.
Strengths: Great stock barrel.
No plastic.
Shoots hard, fast, quiet.
Very realiable.
Accurate.
cheap
Weaknesses: No complaints here.
Review: The fokus is one of the best guns ive ever used besides like $1500 angels or things like that. This gun is very reliable and is an amazing deal for under $300. If u like spyders and tippmans..try a fokus and you will throe away any spyder or tippmann forever. I absolutley loves this gun i would never trade it, its amazingly quiet and fast. Plus out of any stock barrel ive used this one takes the cake.
Conclusion: This is one amazing gun for under $300 if u want to make it better buy an e hopper...and mayber a new barrel..but i would reccomend it its a waste of money for an already perfect gun!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaneHarvey Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman, Silver Bullet
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus (no mods yet)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Mokal Drop Forward (its a big one to, its good) and a 14'' barrel, and maybe an electronic frame if you want to play some speed ball.
Strengths: Looks sweet, very solid, light, no plastic, good barrel, doesnt chop
Weaknesses: Nothing really, its a very solid marker
Review: I'm pretty new to paintball, but just from playing some backyard ball with my friends, I can tell you that this is one solid marker. It hasnít chopped one ball yet (and I donít even have a electronic hopper, Iím getting 5+ bps and still no balls chopped) , and its pretty accurate straight out of the box. The colors are sweet, and they have a couple good upgrades for it like the electronic frame, and a nice drop forward. This gun is easy to take apart, and easy to clean. With its very low maintenance, and sleek look, I would recommend this gun to any baller out there, even for the most experienced ballers, since with the right mods, this gun can keep up with the pros.
Conclusion: This is one solid marker, with the potential to keep up with the pros. It has a sweet look and is just so consistent out in the field. I would recommend this gun to everyone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media